Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Nutra-Lift 89% Organic Foundations with SPF 18- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Sun Protection for Face
May 27, 2010 Reviewed by admin 34 Comments
Regular TIA readers know about Marta’s love for Nutra-Lift products. Their lotions, shampoos, conditioners, face washes and serums are sold in the TIA store and are beloved by our readers for their natural, earth-friendly ingredients and effectiveness. I bought a friend their White Chocolate Body Butter and happily held onto the sample of their Non-Soap Cleanser that came with it for myself. My only complaint is that their packaging seems hopelessly outdated (very early 90’s), but that’s no reflection on what is inside of the bottles.

When I saw that Nutra-Lift makes makeup products I was eager to try one, so they sent a few free samples for us to choose from. I selected the “Natural Nude” tone, which is a light color with a distinctly pinkish tone. I’m afraid it’s a touch too light for my just-getting-a-suntan skin, so it’ll probably be a winter choice for me.

It’s got a thin consistency, even after shaking the bottle, and it blends onto the skin easily. I apply with fingertips as opposed to a sponge (dirty makeup sponges gross me out) after my moisturizer has had a few minutes to sink in the morning and had no problems with absorption. I only wear a little bit of foundation to cut shine and lightly cover up freckles and undereye circles so can’t speak to how well this covers up bigger flaws like pimples or scars but it feels fairly thin and I’m not sure it’s up to the challenge. It didn’t feel heavy or oily like the Almay Pure Blends I’ve been using all winter. More about that later.

I love the ingredients. It is 89% organic, paraben free and has SPF 18 (from zinc oxide and titanium dioxide) built right in. Aloe has amino acids and is soothing meadowfoam encourages skin moisture and hyaluronic acid is another super-moisturizer. Neem is another TIA favorite as it is an antioxidant and anti-inflammatory that combats free radicals. I reviewed a sunscreen with Neem oil for TIA last summer.

If I adopt this, it means I’ll be ditching the Almay Pure Blends makeup that I have been using all winter. I’ve not been overly pleased with it. It was inexpensive and the ingredients are overally good for a drugstore brand but I find that it separates too easily in the bottle in spite of shaking and is a touch too oily for my liking. It was fine for dry winter climates but moist NYC summers do not make me inclined to use anything that’ll ultimately add shine to my face.

At $24 for .3 oz, Nutra-Lift’s foundation costs more than I’ve ever spent on makeup before but since I’m trying to rid improve my cosmetics collection piece by piece, I think it’ll last a long time and be worth the change.

Ingredients:

Aloe barbadensis (certified organic aloe) juice, simmondsia chinensis (certified organic jojoba), iron oxide, mica, titanium dioxide, natural emulsifying wax, natural mixed tocopherols (vitamin E), hyaluronic acid, vitamin C ester, alpha lipoic acid, zinc oxide, phenoxyethanol (organic derived compound), dimethylaminoethanol (DMAE), stearic acid, CoQ10, limnanthes alba (meadowfoam), daucus carota sativa (carrot extract), methylsulfonylmethane (MSM), konjac glucomannan (mannan), rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary extract), azadirachta indica (neem extract), tetrasodium edta, citric acid.

Active SPF Ingredients: Titanium dioxide 9%, zinc oxide 1%.
  • August 4, 2010

    by S. Aimee

    I received the Medium Tan Nutra-Lift Foundation and have tried it....in fact, I am using it until it is all used up and will probably buy a new bottle. I love the feeling of the foundation when I am applying it and how nice it makes my skin look. I just wish, though, that it had a bit heavier coverage.

    Thanks for giving me the chance to try it.

  • June 7, 2010

    by Joey

    I too am a Bare Escentuals user but sometimes I wish I had a light foundation. I believe WARM BEIGE would be my color. Thank you
    Marta for sharing all your knowledge.

  • June 7, 2010

    by Jana Laughlin

    I would love to try the makeup..I use the moisturizer and love the results.

  • June 6, 2010

    by Jan

    I'm 51 and I have sensitive skin. I'd like to try a sample of this makeup.

  • June 5, 2010

    by Pamela

    I would love to try this!

  • June 4, 2010

    by Vanessa

    I am always on the lookout to try good things for my inside as well as my outside. If you feel good on the inside you want to project it on the outside ( and I for one sometimes need a little boost) as well. If there are more free samples I would like to try this!

  • June 3, 2010

    by westcoastmomma1

    would love to try this product. been wanting to try a new foundation but so hard to decide!

  • June 3, 2010

    by colinmack

    PLEASE! I am begging you to let me try this. I promise a great review. You have no idea how mamy foundations i have gone through lately. Covergirl Simply ageless (YUCK) Maybelline Age Rewind 9even yuckier) I need something for my very fair skin that is not drying and want settle into lines. Plus add that to the fact my face has exploded because I took Glucosamine not knowing it contained Iodine. UGH!

  • June 3, 2010

    by Jamerz

    And in the spirit of "good measure"- here's a few more of em' (known nanotechnology ingredients):

    As provided by cosmeticsdatabase.com:

    FULLERSOMES

    NANOSOMES

    FULLERENE (C60 HYDROXIDE)

    MICROSPHERES

    Ok- and all *non-topic*-tantrums aside: I've heard a lot of good things about the Nutra-Lift Line. I would absolutely love the opportunity to try their new "Flawless Foundation"...!!!! I believe my skin tone would fall in the golden beige range. :)

  • June 3, 2010

    by Jamerz

    Hi everyone! Albeit an avid fan of "truth in aging", this is my first official *post*- so please forgive my overwhelming need to say "Hooray!!!" as I celebrate my own commencement to the TiA community!!! Gosh...I'm lame. ;)

    Ok so! First, in response to Aleta Davies question regarding nanotechnology: (But please keep in mind that I am in NO WAY an authority on the matter...however, I do possess an educated familiarity with the topic as acquired by countless hours/days/...months(?)spent researching its various and seemingly endless) implications.

    In general, (and assuming that the ingredients provided above reflect the exact "wording"
    and presentation" as provided by the label on the product itself), ingredients derived from utilization of nanotechnology are identified as follows: (while keeping in mind that we, the consumer, will never fully be privy to the use of a given substance if and when its *quantity* succeeds in falling short of the "max" allotment as required for disclosure . awwww...Big hugs for the FDA! *wink*..;)...*cough..argh-cough*)

    ZINC OXIDE: (sunscreen grade < 100nm)

    NANO ZINC OXIDE // NanoZn // NANO ZINC OXIDE (20-60nm) // ZINC OXIDE (NANO 20-60nm)

    ***the classifications for the ingredients relating to nanotech "zinc oxide" as listed above are not my own-I simply copied and pasted from the following website (such an amazing resource!!)-

    http://www.cosmeticsdatabase.com/wordsearch.php?special=nano-listed&showmore=ingredients&start=0

  • June 2, 2010

    by Cynthia

    I would love to try this foundation in medium tan or warm beige. I have been using a Guerlain Divinora foundation in Beige Naturel and love the light, smooth texture that just glides on and doesn't leave me feeling too made up. However, I have recently moved from the Northeast to Santa Fe, New Mexico, and need to find a foundation with SPF built in. I need sunscreen every day here, and don't want to layer foundation over it. This sounds like it might be a great product for me. I've never tried Nutra-Lift products before and am intrigued. Thanks!

  • June 2, 2010

    by Kathi Harter

    My summer skin is seeking a summer foundation! I'd like to see if the medium tan will even out freckels and still not look heavy. Thanks!

  • June 2, 2010

    by Lainie

    I LOVE Nutra-Lift's products. I have my entire family and friends hooked on their their rejuvenating A serum with Matryxal 3000 (thanks to TIA). I would be eager to try their foundation in probably the golden beige. I am willing to put up with the bad packaging, b/c the products feel so great on my skin! I also am tired of using mineral foundations b/c they are so messy! I am ready for a change.

  • June 2, 2010

    by Regina

    I am in search of the perfect foundation. I like the ingredients and am looking for medium coverage with some firming qualities for my aging (oh no!) skin...I am fairly light with olivish undertones -- would love to try this prouct!

  • June 2, 2010

    by Pinkie

    This sounds like an amazing product! I would love to try it. I think I would be Natural Nude too.

  • June 2, 2010

    by S. Aimee

    Wow! Nutra-Lifts' ingredients in their foundations are exactly what I have been looking for: hyalaronic acid (great stuff!)...NEEM! (great idea!)....DMAE (perfect!)...COQ10, carrot extract, rosemary extract...these are all ingredients I have used at one time or another, but, all of them in one foundation on top of all the other great ingredients...wow! I would love to try this product in the Medium Tan color.

    Thanks so much, Marta...

  • June 2, 2010

    by Shannel

    I'm always looking for more organic skincare and that is especially difficult when it comes to my makeup. I would love to try the golden beige and see how it compares to my current foundation!

  • June 2, 2010

    by annette

    I have been using nude natural mineral cover for my skin started using it when i fall over and brused my chin, but would love to try nutra lift in golden beige for summer especially if it covers lines and wrinkles which the other one does not

  • June 2, 2010

    by Jan May

    I would love to try this more pure version of foundation. Most likely the palest shade for me is best.
    Thanks for such an honest and helpful website!

  • June 2, 2010

    by Teresa Gillenwater

    I am constantly looking for a favorite foundation. I prefer organic and mineral powder doesn't work with my skin. I would love to try Nutra-Lift foundation in golden beige. I just had my 52nd birthday (May 28) so, please surprise me!

  • June 2, 2010

    by Kayte CookWatts

    Natural Nude sounds great for me too- I am fair with pink undertones too!

  • June 2, 2010

    by Peggy

    I've never tried Nutra-Lift products. I would love to try this new foundation in warm beige. I've been looking for a new foundation,as well. Thank you

  • June 2, 2010

    by Dawn Nikithser

    I'd love to try it! Natural nude is probably my shade.

  • June 2, 2010

    by Bonnie Madsen

    I need to find a foundation that doesn't settle into lines and wrinkles and make me look older. As I have been using Nutra-lift products as of late, this would be a perfect place for me to start. I would love to try the warm beige color.

  • June 2, 2010

    by Cat

    I just have to try Nutri-Lift! I think I need every product in the arsenal so why not start with this foundation trio!

  • June 2, 2010

    by Emily

    I would like very much to try the Nutra-Lift foundation in golden beige.

  • June 2, 2010

    by Mandy

    I would love to try and review Nutra-Lift’s Flawless Foundation in golden beige (a light, yellowish tint).

  • June 2, 2010

    by Suz

    I would absolutely love to try the Warm Beige! I presently use Estee Lauder and it is a bit heavy... In my mid 40's it is Hard to find the "Right" coverage....that will blend, hide flaws, But Not settle into wrinkles.. Powders do not work my skin at all..

  • June 2, 2010

    by Angela

    I would love to give Nutra-Lift's Foundation in Golden Beige a try.

    I'm currently using Clinique's even better make-up with SPF 15 in the lightest shade and the color has just a touch too much pink for me, I'm pale with yellow undertones. Also, Clinique is not exactly natural and I would much prefer to wear makeup that is going to act like a treatment and do something good for my skin - not just cover it up.

  • June 2, 2010

    by Jennifer White

    I've been on a perpetual quest for a good foundation. I would love to try this in warm beige

  • June 2, 2010

    by Debra

    I have been using Bare Minerals, but would love to try a liquid foundation again. Thank you! Medium Tan would probably be my color.

  • June 2, 2010

    by Amy

    I really need a nice new foundation. I would love to try this out.

  • June 2, 2010

    by Eileen

    I love the Nutra-lift products and would like to try the foundation in warm beige. I've been looking for a new foundation too. Thank you

  • June 2, 2010

    by Aleta Davies

    I've read that micronized titanium dioxide and zinc oxide may be worse than the chemicals--no one really knows where nano particles end up since they can penetrate internal barriers other topical substances can't. Are the titanium and zinc in this formula micronized?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...