Free shipping on all orders over $39

Our Rating: 4 stars

Buy this product

PMD Personal Microderm- reviewed and recommended

Reviewed by Marta August 5, 2013 18 Comments

Pros

A powerful alternative to the derm's office

Cons

Replacement tips need to be bought
A worthy device to incorporate into our beauty routine

I would never have embarked on testing the at-home microdermabrasion kit, PMD Personal Microderm System ($179), if Nisha (a licensed esthetician) had not written such an intriguing review. I tend to believe that there are some treatments best left to professionals and microdermabrasion can seriously damage skin if not performed properly. However, Nisha’s experience with PMD made me want to try it for myself, and after a month of testing, I am rather impressed by it.

In esthetician or derm offices, crystal systems have been the traditional microdermabrasion treatment of choice. Tiny crystals are blasted onto the skin to perform an exfoliating process. Although still widely used, the introduction of alternatives has led to a trend towards diamond microdermabrasion systems. The diamond tipped head makes contact with the skin and abrades against it. A skilled user will know where to place the head and how much pressure to use.

PMD uses aluminum oxide crystals on a flat, sandy disc, similar to a professional diamond-tipped head. There are two disc sizes, one for face and a slightly bigger one for body (although they are both rather small), and color-coded: sensitive (blue) and medium (green) – I used blue on my face and green on my neck.

I diligently restricted myself to two passes on each area – forehead, crow’s feet, around the mouth and chin, and neck. I did not treat my cheekbone area as I have a tendency to rosacea. Overall, I found the device to work better – more evenly – if moved it in a downward direction. The disc head, unsurprisingly feels like sandpaper, but I did not experience any discomfort (although the suction takes a bit of getting used to). Nor did I inflict any redness or welts, only a little nick above my lip. The latter was during the second session, and I confess I became a bit too self confident in my wielding of the device – lesson learned, this is a powerful little thing.

I used the PMD as instructed once a week. Immediately afterwards the skin looks clear and, well, exfoliated. It feels soft too. The effect on wrinkles is subtle but cumulative and after a month I have seen a difference – enough to incorporate the PMD into my routine. The only thing I might caution is the need to purchase replacement tips (6 for $14.95) and I haven't yet worked out how long they last.

Buy Me
$ 179.00
  • June 13, 2014

    by Isabella

    I haven't try it.. I have large pores around my nose just don't know which direction to go.. I've hear so much ********** ? If you know what I mean everyone.. I'm sure you do to. But still looking and reading about it. Help

  • April 26, 2014

    by Mish

    I'm 41 years old and have had my PMD for about a year. I have vitiligo, hyper pigmentation, adult acne, and a couple wrinkles and this machine is working on everything but the vitiligo (loss of pigment that will never come back)! When I first bought it, my skin was thicker, rough, looked very patchy, and it just didn't glow. After a year of using the PMD once a week, RELIGIOUSLY, I am beyond impressed! My face feels so soft and my sun spots are fading! My acne has not gone completely away but since it's due to hormones, the PMD has been great at keeping it under control. My moisturizers go on so smooth and I use less of it and less foundation. I think everyone should have one! Considering that I plan to have the same skin forever, the price of the machine is well worth it and cheaper than a salon visit. I'm quite serious, if you have issues with your skin...GET THIS!!!

  • August 9, 2013

    by Karen

    I would love to try this product. I had microdermabrasion done once a month at my aesthetician's. Monthly after 6 weeks of once a week sessions. Now, with the depression of the economy in my rural area, a lot of businesses have closed up shop leaving me without that outlet for my skin regimen. The nearest spa offering those type services are 100 miles away. I miss the smooth feeling after a session. The noticeable decrease in appearance of fine lines is also missed. It might not be a great idea to look at your skin thru a 10X magnified mirror when you get deep into the 50s, but I do. I see the sides of my lip lines deepening and when I pull the skin up, there are lines that won't go away. Eek!
    If the reviews come back good, I probably will buy one but I would really like to be a reviewer.

  • August 8, 2013

    by Marta

    (5 out of 5)

    Welcome Rush77. I hadn't thought of the combination of modesty and elitism but I have to admit that it kind of resonates. You might be interested in reading this regimen for 30-somethings for serum suggestions and for open pores, Sevani's Rapid Renewal Resurfacing Creme is helpful
    http://www.truthinaging.com/review/a-beauty-regimen-for-30-somethings

  • August 8, 2013

    by rush77

    I am a new member of this community, from a small country in Europe :)
    I am so happy that I found this no-harsh-antiage island, where women are encouraged to be critical about cosmetics. I love modesty and elitism at the same time, that Martha and her team show here..hope that this community will expand around the globe through members :)
    I'm in the 30s , just started with more serious care..and I do not like my enlaaaaarged pores. I'd love love to try this tool! It would be great to see what microdermabrasion can do for my pores, but a series of treatments currently is too expensive for me. What would be a good serum as a complement?

  • August 6, 2013

    by Kelly

    Saw this device in Costco and I am so grateful to Marta for the review and the opportunity to test it out on my menopausal skin!

  • August 6, 2013

    by Aimee

    I just watched Dr. OZ yesterday re: anti-aging. and, he (and other professionals) said that exfoliation is a very important first step in anti-aging, especially as one gets older...and, that means me! At 63 my skin looks pretty good, mainly because of staying out of the mid day sun most of my life, and, maybe genetics, too, but, I am noticing some lines around the outer corners of my eyes and also around my lower lip and chin area. Plus, I am noticing that it is more difficult to properly clean my skin because I getting little bumps all over (in each pore) if I don't exfoliate in some way every day. I would love to try the PMD Personal Microderm to see if this helps in using it once per week...it would be wonderful if it does!

  • August 6, 2013

    by Lucy

    I'd love to try this! I'm prematurely aging and have seriously thought about investing in an at home microdermabrasion device. This would be a great opportunity to try before I buy. I also have a mother in her 50's staying with me, so we can give you a 2 for 1 review.

  • August 6, 2013

    by Naheed

    I usually get microdermabrasion done when I get my facial and like the results. It will be fun to try at home version and save some money as well. Thanks

  • August 6, 2013

    by Barbara

    I have never had before microdermabrasion. I heard that it is the one of the easiest anti-aging treatment. Also can improve conditions of sun damage skin, the tone of the skin, the wrinkle become shallower and the skin is softer. I am 60 years old having all the skin problems mentioned above. I really would like to try this tool on my skin. I believe that microdermabrasion takes the top layer skin of so the new skin will be nice and soft. I have proof for it. Long time ago my father had an accident in which his face was very bad burned by gas explosion, so his face looked like one huge blister. The heeling process was very painful but the result was unexpected.The burned skin gone and the new skin gave him much younger look and beautiful quality skin. It worked like very painful but succeeded microdermabrasion. I also want to mention that I am very fortune to have very fast heeling skin without any scars. I would be very happy to get the opportunity to test the microdermabrasion tool on my skin. I I would be very happy

  • August 6, 2013

    by Kelly

    Just got my first microdermabrasion treatment at 53! I can see why people love it. No pain, relatively inexpensive and you get to relax for 30 minutes and look refreshed when you leave. I would love to try the PMD device at home as I do plan to incorporate microdermabrasion into my regular beauty routine. Thanks Marta!

  • August 6, 2013

    by Amy

    I have considered buying one of the PMD Personal Microderm devices, but have held off because I am unsure about how effective it really is. I don't know if It would make a big difference or not. I'd love to give it a try sometime.

  • August 6, 2013

    by mary

    Would love to try this!

  • August 6, 2013

    by christina

    I know I am currently reviewing HelioCare, but I would really love to review this little device as well. Even as a Licensed Esthetician I have found it very difficult to find effective products for my clogged pores, fine lines and melasma and would be very grateful to try this.

  • August 6, 2013

    by Jessica

    As someone who tries to regularly get microdermabrasion. I would be intrigued to try an at-home device

  • August 6, 2013

    by Noel

    Would love to try this! I've never had microdermabrasion before and am curious if it would help clear up some skin issues for me.

  • August 6, 2013

    by Cindy

    I recently had a microdermabrasion treatment at a local spa, and although impressed with the results, the cost of the recommended "package" was outside my budget ($120 each, or 6 for $500).

    It didn't seem feasible to purchase a unit for home use, but now, after reading Marta's review, and seeing that a personal unit is sold in the TIA shop, I'm rethinking the possibility. I would love to try my hand at it ... as at 64, my skin doesn't look it's age (thanks to TIA), and I would like to keep it that way. :)

    Thank you Marta for offering yet another great product at an affordable price. You have *no* idea how much we appreciate you.

    ~ Cindy

  • August 6, 2013

    by Chelsea

    Sounds wonderful...I'd love to try it!

Have You Tried PMD Personal Microderm?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment PMD Personal Microderm below.

My Comment

Add a comment... PMD Personal Microderm

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...