Free shipping on all orders over $39

Osmosis Replenish is back

Reviewed by Marta January 7, 2012 10 Comments

Osmosis Replenish is back! This one-time bestseller and TIA community favorite, was reformulated without astaxanthin and some users reported allergic reactions. As a result we decided to stop selling it. But Osmosis has listened to our pleas and has brought back the original formula and we are delighted to bring back this great skin smoother.

Astaxanthin is an excellent ingredient and Replenish is one of the few serums to feature it. It is a powerful free radical scavenger and an efficient absorber of specific ultraviolet sunlight rays. One study claims it is 6,000 times more effective than vitamin C.

Replenish packs a powerful antioxidant punch with nothing at all from the Truth In Aging nasties list. A dominant ingredient is phosphatidycholine, which is said to create smoother skin, increase moisture level and support skin regeneration.

One of the real superheros in Replenish could well be chlorella vulgaris extract. This algae is loaded with amino acids such as lysine, proline, glycine, and alanine, all of which are the essential building blocks of proteins and constitute each individual collagen unit. Its large amino acid component leads many to believe that it has the ability to restructure and smooth out the surface of the skin, particularly with scarred or aging skin. In some studies, a small concentration of .016% stimulated collagen synthesis and concentrations of .4% strongly increased the density of the epidermal layer.

Osmosis says that this version is suitable for sensitive skins and it has tweaked the original formula adding in ergothioneine, a number of useful botanical extracts and a Matrixyl-like peptide that may stimulate collagen.

I should add that this serum is a helpful wrinkle smoother, but is not especially hydrating and unusually for me, I found I needed to layer a moisturizer over the top. After some experimentation, I found that Skin Nutrition Cell CPR is an excellent partner, and together they have won me a lot of compliments.

Great ingredients at a great price. The welcome return of an old friend.

Ingredients: Aqua (Harmonized Water), Lecithin (Phosphatidylcholine), Glycerin, Niacinamide, Alcohol Denat., Chlorella Vulgaris Officinalis Extract, Polyglyceryl-4 Caprate, Pyridoxine HCl, Panthenol (D), Lactic Acid (L), Palmitoyl Tripeptide-38, Fulvic Acid, Beta-Glucan (D), Thioctic (R-lipoic) Acid, Ubiquinone (CoQ10), Glutathione (L), Ergothioneine (L), Astaxanthin, Polygonum Cuspidatum (Giant Knotweed) Extract, Tocopherol (D-alpha), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Xanthan Gum, Benzyl Alcohol, Hydroxypropyl Cyclodextrin, Cholecalciferol”

  • June 1, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Dianne, we no longer sell this product as Osmosis changed the formula. You will need to contact Osmosis for their list of distributors: http://www.osmosisskincare.com/

  • June 1, 2014

    by dianne dang

    I am trying to purchase osmosis replenish and osmosis correct. can you point to right channel to purchase. Many thanks. Dianne

  • January 27, 2012

    by Peggy

    I also noticed the new (old) formula is missing a couple of other ingredients that I wish it had - Superoxide Dismutase & GHK Copper Peptides. It tempts me to try a little DIY and add a couple of things.

  • January 20, 2012

    by Jennifer Pelaez

    Hi, wondering if i can get some advice as im a bit confused. i bought Replenish after reading all its great reviews and great price and intended to use as a serum under moisturizer. But instructions say to lather and rinse off. this confuses me?? it seems to be more like a cleanser that you wash off. do you all keep it on? thanks for your help!

  • January 20, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Noel, well spotted. Spin trap is unfortunately no longer included.

  • January 20, 2012

    by Noel

    No longer contains Spin Trap?

  • January 12, 2012

    by Ozana

    List of ingredients looks good, however this product has alcohol denatured as the 5th ingredient and this type of alcohol is very bad for the skin, especially in this concentration. The Cosmetic Ingredients Dictionary on Paula’s Choice website says : “The alcohols to be concerned about in skin-care products are ethanol, denatured alcohol, ethyl alcohol, methanol, benzyl alcohol, isopropyl, and SD alcohol, which can be extremely drying and irritating to skin, as well as capable of generating free radical damage. (...). When these ingredients are at the top of an ingredient list it is problematic for all skin types, when they are at the end of an ingredient list there isn’t enough concentration present to be considered a problem for skin. Those with oily skin should avoid high amounts of the problematic types of alcohol mentioned above. These types of alcohol show up in numerous products aimed at oily or acne-prone skin. The problem, in addition to alcohol's other detrimental effects, is that it can stimulate nerve endings in the skin, causing inflammation that encourage excess oil production at the base of the pore. (...).”The sources for this opinion are on her site. So I personally would not use this serum.

  • January 9, 2012

    by Asya

    I hope they also upgraded their pump system because I had to scratch it from the walls every time I tried to squirt something out. It was one of the worst bottles I've ever seen.

  • January 7, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Jayne, We got confused too by a list that we were given last November. And then we were told that the revised product wouldn't be available until January. The list you provide does seem to be the latest and we've amended accordingly. Thank you

  • January 7, 2012

    by Jayne

    Marta,

    The ingredients listed in this article do not match the ingredients listed for the new Replenish on the Osmosis website. The following information is taken directly from the Osmosis site -

    "Osmosis Brings Exciting New Technology to Skincare Serums. We have recently partnered with an elite lab to bring remarkable state of the art technology."

    "Replenish has new antioxidants including vitamins D, B5, B6, astazanthin (it's back) and thiotane. This formula has a new delicious scent and has been put through special processing to make all these antioxidants smaller and more uniform for better penetration and performance. You will find Synthe-6 has also been added so it can continue to be a stand-alone aging product for the very sensitive skin types."

    Replenish Antioxidant/Repair Serum (Retinaldehyde Free)

    Ingredients: Aqua (Harmonized Water), Lecithin (Phosphatidylcholine), Glycerin, Niacinamide, Alcohol Denat., Chlorella Vulgaris Officinalis Extract, Polyglyceryl-4 Caprate, Pyridoxine HCl, Panthenol (D), Lactic Acid (L), Palmitoyl Tripeptide-38, Fulvic Acid, Beta-Glucan (D), Thioctic (R-lipoic) Acid, Ubiquinone (CoQ10), Glutathione (L), Ergothioneine (L), Astaxanthin, Polygonum Cuspidatum (Giant Knotweed) Extract, Tocopherol (D-alpha), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Xanthan Gum, Benzyl Alcohol, Hydroxypropyl Cyclodextrin, Cholecalciferol"

    I'm confused. Is Osmosis now offering two different versions of Replenish?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...