Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Osmotics Blue Copper and Aurora LED to treat rosacea

Is a Solution for:
Rosacea
March 14, 2011 Reviewed by Marta 31 Comments

I have had, for a few weeks, rosacea-prone skin on my cheeks. I made sure to use nothing but ReLuma’s serum in the vicinity but, while this kept the rosacea under control, it wasn’t going away. Then an encounter with the nice people at Osmotics gave me an idea: to pair one of their Blue Copper products with LED light, plus daily vitamin D supplements. As a rosacea treatment, I think I have hit on a winner.

According to Osmotics, copper helps with inflammation and rosacea. Osmotics is also a big champion of LED light and they use it to demonstrate their products at Nordstrum stores. So I decided to try Osmotics Blue Copper 5 Molecular Repair Treatment ($125) with my Sirius Aurora light ($149).

Blue Copper 5 Molecular Repair Treatment is an anti-aging treatment that is aimed at improving skin texture and tone in seven days. It does actually work (see my review for more) and would be well worth using before a big event where you want to look good. It is a bit expensive (although you can eke it out as there is enough in each ampoule for two day’s use). Targeted only at the apple of my cheeks, one ampoule lasted a whole week.

I applied Blue Copper 5 Molecular Repair Treatment each morning and then again in the evenings with the red light of the Sirius Aurora (a reasonably-priced LED device that I reviewed recently), one constant light session and one flashing. I did this for a week (although was forced to skip one evening). I noticed that my skin looked calmer and less violently red after the first session. After three, there wasn’t even a hint of a pustule and after the full seven days, I really look better and I am predicting that twice weekly maintenance should do the trick from now on.

I am also taking a daily vitamin D supplement. In 2007, Dr Richard Gallo of the University of California discovered that peptides known as cathelicidins and the proteolytic enzymes that activate cathelicidins in the skin are abnormal in patients with rosacea. And then a study in Belgium of all the research in the last couple of years has made a connection between the regulation of cathelicidins and vitamin D.

There are other theories about roscaea and one of the most widely held is that it is an inflammatory disease. In which case, LED is likely to be helpful.

TNF-a (tumor necrosis factor) stimulates many of the other cytokines and enzymes involved in the inflammatory process and in the tissue destruction caused by rosacea. Therefore, decreasing TNF-a levels should theoretically help. I have seen references to studies demonstrating that low-level light therapy (LED) reduces levels of TNF-a.

I have also read that rosaceans have a reduced capacity to counter the negative effects of reactive oxygen species (ROS), increasing levels of superoxide dismutase (SOD). LED may increase levels of SOD.

I haven’t been able to find any specific information that would link copper to the treatment of rosacea. It would have been nice, for example, to find a link between cathelicidins and copper peptides. But, for now, I’ll just have to go with the evidence before my eyes: my rosacea has largely cleared up after a week of Blue Copper 5 and the Aurora. The added bonus is that both these products are very useful anti-agers as well.

Ingredients Blue Copper 5 Molecular Repair Treatment

Purified Water, Cyclomethicone, Caprylic/Triglyceride, Butylene Glycol, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl-Tetrapeptide-7, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Hydrolyzed Ceratonia Siliqua Seed Extract, Glycerine, Dimethicone, Cetyl Stearyl Alcohol, Copper PCA, Sodium PCA, Saccharomyces/Copper Ferment, Phenoxyethenol, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A), Panthenol (Vitamin B-5), Carnosine, Acrylates Copolymer, Allantoin, Lavendula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract, Polysorbate 20, Polyacrylamide, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Laureth-7, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Potassium Sorbate, Carbomer, Tromethamine

  • April 7, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Carolyn, full on laser treatment will remove veins, but LED doesn't - it helps by being anti-inflammatory. But let me see if I can get more info on that as its a great question. Regarding melasma, consider Lumixyl and the Aurora's green light. http://truthinaging.com/body/lumixyl-and-led-fade-hyperpigmentation

  • April 7, 2011

    by Carolyn

    Hi all,
    Waiting on pins and needles for my Aurora to arrive! In the meantime I'm perusing serums to see what might work best for my mild melasma, occasional breakouts and broken cappies.

    In my research I've found products that claim to strengthen and repair capillary walls (like vitamin K and horse chestnut) and products that claim to destroy the broken veins (like lasers, LED and IPL) and cause them to be reabsorbed into the dermis. Seems like cross-purposes? Which is correct?

    Just discovered TIA and am loving it. Big thanks!

  • March 23, 2011

    by Georgia

    Hi, Marta,
    Please tell me which copper products you use! I want to use what you use!

  • March 22, 2011

    by marta

    Sorry to hear that Deb, but thanks for the advice and for sharing.

  • March 22, 2011

    by Deb

    I bought the Blue Copper 5 as I have rosacea (even diagnosed with it in my eyes) as well as sensitive skin. I spoke personally with Osmotics rep Sameera. She assured me it would do wonders. I stopped all my other evening skin care - Cellbone Vit C and hyperpeptides, etc. By the fourth day I could not continue as my eyes were burning so badly and one week later they are still quite sore, specifically my bottom lids. Nothing else new was introduced to cause this reaction and I truly believe it was the Blue Copper. Sad, because my face felt wonderful, but at too high a price. My eyes felt chemically burnt. There should be a warning. i did report it to Osmotics. I did not rub it up to or around my crows feet, but it most likely seeped up there through the night. If you have sensitive eyes, beware.

  • March 17, 2011

    by Karlyn

    Hi Marta:

    I'd be happy to try Blue Copper 5 face cream along with my new Sirius Aurora Light. Hopefully, for your readers, I could look deeper into the science of this product as to how the copper complex might act on the rosacea and how the copper complex would act on the skin with the different wavelengths (blue vs. red) of the Sirius Aurora Light. Interestingly, around 2006, Neutorgena introduced "Visibly Firm Face Lotion, with Active Copper." It has apparently been discontinued.

  • March 17, 2011

    by Laura

    I would love to try this product and write a great review for you! I have been using my Baby Quasar for a few years now and would love to combine the two treatments to help my troublesome skin. I have a myriad of skin issues, including frequent bouts of itchy, red, bumpy skin, which are probably the result of an inflammatory response. And don't get me started on the sun damage and fine wrinkles! Alas, I have resigned myself to using very simple products (I like Weleda) to keep my skin as calm as possible. So I end up having to forgo many anti-aging products for fear of skin irritation. If I have the chance to try out this Osmosis product, I'll write an honest and thorough review for you. Thank you!

  • March 17, 2011

    by beth

    I'd love to try the Blue Copper 5 and write my first review for TIA readers. I have mild rosacea plus a gamut of aging skin issues- how great it would be to use a product that might affect some of those issues in a short period of time. Thanks!

  • March 16, 2011

    by julie mcwha

    I would love to try the Blue Copper 5 Molecular Repair Treatment. I have just finished the generic Carac treatment which lasted a month and my skin needs all the help it can get...actually my whole look does lol!

  • March 16, 2011

    by Kathy

    Hi Marta,
    I do have rosacea and would greatly appreciate the opportunity to review this product.
    I just recently became an Insider, but I am a totally dedicated to reading all your reviews. I would give an honest, unbiased review, and I would just be so happy to have a chance to be rid of this Rosacea!!

  • March 16, 2011

    by Tina

    Hi Marta,

    I am a licensed esthetician and would love to try this enticing new product. I use the Tanda handheld LED device every morning so it would be interesting and exciting to note the results using both in combination. I have heard great things about the Osmotics line, but have not yet tried any of the products. Thanks so much! Tina

  • March 16, 2011

    by Ann Cappola

    Hi Marta: My son is a forty-six year old orthopedic surgeon who has rosacea which is exacerbated from the use of his surgical masks. I recently purchased the Aurora and would love for him to try the Blue Copper 5 Molecular Repair Treatment with my Aurora. He operates three times per week and his cheeks always look red/inflamed. It certainly would be interesting to see if this treatment might be of some value in reducing the redness. Thank you, Ann

  • March 16, 2011

    by Erica

    Hi Marta,
    I would LOVE to try this. I have my sisters a wedding in three weeks, and am looking for a quick fix to make my skin look radiant! Thanks for the opportunity!!
    Erica

  • March 16, 2011

    by momac

    Hi Marta,
    All I can think of to say is WOW! After 26 years of treatment resistant cystic acne (you name it, I've tried it - doxycycline, fraxel, retin a, proactive, obaji, accutane, etc) and 7 different dermatologists, I just gave up completely about a year ago. Last week I'd taken my son to a new dermatologist for a plantar wart, and ended up being diagnosed with rosacea myself. I wonder why it's taken so long for anyone to notice, but I'm guessing the redness, flaking, & irritation has always been attributed to the acne treatment du jour. Well, since then I've been frantically researching the treatment options and, lured by the possibility of clear skin (again...), was about to break down & get the Metro gel Rx filled when I got your newsletter. I would be thrilled to be able to test & review the Osmotics Blue Copper!

  • March 16, 2011

    by Bev

    I'd be happy to give this a try too! You know I'm reliable with my reviews too! Thanks, Bev

  • March 16, 2011

    by Michelle

    Hi Marta,
    I have broken capillaries on both my left and right cheek. This would be the first product I tried to correct this problem. I can not afford to make an appointment with an esthetician so I would love to try the Osmotics blue copper product to see if it makes a difference. Thanks Marta.

  • March 16, 2011

    by Eileen

    Hi Marta, Overall redness and broken capillaries are my nemesis and i am continually looking for products to help. I've had IPL (and did not see much improvement). I am now using Dermaxime (a product that i believe you reviewed and recommended), and Dermalogica, the ultra calming line, which was recommended by my esthetician. I am conducting the side by side test. But, I would love to try the Osmotics blue copper and I have the BQ to use with it. I would be happy to provide my review of it.

  • March 16, 2011

    by Naheed

    Hi Marta, I would really want to try something that gives results in week, but the price is out of my pocket. So I am ready to give a review, if I am chosen. Thanks
    p.s.: I am ready to review any product with pleasure.

  • March 16, 2011

    by dana

    I have had rosacea for many years and have tried laser treatments, over the counter products and as a last result medicine directed at rosacea. So far the closest I came to eliminating some (not all) of the symptoms were the laser treatments, and after those stopped, back came the rosacea in full force. I would love to review the Osmotics Blue Copper 5 molecular repair treatment. I do take vitamin D supplements; the only item missing is the led light.
    Thank you for considering me.

  • March 16, 2011

    by Lori

    Instant gratification??? Who wouldn't want to try it?? And yes, I can patiently wait a week for the results :)

  • March 16, 2011

    by Gloria

    Hi Marta, I would love to try the Osmotics Copper and give a review, but what would I use when.I just ordered the the Aurora and the Reluma. I also use vitamin c by Obagi (10%).I read that you shouldn't use the copper with the C at the same time. I am not so sure the C is doing anything for my face. I have also been using Skin Medica Tri-Retinol. I am not liking the dryness and am probably going to stop. It has been 5 weeks and the flaking never ends. I wanted to try a different regimen. I have learned so much from your website.

  • March 16, 2011

    by Jennifer

    Hi Marta,
    I never thought of the patch of broken blood vessels on my right cheek as being rosacea, until recently reviewing pictures on a few dermatology sites. If I don't use a green makeup base, before applying my tinted foundation, it appears quite obvious to me. So, in addition to wanting to try the Aurora, I would SO appreciate the opportunity to try the Osmotics Blue Copper product.
    When you used the Wonderbar, did it exacerbate your rosacea symptoms, or improve them at all? I have been thinking about trying one, but am hesitant!
    Thanks for all that you do, Marta!
    Jen

  • March 16, 2011

    by Gretchen

    Hi Marta - thanks for the offer - I recently had botox for my forehead and crows-feet - my first time. I do like that the "texture" of my skin is more even (less wrinkly for sure) - but I would love to also incorporate something for the tone with botox doesn't address. I'm game!

  • March 16, 2011

    by Cindy

    Hi Marta - I have tried some Osmotics products with blue copper in the past and thy are great. I do have rosacea and woulds love to review the new Osmotics Blue Copper 5 Molecular Repair Treatment.
    Thanks!

  • March 16, 2011

    by JustD

    Hi Marta, I don't have rosacea, but I do have a few high school classmates coming through town next week on their way to work on our 40th High School Reunion in a month and I'd love to be rid of this sallow looking winter skin I've acquired and give them something to talk about when they leave LOL. I'm up for reviewing just about any product you want to pass my way! Thanks for the consideration!

  • March 16, 2011

    by Nancy Tzeng

    Thank you for the info:) I would be interested in trying this not for myself but for my 18 year old son who has struggled with rosacea for years. A tough time in life to deal with it! I would be happy to take before and after pics to show readers with rosacea the results.

  • March 15, 2011

    by Bev

    Thanks for this article, Marta. I too have rosacea and have been having great results with YBF's Boost. It's making my winter skin less flaky, while calming the redness and keeping the breakouts at bay (pretty much non existent!). I use Bobbi Brown's Extra tinted moisturizer in the morning as well. I've learned to limit the number of products on my skin and this routine is working well for the winter. I've also started taking vitamin D about a year ago, and have recently upped my dose to about 4000 units per day. Not sure if the Boost or vitamin D are contributing to my improved rosacea but thought I'd share. How much vitamin D are you taking?

  • March 14, 2011

    by marta

    Do let us know Rileygirl as the GHK is a good price. Although, it doesn't have the other anti-agers that are in the Osmotics such as Matrixyl 3000 and carnosine.

  • March 14, 2011

    by rileygirl

    Thanks so much, Marta. I will try it with the GHK at first, but I think I may go ahead and spring for the Osmotics copper, as well, and see which one works better for me!

  • March 14, 2011

    by marta

    Sorry, I wasn't clear: I used the copper twice a day, but only once a day with the LED.
    I am sure you could use Skin Biology's GHK. Although if you have sensitive skin I would check the ingredients list to see if there is anything there to worry about. The salicylic acid or phenoxyethanol (fairly high up the list) might irritate some.

    Super GHK-Copper Cream: Purified water, ethylhexyl palmitate, squalane, stearic acid, glycerol stearate, PEG-100 stearate, cetyl alcohol, copper tripeptide-1 (GHK-Copper), propylene glycol (and) phenoxyethanol, polysorbate 80, allantoin, leucine, lavandula angustifolia (lavender) oil, salicylic acid, aloe barbadensis leaf juice (aloe vera) gel, tocophersolan (vitamin E), mixed (alpha, beta, gamma, delta) tocopherols and mixed (alpha, beta, gamma, delta) tocotrienols.

  • March 14, 2011

    by rileygirl

    Marta, do you think this would work with the GHK from Skinbiology? Am I understanding that you applied the copper and then used the LED after twice a day?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...