Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Products that contain matrixyl 3000

January 26, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 20 Comments

The other day I posted a What Is It? on matrixyl and matrixyl 3000. They are both peptides, but based on very different ones. Matrixyl 3000 is based on two peptides and there is some evidence that it might be more powerful as an anti-aging ingredient than the original matrixyl. All the background can be read by clicking here. A number of you have been searching for products that contain matrixyl 3000. Here is a quick summary of the ones that I have found. But reader beware, they are not all that they seem to be.

First is MyChelle Supreme Polypeptide Cream. What I like about this matrixyl 3000 cream is that every ingredient is clearly identified and its purpose described. There is nothing nasty in it and, in fact, its chock full of good anti-aging ingredients.

On the other hand, you could accuse this cream of hedging its bets since it also stuffs in anti-oxidants, moisturizers and retins. It might all prove a bit much. Nevertheless, worth a try and not at all badly priced at $49.

Peter Thomas Roth's Un-wrinkle Night Creme has all the hallmarks of why I don't like his products. They always seem faddish to me, as if they just hopped off the latest bandwagon. Unwrinkle Night Creme has 3% matrixyl 3000 (give him credit for owning up to the amount when few others do). It also has no less than three ingredients that are supposed to freeze the facial muscles. These are superficial and short term at best. One of them is even snake oil. Well, venom. Its called syn-ake and you can read more about it here.

I have a similar issue with Bellaplex. As well as matrixyl 3000, this contains argireline - a acetyl-hexapeptide-3. Like the snake venom, this temporarily freezes the facial muscles. Plus, I have come across a fair number of consumer reviews of Bellaplex that have been disappointed.

Isomers Matrixyl 3000 Rejuvenation Serum is, on the other hand, pretty much unadulterated.

I'm not sure I like the faux pharma packaging of Isomers and, in my experience, products that come with a dropper top are a bit messy to use. Anyway, its well priced at $49 and it doesn't have any other rubbish in it.

I thought I might be on to something with Dermapril-SP. This claims to contain matrixyl 3000. However, the ingredients list mysteriously only refers to plain old matrixyl. Perhaps they forgot to update the website. At best that's sloppy; I'll be giving Dermapril-SP a miss. UPDATE: 6/6/2008 detailed review of Dermapril and comparison to Mychelle. Click here.

My advice is to scrutinize products claiming to be matrixyl 3000 based as carefully as possible before committing to one. Make sure it is matrixyl 3000 and that it doesn't have other stuff in it that you don't want to use or you know to be mostly a waste of time. There is only so much we should be assaulting our pores with.

See all our FIVE BEST recommendations including Five Best for sagging skin, Five Best with vitamin C and Five Best eye creams

  • June 23, 2017

    by Dava

    First, I would like to know your educational background, and where you obtain your knowledge. It is very important to base advice upon accurate and credible information that comes from reliable research sources.

  • September 10, 2014

    by colby

    Good Evening Marta, I enjoy your site immensely. I have often seen you mention Isomers products but you never recommend them, am I wrong?

  • June 18, 2012

    by James

    To clear up confusion ... when you see products like Matrixyl 3000 labeled with concentrations that look higher - such as 15%, 20%, 30% etc - it is just a different way that the chemists sometimes refer to it, so just move the decimal to the left one place. So, 20% = 2%.

    So technically, with the most research that has come from Sederma, they recommend around 4% now (which you might see as 40%). Hope that helps.

  • September 11, 2011

    by Laura

    My mother recently started selling BECOME facial products...I have tried them and so far I love them! They are wonderful. If you think you might be interested...check out thier website or contact a local consultant. I live in Thomasville NC and there are only two women in the region that sells it. It is wonderful products at resonable prices. You should try it today! They have Matrixyl 3000 in their line of products. Have a blessed day ! Laura

  • February 20, 2011

    by jennifer

    I read online that sederma the company that conducted the clinical trial on matrixyl 3000 used a 4 per cent solution and have advised it operates effectively within the range of 3 and 8 per cent of a finished product. Using a product with more than 8 per cent might be the reason why some products arent effective perhaps. I've yet to try the product myself, but have ordered an organic eye cream with 3.3 per cent matrixyl 3000 to see if it'll help with eye bags. I've also contacted sederma to get clarification about how much matrixyl 3000 should be in a product for it to be effective.

  • May 24, 2009

    by Camila

    Hello Marta, nice to meet you, Ihave been testing an dusing some rejuvenating porduct, such as viterol (viatrozone gel with retinol) from DS Laboratories, N.V. Perricone (a quite expensive products in my opinion), the one that youpemnyioned brande with Peter Thomas Roth and some product with Matrixyl3000, in fact; recently I bought a matrixyl serum on ebay (from "free" distribution, no labeled or branded i think)that refers have 20% concentrated Matrixyl3000, pretty much concentrated than other fromulas o serums, Can it be possible? Honestly speaking, I noticed a favorable difference in appereance, firming, thighness that makes me be amazaed at this time, however, frecuently I feel that my skin is a little bit more oily in comparison when I used Viterol. What can I do? what porduct is the best in deed? PLS HELP ME
    Cami

  • April 15, 2009

    by Paula

    Dermapril SP does not work! Not only does it not do what it's suppose to do but the company gets you in the back-end once you cancel your order. Other companies allow you to return the product and get a refund. DERMAPRIL WILL NOT! If your return your order and cancel. DERMAPRIL WILL NOT REFUND! They will tell you to keep the order and thank you for the $69.95 + $5.00 shipping even though we don't honor our product. It's yours and we won't give you any money back! Take note before you order.

  • February 23, 2009

    by marta

    Mychelle has changed its formulation and no longer contains Matrixyl 3000. So it kinda is one peptide fewer. We wrote about it here: http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/07/mychelle-supreme-upgrades-from-matrixyl-3000.html

    And I've added a link to the post

  • February 23, 2009

    by Marina

    OK, I'm confused. Mychelle website cites Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5 as one of the ingredients in the supreme polypeptide cream. How does this relate to Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide? One peptide fewer?

  • February 21, 2009

    by Nikki

    Try Become beauty products. The eye and daycream contain Matrixyl 3000 and other high quality active ingredients. www.becomebeauty.com I swear by them.

  • February 11, 2009

    by Ann Stewart

    After reading your excited recommendations (2-3 months ago) on using products with Matrixyl 3000, and reading the "research" paper, I ordered a 15% matrixyl 3000 serum (around $35) and a night cream (more or less the same price) with matrixyl 3000 near the top of the ingredients from NCN Professional Skin Care. Their Web site is www.ncnproskincare.com. The ingredients listed for the serum said "Matrixyl", not "Matrixyl 3000" so I called them & they said it was Matrixyl 3000.

    I haven't been using them long enough to see if they restore my skin thickness (I'm 66 -- it's gonna take something really good to restore my skin health). A good way to check that is to use it on the backs of my hands, which look like they were taken from a 6000-yr-old Egyptian sarcophagus. So far (3 weeks), the skin there is still dehydrated enough to stay sticking up if I pinch it up, and I'm disappointed. Then again, I haven't been using it 3 times a day.

    I ordered another bottle of the serum because I really like how it feels & it's gone up from 15% M-3000 to 20% (no change in price). If M-3000 does what the "researchers" say it does, then my hands should have better skin soon. But I'm wondering ...

  • February 9, 2009

    by Sammi

    I am a graphic artist. All the pictures that show a 'younger' woman.....I can do the same thing for you with my airbrush on my computer. Have a good close look at the images that are touting anti-aging products. Could they possibly be an air brushed image? I can make you look ten years younger too...but I don't want to sell you anything. Be careful ot there.

  • January 31, 2009

    by kris

    i swear. is there anything that really works (reduces wrinkles) and won't kill me slowly?

  • January 31, 2009

    by kris

    i thought you would find this interesting. i looked up the MyChelle product, i wanted to see if it had any parabens. and it had something i hadn't heard of before.
    Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate.
    scary stuff.

  • January 24, 2009

    by Nhan

    AH! Thank you for directing me to the other post.

  • January 23, 2009

    by marta

    Mychelle has reformulated without Matrixyl (saying it no longer met their hygiene standards). We wrote about it here: http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/07/mychelle-supreme-upgrades-from-matrixyl-3000.html

  • January 22, 2009

    by Nhan

    I know that in the post it stated that there was the ingredient matrixyl 3000 in Mychelle's Supreme polypeptide Cream but I did not see it in the ingredients listed on their site. Is it under another name?

  • June 12, 2008

    by Jeri Tornincas

    <p>The website does say matrixyl 3000 everywhere EXCEPT the detailed ingredients list.</p>

  • February 3, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Well that was my point: the website does say matrixyl 3000 everywhere EXCEPT the detailed ingredients list. So either it really just contains matrixyl, not matrixyl 3000 or they need to update the ingredients list.</p>

  • February 2, 2008

    by Jody Daw

    <p>Dermapril-SP does contain Matrixyl 3000. It says this all over their site, including their FAQ: <a href="http://www.dermapril.com/faq.html" rel="nofollow">http://www.dermapril.com/faq.html</a></p>

    <p>I'm using the product and really like it. </p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...