Free shipping on all orders over $39

Osmotics Blue Copper 5 Age Repair Body Lift Review

is a Solution for:
Dry Skin, Sagging Skin, Stretch Marks, Uneven Skin
Osmotics Blue Copper 5 Age Repair Body Lift 5.0 oz
January 13, 2013 Reviewed by Nina 18 Comments
TRU Rating
Recommended as a short-term treatment to rebuild tired, aging skin

Pros

Diminished dimples and stretch marks

Cons

Contains silicones and some other nasties

When offered the chance to test Osmotics Blue Copper 5 Age Repair Body Lift ($95), which promises to reduce stretch marks by up to 72%, as well as lift bust, tummy and tush, I was interested but skeptical. Removing stretch marks sans procedure is big talk, as is any promise to lift parts heavier than an eyelid or jowl. However, I am exceedingly pleased to report that after one month, my stretch marks indeed look at least 72% better!

Stretch marks abound on my bum and bust and, while my boobs don’t give gravity much to act on, I do have a plump rear that jiggles more than it did in college.

Prior to using Blue Copper 5 Body Lift, my stretch marks were raised like rumble strips. Now my skin is completely smooth, and my stretch marks are shrinking on their horizontal axis (shrinking in width, rather than length), and indeed they measure in at about a quarter of their former size. I don’t know that my bum is much lifted, but I did have some dimples that are now smoothed and filled. Check out the photos below and see what you think; I did my very best to keep lighting and distance the same for each shot.

Osmotics Blue Copper 5 Body Lift

In a short video posted to the Osmotics website, company founder Francine Porter explains the power behind the Blue Copper 5 formulation. Engineered by Osmotics, Blue Copper 5 combines natural copper with a five-chain peptide. Copper is considered a top skin-regenerating ingredient, and is particularly useful in smoothing and removing scars (which stretch marks are). It stimulates the production of collagen and elastin, and it helps skin flushdamaged collagen and elastin by increasing the natural, “skin remodeling process.” Skin remodeling removes proteins and older cells from the dermis and thus diminishes wound scars, and wrinkles, and smooths skin (and let’s face it, remodeling is an appropriate name for a situation that would otherwise require sandblasting and scaffolding).

Palmitoyl Oligopeptide is the five-chained peptide pairing. It’s comprised of five amino acids that are linked together and then attached to palmitic acid, which promotes solubility and skin penetration. Palmitoyl Oligopeptide boosts collagen, and stimulates the production of hyaluronic acid and other intercellular matrix substances. It’s one of the two key actives that put the 3000 in Matrixyl 2.0 and (small surprise) it’s other half Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, makes an appearance in Osmotics as well.

According to Sederma, makers of Matrixyl and Matrixyl 3000, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide and Palmitoyl Oligopeptide work synergistically to reverse damage.

Both are cell-communicating ingredients, which means they signal cells to function in healthy manner. Palmitoyl Oligopeptide stimulates healthy skin growth, while Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide 7 protects the new skin cells by inhibiting inflammatory response.

Osmotics does contain some unfortunate ingredients, including a couple of silicones, diazolidinyl urea and polyacrylamide, which may ooze highly toxic acrylamide. I would be concerned about long-term use of this product, but I definitely recommend it as a one to three-month treatment to diminish stretch marks and rebuild tired skin. I am truly impressed by its efficacy – Osmotics is to your butt  what Zamboni is to an ice rink – and I fully intend to try other Blue Copper 5 skincare products!

  • May 21, 2014

    by Tish

    Thank you for that information Marta - I just placed an order for your hair and brow serums. It's good to know real copper peptides are out there!

  • May 19, 2014

    by Marta

    The peptides are actually amino acids. GHK is a synthetic peptide based on three amino acids, glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine. Copper peptides can be formulated from different combinations of peptides/amino acids – Truth In Aging’s Truth Vitality products use an amino acid complex of Glycine, L-Histidine, L-Lysine, plus two others.

  • May 19, 2014

    by Tish

    Thank you Marta, for such a quick reply. I asked the same question of the company who makes Blue Copper products, but as of today they have not answered me. Maybe they gave my question to their lawyers, LOL.

    Copper and Copper PCA aren't actually peptides, that's why I was confused. "Copper peptide" - by definition - is GHK. So, Blue Copper 5, like other Blue Copper creams/serums, looks like a Copper+Peptide product, not a copper peptide product - a distinction that matters IMHO.

    (I also discovered GHK is devilishly expensive, while Copper Gluconate and Copper PCA are relatively cheap. This might be the real reason GHK is not on the ingredients list)

    I have been using Blue Copper products for years (serum and face moisturizer) and recently purchased Medik8's Firewall (from your site). So far so good. Copper PCA is a humectant, and copper is a mineral, like silver and gold, that seems to play nice with my skin (at least more so than vitamins, which I find irritating). Minerals-based products soothe my easily-bothered skin. I also use copper, silver and gold colloids in lieu of facial toners.

    I'm just a little annoyed that I can't actually find a product with GHK in it - because that's the ingredient that is getting the rave reviews in the medical journals, not copper-the-mineral or copper PCA.

  • May 13, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Tish, there is copper listed (fifth ingredient) as well as copper PCA. The reason why Osmotics calls this line Blue Copper 5 is because there are 5 chain peptides at work, including copper. In some cosmetic formulas the copper is attached to a peptide - a GHK tripeptide. This used to be the almost the only game in town, but did not penetrate easily and required strong - potentially irritating - concentrations. These days it has been found that copper PCA, copper chloride and copper from amino acids are all effective and gentler. More on copper peptides: http://www.truthinaging.com/review/how-copper-peptides-help-wrinkles-and-hair-growth

  • May 13, 2014

    by Tish

    I'm having difficulty identifying the "copper peptides" in the ingredients, could a more knowledgeable person help? Copper PCA is a salt, and the peptides, though good ones, don't look like copper peptides. I thought copper peptides were called GHK or Tripeptide-1? The medical literature I've seen on copper peptides refer to GHK, not the other stuff.

  • February 20, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Ann, our reviewer for the Face Lifting Serum (if that's the one you are referring to) was a little underwhelmed as well: http://www.truthinaging.com/face/osmotics-blue-copper-5-face-lifting-serum-reader-reviewed

    I have tried the Molecular Repair Treatment and liked that. And I am with Nina on the Body Lift - not a lotion to be slathered everywhere, but targeted on dimpled areas, I have found it is very good.

  • February 20, 2013

    by Ann

    I tried blue copper for the face long before I was aware of this website. I do not wish to disagree with Nina's review of this product but I will say that the facial version of this provided absolutely no result. Didn't harm but didn't do anything. Other than leaving your face feeling a little sticky there was no advantage to using it. I went thru the entire jar before coming to this conclusion. I'm sure Marta has determined otherwise for the body version or else she would not offer it.

  • February 18, 2013

    by Marta

    I was inspired by Nina's before and afters to give this a try. I don't have stretch marks, but I do have dimply bits. This product tightened them visibly. I am very impressed by this product.

  • January 16, 2013

    by Nancy L Klein

    I would love to give this a try! Looks like it might help some stretch marks that have appeared after weight loss.

  • January 16, 2013

    by DIANE KORBER

    As a maturing reader, I would love to try an anti-aging gelee.

  • January 16, 2013

    by Deborah

    I have scars and stretch marks that would love to test Ostomics Blue Copper 5 Age Repair Body Lift!

  • January 16, 2013

    by Marta

    Me, too! Thanks ;)

  • January 16, 2013

    by Deanna

    Wow is all I can say! The before and after pictures are amazing! I would love to try this out.

  • January 16, 2013

    by Britt Brochard

    I would love to try this product!

  • January 16, 2013

    by chunwen

    I have three kids and there are plenty of stretch marks on my tummy and my thighs. Would love to try this product. Thanks.

  • January 16, 2013

    by carrie obrien

    Absolutely want to give this a try!

  • January 16, 2013

    by Naheed

    This is very informative review, thanks Nina. I would really like to try this product since I have deep stretch marks on my stomach and upper thighs after the birth of my twin daughters. Although they have faded a little bit over the years but they still are very much visible. I hope this product can reduce them somewhat. Thanks!

  • January 13, 2013

    by Nikki Colorado

    Thanks I see this product has good result

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...