Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Patricia Wexler M.D.

November 12, 2010 Reviewed by admin 14 Comments
Overview:

Skimming through photos online of Patricia Wexler is like looking at images of any other celebrity; it’s hard to find flaws and nearly impossible to figure out exactly what procedures she has endured in order to look as fantastic as she does. But Patricia Wexler isn’t a movie actress or television vixen; she is dermatologist to the stars, though, with appearances on Oprah and Good Morning America, and friendships with people like Ellen Barkin, she is a celebrity in her own right.

At nearly 60 years old, Dr. Wexler has incredibly impressive credentials and experience to boot. She began her career as an internist, but switched to dermatology for good when she completed her residency at Mount Sinai Medical Center in 1985. Since then, she has been practicing in New York City and has received awards including the American Academy of Cosmetic Surgery Award for Excellence in Cosmetic Surgery. Getting an appointment with this sought after practitioner won’t come easy – or cheap. As of 2006, just an appointment to sit down and talk to Dr. Wexler costs $500; laser treatments can cost up to $6,000 and liposuction can run you $11,000.

Which is why it’s pretty nice that Dr. Wexler has her own skincare line, sold at the much more affordable Bath & Body Works.

The Good:

The line, simply entitled Patricia Wexler M.D., uses a newly discovered (and Wexler patented) ingredient called MMPi•20 that supposedly acts as a Matrix Metalloproteinases (MMP) inhibitor. MMPs are enzymes that degrade collagen, reinforcing the aging process. And the line’s most expensive product (Skin Regenerating Serum) is a reasonable $65, though there are products that cost as little as $15 (such as the Acne Spot Treatment).

The Bad

However, I have a bone to pick with Dr. Wexler. As a board-certified, highly respected dermatologist, she should bear some sort of responsibility for the products she creates and sells to consumers. Yes, she has all these interesting, patented, one-of-a-kind components that promise to fight dullness, acne and wrinkles – but what, may I ask, are the rest of the ingredients in her stellar products? Wouldn’t you like to know? I certainly would love to tell you but, unfortunately, the number one complaint about Dr. Wexler’s products on dozens of message boards across the Internet is that the good doctor fails to be straightforward about what exactly she puts into her serums.

Dr. Wexler does not have her own website; instead, you are directed to a Bath & Body Works page dedicated to the doctor. The technology she uses is explained in very broad terms and there doesn’t seem to be any evidence or research referenced that back Dr. Wexler’s claims. And, surprisingly, the ingredients tab leads to a page that is not very helpful or specific in terms of the contents of Dr. Wexler’s products.

The Truth

I came across an article written by a Cosmetics Cop contributor who was perturbed by Dr. Wexler’s lack of honesty when it comes to ingredients. Apparently, the contributor emailed Bath & Body Works asking for a full list of ingredients for one of Dr. Wexler’s products, and was told by the company to do her own research at the local library. When the contributor did indeed research Patricia Wexler, she found her quoted by author Ellen Lupton in a book called Skin saying, “When it comes to cosmetic matters, women have a ‘Don’t ask, don’t tell me, please!’ policy” (pg. 41). Now, this quote was taken slightly out of context, as a New York Times article reveals, but it does seem that Dr. Wexler complies with these women’s “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy, which doesn’t say much for the doctor in terms of being a responsible dermatologist. If Dr. Wexler is as open about her dermatological procedures as she is about her product line, I’d be worried.

::amazon(B001QOAO7I):: ::amazon(B001Q95QCG):: ::amazon(B002B9BRDW)::
  • August 25, 2016

    by Dottie

    My son has a severe Peanut and Tree nut allergy. I bought the intensive night repair/reversal cream and put some on before bed time. After kissing my son good night, everywhere that my face touched his, he broke out and became swollen. Seriously! REVEAL the ingredients!!! This product could cause some serious damage!!!!

  • March 23, 2016

    by Georgia

    Are parabens in Wexler products?
    Are they non-comedic ?
    Which Wexler product helps large pores?

  • February 25, 2016

    by Jen H

    I started using this line (after a friend recommended) about two months ago (bought the "trial" kit at Bath & Body Works). After about a month I remarked to my friend how my skin never looked better - it was glowing. I ran out of the kit and didn't use for a week and a half or so, and let me tell you - there is a difference. I went RIGHT out and got more.

  • October 2, 2015

    by Lauri

    I have been using Wexler eye cream for at least the past 5 years now and lately I have had problems where the cream was just evaporating to nothing. It has happened the past 2 times and I am unsure if I want to purchase it again due to that fact. Are there new ingredients being used with the product to make that happen?
    I do not live in a climate where it is hot, and take precautions closing my product due to the fact I have small children. Has it happened to anyone else? I do like the product a lot but spending $35, it should not be evaporating. Thanks.

  • September 2, 2013

    by Karen

    I have purchased Wexler products in the past. But, I will not re-order until I am sure there are no parabens in the products. Parabens are highly concentrated in breast cancer tumors, according to research. There is breast cancer in my family so we are NOT using any products with parabens. Please let me know at the above email address. Thanks.

  • April 13, 2013

    by Karen

    I was wondering if Dr
    Wexler's products contain any Retinol. I used these products a few years ago but am now 53 yrs old and I want to keep the wrikles away.

  • April 7, 2013

    by barbie

    i am currently using dr w's products. i have tried everything on the market. nothing worked. i do see results with wexler line.

  • March 3, 2013

    by Linda Grollman

    Re: MMPi Skin Regenerating Serum
    can it be used alone or is it meant to be used with a moisturizer?

  • February 11, 2013

    by Ms. Pheenix

    I have been using Dr. Wexler's line of skin care products for a number of years. I can't count the endless complements I receive on a regular basis about my skin, complexion and youthfulness. I just hit the half of a century mark and even my doctors and colleagues mention how I look 20 years younger. I faithfully cleanse my skin twice a day using and use the other products per Dr. Wexler's directives. Aging is natural and I am able to see the problems around my eyes. I have used so many products to attempt to correct dark circles to no avail. I've used Dior, Chanel, Arbonne and Dr. Brand. All of which are so expensive with no real results. I just chalked it up to a chronic medical problem which can cause dark circles under the eyes. However, with the eye cream from Dr. W, I have seen somewhat of a change, although minute. I am African American and have moles skin. Some products are not made for our skin, however, with Dr. Wesley, my skin stays hydrated and firm. I don't know what I would do without it. I never run out and will continue to use her products as long as they are available. No other brands, serums, moisturizers will ever work for me.
    When I was younger, my grandmother revealed the secrets of EVOO. We used it for everything. Hair and skin care. I'm so happy at olive oil is an ingredient in her products. I was flabbergasted. Thank you Dr. W for bringing these wonderful products to market for all skin types. <3

  • October 7, 2012

    by Austin Elliott

    I found the Dr. Wexler very interesting. I sometimes would like to know what procedures and products certain skincare experts(?) and Dermatologist use besides their own lines of products. If i'm spending my money( sometimes foolishly) based on retouched or older touched up pictures of said Dr. or spokesperson I think that information should be forthcoming. Thanks

  • October 7, 2012

    by San

    I used her products for a couple of years and loved them! I switched to other produces for the last year because Bath and Body Works would never have the products I needed in stock. I'm switching back!! I just ordered all her products (almost) on the internet. I sure wish they would start selling again at BBW and hope she never stops making them.

  • September 30, 2011

    by Timmy

    Wow!! She actually did that?! I feel as time goes on her line is becoming more obsolete. I work at Bath and Body works. My store is pretty small so we don't carry everything she produces... But, we carry a large majority. And it never sells! Her serum feels amazing (thanks to silicones...) But I can't use it,now, due to the fragrance in it.. But her night cream is amazing. Its sinks in and immedietly softens.

  • July 27, 2011

    by Dubious Patient

    I was a prospective patient that consulted Dr. Wexler for lipo. I'm female, 5'6" and 143 lbs. She informed me that prior to surgery with her, I needed to lose 25-30 lbs. She then referred me to an OBESITY doctor in Manhattan (!?) When I called THAT office, they were completely dumbfounded that the suggestion was even made. Oh.....and Dr. Wexler's quote to me for lipo of the thighs, abdomen, flanks, and hips was $24,000.....!!?! C-R-A-Z-Y....(yes, that's me being kind).

  • November 23, 2010

    by Timothy

    I have used Patricia Wexlers line for a few years (Though I have stopped and started using more natural things). I don't know if I have much complaints. The serum is a silky smooth concoction that glides over the skin and makes it feel super nice. The Dermabrasion kit is also nice... Though she has misleading information. Like it's okay to exfoliate everyday (as according to the usage to one of her products). I think that this has lead to my unfortunate usage of exfoliants and the damage that my skin has accumulated....

    Patricia Wexler actually once had a website with very detailed information on the research and results of her MMPI20. I actually have a print out of it somewhere in my boxes. The site had major information in regards to the Serum, as well as the other products.. It must have been some time within the past 2 years that the site closed down.. Her products weren't SOLD on the site. A link would direct you to BBW and that's where you could purchase. So I have no idea why the site closed. I do have some of her products if you would like the ingredients I'll be happy to send them to you so you can post them.. I have the serum, Skin brightening daily moisturizer with SPF30, Intensive reversal night cream and maybe something else.....

    Hope that helps?

    Anyways the super amazing serum feels super nice because of the silicones in it. It does have apple fruit extract and bisabolol and also myristyl nicotinate (which i'm assuming is her patented fat soluble form of niacin). It has a super wonderful scent (Even though I don't use it anymore... I'd probably have a jar just to smell it).. A trial kit runs about $39.99 in the stores which includes the serum, eye cream, face/neck cleanser, microbrasion/hydrating "serum" and a night cream and a day cream.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...