Free shipping on all orders over $39

Osmotics Crease-Less – reviewed and recommended

Reviewed by Mark April 6, 2011 14 Comments

No doubt you’ve seen ads for fillers such as Juvederm and Restylane that can work wonders on erasing lines and creases, but Osmotics created a product called Crease-Less ($85) for those wanting an alternative to needles, or to help extend the results of injectable treatments. Many Osmotics products have been reviewed with positive results here on TIA, so I was more than happy that Marta sent me this one to try.

This works to help relax the contraction of facial muscles and also contains one of my favorite ingredients - hyaluronic acid, which helps to help plump and firm the skin.  (On the box it states this contains an anti-wrinkle octopeptide (heptapeptide-1, also known as SNAP-8, that is 30% stronger than Argireline to help relax the contraction of facial muscles.)

You only apply this to targeted areas, so my areas of concern were at the corners of my eyes, between the brows and my ‘smile lines’ –from nose to mouth corners.  This is a lightweight, unscented white serum in an airless pump and a small dot is all it takes for each area. It applies easily with a somewhat ‘silky’ feel to it and takes only a couple of minutes to completely absorb. I very lightly massaged it into each area morning and evening and my oily skin accepted it beautifully without any breakouts or extra oiliness.

My initial observations for the first couple of weeks were that the application areas were lightly moisturized and hydrated, but after the second week is when I began to notice a difference. The lines were definitely becoming less noticeable. I began with very fine, light lines at the corners of my eyes and between the brows and now (about five weeks later) they are virtually gone.  The ‘smile lines’ were more pronounced, (because for me, these muscles get more use than the two other areas) but are improved.  There is no “frozen” look – just less lines to look at in the mirror.

This is packaged in a translucent airless pump, so I can see that after about a month’s use I still have over three-fourths of the product left, so this proves to be economical at $85 for 1.7 fl oz (50ml).  Not easily impressed, I found Crease-Less has really lived up to its name and plan to make it a regular part of my daily routine.  Happy with my results, I recommend this product for guys and gals and hope that Marta will also carry it in the TIA shop for us.

Crease-Less Surgical Alternative Ingredients:

Purified Water, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Water & Acetyl Glutamyl, Heptapeptide-1, Sodium Hyaluronate, PEG-100 Stearate, Algae Extract, Cetyl Alcohol, Diazolidinyl Urea/Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Polysorbate 20, Carbomer, Disodium EDTA, Tromethamine.

  • May 15, 2011

    by Justd

    Dennis, are the Frownies still working well for you?

  • April 12, 2011

    by Dennis

    Susan, I picked up a pack for around $15 at Whole Foods.

    It's been about a week since I left the comment, and I think the results are improved even further. Sometimes I look in the mirror and I'm a little shocked. I call them my face crutches. I'll never be without them!

    FYI, I use a drop of Thayers Rose Petal Witch hazel to activate the glue.

  • April 10, 2011

    by Justd

    Thank you for the info Susan!

  • April 10, 2011

    by Susan

    You can check out their web site: frownies.com. The product has been updated for the 21st c.
    Basically, Frownies are paper and vegetable-based glue (activated with water) applied in the evening and left in place until morning. Decades ago and prior to plastic surgery, celebrities used them.
    They used to be inexpensive; however, I haven't checked prices lately.

  • April 10, 2011

    by Justd

    Can someone help me out with frowniies? Never heard of them before.

  • April 7, 2011

    by vicki

    according to skin care expert at osmotics, osmotics' lipofill more effectively plumps up nose to mouth lines, and creaseless better for in between brows, forehead, and crows feet. with that said, she also applies crease-less first to mouth area and then lipofill over, for double whammy. of course she works for osmotics, but stessed what a difference is has made.

  • April 7, 2011

    by Mark

    Hi Dennis- no, I haven't tried the Frownies, but it sounds like I need to add them to my list - thanks for the suggestion.

    Susan - yes, I did see some plumping, likely thanks to the hyaluronic acid - it always does my skin good. The lines at my eye corners were very fine and they plumped out to pretty much being gone and then I can tell the muscle action isn't as strong at this area now. The nasolabial folds were not real bad to begin with, but noticeable enough and they did plump out too, but not to the extent of being completely gone. I did expect that since I tend to smile a lot, so they were deeper than any other area on my face but definitely show improvement. Of course the fillers would likely make the most dramatic change, but I think this would give the next best results and if combined with a filler or botox probably give the optimum results.
    Thanks for your comments.

  • April 7, 2011

    by Susan

    Mark, Coming back to your review it sounds like Crease-less is a product to definitely consider for smoothing out lines, and to replace Botox. I can go for that! However, Restylane and Juvederm, et al, fill in or plump out wrinkles. Did anything like this occur while using Crease-less?

  • April 7, 2011

    by Susan

    Coincidentally, I thought of Frownies about two weeks ago. They are super-inexpensive and work! My understanding is women used them decades ago.
    I'm going to remember to buy a box and try them out.

  • April 6, 2011

    by Dennis

    Hi Mark, good review! I can't wait to get my hands on some. Just wanted to ask if you have tried Frownies? they are my latest obsession. I've only been using for 2 weeks and my nasolbial folds are already noticeably softer. the best thing about them is that when I wake up, I look fresh instead of haggard. I bet in conjunction with the Osmotics the results could be amazing,

  • April 6, 2011

    by Mark

    Hi Stephanie - no, but Osmotics does state that it can extend the results of injectables, which is reasonable since this is working to help relax the muscle contractions.

  • April 6, 2011

    by Stephanie

    Hi Mark,
    Just curious, have you had any fillers? I have had Juvederm injected into acne scars, if this could prolong the injectable treatments, that would be well worth it to me!

  • April 6, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Debbie, the thing about Osmotics is that their goal is to make things that work. Their products aren't going to appeal to people who want all natural ingredients. Having said that, there isn't too much to worry about here. I have put links in the ingredient list so you can find out more about the individual items. Disodium edta has some issues but the research is mixed and the levels used in cosmetics are considered safe: http://truthinaging.com/ingredients/disodium-edta
    Diazolidinyl Urea/Iodopropoynyl Butylcarbamate may cause irritation, but is generally considered safe http://truthinaging.com/ingredients/diazolidinyl-ureaiodopropynyl-butylcarbamate

  • April 6, 2011

    by Debbie B

    WOW! This product sounds like something I definitely need. I am not real good with ingredients so I was wondering if there is anything in this that is not good? I like the fact that it only has a few ingredients.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...