Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Nu-Skin Galvanic Spa treatment

December 3, 2009 Reviewed by Marta 17 Comments
Truth In Aging's talented photographer, the lovely Amy E Fletcher, happens to know some of the folks at Nu Skin and as a result I found myself having a Galvanic Spa treatment in the comfort of my own home. For the uninitiated, the Galvanic Spa is a handheld device that emits a direct electronic current and, like other electrical current treatments (LED or microcurrent), it is supposed to encourage firmer skin, clear up breakouts and fade wrinkles.

One of the big differences of the Galvanic Spa is that it is meant to be used in conjunction with potions and lotions. Based on the theory that light charges repel, the galvanic negative currents encourages the absorption of charged ingredients. The treatment starts with a cleanser and then gels are smeared over the area to be treated (in my case, it was the right side of my face) before the device is pushed firmly over the skin and then a serum and day cream are applied. And five minutes later...

Five minutes later, I was pretty impressed. The right half of my face definitely looked a little lifted, my forehead was smoother and the labial nasal line softened. Five minutes is a big plus, when you consider that the Baby Quasar, whilst also delivering results, requires about 15-20 minutes. On the other hand, the Baby Q is used on unadulterated skin and doesn't require all those potions and lotions.

So what's in Nu Skin's gels and creams? Nu Skin recently reformulated the gel used with Galvanic Spa and has introduced a cleanser/toner, serum and day and night creams based a “proprietary new ingredient blend” that is called ageLOC that is promised to “slow down the signs of aging at their source”. Nu Skin worked with scientists at Purdue University to discover an internal source for aging skin – that is to say, something within us, rather than environmental factors such as sun damage. The culprit is an enzyme that the research team decided to call ArNOX. The enzyme lives on the surface of our cells and works tirelessly to generate skin damaging free radicals. Once ArNOX had been discovered, the next step was to find out how to stop it.

ageLoc is a bundle of antioxidant botanicals such as schizandra chinensis, a fruit native to China and Japan that has long been used as a tonic for skin disorders. Recent studies have shown it to have antioxidant properties. It has also been found to have phytoestrogens and there are conflicting studies as to whether these cause or prevent cancer. There is also narcissus tazetta, which is basically daffodil bulb extract. The last time, I looked at Nu Skin and narcissus, I failed to find much research to back it up as an antiager.

The Nu Skin product that most impresses is called Tru face Essence Ultra ($171. Apart from silicone it is mercifully free of fillers, giving you plenty of antiagers for your money.  As well as the more familiar ubiquinone (coQ10), it has ethoxyheptyl bicyclooactanone, also called ethocyn, a molecule that blocks certain hormone receptors and allows elastin fibers to be produced. I also like the night cream, which has the botanical formula of pea extract, narcissus tazetta extract, bambusa vulgaris stem extract and schizandra chinensis. The ageLoc Future Serum is marred by an awful lot of fillers and the usual suspects in the preservative department (although no parabens).

I am tempted to buy the Galvanic Spa device; it works, it is fast and it multitasks (as well the face, it can be used on the body to tackle cellulite and sagging arms, and on the hair). It comes with a month's supply of ageLoc products (although I'll probably skip the serum) for $350.

Ingredients in Tru Face Essence Ultra


Cyclopentasiloxane, dimethiconol, squalane, ethoxyheptyl bicyclooactanone, ubiquinone, dunaliella salina extract, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, camellia sinsensis extract, carrot seed oil, evening primrose, retinyl palmitate, tocopheryl acetate, tocopheryl linoleate, safflower seed oil, dimethicone, polydecene, zea mays.


Ingredients in ageLoc Future Serum


Water, butylene glycol, cetyl dimethicone, cyclopentasiloxane, pentylene glycol, polymethylsilesquinone, glycerin, HDI/Trimethylol hexylactone crosspolymer, isoceteth-20, 1-methylhydantoin-2-imide dimethicone, ethylhelxylglycerin polysilicone-11, glucosamine HCL, polysorbate 80, lemon peel extract, sclerotum gum, cetyl alcohol, ammonium acryloyldmethyltaurate/beheneth-25 methacrylate crosspolymer, ammonium acryloyldmethyltaurate/VP copolymer, gyceryl stearate, pea extract, narcissus tazetta extract, bambusa vulgaris stem extract, sodium hyaluronate, hexapeptide-2, schizandra chinensis, PEG-75 stearate, isohesadecane, steareth-20, ammonium polyacryloyldimethicone, citric acid, disodium EDTA, fragrance, chlorphenesin, potassium sorbate, phenoxyethanol.


Ingredients in ageLoc night cream


Water, pentylene glycol, caprylyl methicone, cyclopentasisloxane, shea butter, caprylic/capric tryglyceride, hydrogenated lecithin, ammonium acryloyldmethyltaurate/VP copolymer, hydroxyethylcellulose, glucosamine HCI, salycin, pea extract, narcissus tazetta extract, bambusa vulgaris stem extract, ceramide-3, schizandra chinensis, sodium hyaluronate,, xanthan gum, tetrasodium EDTA, fragrance, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol.

  • November 6, 2013

    by Marta

    Michele I reviewed the Tripollar here: http://www.truthinaging.com/review/apollo-tripollar-radio-frequency-skin-tightening-treatment

  • November 6, 2013

    by Michele Watson

    Hi Marta what do you think of the Tripollar Stop for neck firming?

  • October 11, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Deborah

    I am glad you like the Baby Q. After many months, I think it is better than Nu Skin. I am going to be researching microcurrent devices next.

  • October 11, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Deborah
    I am glad you like the Baby Q. I have to say that over the months I have come to like it much more than the Nu Skin. I think it works deeper into the skin. I am researching microcurrent devices and will have some posts coming up very soon.

  • October 10, 2010

    by deborah rodell

    Marta,

    Have you updated your research and use with these hand held products? I go to this site to find out your progress and if your review is positive or negative. That is how much I deeply respect your valued opinion. You like it I look into and only with your stamp of approval I buy it. Because of you I bought a Baby Q and have never regretted the purchase. It is well made and will last my lifetime of use. Also the results are obvious. But I need to get your input on these other items. I am 58, fighting the sagging face syndrome, turkey neck, etc. In other words I like many of my sisters who will not go the Botox or surgery route need to hear from you! Thank you for updating us!

    Deborah

  • January 20, 2010

    by Jaysie

    Ethocyn??? Wow, that's a product line my mother used at one time. It was expensive so she would only buy it off and on. Very interesting....

  • December 31, 2009

    by deb

    after reading your thorough review of the Nu Skin System I am almost convinced that I would like the Baby Q better.
    what is interesting is that these products keep being developed and that the technology only gets better.
    thanks for keeping us in the loop Marta.

  • December 28, 2009

    by Keri

    I have been using the Galvanic Spa & Gels for months now and I love the cumulative results. Also, if you want an ACNE system that works for about $70 per month, go with NuSkin Acne System. I was so embarrassed by my complexion prior to using their acne system and now my skin is amazingly clear and beautiful. I had tried other heavily advertised products that didn't work. NuSkin worked for me... wish I could give it away to everyone in the world. It has done great for my self esteem and wonders for my complexion. Try it!

  • December 13, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Primrose,
    I have only just started to test Nu-Skin. Give me a couple of weeks and then I'll feel able to make a recommendation.

  • December 13, 2009

    by Primrose Krasicki

    13/12/09 Hi Marta, Firslty I do enjoy reading all the TIA sites.Its fantastic to learn more as you read PLus be informed of what is good & what isnt !.Would you consider putting on the TIA web what you consider the superior is in either BAby Q or Nu Skin .Iam interested but also dont want to make the error in purchasing a component that inst up to it.Have a Happy Christmas and Best wishes for 2010 .Kind regards Primrose K melb Auz

  • December 5, 2009

    by Stephanie

    Jorge,
    Why so hostile? While you may disagree with Marta' POV, there's no need to disparage her knowledge. If you look through this site, you will see that Marta backs up her assertions with publicly available research.


    Your response to the article begs the questions, what is your background, and how did you happen on the TIA site?



    Best,
    Stephanie

  • December 5, 2009

    by marta

    Vivian, the honest answer is that the only one I know well is the Baby Q. I am going to get a Nu-Skin and try it out for a few weeks, but the demo was promising. I wasn't too impressed by Stop.

  • December 5, 2009

    by Vivian

    Hi Marta,

    What would you say is the best device to buy? The Baby quasar,Tripollar stop, or the Nu-skin.

    Thanks,
    Vivian

  • December 4, 2009

    by marta

    Jorge, I would suggest that you look at our articles on <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/tetrasodium-edta" rel="nofollow">tetrasodium EDTA</a>,<a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/chloraphenesin" rel="nofollow">chlorphenesin</a>, <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/body/what-is-it-body/what-is-it-phenoxyethanol-and-is-it-safe" rel="nofollow">phenoxyethanol</a>.

  • December 4, 2009

    by Jorge

    The "usual supsects" in the preservative department are what keep the cosmetic fresh and prevent infections among its users. The product is not marred by their presence - rather the consumer is protected.
    I doubt seriously if the uninformed author of this article has the slightest idea of its importance or what works.
    If these were dispensible or there were useful alternatives acceptable to the ignorant (such as the author of the above) - then these guys would obviously have them in place.

  • December 4, 2009

    by Rob Lowell

    Marta, thank you for reviewing our product, the Nu Skin Galvanic Spa and ageLOC product line. We are glad you are impressed with the results. For the readers, I am the distributor who introduced Marta to the ageLOC products.

    I did want to add that the ageLOC future serum, daily cleanser and moisturizer work to "reset" your youth gene clusters. These are groups of over 100 genes that affect how our body expresses aging. This is probably the most advanced breakthrough in skincare in a long time.

    To address Stephanie's questions:

    1. It is not required that you use the total Galvanic and ageLOC system together. You can use just the serum, or just the cleanser and moisturizer, or any product individually. You do however have to use the Galvanic facial gels with the Galvanic Spa. The gels contain key active ingredients that facilitate the effects of the Galvanic Spa.

    2. The company says the effects can last for 2-3 days, which is why they recommend 2x per week use. In my experience I have had people tell me that some of the effects have lasted a week or more. Prescribed use will yield a progressive benefit.

    3. The Galvanic Spa can assist with acne as the gels facilitate a microcleansing of the skin. The gels are driven through the skin and bind to, and extract toxins and impurities through the pores.

    4. Marta will have to respond to this one. Until then, I will keep my fingers crossed ; )

  • December 3, 2009

    by Stephanie

    Hi Marta,

    Do you think one could use this successfully with products other than those from nu skin?

    How long did the effects of the treatment last?

    Is it supposed to assist with acne?

    If you do purchase and/or do follow up treatments, please let us know whether it continues to impress.

    Thanks for your terrific reporting.

    Best,
    Stephanie

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...