Free shipping on all orders over $39

Ole Henriksen Truth Serum- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
July 28, 2010 Reviewed by Shyema 14 Comments
I cannot stop singing my praises for Ole Henriksen’s Truth Serum ($48). I first came across it a couple years ago, when a glowing-complexioned friend of mine recommended it. Thinking she just was one of those lucky people just born with good skin, I took everything she said with a grain of salt and never ended looking into the product. Besides, serums were always too strong for me.

Then, literally a year later, I came home one day and noticed my roommate (whose skin is very comparable to mine) skin was looking flawless. She told me she was incidentally also using Ole’s Truth Serum. That was more than enough to convince me to go out and buy my own bottle. And I’m so glad I did, because it’s really a serum where I can see a noticeable difference in my skin and complexion. Since then, I’ve gotten so many of my friends totally hooked on it.

Claire had previously done a comprehensive review on the serum, but they have updated their formula since then because it’s now paraben-free. It still contains such brighteners as grapefruit and orange extract (which contributes to how great it smells). Antioxidants like green tea, and a powerful vitamin C derivative (sodium ascorbyl phosphate) help fight free-radical damage, which another vitamin C salt in the form of calcium ascorbate helps boost collagen production.

The serum also contains hydrating sodium hyaluronate, which penetrates the skin to promote nutrient absorption for softer, fuller skin. Although I haven’t tried or observed this on my own, one of my friend applies a little on her lips before bed and swears her lips feel fuller in the morning. It's the only serum I've used so far that doesn't make me feel sticky or oily (it is and oil-free formula). I just use a little in the morning and before bed.

If you're in the market for something that clarifies without irritating, and also helps "plump" your skin for a fuller look, I would definitely suggest giving the Truth Serum a try.

Ingredients
Water (Aqua), Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Calcium Acerbate, Sorbitol, Glycerin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Euphrasis Offinalis Extract, Rosa Canina Fruit Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract, Oleth-20, Hydroxyethylcellulose, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Benzophenone-4, Sodium Hyaluronate, Thioctic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Citric Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Limonene, Linalool, Citral, Fragrance (Parfum), Yellow 6 (CI 15985).em>

Related Article:

Reviewed and recommended: Ole Henriksen’s Truth Serum

  • June 7, 2013

    by Pinky

    Don't use thisserum.i did not see any difference on my face.Waste of money.

  • September 24, 2012

    by lee

    I was at a ''brick and mortar' 2 days ago, and a SA loaded me up with samples of this serum and so far I really like it. (Though the color seems oddly creepy.)
    L~~

  • August 24, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Eileen, yes you could. Shyema and her friends are in their 20s. You can also check out products in our 20-somethings section: http://truthinaging.com/category/face/face-skin-care-for-20-somethings

  • August 24, 2010

    by Eileen

    I was thinking of starting to use a serum.. Would you recommend this?
    I am 20yrs old with combination skin.
    I dont want to be like other girls that load up their face with makeup. I want the real thing.LOL.

  • July 29, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Ha, no I haven't. I like the concept but I haven't seen one yet that I really like the look of.

  • July 29, 2010

    by Marta

    Actually Susan, you have a point. The yellow dye used here is controversial. It is an allergan and can be carcinogenic, according to the entry in wikipedia. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunset_Yellow_FCF)

  • July 29, 2010

    by ha

    Marta,

    Would you recommend using BB cream? Or have you tried it out yourself?

  • July 29, 2010

    by Trish

    Yes BB cream is very popular in Korea/Japan. Thought having tried it, I think it really depend on your skin and brand too, I wasn't thrill with the result (I am Asian). Problem is most of them only comes in one shade so someone who is very fair or dark will have issue with this.

  • July 29, 2010

    by marta

    Yes Michelle, we wrote about <a href="truthinaging.com/face/bb-cream-what-is-it" rel="nofollow">BB cream </a>here truthinaging.com/face/bb-cream-what-is-it

  • July 29, 2010

    by Michelle

    I noticed the mention of "flawless" skin in this post, and thought of the widely admired "flawless Korean skin/complexion." I was searching for possible cultural secrets, and came across BB (blemish balm) cream that is widely popular in Asia. I read that many actresses use it on their skin for a flawless look. I've always thought Koreans have beautiful, bright, flawless skin, and wondered if it were due to genetics, or if they had some kind of skincare and/or makeup secrets. Has anyone heard of anything in this regard about Korean skincare? or about BB cream?

  • July 28, 2010

    by Jaysie

    Susan - I agree with you.

  • July 28, 2010

    by Mark

    Thanks for a great review Shyema - this sounds like one I'll have to put on my wish list to try.

  • July 28, 2010

    by Susan

    This product sounds good, but I have a difficult time accepting food coloring--or any other unnecessary chemicals--being added to any "serious" skin care line.

  • July 28, 2010

    by Lori

    Shyema
    I too have never found a serum that was right for me and my skin. I was actually preparing to give it one more shot and order the Folligen/Osmosis Replenish special package offered through TIA (since I DO use Folligen)but then I read your review. Actually, I tried a sample of Truth Serum given to me in Sephora about a year ago and found it to be a pleasant experience (loved the scent!). Now I'll have to choose between the two!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...