Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

OOKISA Hair Thickening System - is it a scam?

April 1, 2009 Reviewed by Marta 125 Comments

The lady at OOKISA's customer service was brisk and professional.

Me: I'd like to be given a Return Merchandise Authorization number.

CS lady: May I ask why you'd like to return the product.

Me: Well I applied on your website for a free trial and when the 'free' products arrived they were with instructions that told me I have to pay $89.95 if I don't return them within 14 days. Your terms and conditions aren't on your website, so I feel like this is a scam.

CS lady: We are not a scam company. The terms and conditions are on the website.

Me: Where?

CS lady: There is a terms and conditions tab at the bottom of the screen.

Now, bear in mind that when I sent off for my free trial of OOKISA Hair Thickening System I was looking hard for the terms and conditions. After all, its kinda my job to be thorough about these things. I didn't see anything and so decided to give it a go and see what would happen. I now see that, CS lady was, of course, right. The T&Cs are on the bottom left of the screen

that pops up when you hit the Free Trial tab. You can see them on the image above. There! In tiny gray print at the bottom left. Oh by the way, did I mention that I work on a computer screen that is at 24-inches larger than most. And still I missed it.

OK CS lady, you may not be a scam company but you are not forthcoming with vital information - such as, you will be charged $89.95 and $89.95 thereafter every single month unless you return the product within 14 days. Information that, in my opinion should be on the free trial sign in page and repeated again at check out.

Join the conversation on our Facebook Fan Page!

This phony free trial thing is practiced all too often by companies that advertise online. Read Kate's post and all the comments on Lift SP. This kind of marketing is dishonest and it does us and the products (which often aren't all that bad) a disservice.

Talking of products, OOKISA's Hair Thickening System is a shampoo, conditioner and serum and I've copied the ingredients in the conditioner below. The jewel in the crown is yuzu, a Japanese citrus fruit that looks like a small and ugly grapefruit. I'm not sure what it does for hair, but Korean researchers claim it has more vitamin C than other citrus fruits and it also contains hesperidin, a flavonoid anti-inflammatory that appears to be able to tackle dark under-eye circles. There are some other useful botanicals. Water lily is soothing and reduces inflammation, green tea is an antioxidant, while peony seems to be widely accepted as a hair growth stimulant - it turns up in eyelash growth products, for example.

On the other hand, there are a lot of silicones (about which there is fairly strong evidence of toxicity), a surprising number of petroleum-derived C12-13 pareths that are known irritants and, although there are no parabens, there are the usual suspects in the preservative department.

I won't be reviewing this as I shall be returning it unused to OOKISA.

Related posts

UPDATE: OOKISA apologizes!

UPDATE: I get to review the kit for $19.95 with no obligation to reorder - read my review

Ingredients in OOKISA conditioner:

Water, cetearyl alcohol, isohexadecane, stearamidopropyl dimethylamine, behentrimonium methosulfate, glycerin, apigenin, citrus junos fruit extract (yuzu), oleanolic acid, biotinoyl tripeptide-1 camellia japonica leaf extract, aspalathus linearis stalk extract (red rooibus tea) panthenol, hydrolized vegetable protein PG-propyl silanetriol, pyrus malus (apple) fruit extract, serenoa serrulata fruit extract, white peony, steardimonium hydroxypropyl hydrolized wheat protein, linoleic acid, nymphaea alba (water lily) extract, hydrolized soy protein, hyaluronic acid, linoleic acid, sorbitol amodimethicone, triticum vulgare (wheat) germ oil, jojoba seed oil, sodium PCA, tocopheryl acetate, polyquaternium-55, centrimonium chloride, acetamide MEA, polysilicone-19, tocopherol, C12-13 pareth-23, divinyldimethicone/dimethicone copolymer, C12-12 pareth-3, C11-15 pareth-7, laureth-9, sulfor, butylene, glycol, sodium phytate, trideceth-12, PPG-26-buteth-26,  PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil, hydroxypropyl guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, caprylyl glycol, citric acid, phenoxyethanol, chlorphenesin, fragrance.

  • December 23, 2012

    by gabriel

    To avoid getting signed up for repeat shipments and other traps, I only order on-line from companies that accept PayPal.

  • October 21, 2011

    by LIZ

    It's a SCAM! I, too, missed the size 1 font at the bottom of the page that tells all. I am calling as soon as OOKISA opens and I am sending the "stuff" back. I will be polite, but firm when talking with their reps. I don't care if it works like a charm, I hate being deceived.

  • October 20, 2011

    by scam no more

    If it sounds too good to be true it usually is...I have found through personal experience that all these companies including, Stem Cell Therapy, Stri-vectin and ooksia are alike...once you get their free trial it is not usually FREE...they have your credit card number and they keep sending it to you if you don't cancel...that is how they make THEIR monies...Don't fall for this scam

  • October 7, 2011

    by Carolyn

    Do not get their Free Trial it is a scam. I didn't care for the product but decided not to send it back but to stop future orders. The order came anyway. I called explained what happened and was told that since I didn't return the original trial offer all orders were considered final. I told her that no where on the invoice of the second shipment did it say I couldn't return the shipment. All I needed to do was call customer service, get a RMA number and send it to the address provided. I was then told that it says "after the trial off all shipments are considered fianl". I still haven't found that statement anywhere. She did say that she cancelled my account and would not be receiving anymore shipments but there was nothing she could do about a return/refund on this shipment. Maybe it's time the BBB get involved with this since other people seem to be having the same problem. Obviously they are not being up front with the buying conditions.

  • September 23, 2011

    by lovemybubbles

    Thanks for this post! I almost fell for it and bought the product but something seemed a little "off" when checking out. So I read the fine print, stopped and did a little research. I own an internet website where we sell/ship shapewear. We pride ourselves on being 100% transparent because there are too many companies like these who try to trick the consumer into being charged monies at a later date. They can claim that they make the terms and conditions clear, but if they have to hide it behind a link, put it in tiny writing or otherwise obscure the deal, they are not being consumer friendly. The Doctors should know that they are using them to sell the product...that is the only reason I considered making the purchase.

  • August 3, 2011

    by holly

    this is the BIGGEST scam ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! refuse to answer the phone # provided to cancel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • July 30, 2011

    by Brooklynj

    Unbelievable! I just received my OOKISA in the mail today. As I was looking up my account to see what I had paid, I found you website. So, before even trying it, I called to ask for a return label. I told her that even if it was a great roduct, I could not afford the monthly charge (nor would I need one each month). Amazingly, I was offered the same product at half price: $44+ So I stated playing the game, and now I have 30 days to try it, and if I like it, I can get it every two months for $22+ Amazing! I felt like I was back in Italy bargaining down prices of anything! So, if you like the product, just call and say it's too expensive and they'll get it down to a reasonable rate!

  • July 25, 2011

    by VIC

    Lady's, Beware!!!!
    I bought the product for my mother, it worked in the beginning but not what its claim to be. The worst is I've been charged twice and have yet to recieve any packags. I've been suckered out. Becarefull!

  • June 29, 2011

    by Marvie

    Well, I have to disagree with most of these comments. I did the same thing. Was having some hair thinning and irritation so I jumped at the free trial offer. AFTER ordering, I saw that I would be charged the 89 bucks. I immediately called customer service to cancel. The women says " what if we offer it to you at $39 a month after the trial period if you like it". I agreed and eventually received the products. I have to say, it's been about 8 months and I am still using it happily. My scalp no longer itches and I swear my hair is thicker and shinier. I am African American and usually straighten my hair from its naturally curly state. I was using shine sprays to finish my styling but have not had to use any finishing products since I started Ookisa. People have noticed the difference. I would suggest that you try to get them to lower the price for you and give it a shot. I am very happy with it and I was even able to customize the time between orders. They only charge me every 3 months because I don’t need to refill as often as every month. In my opinion, they want your business and will work with you. Customer Service are not the brightest but they will work with you.

  • June 9, 2011

    by Karen

    This company is EITHER dishonest or inexcusably incompetent, or both. I ordered the trial, then found out about the $89 charge. I did not use the product (did not even open the box) but immediately called for an RMA. The "customer service" rep tried to get me to try it, but I repeated my request for an RMA. I received the RMA, and followed the precise return instructions and confirmed via UPS tracking that OOKISA received the return within the time allowed. I was charged $89 a month later anyway. I might not even have noticed it on my credit card statement as I assumed it was taken care of. I called OOKISA. After some time admitted they did receive the return on time and stated they would reverse the charges. I'm waiting for the credit. I would never buy a product, no matter how fantastic, from such a dishonest/incompetent entity, particularly one that "automatically bills." STAY AWAY!!!

  • April 26, 2011

    by maria retana

    I am very dissapointed on the charge of 89.98 after I received the so called free trial. Somehow or other I missread what they really ment and now I am out of 89.99 that I spend on shampoo that has made no difference to my hair.
    I need to say the product is not worth what their asking for.

  • March 14, 2011

    by Cici Miller

    I have baby fine hair and most body formulas make it too heavy and it lies flat. With age this baby fine hair is getting gray and thinner. I tried Hair Essentials on the internet for my hair but also went to the dermatologist for my splitting fingenails that are long and beautiful for a while & then start being brittle again. She said I should take a vitimin with biotin in it that is very inexpensive and some are called "Hair"! I told her I was taking Hair Essentials for my hair and she said anything for hair works for nails.....if it has biotin in it. I went to the hair dresser 30 days after taking Hair Essentials. Because of the biotin in it I have new growth (1/4" tall) all over my head. Try biotin which is slow but works and your hair dresser can show you how to tell!

  • March 3, 2011

    by Barbara Loyd

    Kris Aug 13th, 2009

    "Go to an asian grocery store and buy a bottle of yuzu juice (usually $15 or so). Put a few drops in water you drink during the day. It tastes better than lemon in your water and I think makes your hair super shiny! The bottle will last you months!"

    Has anyone tried Kris' suggestion to buy a bottle of Yuzu juice and add to water daily? If so, what were your results?

  • February 11, 2011

    by sharon

    Ookisa stole my credit card information. I do not have thin hair fortunately and no one else had access to my acct number. Unfortunately Ookisa you have met your match and I can do more damage to your reputation than you can imagine. You need to watch who you scam because in the long run you will be bankrupt!!

  • January 26, 2011

    by Hallee

    I tried the Ookisa as well and only have good things to say about their product. I was able to find the information regarding the policies easily. They may have improved their site.
    I can't afford it either unfortunately.. but I go to amazon.com and have found to be very lucky at getting it for a very low price and it is the exact same product.
    My hair has definitely become thicker and has even grown faster, it's fantastic!!

  • January 23, 2011

    by elizabeth

    I LOVE OOKISA!! got my free trial ~ only paid shipping and handling (maybe $9.99?) then got my first 'Auto-Ship' and it was $89.95 and i called to cancel because i couldn't afford that even though the shampoo made my hair look great and did seem a little thicker (too soon for results). they cut the cost in half and dropped shipments to every few months. my hair is thicker and has better body ~ my hairdresser just asked me for a link to their site so she can recommend it to other clients because my hair continues to get thicker. Ookisa is a great product ~ been using it for about 9 months now and will continue ~ my hair is SO MUCH THICKER!!!! LOVE OOKISA!

  • January 21, 2011

    by PAZ

    I've also fallen for this "Scam"! However Unlike the other customers who are paying TOO Much for a *FREE SAMPLE!* I'm paying TOO MUCH for Nothing! I didn't get the product...But I Sure Got Billed for the product!!!!!?!?!??

    Should I have to pay for something I Don't Have??? I would like to have this resolved!!!! I Think ALL My $$ Should Be Returned/Refunded. **You have MY Money...I have NOTHING FROM Your Company!!!!!!!!!

  • January 18, 2011

    by Claretna Vaxter

    I wished that I had read your website before ordering this product.But, I ordered , thinking that it was a free sample,I was just to pay the shipping.I did not see that I had to return the product.Also at my own expense.I threw the box away without thinking and plus I do not plan to pay for anymore shipping.I called and they told me that I would charged because it was part of their policy.

  • January 12, 2011

    by Cassie

    I have searched the sight for a terms and conditions page. Can't find it. Seriously? What a scam. Thanks for the save! It does not matter if the product works miracles or not. You should not have to scam people into buying it if it is REALLY that amazing.

  • January 11, 2011

    by Toni

    WOW, I just was another victim to this "scam". I do believe the website is absolutely misleading and I will never trust this company again. I also was NOT impressed at all by the product. My bank account was over withdrawn because of this. I called and demanded my money back and all they "said" all they could do was reimburse me $50, because it was the sale price.
    AWEFUL HORRIBLE COMPANY!!!!!

  • January 3, 2011

    by Patricia

    I just cancelled the products. I did like the shampoo and conditioner but the price was extremely high and yes I also thought I was getting to try a sample for free but not I also didn't find anywhere that said that I would be charged the $89. So it was a very expensive learning experience. Now they offered to give me the $39.99 but I decided I had already been had I better try something else. There are all sort of scams just like this one. Be awar of Dermitage they are the same.

  • November 22, 2010

    by Casey Tabbot

    Ookisa is currently giving a free 30 day trial and you only have to pay for the shipping and processing. I personally have used it and it has been great in adding more volume and bounce to my hair

  • November 16, 2010

    by Susan

    Ookisa is a scam. I accepted a free trial sample and received nothing. I was charged for the psotage and then almost $100 for the product that never arrived.
    I called "CS" and got a teenager who sounded bored and barely capable. He refused to cancel the "subscription"..the one that was not made known until AFTER MY CARD WAS CHARGED...refused to refund. I have read a couple other reports claiming that people got packs of literature to validate a tracking receipt and then were charged for stuff they did not get.

    I don't mind trying new products. But let's get real. It take many months for any change in your hair to be noticeable. Once it passes the scalp, hair is dead and cannot be "repaired" by anything. It can be patched, protected and have damaged "covered," but it can't be repaired. Notice the ookisa trail period is 30 days. Get real. Hair grows aobut 1/4 inch amonth. Most people woudl not see real change for at least a year!

    RUN FROM THIS PRODUCT!

  • November 14, 2010

    by Angela Mac

    You know to be honest, when i signed up for the free trial i knew there would be a charge or would be billed for the product if i kept it. However, I don't recall it mentioning the amount it would be. When I received my "free" trial i was so excited and started reading the directions and the information on the product. I thought to myself this just may work!!! Then upon reading the last piece of paper which stated that if i chose to keep the product, i would be billed $ 89.00 or so. Immediately I knew that there was no way I could swing this amount on a hair product even if it worked like a miracle. So of course I used it for about 23 days while each time I used it I practically had a panic attack. So prior to my 30 day trial period was up i asked to return it. There was no problem with the return system except the usual expected try it for anyother 30 days more. Which would have probably been o.k. but i hardly had any more left to try for that long. So i did end up returning the product with no problem besides the usual no, no, no thankyous to the sales rep. But the return did go well. As for the product itself, i do beleive the combination of all three products worked well because i did see new hair growth, and i was happy aout that. Mabe if it was less costly such as $20-$25 per month alot more people would continue to order it. Also,they sould just sell it outright for a cheaper price instead of the free trial period that charges you $89.00 if you end up liking it. So from the beginning when you excitedly open that box and have yur hopes of loving this product then you find out about the $89.00 your going to hope you don't like it! That's no good marketing on their part now is it? Thanks for letting me voice my opoinion, ANGE

  • October 22, 2010

    by Rita

    I've read all the comments. However, I have a different question. Do any of you have type 2 diabetes that have used the product? My medication for the diabetes made my hair super sensative to coloring; I'd like to try this product but not at the expence (not monitary)of screwing up my hair sensativity.

  • October 13, 2010

    by Tammy Clark

    I just received my free trial of Ookisa shampoo, conditioner, and serum; after the first use I saw an amazing difference in my hair; it was fuller, and looked healthier. My mother-in-law is a hair dresser, and I used all the best products there are, mainly because I got a discount on them, but none of the products really did what they said they would. I have thin hard to grow hair that is brittle, and breaks easily, because of a genitic desease I have *ecodermal displacia*. When I comb it, I usually end up with a lap full of broken hairs. My hair is just past my shoulders, that is 13 years worth of growth. So to see a difference in my hair after just one use...I am definately going to continue to use the product, and if I can get it cheaper, that would be a blessing too.

  • October 7, 2010

    by Audrey

    I tried and liked the shampoo and conditioner, but wanted to cancel the "serum" part of my order for future orders only, and change the card the trial order would be charged to, because someone had STOLEN my number so VISA had to cancel any charges. The "Customer Service" number staff could not seem to handle such a complicated request. First I was disconnected. Then when I called again, they couldn't get their system to accept my valid number. They tried a half dozen times but it kept trying to charge the old number, which was of course declined. The rep said they would bill me, but instead all I got was some stupid email telling me to call them with a valid card number. Duh... I did that before the trial was over. So now they can just wait a while.

  • October 3, 2010

    by Dana

    I have been using ookisa for probably 6 months consistently. My hair was also breaking off
    and my hair dresser says that it has grown back
    and is now stronger and healthier.
    I have fine hair and haven't found anything else that works as good as ookisa.
    Unfortunately it is expensive.
    But I love it.
    Once in awhile I can find it on ebay for a more reasonable price.

  • September 3, 2010

    by Robbyn

    I have been using Ookisa for a year and a half and there is NO BETTER SHAMPOO ON THE MARKET!! YOU ALL ARE WRONG! My hair was breaking off from the sulfates in other shampoos. It took awhile because the old stuff had to grow out and be cut off, but the new hair that grew (1/2 per month!!) has been soft, shiny, silky, and VERY HEALTHY according to my hair dresser. And, I get my hair colored and highlighted once per month because MY HAIR GROWS SO FAST!! My husband was having red spots on his scalp from Pantene shampoo so he tried the Ookisa and his hair has NEVER been softer or more manageable in 30 years of knowing him. So -- your loss.

  • July 27, 2010

    by Kara

    The products are clearly marked and you DO have the option to buy upfront without the FREE trial. People ARE looking for something for nothing. If a shampoo cost 32.95 and a conditioner cost 32.95 then a serum cost 62.95 All clearly marked in the buy now section of the website lets see how much will they cost when my FREE trial is over, yep you guessed it $128.95, no wait! They are actually cutting me a deal at $89.95. Yes, there are pricey shampoo's and conditioners out there. Again I say if you can't afford when your done it then DONT TRY IT!!!!

  • July 21, 2010

    by Jill

    I love these products. The shampoo is okay but the conditioner is amazing--the best I've ever used and I've tried many different products over the year. I also use their souffle--it doesn't necessarily volumize but it's anti frizz and makes my hair very soft--great for the summer. I use it religiously. I was able to get a better price by speaking to someone personally on the phone thanks to all of these posts!

  • July 21, 2010

    by Shelly

    Just wanted to add that I don't feel every American is looking for something for free, but if the product costs $89 just be upfront with the price. Who would want to buy a gallon of milk for $5.99 and then after you get home and start drinking it, find out that if you really want to keep it, it will cost you an additional $85. Just be CLEARLY honest with the pricing and maybe people wouldn't be so upset. Not everyone has $89 to spend on hair products for a month.

  • July 21, 2010

    by Shelly

    Wow, glad I decided to do a little research before ordering. I was literally a moment away from clicking the submit payment tab and then decided to do an internet search on how previous customers felt. I think I will stick with the recommendations from my salon.

  • July 21, 2010

    by Kasey

    I love the product ! This product is a little pricey and does not last 60 days. My hair looks alot healthier, and people have actually noticed. The serum bottle design is horrible, but I have had tons of compliments on my hair in just 3 weeks.

  • July 19, 2010

    by HELEN

    I just had the same problem today. I thought that I was would be receiving a sample and later purchase the full collection at my own leisure, but this was not the case. I received my full set of Ookisa in the mail today, and I immediately phoned the customer service representative. He informed me that Ookisa would like me to try the products, because it will take at least 3 weeks to really see the effects and improvements. He offered to extend the free trial period an extra two weeks so that I would have plenty of time to experience the product and then return them full, half-full, or empty without any further discussion. I think due to the way this whole process works, I will definitely be using ALL of the product and returning the empty containers!

  • July 15, 2010

    by Kara

    I used Ookisa for over 4 months and loved the results! I was experiencing lots of hair loss in the shower each morning and after using the Ookisa there is barely any. The product leaves your hair light weight and fresh feeling. When you think about the FREE TRIAL offer it is the same as any company is offering now. Use it for 30 days and IF you DONT like it send it back. I will say as much as I liked the product my husband lost his job and I had to call and cancel my auto-ship and the company offered to allow me to buy the product for $44.95 (Shampoo and Cond.) on reorders only when I wanted, so they are willing to work with you. The american consumer these days wants something for nothing, so when they DONT actually get something for NOTHING they complain, what a shame!! Just look at these post for prime examples you ask for a review of a product and all you get are complaints about people feeling like they were scammed and you wonder why companies have to operate the they they do.

  • July 12, 2010

    by Janet Sung

    And the customer service person sound like he knows excatly what I am calling for and he has every explaination in the world to tell me that it is my fault.

    I think it is because there are too many customers calling to complain about the product, therefore he knows excatly what he is saying.

    And the reason why it cost so much for shampoo like this is not because how good it works. It is because they have to pay those people who receive 1000 complain phone calls a day... This is for the labor, not for the product itself.

  • July 12, 2010

    by Janet Sung

    I tried calling OOKISA Customer Service again after reading so many complains on the website.
    The person on the phone will not transfer me to the manager, he kept telling me that it is my mistake that I did not read the instruction carefully that is why I have to pay the bill.

    And yes ladies, I did end up paying $99.95 for something I did not sign up for. So, make sure do not order anything from OOKISA.

  • July 9, 2010

    by brenda

    change you credit card number.They cant charge you again when they have the wrong number.

  • July 8, 2010

    by Dee

    I wouldn't say it's a scam. The terms and conditions are pretty clear. If you call to cancel, they will lower the price, or you can get it lowered more by extending it longer than the initial time period that you sign up for. I don't know if it ACTUALLY works or if the chemicals in it make your hair appear fuller, but I have very fine and thinning hair and even my hair dresser commented on my hair feeling thicker.

  • June 29, 2010

    by Katie

    I ordered the “free trial” from this company, and was charged about $6 for the shipping, which was fine when I opened the boxed and found a complete set of large bottles of Shampoo/Conditioner/Serum. Shipping was fast and I was satisfied with the customer service during the shipping process. However, The product did not seem to work. I didn’t even experience much volume, which is the main reason I ordered the product in the first place, as well as the possibility for hair regrowth. In addition to the dissatisfying results, I received an email from them letting me know that after the 30 day trail my account would be charged over $60 for the product… so much for free trial, right? I called them a week before the cut off date of the “30 day trial” when I would be charged, and they told me they would be sending out a shipping box for me to return the product. Why would they want used product returned to them?! Over all, I found this system, the companies policies, and their “trial” to be a hoax and a joke. Please don’t waste your time… the only effect that they have on your head will be an over whelming headache.

  • June 28, 2010

    by Sumi

    This JUST happened to me! I wish I had read this before I sent in the money for a trial!!!
    Can't we do anything about this? FTA? ANYONE?

  • June 28, 2010

    by Millie

    No unfortunatly its not a scam, just real good advertising and misleading the average person. They do take the money up front but tell you it will not show until the "free trial" is over and you did not inform them that you will send it back. I got stung from another item and will never order a "freebe" again. Too much trouble reading every detail and having to be sure I call within the 2 weeks and then to bother to send it back. Iam considering the comments all has written and if I decide I will search to buy at a store.

  • June 10, 2010

    by Nikki

    Head's up people - you don't have to pay $89 for the stuff. They have a script to follow. If you continue to try to cancel because of price, they will reduce the price to about $40 plus S&H...
    I do like the product. But, I was also annoyed by the "free trial" scam. Yet, I continue to repurchase because I love the smell and it works great. I agree that the serum is useless... But $40 for the combo doesn't seem to bad for me...

  • May 21, 2010

    by EVELYN V.

    This OOKISA product gives a wonderful results to my hair, before I used OOKISA my hair falls maybe more than 20 OR 30 pcs everyday but when I used this OOKISA I saw 2 or 3 pcs a day and I even gave my brother and son to try this products too.
    I have no complains about the products. I've been using this for for almost 8 months and I'm so satisfied and happy, I tried a lot of hair growing or loosing hair control but none was working on me. I tried one product for 4 yrs but it grows only like a cat hair and that's it and if you stop using, all the hair that grows was gone too.
    I hope that this OOKISA will lower the price because not all can afford this expensive products but has a funtastic results.
    Thank you for the invention and more power to OOKISA.

  • February 18, 2010

    by Cathy Lewis

    I like the products and might use them however, I don't do business with companies that use deception. I could not believe my eyes when I saw what I was being charged for the FREE TRIAL.
    You will never build customer loyalty like that.
    I would never buy another product of any kind from OOkisa

  • February 13, 2010

    by Shella

    Please don't take offence to my reply. I make this comment with much respect. I read over this offer and saw ALL of the details, most people in this blog claimed were nonexistant. Why is everyone claiming it is a scam? Have none of you EVER tried a "free trial" product. There are no "catches" and these companies are NOT scamming anyone. We all should take responsibility for not doing our "homework" and researching terms and conditions for trial products.

  • February 2, 2010

    by Ruby

    So, how much is this sample product again?
    I thought I only have to pay if I decided to receive the product every month after??
    Please anyone.....

  • February 2, 2010

    by Amy

    This company is a SCAM and I'm telling everyone I know about it. If you ever receive a shipment outside of the trial offer, you can never return it or get your money back, EVER! I confirmed this with the customer service rep. After 2 shipments, I decided not to continue with receiving any more because it's too expensive (charged $83.55 for shampoo & conditioner) and I didn't see anything that it did that was more special than any other products). When I called to cancel and tried to return the recent shipment, they said it was mine to keep and that I couldn't get a refund. I told them that I didn't want to keep it and that I wanted a refund and would mail it back to them unopened. They said that they won't be able to credit it back to me even if I returned it back. What a rip off! I'm telling everyone I know to not purchase these products!

  • January 27, 2010

    by Candice

    Completely understand frustration in marketing strategies that involve auto pay. I had a different experience with Ookisa. I knew upfront the policy about the free trial and usually I suspect that free trials are linked to an auto pay agreement after x amount of days.
    In regards to the product. I have had a really good experience and overall have seen my hair grow faster, stronger, and appear to be fuller. My hair stylist of 10 years noticed the difference just in 30 days. My naturalpath also made the comment that for me and my system Ookisa she believed was adding to my hair growth and fullness without any toxic reactions. That doesn't mean that it would be good for someone else. It just means that for my system it was helping. I also like the simplicity of the product and that there were no annoying smells or greasiness in using the product.

  • January 25, 2010

    by Donna L

    I don't understand why all you ladies are so upset! Maybe you're using the products (Ookisa) all wrong. After having had two full sets of extensions throughout my hair and ending up with split and broken off ends, this product was a godsend!!! I have, and still am using all the products (shampoo, conditioner, hair follicle renewal system, mouse and the supplement) and my hair has become thicker with more body, shinier and longer in a short period of time. Initially my hair took a long time to grow and in a short period of time after it had been damaged, the texture has changed, it's softer, shinier, fuller and longer. I am so glad such a product has come along! As far as the ingredients goes, if people would read the pamphlet that is included with the product they would know what the ingredients are. As far as their free trial, I had no problem and after all you can't expect to get great results for nothing or next to nothing. It's a matter of how bad you want it (Long, thicker, shinier, etc., hair)! I disagree with you all who are calling this company is a RIPOFF, because I haven't had any problems and I've been using their products for over a year now!

  • January 21, 2010

    by Michael

    I use the product and love it. Scam?, I don't know if OOKISA is, but who isn't out there to make a buck today? How many of us fall for the crap advertised on television, ie, those infomercials? I'll keep using OOKISA.

  • January 21, 2010

    by Rita

    It is expensive and I have hair that almost reaches my rear and it works great. I have noticed the difference and how healthy it looks. However, $90 is lot of shampoo & conditioner and I go through it quickly. I'm going to keep using it for a couple of more months and see if I find a product that is close to it but cheaper. But its a great product & the terms and conditions are very clear as day on the site.

  • January 11, 2010

    by Junko

    Hmmm, based on the article's title, I would not of Assumed that the article was a review of OOKISA's Hair Thickening System. No where in the headline do I see the words Review or Reviewed. I'm no genius, but I would of thought that it was an article about marketing ethics.

  • January 11, 2010

    by Viki

    I've been using OOKISA for the last 3 weeks, I found the terms and conditions pretty easily on their website, they were very clear on the 30 days and shipping the empty bottles back to cancel. I personally love the product and will keep using it. It's working for me.

    If your only complaint is that you aren't smart enough to navigate a website and follow their terms, how is that a review of the product?

    I haven't dealt with their CS dept yet, so they may well be terrible to deal with, but at least be honest in what you are reviewing. You didn't review the product at all, you just reviewed the T&C and the CS dept.

    So why would I take your word on what's a scam and what isn't?

  • January 8, 2010

    by Mercy

    Thank you so much for everybody's comment.
    Now I know not to get the sample. it is so deceiving. thanks to all of you... That
    prevented my headache..

  • January 8, 2010

    by bernadette

    I got the same scam except it's pretty good stuff. My hair is really different in a good way. I love it I just wish it wasn't so expensive.

  • January 7, 2010

    by Barbara

    This won't be a long note - I will not be using the product because I'd rather spend my time more productivly; that can be translated to alerting the world to this outfit's trickery and deceit! Further, they can expect my RETURNED Bottles to be empty, and crushed thin enough to mail in a bubble envelope.

  • January 4, 2010

    by Susanne

    Do not get their "free trial". The company is a deceitful organization and charges $90.00 for their product.

  • January 3, 2010

    by ERNA ROMERO

    I TOO FELL FOR THIS TRIAL OFFER. WHEN I REALIZED I WOULD BE BILLED $89.99 I CALLED TO CANCEL, I RECEIVED THE RETURN RMA # AND MY CREDIT CARD STILL WAS BILLED. I AM INFURIATED!!! NEEDLESS TO SAY I WILL NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY EVER AGAIN!! NOW IM GOING TO HAVE TO SPEND MY MONDAY MORNING ARGUING WITH OOKISA CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS

  • January 2, 2010

    by LauraW

    I responded to their free trial offer. When they asked for my credit card I immediatly knew that what I was getting into was a membership ala Proactive or Netflix. This was no surprise to me.

    As to the product - i've used it for two months and am happy with the results from the shampoo and conditioner. It does not create new hair growth but it has strengthed my hair. In the past, I'd loose a handful of hair in the shower from breakage and now I loose very little. In time, I hope my shoulder length hair will appear fuller since I'm loosing less.

    The serum does little or anything. I've been using it on one side of my scalp to test it's effectiveness and frankly, I don't think it makes a lick of difference.

    If you are looking for a high quality shampoo/conditioner that improves hair health, you will like the product. If you want to thicken, volumize or create new hair growth, it may not be for you.

  • December 5, 2009

    by marta

    Hhmm, there are links in the article to our <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/hair/ookisas-serum-and-hair-thickening-kit" rel="nofollow">OOKISA review</a>, however for your convenience here it is (http://www.truthinaging.com/hair/ookisas-serum-and-hair-thickening-kit)

  • December 5, 2009

    by Hhmm

    I am still wondering if the product actually works. All of the posts so far have just pointed towards the charge. I am not too worried about the cost. Does the product work?

  • November 30, 2009

    by julie

    Total scam!
    What a waste of time to have to cancel something that you never ordered. Who on earth would pay $89.00 for a "free trial" until you have tried and like the product.

  • November 29, 2009

    by Carole Lesnick

    Thanks for the heads up. I probably would not have seen the 'terms' so clearly-so fast without your help.

  • November 25, 2009

    by Bonnie FLoyd

    Had the same problem with Purity Minerals...Saw fine print immediately after ordering. Called/emailed to cancel...no luck supposedly they don't "read their email for 2-3days" so the product was sent. I didn't get the product, they said USP delivered it...charge was on my credit card, blah blah. I got the flu and forgot about the ongoing argument and ended up paying, I think, $69.99. I think most of the "free trial" stuff you see online is the same. Red

  • November 22, 2009

    by cindy

    I knew it!!! OOKISA was too good to be true as free trial. Thanks for warning us about the monthly charge of $89.95,I was considering trying it, but not anymore,plus the photos of the women on the website don't look like they need to regrow hair,just volume. Just buy Mane'n Tail shampoo & Conditioner if you want thicker,longer hair,that cleans down to the skin/scalp.

  • November 20, 2009

    by Whiners

    The agreement seems pretty clear below. Maybe it changed but it states 30 days and clearly. Hotly competitive markets require give-aways or nobody trys it. Many products have high cost yet are no good either. That said, none of these comments have anything to do whether it actually WORKS or not. Waste of time blogging about nothing......

    *Your FREE Trial of OOKISA™ includes a full 60-day supply for just $5.95 in shipping and processing. You will have 30 days to try OOKISA™....

  • November 19, 2009

    by Iris V. Guinals

    I was also scammed by OOKISA hair company products. Their offer seemed good and I got caught with the $5.99 free trial offer. I am being billed $89.95 monthly for a product that I am not receiving. Also, I can't reach them by phone from Puerto Rico. They have only one phone number and it it is not reachable from Puerto Rico.

  • November 8, 2009

    by ruby

    i recieved an e-mail from ookisa after visiting their site. i saw a 30-day trial on a 2-month supply with $2 shipping & handling. but nothing about returning in 14 days or a bill of $89.95 if you keep it.

  • November 3, 2009

    by Pam

    I just went through this exact same experience with an anti-aging skin care product. I ordered a free sample online on a Friday evening. When I got the confirmation I then saw the "terms". Their CS was already closed for the evening. I called at 8am the next day to cancel the shipment. After being placed on hold for 5 minutes they told me the order already shipped. They gave me a return code at that point. I took 1 week for the product to ship via US Postal Service from CA to Salem, OR. I returned it the same day I received it via UPS. If that $89.95 charge shows up on my credit card statement I will raise the roof with these nefarious creeps and report them to the Better Business Bureau as well.

  • October 27, 2009

    by michael fagbemi

    I am in the process of severing my brief relationship with ookisa. I took advantage of the free trial figuring the shipping and handling charge was a reasonable one. The next day my wife told me that there was fine print that i needed to be aware of. I quickly called the company less than 24 hours since I placed the order and cancelled.The customer rep told me " not to worry the order had not been shipped and she cancelled it before it was shipped. I received a package from them two weeks later and I am now in the process of returning it after some significant stressful conversations. The package was not opened but unlike most businesses i was not able to return it with no cost to the customer for an unopened package signed by the business occupying the building. I am expected to return the package at cost for something that wastheir fault... this smells bad and at this point who cares if the product is a good one or bad one...

  • October 20, 2009

    by mary

    another victim of the ookisa scam. i called this morning to get my rma#. i will return the containers empty to save postage but as i told the lady over the phone if they do not have even faith enough in their product that i will like it and purchase it voluntarily why would i have any faith in what it would do to my hair. if they are this desparate for money i suspect they are not using top quality ingredients in their products.

  • October 12, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Charlene,
    I have found that <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/hair/fns-revitalizing-shampoo-and-conditioner-for-thicker-hair-tested-and-recommended/" rel="nofollow">Osmotics FNS</a> and <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/hair/reviewed-and-recommended-nutra-lift-daily-moisture-hair-conditioner/" rel="nofollow">Nutra-Lift</a> have good products for improving hair growth. They can both be bought at our <a href="http://truthinaging.theopenskyproject.com/" rel="nofollow">shop</a>. And you could also check out our<a href="www.truthinaging.com/hair/strategies-for-thinning-hair/" rel="nofollow"> post on strategies for thinning hair</a>.

  • October 12, 2009

    by Charlene

    Thanks for sharing the word. So, IS there any products that DO strengthen and alleviate thinning hair?

  • October 11, 2009

    by Tonya

    ookisa.com, well as for me and my husband we are pleased with the over all help we have got from ookisa in the past and present they have refunded our money, it only took $4.00 to send emty bottles back, I know some reps. yes are very rude, but isn't that with almost any company you deal with, ask for name and than ask for a supervisor, if you are not getting one than yes you have a good complaint, with this product we have had no problems, but I have had problems with companies I have dealt with before all from ordering something over the computer, I do print out all thing that I order so they can not say something was there that was not. I have been dealing with ookisa seens 2008 and the paper work is as it says, so I don't understand some of this complaints, it is very clear what is to be done, and if you do not want to have to send something back don't order it. WADE & TONYA

  • October 9, 2009

    by Lynnie

    I read an article about the product, perhaps your review. I sent off for the trial. I really LOVED it and even though it is a little pricey, I really feel it does wonders with my waist-length hair. My hair isn't really thin so much as fine and lacking body. OOKISA actually makes my hair feel thicker and fuller. And it smell nice. This is my new little luxury, and I'll find a way to squeeze it into my budget once every two months. :-)

  • October 6, 2009

    by Tana

    Wow
    Oo- Kisa my ass, what an insult this was. I don't want to have to constantly be covering my ass when I want to try a new product. I don't want to have to call my bank cancel my card just to keep from being scammed. It sounds easy enough but it doesn't just involve waiting for your new card, it means call everywhere you purchase, to notify them of your new numbers. Now that is just time consuming , and annoying. I tried the product, it was fine, smelled great , serum was a dead bust. It felt like I had added wax to the top of my head. I did alright with the return process, but I stayed on top of it. I know I like the finer things in life, I also know I can't afford them when someone automatically withdraw it from my account on a monthly basis. Thanks For letting others know what rip off artist this and other companies are just to make a quick buck. Long term they lose the public faith in them and they lose there consumer base. Company Falls.......hopefully.

  • October 5, 2009

    by robyn sessler

    This is a scam. Do not order the FREE trial product with just $5.95 shipping. My experience is exactly as written above, but I didn't get an apology, discount... just a rude service rep and I'm out $11.00 in shipping to and back. Did not even try the products - can't be good if the company is that unethical. There is no way they are members of the BBB.

  • September 28, 2009

    by Tonya

    I all so want to say to those who think they should get stuff free please go to ookisa.com and you tell me were it says it free, there is how ever a trial period and if you have the product and you don't like it return it if you do not want to have to return something you ordered do not order it, and if your eye sight is that bad you have no buisness ordering one thing from the Internet I did how ever have the product for about 45 days before I was able to return it for my husband. You know I guess you could say it is about comunication and understanding what you read like you say it is about age that is the truth. TONYA & WADE

  • September 19, 2009

    by Judy Tulleners

    I am a breast cancer surviver with thin hair. I also have a masters degree in education and did not realize I was not getting a one time sample size product to try. I plan to keep the product and cancel any future charges on my card. I don't care how good it is, I will not be a part of a scam and will not be responsible for return postage or the hassle of sending it back. The terms were either not clear enough or too small for my aging eyes to read.
    Thanks Girls

  • September 18, 2009

    by Thffejy

    I was one of the lead stylists for the Sebastian team here in Tarzana, Ca. After doing hair for 35 years, I can say that there is no topical product on the market that will induce more hair growth.

    You will get stuff that smells good and has sophisticated packaging, but the bottom line is this:

    Any product you shampoo or condition your hair with is a one shot deal. Just like fabric softener will only soften the load of laundry it is put in, no product on the market molecularly re-structures hair. Once it grows out, you need to soften (fill the pourous ends will conditioner, each time you shampoo your hair).

    Thank You
    If anybody can refute my claim, please email me at: thffejjy@yahoo.com

    I am quite sure, after teaching haircutting at the Sassoon Academy in San Francisco, and working in a high end salon in L.A. for 30 years, I know what I am talking about.

    thffejjy@yahoo.com

  • September 18, 2009

    by Bonnie

    I fell for the same scam with Acai Berry and Colon Cleanse (they encourage buy them together to get the "full benefit" of weight loss). I could not use the product for health reasons and at first was told that I could not get a refund by the CSR. Upon contacting the "company" I was told to return the product for a full refund. That was back in June, I've yet to receive my refund even after yet another e-mail asking where it was. I got no response. I don't think I'll ever order anything else online.

  • September 9, 2009

    by marta

    ZeVen, I couldn’t agree with you more and have used the products and written about them. There are links in the post where you made your comment to the reviews. Since you missed them, here it they are again: http://www.truthinaging.com/hair/ookisas-serum-for-thicker-hair/; http://www.truthinaging.com/hair/ookisa-hair-thickening-kit-passes-first-test/

  • September 9, 2009

    by ZeVen

    BTW Marta how could you review or even discuss a product u have never tried
    and for the "sheep" following ur every command per shame Try the product for yourselves dont just take a strangers word it.
    dont believe everything u read.
    Try it and prove someone right or wrong
    but at least try it. geesh.
    and they extend ur trial period if u ask them...Theyre very accomodating.

  • September 9, 2009

    by ZeVen

    Ive never had a problem
    Since i ordered the free trial i was aware
    of the "full size" trial and of the 80.00 plus amount thereafter 14 day(or was it 30 days)trial period.
    I did find it a bit pricey and i called for an REM number to make a return and was asked if i was interested in recieveing the same exact
    merchandise package i had ordered for 50% off so i agreed and now i cant live without this stuff i have very long full head of hair which i intend to keep for many years to come and i have to say Ookisa is one of the best haircare products ive tried.
    My hair is soft and shiny and most of all
    thick and full.
    thank you geritol...lol
    and Ookisa

  • September 5, 2009

    by marta

    Rebecca, you ask an important question. We don't sell ads directly. They are sold through Google. The advertiser buys keywords such as shampoo or thinning hair and Google serves the ad on sites that match the keywords. We can blacklist advertisers and I have done that once or twice. With OOKISA - as you will see if you follow the related posts to the other articles I've written - the jury is still out. But, we do appreciate your comment and we will pull ads if our readers believe they are inappropriate.

  • September 5, 2009

    by Rebecca

    But why is this company advertising on this truth in aging website especially if there is any doubt as to the company's ethical business practices? I had never heard of this line before I saw the ad on your site, then I did a search for reviews of the product, and was surprised when I was brought back here to read your
    very helpful expose.

  • August 28, 2009

    by liz

    to holly --

    i am not an ookisa sock puppet. i can only vouch for the shampoo when i say that it has lived up to its claims. i tried the conditioner that came with the trial but did not see the big deal so i only order the shampoo.

    i have hair loss associated with hypothyroidism and this shampoo has definitely helped mask the thinness of my hair.

    if ookisa is too expensive then i suggest trying the samy fat hair "0" calories shampoo which you can find at your local drugstore, it doesn't work as well as ookisa but it is definitely way cheaper.

  • August 24, 2009

    by marta

    Nanette, there is a link in the post to the review. But here it is again: http://www.truthinaging.com/hair/ookisa-hair-thickening-kit-passes-first-test/

  • August 24, 2009

    by Nanette Burton

    I would like to hear your reviews.

    Thanks

    Nanette

  • August 22, 2009

    by Laura

    I appreciate all the comments on this site. I went to order this product this morning but I didn't fill in my credit information. When I got home from work I had an e-mail stating that they really wanted me to try the product and would be willing to cut the shipping cost to 2 days and said I would receive it in 2 to 5 days time. I thought wow! $2.00 what do I have to lose. There was nothing and I mean nothing on the e-mail that even mentioned that this was some type of hair care club and that my card would be charged $89.00 every 60 days for new product. I wouldn't have gotten involved. I immediated tried the 877 number on the web-site and got no answer. About 2 minutes later, my phone rings and a gentleman asks me who I am trying to call. After I told him, he said I had the wrong number and that he didn't really understand English. I became suspious and contacted Capital One. They saw the $2.00 charge and also said that it appeared that this company was planning on charging me again so the agent very nicely sensed my embarrassment and anger and suggested we cancel the card and reissue me another one. This we did so I feel better. If I get the product in the next week, I feel that I paid for it with the hassle of having to notify my credit card company and be without my card for 7 to 10 days. Plus I did try to contact them to no avail. I even tried to e-mail them and only got the same phone number on a page. Well the phone number is a fraud! I have gone through chemo and wanted to try this since my hair came back in thin and fine on top. It looks like I have alopecia.

  • August 20, 2009

    by Mitsuko

    I actually went through the trial and honestly it was not a scam. I did not get any kind of reaccuring charge at the end of my trial, and the product worked perfectly on my hair. It grew 2' in a month and a half and also made it thicker and shinier. I suggest actually using the product before you post something like this, and also if you do have any kind of return or something like that use the form you were mailed along with the shipment.

  • August 17, 2009

    by Christine L

    In spite of the short trial period, I bought the products. I was going to transfer them to other bottles, but I called the company and they were very nice and gave me an additional 30 days to try the product. IT WORKS!!! I noticed it in about a week that my hair felt fuller and a bit later I went into have it trimmed and my hairdresser commented on the amount of 'new growth'. After reading all these negative comments without addressing the quality of the product, I felt obligated to at least let you know that it does work.

  • August 15, 2009

    by Tatiana Eckstein

    I am a missionary in Mexico and our water is really bad. This is my second shipment and I wouldn't be without it. I have compliments all the time on how nice my hair looks and how healthy. Would I like it cheaper, you bet. I just know that it works I am charged every three months and I'm worth it.
    No I am not part of Ookisa I just know that it works. I live in Maneadero, Baja Mexico email if you want. iwillsing4jesus@hotmail.com

  • August 13, 2009

    by Kris

    Go to an asian grocery store and buy a bottle of yuzu juice (usually $15 or so). Put a few drops in water you drink during the day. It tastes better than lemon in your water and I think makes your hair super shiny! The bottle will last you months!

  • August 10, 2009

    by Holly

    Any bets that Andrea, Evelyn, Pam, Helane, and Liz are all Ookisa sock-puppets?

  • August 7, 2009

    by Joe

    Thanks, Marta. Read your comments just 30 minutes before the so-called "free trial " product was delivered. I immediately called customer service and got a Return Merchandise Authorization. The unopened package is on its way back to OOKISA. Will monitor my credit card to make sure they don't try any funny business.

  • August 6, 2009

    by sunshine

    I just rec'd it called and got an RMA number via email. I am sending it back FED EX but not before I empty the product they said i just need to send back the containers. Rip off. I am going to have my bank block so they can not try to charge or request another bank card.

  • August 4, 2009

    by liz

    usually when something says "free trial*" and has an asterisk next to it, it means that there are terms and conditions! you should always read the terms and conditions when buying anything online whether it claims to be "free" or not. it's just common sense! and by the way, i have been using the ookisa shampoo for 8 months now and i think it's great. i am very satisfied.

  • August 4, 2009

    by Ed

    Yeh I got tricked too after they shipped to me. I have one more week to return it before they charge me for that $90 dollars. I am going to empty those bottles into my new ketchup and mustard holders, so at least i have the product but not like they are charging me for 90 bucks.

  • July 31, 2009

    by Helane

    I love Ookisa! I, too, called for a return authorization as it was just so expensive! When I called, the customer service rep. asked if I liked the products and I told her I did. She then offered me a `special' price of 49.99 per shipment. I told her I only wash my hair 2 or 3 times a week and would not need a shipment every month, so I get recurring shipments every three months for 49.99. I have also ordered the souffle and the vitamins. I have been using now for 7 months or so, and me and my hairdresser have noticed a difference in the rate of growth and the texture of it. My hair is generally very limp and fine, but these products have made it feel much more luxurious.

  • July 30, 2009

    by Pam

    I ordered this and I knew that I would end up having to pay for it, due to the Free* "TRIAL" comment. I have only been using it for 5 to 6 days and it is the BEST product that I have EVER used!!! I can already tell a difference in the texture of my hair and it leaves my hair very soft and manageable... It is so worth the money they are asking when you compare the money to going bald, I would spend my money on this product, any day!

  • July 25, 2009

    by Evelyn

    My husband has used all kinds of hair treatment but OOKISA is the only one that works. He is totally bald on his crown but when he started using ookisa, new hair started to grow with thicker strands. I would like to order more but I can't see if it will be an automatic delivery. This ookisa really works.

  • July 24, 2009

    by Cristina

    Another scam. I had to do what Carly did once with a "beauty" drink..shoulda known better...but I called for a new credit card number and was done with it. Good work, again, Marta!

  • July 23, 2009

    by J Hooper

    The way this product is promoted is illegal - due to it being deceptive. It is in breach of FTC (Federal Trade Commission) regulations about clear disclosure of terms and conditions. So on that basis alone it is a scam.

    If you were caught out by this the best thing to do is to file a complaint with the ftc at http://www.ftc.gov/ftc/contact.shtm (Only takes a short time and you can do it by phone or online)

    The FTC may investigate and force the company to promote their products in a more honest manner. They can also issue fines for breaching regulations and make the compnay refund unhappy customers.

  • July 22, 2009

    by Lindsay

    I've been searching for products that can thicken my thin hair and I thought I was on to something when I saw Ookisa. Well THANK YOU for posting this review. You probably saved me more than $90.

    Ookisa sounds like a total rip off.

  • July 19, 2009

    by Katherine Puent

    I just received my "free sample" of Ooski. Tomorrow I plan to call and get my return auth.
    The product I have been using has been working very well, I need to learn to leave well enough alone. I have used Nioxin hair cleanser andscalp therapy for a year. my beautician and I have noticed that my hair aeems fuller then when I started. My hair is more manageable and has a healthy shine.

  • July 9, 2009

    by VICKY

    WAS GOING TO TRY IT BUT AFTER READING ABOUT THE RETURN TERMS I WOULD NOT TRY IT. I FOUND IF IT WAS A TRUE FREE OFFER THEY WOULD NOT REQUIRE A CARD #, THATS WHEN I GET SCARED AND FIGURE OUT THEIR IS GOING TO BE A CHARGE SOMEWHERE SOMETIME LATER. FIND OUT WHERE THE PRODUCT CAN BE BOUGHT IN A STORE AND BUY IT THERE. AT LEST IT IS UPFRONT WITH THE PRICE AND YOU CAN BUY THEN ONLY WHAT YOU WANT AND NO MORE. THANKS, MARTA FOR THE INFO. VICKY

  • July 8, 2009

    by Andrea

    OOKISA is wonderful!!! It really does work and I understand some people do not read the terms and conditions, but if you do it fully states what is going to happen after your trial. It is well worth the $89.95 every 60 days. I do not feel I was scammed in any sense of the word and customer service is wonderful. Never had a bad experience.

  • July 7, 2009

    by Beth

    I am so glad there are folks out there who will take the time to tell us the truth about some of these products. WOuld be great if you published a website of the stuff that IS valuable.

  • June 25, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Betty,
    I posted a few ideas for treating thinning hair <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2009/06/strategies-for-thinning-hair.html" rel="nofollow">here</a>:

  • June 25, 2009

    by Betty Angelo

    I am only 32 years old and since my early 20’s my hair had begun to thin out more and more each year. I have come to terms with my condition and often wear wigs so people won’t stare. I have tried several “miracle products” over the years with no success. When I saw the advertisement for OOKISA and their free trail offer I said; what the heck I might as well try it, it’s free isn’t it? Then something got the better of me when I was about to input my credit card number. I look around the site to see if there might be any hidden terms and conditions but found nothing. I decided to do a bit of research on my own and found this site. Thanks for saving me time and money Marta, you’re great!

  • May 30, 2009

    by Carly

    I'm shocked.
    Whoa, Buyer beware, really. I just ordered this stuff an hour ago then did research. I can't afford the monthly cost but that can be changed easily. All you have to do to avoid unwanted charges to your card after a scam like this. Get the product, call your bank and ask for a new call upon receipt of this product; your new card will be in the mail and ready to activate before the "FREE TRIAL" is over and Voila! You have what you paid for and that scam is undone. Presto, ladies!

  • May 29, 2009

    by lisa

    Thanks so much for the low-down. I see these ads and want to try the products, but when no mention is made of the ACTUAL price, I'm learning to pass on it. I am much more inclined to try a product when I'm just given the truth up-front.

  • May 25, 2009

    by Linda Coley

    thanks Ladies,

    I will not be trying this product times are too hard, to be taken advantage of but i suggest to the company to do the right thing and your business will be very successfull.

  • May 23, 2009

    by paula davison

    Please do NOT send me any more shipments of your product and do NOT bill my credit card again. I will order on an as needed basis at my disgression.

    Thank you,
    Paula Davison

  • May 19, 2009

    by sugar

    I ordered mine. So apparently 30 days in the terms and conditions went to 14 days. and when I called to cancel, she sent me an email of how to return, giving me 30 days for them to receive it. It also said it takes 14 days to process AFTER they receive it. So I'm guessing after you call them, it's best to send it back ASAP. (of course right?)

    The free trial is only 14 days. Who would see any changes? 14 days is nothing.

    Anyways, the hair product when i first used it is just like any other shampoo and conditioner. I can't say much due to the limited amount of time given through the 14 days free trial.

    The pro is it has helped relieve my scalp irritation which helps lessen my dandruff.

    But the product is too pricey and the terms and the product itself is quite shady.

    Thanks for the comments up there though. Its helped me consider more.

  • May 3, 2009

    by Frances Solo

    If the website requirement means my own website, I don't have one. I tried the Ookisa hair thickening products and also got stuck with the bill. The shampoo seems nice but the conditioner made my hair very limp. Also the instructions are to use the products daily, i.e. serum every night, shampoo and conditioner every day. I try not to wash my hair more than once a week so I didn't want to follow their instructions. The serum seemed to make the existing hair rather stiff and unruly. Only used it twice. Obviously, no new growth or thickening. I agree that their marketing is terrible and sneaky.

  • April 15, 2009

    by marta

    Penny,
    You are most welcome. The ingredients list is like outing them sometimes. They make it so hard. But why would anyone buy anything if they didn't know what was in it?

  • April 15, 2009

    by Penny

    Oh yes...thanks Marta for the extensive ingredient list! Something always difficult to find for no particular reason. Thanks again for your blood, sweat & tears!

  • April 15, 2009

    by Penny

    THANK YOU Marta, Holly, Dmpond25, and Victoria!! All the info you each contributed helped me make the decision to forego this "free" trial. The products appeared to be interesting, but definitely not worth the hassle you had to endure. Thanks for doing all the hard work for us, and once again, another group of products bites the dust!
    Too bad no one can seem to actually come out with something worthwhile without attempting to screw every one in the process. THANK YOU LADIES...You are the best!!

  • April 8, 2009

    by Victoria

    I signed up for the free trial also but I thought is was for trial sizes. After I bought them at 10:OOpm. I realized from the confirmation that I would be charged for it if I didn't return them in the time period. I called to cancel at 6am when they opened and was told that the order would be cancelled, I still received it anyway. I was livid and demanded to return it all without paying shipping. I argued with the customer service supervisor and she said they couldn't cancel it because it had already been shippedand shipping was to be paid by me. How could it be shipped at 6:00am, what a joke. I told her that I would blab it all over the internet about their company.
    She finally gave in.
    This was the most deceiving company that I have dealt with and hope that your review will be a warning to stay away.

  • April 1, 2009

    by dmpond25

    Good for you Marta! I dont blame you. If they are going to sign you up for a reacurring shipment they should be very clear about it.

  • April 1, 2009

    by Holly

    It's crazy these days. You really have to look closely to find some of these things and they can still be missed. FYI, if you order something online from West Elm, they automatically sign you up for a "free" subscription to Domino (which is now defunct BTW) and only charge you an extra $10. Then you have to find some opt-out disclaimer on the web site, sign it, and mail it back in with the original receipt within the allotted time frame. Nothing is "free".

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...