Free shipping on all orders over $39

Rapid Lash Eyelash Renewal Serum

November 18, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 50 Comments

The latest eyelash miracle worker to hit the morning TV talk shows is Rapid Lash Eyelash Renewal Serum ($48). The first thing to say about it is that, like Neulash, it contains a prostaglandin analogue called isopropyl cloprostenate.

Regular readers know by now that prostaglandins are drugs used to treat glaucoma that have the adorable side effect of making eyelashes grow like weeds. Less adorable side effects include irritation, impaired vision and the eyes may even change color (from blue to brown or vice versa). This controversial ingredient has been removed from some of the leading eyelash growth products, such as Jan Marini's new Marini Lash.

Again, like Neulash, Rapid Lash has added in a couple of peptides. However, I haven't been able to find any link to hair or lash growth for polypeptide 23 or octapeptide 2. Rapid Lash also has hydrolized glycosaminoglycans. This inhibits 5-alpha-reductase, preventing the conversion of testosterone to dihydroxytestosterone. I can see that this might be helpful with male balding, but I'm not sure that it will have much impact on lashes since they aren't impacted by testosterone and estrogen levels.

On the other hand, there is some evidence that copper tripeptide-1 improves hair growth by strengthening the follicle and speeding up the growth cycle. Indeed, I have used Folligen, a copper peptide lotion on hair and lashes with great success.

All in all, whether you try this (given that it is likely to make your lashes grow) depends on how you feel about prostaglandins. Isopropyl cloprostenate may, for all I know, be a completely safe version. But I personally won't be trying it until Rapid Lash shows me the results of their independently conducted trials.

Ingredients in Rapid Lash

Water (Aqua), Rhizobian Gum, Sodium Hyaluronate, Butylene Glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Biotin, Panthenol, Pantethine, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, Allantoin, Cucurbita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Extract, Sea Water, Dipotassium Glycyrrizate, Alcohol Denat (and) Isopropyl Cloprostenate, Octapeptide-2, Copper Tripeptide-1, Glycerin, Glycine Soja (Soybean Oil), Phosphatidylcholine, Polypeptide-23, Phenoxyethylene, Chlorphenisen, Sorbic Acid.

  • August 26, 2013

    by Toni

    I have used rapidlash for a few years now, around 3 or 4 and LOVE it! I have naturally fair, thin, short lashes. Not any more :)

    What Inga & Janko reported about the results only lasting through the first vial I believe has more to do with the growth cycle of the eyelashes and not the product. Just like all body hair the lashes go through 3 phases of growth:

    * Anagen - the active growth phase. Only 40% of the upper eyelashes are in active growth at any one time (only 15% of lower lashes are in active growth). This phase lasts 30 - 45 days
    * Catagen - the transition phase when the eyelash stops growing and the follicle shrinks. This lasts 2 - 3 weeks
    * Telogen - this is the resting phase and can last over 100 days before the eyelashes fall out

    Each eyelash is in its own cycle so there are some lashes in each phase at all times and most days at least a few eyelashes will fall out. Basically your eyelashes will go through stages where a lot of the super long lashes are falling out and new ones are coming in but have not reached full growth and therefore appear to be a shorter set of lashes. Not the case, they just haven't reached full length or gone into the "Telogen" or "Resting" phase.

    Similar complaints can be found in regards to waxing, sometimes the hair seems to grow right back and sometimes you stay smooth for weeks.....has everything to do with what phase your hair was in at the time of waxing.

    I think when it comes to Rapidlash the difference in growth phases can be more apparent thanks to the fact that it truly works and gives you incredibly beautiful, cRaZy long lashes!!! :)

    You should try it! BUT if you do not think you can commit to daily use don't bother, like most skin care treatments results are seen with consistent, long term use. Don't expect anything overnight, patience will truly pay off with this product.

  • January 23, 2013

    by Michele Watson

    Just a reminder-we now have AQ eyelash too! Can't wait to try this myself. I did use two tubes of Hydropeptide and I found it conditioning but nothing that noticeable. I have long lashes but really wanted volume. I am excited about AQ since Marta tried it herself and it worked.

  • January 23, 2013

    by Kim

    If I am not mistaken, RapidLash now uses a formula with no prostaglandins or like ingredients.

  • April 3, 2012

    by Michele Watson

    Hi I am going slowly but surely with Hydropeptide (TIA store-second tube). Here is a response from them after I asked re results-I am sharing it as it may be useful to others trying as I am to boost my post-menopausal lashes!Hello Michele,

    "The typical results that can be seen from HydroPeptide Lash is an increase in fullness first and then length. In clinical studies, within the first 2 weeks, a 25% increase in eye lash length was seen on most the participants with just one of the active ingredients within HydroPeptide Lash. By 12 weeks, you should see the full increase in length with the product but as you continue to use the product, you will continue to see a fullness and healthiness to the Lashes. Your lashes typically grow, get brittle, break off, and then grow again. Lash will help promote an extended growth phase of the lashes and brows than normal. Typically the lash anagen (growth) phase is 45 days but with HydroPeptide lash, you can extend this phase. Eventually, you will have some hair turnover but this is natural. If you were to discontinue HydroPeptide lash, your hair growth would return to a shorter anagen phase.

    What people comment they love most about HydroPeptide lash is that the lashes are fuller and look healthier. Many have used other lash products and saw length in just a few lashes that looked "spidery" and "twisted". You do not get this look with HydroPeptide lash. You get great, healthy-looking fullness but not ultra-dramatic length."

  • April 2, 2012

    by Junko

    My results with Rapid Lash were the same as Inga and her 2 friends. My opinion is that Rapid Lash is not worth purchasing!

  • April 2, 2012

    by Inga

    When I first used Rapidlash, I had fabulous results with no side effects. After the second vial, however, I noticed that hair growth regressed and no amount of serum has given back the long, full lashes i had after vial no. 1. Two friends who also used the product reported the same disappointing experience.

  • December 13, 2011

    by quilla

    I used lashfusion for 6 wks and while looking into a magnifying mirror noticed a line of black hair, outer, under my eyes where the skin has darken. It was quite a shock as I've never had any facial hair experience in my life!!. Now instead of using it on my upper eyelashes i'm sticking to the eyebrow area while keeping an eye out for any more growth.

    My question is how do i get rid of the hair? Can anyone help.

  • July 28, 2011

    by Judy

    I had been using RapidLash for about six weeks and was thrilled with the results...my eyelashes were so long. However...I did develop a bunch of milia around my eyes, which are like little white bumps (they look a little like whiteheads that don't ever pop). I can't get rid of them. So now I don't think it's worth it, and wish I wouldn't have started. It kills me because my lashes really look nice...but those milia...

  • April 21, 2011

    by Connie Hale

    I've been using rapid lash for 4 months, and I am thrilled with the results. My lashes are much longer and fuller.
    I used it at the base of my top & Bottom eyelashes every night for the first 2 months. Now I use it every
    2 or 3 days to maintain. I have permanent eyeliner and it was not a problem. I have my eyelashes tinted
    every 4 weeks. Now I don't even bother with mascara.

    Everyone is different. With any product, there are people that will have a reaction, while everyone else
    is fine. Since you just put the Rapid Lash at the base of the lashes I don't see how you could blink it on the
    areas under your eyes. I wonder if putting Vaseline on the area under the eyes when doing the treatment
    would help.

  • April 19, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi JustD I just published my ReLuma Lash review http://truthinaging.com/eyes/reluma-hair-and-lash-reviewed-and-recommended

  • April 18, 2011

    by JustD

    Marta, are you still using the ReLuma eyelash serum? If so, what type of results did you get? I believe that both the Code:ai and the Hydropeptide Lash serums are good, with my Thyroid issue, I've still seen good results using Hydropeptide on top and Code:ai on the lower lashes, a bit expensive, but the eyes are worth the effort LOL. Just curious if ReLuma showed you anything, perhaps not, it's been a while since you made mention of it in one of your posts.

  • April 18, 2011

    by Diane

    I have used Rapid Lash for about 2 months. I've had good results with my eyelashes but this morning I noticed dark areas in the outer corner of my eyes. I thought it was mascara but when I couldn't get it off I took a closer look and found that I have grown dark hairs under my eyes! I look like a monkey. I have never used Rapid Lash on my lower lashes. I'm stopping use immediately and I hope this isn't permanent.

  • April 1, 2011

    by Angela

    I have been using Rapid Lash for about 8 months and I've noticed my eyesight has diminished dramatically. I never attributed it to using Rapid Lash and now I'm concerned. Unfortunately, I don't know if Rapid Lash is the culprit but theoretically will my eyesight improve when I stop using the product?

  • March 9, 2011

    by michelle

    So happy I am not the only one with the patch of new hair growth! I, too, thought it was hormonal or that something was horribly wrong! The patch was so dark that it really did cast a shadow under my eye! I stopped using the product about a month ago, and, its still there. UGH! I did have fantastic results with my eyelashes...but SO not worth this!
    Will never use it again!

  • December 24, 2010

    by marta

    Congratulations on the upcoming nuptials Sheela.The best and safest products I have found so far for growing eyebrows are CODE:ai (there is a serum specially for eyebrows and for good measure you can use the eyelash serum as well - there is an offer on them right now: http://truthinaging.com/store/codeai-eyebrowth-growth), or Hair Signals: http://truthinaging.com/store/Skin-Biology-Hair-Signals-Therapy-Cream-2-oz

  • December 23, 2010

    by Sheela

    I am getting married this year and want to use a product to fill in my eyebrows. I don't intend to use this product on my eyelashes, I have light blue eyes and don't want to risk changing the iris. If I only use the product on my eyebrows, will it have any adverse affect on my eyes?

  • September 14, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Carol, we've found some eyelash growth products that work and are safe: http://truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-for-eyelash-and-brow-growth-2010

    I can't promise the results will be as spectacular as you had with Rapidlash, but you won't get those side effects.

  • September 14, 2010

    by Carol O'Neill

    My lashes and brows have filled in fantastically using Rapidlash. The downside is that I, like others, have sprouted a substantial block of hair under my eyes, so much so that it looks like a dark shadow and is quite visible. It means I have had to stop using the product. I know others have had the same problem and it's horrible. Has anyone got any ideas for using the product but preventing 'leakage' on to the under eye area? I only used it on my upper lashes, so itmust have 'leaked' downwards when blinking or something.

  • July 13, 2010

    by suzanne

    I used many other lash growth products at the cost of at least $150 a pop with no change in my lashes. I came across Rapid lash at Bed Bath and Beyond and for $50.00 decided to give it a try. Its been 2 months now and my lashes are longer then they have ever been... No irritation, no side effects what so ever... You can also buy it at Ulta... FOr $50.00 Its worth it... I would try it before Latisse due it price,side effects, etc...

  • July 11, 2010

    by laura wolford

    I have been using rapid lash for the past 6 weeks and have seen amazing results like my lashes look fake I have had no side effects and a little product goes a long way I highly recommend this product to anyone who is eyelash challenged

  • June 5, 2010

    by Julie Kay

    I agree w you, Gloria. People often look at me after they discover I'm 59 and say, "you skin looks SO SOFT!" and it is. I drink 2 quarts of water a day, and my skin rewards me for it. ~jk

  • June 5, 2010

    by Gloria

    Emma,
    I'd say the "safest & best" way yo get good skin elasticity is to drink at least 8, 8 oz. glasses of water! I'm 52 & have great skin, I never wear makeup & get compliments on my skin all the time. I noticed when I was younger I didn't drink enough water, my skin was dryer & looked older, once I started drinking my 8 glasses religously. I noticed my skin has become glowing & much younger looking. I don't even use facial cremes...water is the secret "safe" ingredient for great skin!

  • June 2, 2010

    by DeeDee

    how does one get hair growing on their cheeks unless the product itself drips to that area..?

  • February 1, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Mary
    So sorry to hear that. You probably just need to sit out the hair growth cycle, which can take up to 64 days and at some point the hairs should naturally shed. As you've given up the product, there is a good chance they won't grow back. I would give it another month and then you'll have to see a dermatologist to get the best advice. Good luck.

  • February 1, 2010

    by Mary

    I experienced the same problem with RapidLash with the odd hair growth, not only on my upper cheek bone, but all the way up to the under eye area.

    I must have reacted exceptionally well to the product. I only used it for a month and saw very good results on my eyelashes, but stopped using it when I saw the unexpected hair growth.

    It has been nearly two months since I have stopped using the product, and my lashes still maintain a bit of the curl the product enhanced, but the hair on my upper cheek and under eye area won't go away?

    What do I need to do to get rid of this?

  • January 17, 2010

    by marta

    Katie, you may have been reacting to the active ingredient in Neulash. Called isopropyl cloprostenate, the ingredient is an analogue for prostaglandin, the glaucoma drug. Used to treat glaucoma, one of the side effects is that eyelashes grow like weeds. Unfortunately, there are bad side effects too such as irritation, harm to vision and the actual color of eyes can change (say from brown to blue).

    You could take a look at our Five Best eyelash growth picks http://www.truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-products-updated

  • January 17, 2010

    by Katie

    hello, I have read your review and the reviews of others on lash growth products, and I was hopping yor your help. I have used NueLash before and my eyes did swell and burn and were red and goopy and the skin where applied did turn yellow, but I endured, however my eyelashes did get longer but their was no new growth (thicker) I am wanting a product that will not only lengthen but produce new growth without so much side effects (not very attractive :) i like the sound of some peoples reviews of Rapidlash (looks like fake lashes or looks like wearing eyeliner, but not) except I do not like the sounds of possible hair growth in unwanted places (ie. cheeks) and if at all possible a product that I could use for my lower lashes as well. (you know the ideal would be to have long, thick, dark, curly lashes, can that be a reality?) And one more question what could have been the possible culpret in NueLash ingrediants that I should probably stay away from? thank you for your time.

  • November 9, 2009

    by Queenie

    I got my long sweeping lashes, well, a few, with RapidLash after a about two months. Unlike my friend's who introduced me to the product, they did not get fuller. A few days ago I noticed a patch of dark hair on my upper cheekbone..my hair is "silver" at this point, and so are many of my eyelashes. When I shared this with my friend, she burst out laughing as she had the same result. My husband is a Pharmacy Technician and said that topical meds can travel systemically, just one of the adverse effects of a drug. I awoke in the middle of the night and panicked.."I'm turning into a "werewolf" and tried to think of whether to go to a dermatologist or my gynecologist for hormonal testing. I spared myself the embarassment by reading Sunshine's account and tossing Ms. Rapid Lash and Cheek out!

  • September 29, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Ema,
    Restore by Your Best Face has been <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/face/reader-reviewed-and-recommended-your-best-face-restore/" rel="nofollow">reviewed by a reader</a> and it specifically made a difference for elasticity. The formulation has since been improved. You could also try our <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-serums-with-matrixyl-3000-updated-april-2009/" rel="nofollow">Five Best with Matrixyl 3000</a>.

  • September 29, 2009

    by Ema

    There are way too many skin care lotions and after awhile it gets confusing on which ones to get to do what. I am 49 yrs. old and would like to get a cream or serum that would help with the skin's elasticity. I am more interested in that, than fine lines and wrinkles. But when I look for a good product, it is either very expensive or there are so many others that I get overwhelmed. What in your opinion is good for the skin's elasticity and sagging?

  • September 28, 2009

    by Marta

    Sunshine40, I am very sorry to hear about what happened to you. Theoretically, you should go back to your normal shedding and growth cycle at some point. For eyelashes that is normally about 6 weeks. But in your case they have been traumatized and it might well take longer. You can read about the hair growth cycle here: http://www.truthinaging.com/eyes/what-is-it-how-hair-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-works/.

    You try a lash conditioner that doesn't - unlike Rapid Lash - use a prostaglandin. For example, Hydropeptide reviewed here: http://www.truthinaging.com/eyes/hydropeptide-lash-helps-eyelashes-grow-tested-and-recommended/

  • September 26, 2009

    by Sunshine40

    Does work but terrible side affects!..after 2 weeks my eyelashes grew long & curled..however after 4weeks I definately stopped as I noticed many black hairs on close inspection on my upper cheek bones..think maybe leakage when putting Rapidlash on my lower lashes?..stopped asap!..now one eye has a gap of shorter lashes in the middle!!(the long ones fell out over 1 months) and they are SHORTER than my normal lashes every were!..2ndly my other eye they are curling INWARDS now - towards my nose!!!!!!!!..like a cowslick..they use to curve outwards!!!! like eyelashes are suppose too. In addition they are 'overcurled' like a butterflys probiscus!..I'm distressed after only using this product 4 weeks.. The skin on my lids got very dark with huuuge hair follicles as the base of each lash..most have gone down since I stopped using it. I also had increased milia (fatty deposits)...I cry as I want my own lashes back. they're uneven, they grow the wrong way towards my nose on an angel..I regret ever using this product!..and want advise please..its nearly 2 1/2 months and no more eyelashes have fallen out - when will they all fall out & renew with hopefully my own lashes the way they were..??

  • September 23, 2009

    by Maria

    Does anyone know if this product or others like it, are okay for someone who has had permanent eyeliner done?

  • September 5, 2009

    by penelope

    Has anyone suffered any side effects from Rapidlash? Also, it not worked for anyone?

  • July 20, 2009

    by Peaches

    Thanks Marta. I am new to this site and I really like it. So informative.

  • July 20, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Peaches,
    They shouldn't fall out or shrink, but will most likely revert back to their normal growth cycle. You can read our <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/eyes/what-is-it-how-hair-eyelash-and-eyebrow-growth-works/" rel="nofollow">hair growth 101</a> to understand how hair and eyelashes grow and how these products work.

  • July 20, 2009

    by Peaches

    Does anyone know what happens if you stop using RapidLash after your lashes grow in?
    Do the lashes eventually fall out..or shrink?
    I'd like to try this product, but I'm a little fearful because I don't want to be tied to anything for a long term.

  • July 16, 2009

    by sue

    It does really work. It takes about 4 weeks, but it works! My lashes are so much longer and I feel like they don't break as easily.

  • June 24, 2009

    by Tatyana

    I'm usually very sceptical about such a miracle products but buy them any way, but I was really surprised by RapidLash Serum. This is a miracle! I've always have some spars in my brows and couldn't live without an eyebrow pencil, my eyelashes were always long though. After about 5 weeks of using this product all my sparses in my brows were covered with a new hair and my lashes are really reach my to brows now! I actually start getting a complements how long my lashes are. And I stopped using an eyebrow pencil! I highly recommend it. It realy works! you just have to do it every day.

  • June 24, 2009

    by marta

    Roberta, you can buy it via Amazon.com - we've added a link to the post

  • June 24, 2009

    by roberta

    where can i purchase Rapid Lash Renewal Serum?

  • June 23, 2009

    by Star

    Yes, this is the product that was on the Tyra show today. I'm looking forward to trying it!

  • June 22, 2009

    by Shannon

    Is this the product that was on the Tyra Banks show today?

  • June 18, 2009

    by Karyn

    Thankyou for the positive posts. I have this product on order and nearly cancelled based on the article. Because of the positive reviews I will use with caution.

  • June 12, 2009

    by tarawinters

    where do I buy Rapitlash renewal serum?

  • June 12, 2009

    by mehaak

    I am using RapidLash from the last week, and it is giving 100% results.

  • May 16, 2009

    by Kym

    I have used RapidLash for about a month. My eyelashes are significantly longer and are hitting my browbone. I am using it on my eyebrows, too, which were sparse in some spots. They have filled in nicely. I love this stuff!

  • February 26, 2009

    by Abigail

    Rapidlash worked for me. I just bought my second tube. I noticed longer lashes in 4 weeks. I use it every few days now, not daily to maintain the length I want. I didn't have any eye irritation from it.

  • November 24, 2008

    by Jenny

    This posting is inaccurate. RapidLash is made with proteins, vitamins and other moisturizing and rejuvenating ingredients that replenish the structure of lashes and brows and help promote their condition. It's the first to be available at drugstores for $49.95 and it really does work. I've been using it for three weeks on my sparse brows and lashes, and have noticed an incredible difference already.

  • November 20, 2008

    by Cindy Hansen

    I actually tried Rapid lash EVERY NIGHT for 5 weeks and I saw no growth. I started applying Revitalash about a month after that and within 3 weeks I saw a difference! I guess it's true, you get what you pay for. Plus Revitalash donates to cancer research. =)

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...