Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Nutra-Lift Herbal Nonsoap cleanser- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Dull Skin, Oily Skin
February 7, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 14 Comments
Nutra-Lift has reformulated its Herbal Nonsoap cleanser ($24 for 8oz) as an aloe-based gel. As I never got to try the old version, I can’t offer a comparison. However, I can say that I like this cleanser a lot as it not only cleanses gently and effectively, but also delivers some great antioxidants to my skin right at the get go of my daily regimen.

Nutra-Lift recommends rubbing Herbal Nonsoap onto dry skin and leaving it for 30 seconds before rinsing. I tend to leave it on for a minimum of two minutes whilst I clean my teeth and tidy the bathroom, hoping to get the maximum benefit from the antioxidant complex that includes organic botanicals such as rose hips, olive leaf and green tea.

There are a couple of vitamin Bs, vitamin A, E and C. Red clover also contains the antioxidant tocopherol, which is a form of vitamin E. Research from the National Cancer Institute (NCI) confirms that red clover extract contains four anti-tumor compounds.

The non-soap soapy stuff is provided by potassium coconate (saponified coconut oil), sodium coco sulfate and wheat germate.

The only thing to note is that although ethoxydiglycol, a solvent, is considered to have a very low order of toxicity, it ultimately contains ether, and therefore can be linked to cancer, developmental/reproductive toxicity, allergic reactions and endocrine disruptions.

I have no idea why colloidal sulphur is included (unless as an antibacterial), but I did read somewhere that low concentrations protect against radiation. So pack this cleanser next time you travel in the vicinity of Chernobyl.

Ingredients:

Certified organic aloe vera* gel, cocamide betaine,
potassium coconate, wheat germate, sodium coco-sulfate,
anti-oxidant complex 14 (rosemary*, rose hips*, oregano*, sage*,
olive leaf*, green tea*) HEC, vegetable glycerin, ascorbyl glucosamine
(vitamin C), vegetable sodium pca, hyaluronic acid, xantium gum,
grapefruit seed extract, natural mixed tocopheryls (vitamin E),
ethoxydiglycol, coltsfoot extract, calcium pantothenate, birch sap
extract, horsetail* extract, nettle* extract, red clover*, extract, sage*
extract, peppermint* extract, orange flower* extract, yarrow* extract,
inositol, colloidal sulphur, rosemary* extract, witch hazel, wheat germ
extract, retinyl palmiitate (vitamin A), niaciamide, thiamine, hcl,
collodial minerals *Certified Organically Grown Ingredient
  • February 16, 2010

    by marta

    Synergie, you aren't going to like this. There is no lather at all.

  • February 12, 2010

    by Cat

    Noticed via twitter you are soliciting comments to sample and review this cleanser. I have oily skin, too oily for my age,48.5 today. Everyone assumes I overdry but I don't. Have been happily using the Vital Image 3 steps and would like to simplify. I am intrigued by the 3 in one and I live in FL. Would be quicker to replenish my supply directly from Nutra-Lift if I like the results. Or as you may be aware, I know I can also order from your shop as I took advantage of your recent promotions scoring both the eye and body promos with one shot. So cool! Thanks!

  • February 12, 2010

    by Melanie

    This sounds like a product for me!

  • February 10, 2010

    by lnc04

    hi marta, i would love to actually have my brother try this cleanser. i have bought him everything under the sun and he is convinced he has acne when he doesnt. he's just a guy who doesn't, no matter how many times/ways i explain it, just isn't getting it. he dries his skin out then his body kicks in and produces more oil, along with approaching his mid 30's, he's just not treating the prob the right way. he hates putting on lotion so i have been on the hunt for a good soap free cleanser that will clean his skin thouroughly but give it some benefits too. so if i could be put up for the give away that would be great. i will report back on what i see as well as make him give you a full report on what he thought and felt. thanks so much, yours, lisa

  • February 10, 2010

    by synergie

    I'd love to try it. I'm trying to like the last one I got from Vitacost with the rosehips but it is aggravating to me when things don't foam up. It just doesn't feel clean!! How lathery is this one?

  • February 10, 2010

    by Noel

    I'd love to try the cleanser. I've been reviewing the TIA site in search of a gentle cleanser that won't strip my skin or cause breakouts--also checking into moisturizers/serums. I'm tired of hiding my combo skin and dry, flakey cheeks! Thanks!

  • February 10, 2010

    by Leslie

    Hey, I JUST ordered the Nutri-Lift Shampoo & Conditioner, as well as the Nutra-Lift Night Repar Fluid from the TIA Store because of the great things I read! It would be really cool to review the whole line! It's so important we girls share our likes/dislikes, tips, short cuts..etc. Lets stick together! When something really works, it helps you feel good about you..pass it on!

  • February 10, 2010

    by Kim

    I would absolutely love to try this cleanser. Thanks to TIA, i am huge Nutra Lift fan. Would love to test it out and write a review for everyone.

    Thanks!
    kim

  • February 9, 2010

    by Laura

    I got the free sample of this, too(when I was buying Christmas gifts of White Chocolate Body Butter) and I LOVE it. It smells fantastic and makes my skin nice and soft. I've recently made the switch from non-harsh cleansers and I think this one is a bargain at that price for the full size version. I'd definitely purchase from the TIA store.

  • February 8, 2010

    by Mark

    I also received a 4 oz sample with my Nutra Lift Night Repair (thanks Nutra Lift folks!), and although I've only been using it for a week, I love it too. I was going to write a review for you, but you beat me to it, Marta!

  • February 8, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Pam

    We should be able to get Herbal Nonsoap and the Nutra-lIft One-Step body Scrub up in the store this week. I'll post when they are available.

  • February 7, 2010

    by Pam Robbins

    I too received a sample of this when I ordered the Nutra-Lift Shampoo. I really liked it! Where can you purchase the full size? I didn't see it in the TIA store.

  • February 7, 2010

    by 1ofnoother

    I think I've tried the older version when they sent me a bottle along w/ my purchase of Nutra-Lift's conditioner! I'm not sure if it's the same, but I like how the version I've tried has a citrusy smell! I was going to recommend it for a review too. =D

    oh, Marta, I keep forgetting to ask you to check out a company called Skin organics. I happened to talk to one of their reps while shopping at Mother's Market for some acne/skin products. I think they're based in TX, though. Their products are "always paraben free, cruelty free, and gluten free! All products except Peppermint Milk are vegan." They gave me a sample of one of the cleansers and a moisturizer, which I totally enjoyed. I think it's the Pomegrante Protection Moisturizer w/ physical sunscreens. It was light and seemed to work really well. You might want to check it out and compare to IMAGE's moisturizer. You might like it.
    http://www.skinorganicsaw.com/?page_id=5

    One thing that kind of confused me was that there's ANOTHER company called Skin Organics. I found it when I was searching for the Skin Organics that I was introduced to. Shouldn't this pose some kind of trademark issue? This other company also looks "ingredient conscious." They apparently have a whole range of skin products that are all organic, and promise to NOT carry parabens, sulfates, mineral oils, and a whole bunch of other nasties to avoid. I think it's also worth checking out. It's a clean site. =P

    http://www.skinorganics.com/

  • February 7, 2010

    by Carol Aguilar

    I received a sample of this skin cleanser when I ordered some of the shampoo that Marta recommended. I was not too crazy about the shampoo but loved this cleanser. I ended up ordering some and when I use it my skin is comfortable, feels clean yet moisturized. I have oily skin (at 56 years old) and this is my go-to cleanser. Highly recommend!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...