Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

PaloVia home laser has me zapped

December 21, 2011 Reviewed by Marta 25 Comments

I tried the PaloVia at home laser device for the first time last weekend and was quickly convinced – resolutely so – four days later that it would also be last. I did not like it one bit. Then I re-read Copley’s original review (in which she ultimately recommended the PaloVia) and decided, on the basis of her honest and diligent assessment (that woman has staying power!) to give it, so to speak, another shot.

Gun is the word that comes to mind with the PaloVia. You pull the trigger and, as Copley describes, the zapping is a little startling. It makes a weird toy robot sound and it hurts – like being bitten by a particularly aggressive horse fly. It doesn’t end there. The PaloVia is designed to be used on wrinkles around the eyes – a sensitive area, I would say. After the treatment (PaloVia suggests 6 t0 8 zaps around each eye), my outer eye area looked red and sore, as if I had been smacked in the head. The next day, I was still sore and – and this is unforgivable – my crow’s feet, embedded in angry red patches of dry, scaly skin looked worse than ever. They were fault lines.

You can see, perhaps, why I was thinking that the PaloVia isn’t for me. Nonetheless, a naturally forgiving woman, I was prepared to commend PaloVia for coming up with a device that has impressive safety features. It can be no easy thing to condense a large machine used by doctors to something the size of a large stapler.  (Ha, staple gun more like). And then you have to be sure that it will ultimately give results whilst being safe. If you are wondering if my fault lines were my fault, note that PaloVia has gone to some lengths to prevent user error. The device actually switches itself off after a certain number of applications has been reached within eight hours, so there’s no chance of becoming an at-home laser junky. And it only works if absolutely flush against the skin, so there’s no chance of blinding yourself whilst zapping.

In all in all, I was impressed by the quality of the product, presentation and printed instructions. The attention to detail is notable and this is clearly a manufacturer that has earned its FDA approval.

Laser basically works by traumatizing the skin so that it turns over cells more quickly. The thing that’s wrong with that sentence as far as I am concerned is the word trauma. I’m just not into it. I am a wimp. I pitifully plead for a general anesthetic just to have my teeth cleaned. So I was about to give up on the PaloVia and then read that Copley found that the red, painful drama part is relatively shortlived and her skin began to adjust to the treatment without flaring up – plus she got results. OK, back to the bathroom then.

But I just couldn’t bring myself to go back to zapping. Instead, I got out my LED light and basked in its gentle red glow, which plumped the skin around my eyes so that it looked normal again.

I am sure that PaloVia is an effective product, but its just not for me. If there are more valiant wrinkle warriors who are willing to try and review it, please leave a comment (I have one brand new device as well as my ever so slightly used one).

  • June 15, 2012

    by Laura

    I know, I'm uber tempted with that discount! I have read some mixed reviews and I have super sensitive skin, so I'm a little hesitant. It never hurts to ask though, thanks for replying Marta! I'm amazed how you find time to reply to everyone's questions here :)

  • June 14, 2012

    by Marta

    Sorry Laura, I sent out all the spare ones a few months ago. Its 20% off right now in our shop (only for a few days though) - if you get tempted, use the coupon code PLUNGE

  • June 14, 2012

    by Laura

    Hi Marta! I'm a little bit on the fence about trying the Palo VIa. Do you have any used ones lying around that you would be willing to send out for a review? I know this post is old but I thought I'd give it a try - you never know until you ask!

    My eyes are very crepey with lots of little lines (I thank years of allergies and eye rubbing, not using sunglasses enough, and 20 years of living in Florida) and I am looking for a solution to my problem. I have thought about YBF correct and Palo Via and can't seem to muster up the courage to spend the $$. I'd love a trial if you have any available!!

    Thanks!

  • December 23, 2011

    by Joyce

    I would like to try this and compare results to the 6 sessions of lasor that I had done 3 years ago. The zapping was like tiny needles but not terrible. Unfortunately I don't think the results lasted more than a year and not worth the high cost. If this device does the same thing it may well be worth the cost in the long run.. I'm wondering if putting a aloe gel with hydrocortisone cream 1 % on afterwards would help the redness and inflammation?. That is what they used after my facial lasor sessions. Also ice packs for the first 10 minutes. I'd love to try this device and report back on it.

  • December 22, 2011

    by Kelli

    I'm 39 and will try anything...once. I will be glad to give an honest review.

  • December 22, 2011

    by dawn T

    OMG, Sign me up to try it!! Though I would say I'm not to tough when it comes to pain, but for beauty I'll go there! My eyes, with bags and fine lines, make me look older than I am and my "Mini-Sephora" bathroom vanity is full of products that haven't delivered encouraging results. I am currently trying YBF Correct per Marta's recommendation, and anxiously waiting to see improvements. I love reading your reviews and beauty insights, thanks for all you do! Happy Holidays!

  • December 22, 2011

    by Marsha

    I would love to use the PaloVia (and I would be very happy with the slightly used one!) I've had a yag laser treatment which really helped my age spots. I've also had photorejuvenation so I don't think I would mind the zapping but I'm not one to go to the dermatologist regularly for $400.00 treatments. I'm 58 and my grown daughters tell me my skin looks good. I attribute that to using lots of TIA -recommended products!

  • December 22, 2011

    by Cristina

    I am 50 and convinced that there isn't a topical cream/serum that makes any difference on my skin. Sure, when I first start out with a new product I may see smoother or plumper skin, but in a few weeks, it's back to the way it was.

    I'm ready to try the big guns. Time for appliances!

  • December 21, 2011

    by Shannon Whitson

    I would love to try this product. I have an at home high frequency machine and love it. I'm actually an esthetician and am always seeking products for recommendations in my spa as well as I like to stay informed and up to date on products.

  • December 21, 2011

    by Sara

    WOW: I have been reading about it and would love to try.
    I am a regular user of LED light and my favourite treat is the Emu Oil that Martha suggested, actually my very first purchase here. Unfortunately my dermatologist said that these last two years' stress requires a more sturdy approach, and she suggested laser.
    I am ready to try and share with you beautiful ladies
    Sara

  • December 21, 2011

    by Emily Willis

    Please put me down as a guinea pig. My skin is going south fast. Thank you and merry Christmas to all.

  • December 21, 2011

    by Marta

    The PaloVia retails for about $400

  • December 21, 2011

    by Connie Bieshada

    I have been looking at the PaloVia to help with the aftermath of skin aging from a traumatic year. I have tried all of Marta's recommendations including Eshee Serum, HydroPeptide and the Sirius products. I must say, I am dedicated to the LED and serums in a routine to ensure results. Unfortunately, the doctor told me the laser would be the only thing that will help get my skin back to the condition I had before all of the stresses of the past year. I would love to have the opportunity to try the PaloVia and give feedback. Getting my confidence back would be a blessing for the new year.

  • December 21, 2011

    by Marta

    Faye - what exciting news. Really looking forward to your Chinese beauty tips. All the best for 2011

  • December 21, 2011

    by Faye

    Ciao Marta,
    In late Jan. I'm moving to Dalain, China. Among the other things I hope to explore is studing traditional Chinese medicine--in particular anti-aging. If I come across any super ideas or devices, I'll pass along tips. Happy holidays. Xie xie for keeping us face-fit all year.

  • December 21, 2011

    by Mary

    Sign me up, and how much does it cost???

  • December 21, 2011

    by Rebecca Wolfe

    Hi Marta.. I've had IPL and Pixel done. The zapping doesn't bother me and would love to test out this Palo Via Laser. Thanks!


  • December 21, 2011

    by Ann

    I'm afraid I am at the stage where "extra cirrucular" activity is a must, I have tried 2 of Marta's favorites, YBF correct and Reluma with NO discernible result. Bring it on....I'm a wimp but at least I don't need anesthesia to have my teeth cleaned ;). Happy Christmas!

  • December 21, 2011

    by Dolores

    I am going full steam ahead with my Sirius Aurora and want to give it just a bit more time before I report in on my impressions . I have been using it very faithfully and some things I have discovered have surprised me. If its wrinkles and/or sag that is needed to test this new gadget out Marta I have them in spades..........pick one of us oldsters and we will see what this baby can do!!

  • December 21, 2011

    by Cecily

    Marta,
    I'd SO love to be a tester for Palovia!

    My 50th birthday arrived this year and, with it, a more distinctive set of crow's feet. That's one b-day gift I'd like to return!

    I've been using the Bioeffect serum on my eyes for about a month now and, while the skin looks healthier, I don't think it's done much to correct the wrinkles.
    My olive skin tolerates traumatic therapies such as acids and lasers quite well. I'd love to weigh in on the efficacy of at-home Fraxel for the eyes.

    Thanks!

  • December 21, 2011

    by Gail Wilson

    I would love to give this a try! I have had the Palomar laser done twice now on my skin and have seen some results. It would be interesting to see how this compares. The Palomar sounds very similar to this in terms of the zapping feeling. I likened the feel to that of a slight electrical shock and it was uncomfortable as well. Having a high tolerance for pain helped me get through it!

  • December 21, 2011

    by Alice

    This sounds really interesting. I had laser treatments about 8 years ago for rosacea so I'm familiar with that zapping feeling. I'd love to try this at home since my crows feet have now passed from that cute crinkle to hmmm, I didn't know she was that old. ;(

    I'm willing to try anything since I'll be looking for a new job after the first of the year, and we all know employers don't go for the more experienced look.

    Now -- is there anything that will really firm the upper lids?

  • December 21, 2011

    by Dennis

    Not being able to bring yourself to zap yourself again was precisely how I felt when I first started skin needling. It's really difficult to cause that kind of trauma to yourself - it's almost as if my hand would try to pull itself away. I did persevere though, and it gave results: I used it for some facial pits which have raised and smoothed out. It just took a long wait after the process to see results.

  • December 21, 2011

    by Dennis

    I would also love to try. As I said in another post, my eyes tend to give away my age more than anything. I've gone as far as doing triple TCA peels on them, with limited success. They're definitely something I'm considering having work done on in the future, barring some breakthrough skin cream. Please consider me, Marta. I'd love to review from a guys point of view. Cheers.

  • December 21, 2011

    by Chris

    Wow, would love to try this device! I have tried so many products that I've discovered through TIA - Clarisonic, LED light machine, creams and lotions to numerous to mention - and there have been some winners and some losers, but definitely more winners!
    After reading both Marta's and Copley's reviews, the process does sound a little daunting, but I think I could handle it. I'd love to try it on one side of my face - although the device is only supposedly for use around the eye area, I'd love to try it on the nasolabial fold area as well and see what results, if any, could be had in that area.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...