Free shipping on all orders over $39

Reader Review: LashFood

March 12, 2012 Reviewed by TIA Community Member 9 Comments

Posted by Annie

I was the lucky winner of Truth in Aging's LashFood giveaway. I agreed to document (both in words and in photos) the progress of my lashes over the course of three weeks. What follows is my experience with the product including visual aids (under different lighting- sorry). Enjoy!

After using LashFood for a week, I began to notice that my lashes were shinier and thicker.  Putting on the product did not irritate my eyes or contacts (no itchiness, redness or swelling), but I did notice there were certain times when my eyes felt a little dry (however, that might have to be ruled out due to winter weather as well). I was happy with the subtle results, though I didn't really see visible growth in my lashes.After the 2nd and 3rd weeks, my lashes were still thick and shiny but if LashFood did help my lashes grow, it was not a noticeable difference.

Overall, Lashfood will condition and fill in your lashes and can be put on under your daily makeup. However, it did not make my lashes grow to the extent where I would recommend it to others.Lashfood might help false eyelash or eyelash extension wearers with conditioning, healing, and protecting lashes from the tugging and damage of glue. But in my opinion, $120 for an eyelash conditioner is a bit expensive.
 

Ingredients: Water, Arginine, Biotin, Trehalose, Niacinamide, Panthenol, Citric Acid, Polysorbate 80, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Acorus Calamus Root Extract, Artemisia Princeps Leaf Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Polygonum Multiflorum Root Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra Root Extract, Angelica Gigas Root Extract, Ephedra Sinica Extract, Sophora Angustifolia Extract, Arctium Lappa Seed Extract, Thuja Orientalis Extract, Lycium Chinense Fruit Extract, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Paeonia Suffruticosa Root Extract, Carthamus Tinctirius Flower Extract, Betillia Stritata Root Extract, Rheum Undulatum Extract (root/stalk/stem), Placenta Protein, Erythritol, Carbomer, Copper Tripeptide 1

  • September 10, 2014

    by sally

    I paid $80 for this as I was allergic to the more chemical ones.I have short sparsely few eyelashes and after 2 months absolutely no change in length or thickening, a big waste of money.Sad to say the Lilash one worked amazingly but I was allergic to it!Very dissapointed.

  • June 1, 2013

    by Dani

    I used lilash also religiously & loved it, everyone asked me if my lashes were real & my husband even said they looked like butterflies, but after using it for about 6 months my right top eyelid started to twitch uncontrollably & not only was it annoying it felt really scary! I stopped using lilash & my lashes shrunk which was sad, but twitching eyelids just seems like something you shouldn't mess with, I'd love to know if there's one that works as well as lilash w/o the scary side effects but it does seen like everyone's experience is quite different. Good luck!

  • November 10, 2012

    by mandy h

    I had never tried LashFood and not sure how it works, but I feel that reviewer hadn't done her job properly. From what I know and read about eyelash serums they all take time to work. I used latisse and hadn't seen any results until week 8. Later on I switched to Fysiko and it worked amazing but, again, I started to see results only on the 6th week. I feel that if you are doing eyelash serum review you must use it for 2 months at least and give the product a chance, maybe it will start working right after you gave up? Another thing, of course, is that maybe the tube of lashfood only lasts 3 weeks?

  • August 7, 2012

    by Olga

    I Love LOVE LOVE LOVE this product. LashFood did wonders on my lashes. Before they were short and I barely had any, now my lashes are very long and full. Im very happy with the results. THANK YOU LASHFOOD!!

  • April 1, 2011

    by Bridget

    one thing about this product is you MUST use it religiously. it DOES work but it doesn't have the same results for everyone. it may not work for eyebrows because our eyebrows aren't as sensitive so there's another lashfood conditioner specifically for eyebrows. keep using it! you will notice the difference. i LOVE it. it's even made my eyelashes softer and stronger. i hardly ever experience breakage when curling my eyelashes now. :) if you use the mascara with the conditioner then it works even better and faster because it has the same conditioning treatment in it.

  • October 23, 2010

    by Sarah

    Hi there,
    I used LiLash for 10 months about a year or so ago & switched to MD Lash Factor in March of this year after hearing about some scary side-effects associated with LiLash (I had huge lashes but they did grow in different directions & I had started to notice that the skin around my eyes was becoming dark making me look really tired all the time.) Soon after switching to MD Lash Factor, the dark circles disappeared but so did my long lashes, in fact they sort of started to break off & I was left with fairly short & weakened lashes! I was informed that this was the fault of LiLash as it had over-stimulated the lash follicles & that I should carry on using MD Lash Factor as this would help my lashes to recover. I've continued to use it & my lashes have returned to normal (normal for me that is, so nothing special!) I certainly haven't seen any results from using MD Lash Factor religiously since March! I am now back to using mascara which I didn't have to do at all whilst using LiLash & started using LashFood mascara as I thought it might help to strengthen & condition my weakened lashes ... again, I'm not sure that it has made a difference but I quite like it as a mascara so will use it anyway. I'm wondering about LashFood conditioning treatment & would really welcome anyone's comments or thoughts here before I make another expensive purchase which may or may not work!

  • September 10, 2009

    by Ashley

    I have been using this product for about two months now...And I have been VERY happy with it! It's made my little lashes long and super thick! I've tried other eyelash conditioners, being eyelash obsessed, and have found that they are irritating and leave my eyes red and itchy. Not so with this one! It just leaves me with the lashes I've been hoping for!

  • March 20, 2009

    by shelly

    I've been using this product for 16 days now. It was cheaper on ebay( $69). I have yet to see any differences in the thickness or lenght of my lashes. I use it religiously ( morning and night). I'm disappointed that I haven't even seen the slightest improvement in my lashes. I will continue to use it until I'm done with the tube. I might as well finish it off. I wouldn't recommend paying full price for this product. It has NOT stimulated my lashes to grow. I also use it as a filler for my eyebrows in the hopes that hair will grow back in those over threaded areas of my eyebrow. Again- nothing.

  • March 19, 2009

    by kelly

    You are so lucky, I tried this product and it had zero effect on my lashes…. I then switched to a product called Revitalash that my girlfriend had been using. I never realized what a huge difference lashes could make to your face, but OMG they do!!… thanks for the post

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...