Free shipping on all orders over $39

Our Rating: 0 stars

ReLuma Hair and Lash- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows, Thinning Hair & Shedding
Reviewed by Marta April 19, 2011 30 Comments

Much as I think that ReLuma’s Skin Illuminating Serum ($145 in the shop) is one of the very best anti-wrinkle potions I have ever come across, I wasn’t initially very impressed with the hair and eyelash growth products. In my experience, ReLuma kicks in slowly. Patience is required, but is fortunately rewarded in spades. With ReLuma Lash ($95) and ReLuma Hair For Women ($59), progress seemed to be glacial and I almost gave up. However, I am glad I persevered because at about six weeks in both products started to produce results.

I almost gave up completely on ReLuma Lash and even wrote to ReLuma after three weeks of trying it complaining that it irritated my eyes (no matter how careful I was with application) and besides nothing was happening. Without batting an eyelid, so to speak, ReLuma promptly sent me an “updated’ formula and asked me to try again.  The new formula  (I’m not sure what is different about it) didn’t irritate my eyes and a couple of weeks later I started to notice that an eyelash was growing where previously there had been a little gap, my eyelashes were longer and darker. I have been using ReLuma Lash on my eyebrows too, with similar results.

A few weeks ago, Mark reviewed ReLuma Hair for Men and concluded that after a month’s use it had stopped his hair shedding but had done little to encourage new growth (or regrowth). I’d been using the women’s formula for about the same time and had formed the same opinion, but as I had loads left in the bottle (I have been testing it on my hairline) I decided to keep going. As with my lashes, I started to see results a couple more weeks later. There is definitely new hair growing, although it is still a tad wispy.

Compared to Folligen or Hair Signals, which both use copper peptides, ReLuma Hair definitely takes longer to work, but its pale red, lightweight gel is much nicer to use and, in the long term, it gives similar results.

Both ReLuma Lash and ReLuma Hair are based on growth proteins from stem cells. For more on Human Adipose Derived Stem Cell Conditioned Media, take a look at my post explaining how they are derived and work.  ReLuma Hair also includes a 2% dose of minoxidil. This is the active in Rogaine, which I have tried in the past with no success. ReLuma Lash gets a boost with keratin and panthenol and lashes are conditioned by moisture attracting gluconolactone.

There are a few things to be wary of, such as the emulsifier oleth-20 and the preservatives phenoxyethanol and sodium benzoate. But otherwise, both ReLuma Lash and Hair are simple formulas led by a sophisticated active. They do seem to help hair and lashes grow, but don’t expect overnight results. UPDATE 9/9/2011: Continued use of ReLuma Lash on my eyelashes and brows has paid off with nice long, dark, strong hair. Over time, I became more impressed with this product.


Ingredients in ReLuma Lash

Human Adipose Derived Stem Cell Conditioned Media, Glycerin, Sodium Carboxymethyl Cellulose, Sodium Benzoate, Hydrolized Keratin, Gluconolactone, Panthenol, Allantoin, Sodium PCA, Oleth-20, Phenoxyethanol, Water

Ingredients in ReLuma Hair Women

Human Adipose Derived Stem Cell Conditioned Media, Minoxidil Sulfate 2%, Deionized Water, Cellulose, Gum, Lactic Acid, Phenoxylethanol, Polysorbate-20, Fragrance.

Buy Me
$ 95.00
  • August 1, 2013

    by Rebecca

    Wow! I really hope ReLuma works. I did permanent damage to my cornea using a lash enhancer which contains prostaglandins. I would love a non-prostaglandin formula that REALLY delivers. By the way, where do I buy Reluma lash?
    Thanks

  • April 25, 2012

    by Beth

    Has anyone tried City Lash yet?

  • October 31, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Tsega, great questions. I'm not sure anyone really knows the long term implications of using these ingredients. Although the quantities used are likely to be miniscule, the long-term accumulation is a real question. Preservatives are a necessary evil and all we can hope is that the industry keeps looking for safer alternatives. Minoxidil (In the hair, not lash product) can be irritating to some people (including me, so I use the ReLuma Original that has no Minoxidil). There is no issue when you stop Minoxidil, but (as with all hair growth stimulators) if you stop using them, your hair will eventually go back to the growing/shedding cycle it was on before.

  • October 31, 2011

    by Tsega O Abera

    Hi there,
    First thank you for the great reviews. About ReLuma Lash, I tried to search for more reviews online and found barely anything. Most reviews are from TIA. I am concerned about it's long term use/safety (considering ingredients mentioned in one of your reviews; oleth-20, phenoxyethanol & Sodium benzoate) Any further speculation/news on that? Also anything on long term use of minoxidil, or whether there might be any damages if use is discontinued?

    Thank you so much

    O

  • October 27, 2011

    by Junko

    Marta & Cam * I've tried all 3 versions of the ReLuma serum and I'm using the MEN's version right now. For me (even though I'm a woman) I like it the best for growth.

  • October 27, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Cam, there are two versions of ReLuma - one with Minoxidyl (ReLuma Hair for Women) and one without (Original). So you could try the For Women and get your Minoxidyl that way or the Original and add your Minox yourself.

  • October 27, 2011

    by cam

    I'm a woman who has been using Minox 5% for quite a few years. I also use a laser comb. I'm holding steady but am noticing some expanded diffuse thinning and was wondering if I switch to ReLuma would I have to stop using the Minox or can they be used together?

  • August 27, 2011

    by Justd

    I am in search for the elusive eyelash elixir that will give me some suitable resemblance of my former lash days. Lilash gave me extraordinary results, initially, but after the first tube all bets were off and my eyes were suffering. Since using Hydropeptide and Code:ai and now ReLuma, I wonder if there is anything that will give me half the results the bad guys did. I'm on my second tube of ReLuma, and hopefully it will perfom better, not unhappy at all with the results I have attained with RL, so far, but HydroP seems to grow them longer, RL a bit thicker and unsure what Code:ai did, but coupled with HP it seemed to work better. Others speak of their lashes showing up darker, I don't see that as much. In a magnifying mirror I see the difference, but without that help, and mascara, they don't seem to exist. I was just searching to see if anything new and promising on the horizon had shown up with more possibiliites, but alas, no such thing. I'm still looking though. I'm a trooper when it comes to hunkering down and seeing something through!

    If anyone else has had good results with any of these products would really like to hear about your results. I've been doing a comparison on all three products off and on this year and I think it depends on the freshness of the product, lol, but that's a huge leap of guesswork.

  • August 3, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Beth, I'm sorry to hear that. Does yours have the same ingredients list as published above? I am still using this and don't have a problem with it, but maybe there is something even in the new formula that you are reacting to.

  • August 2, 2011

    by Beth

    I've been trying the reluma lash product for about a week and it really stings my eyes and seems to cause blurry vision. I thought after reading Marta's post that they had revised their product and the new formula didn't cause irritation.

  • July 17, 2011

    by Marta

    Thank you Nicole - I am very happy that you "stumbled across us".

  • July 17, 2011

    by Nicole

    Marta,
    I have abused my pathetic lashes for years with "fanned cluster lashes" I applied with lash adhesive intended for single lash application. I would love to transition into a lash stimulator. I am a stylist and have had numerous guests/clients request eyelash applications. I hesitate to perform this service as I feel it is addictive and harmful to the natural lash. Some of my guests/clients are experiencing lash and brow thinning due to age but others have as a result from past medical conditions, (cancer being the #1 culprit). I would prefer giving a recommendation for a growth stimulator that will resolve their issue in a positive way. I am so pleased to have stumbled across your site. You're like the Consumer's Report of the beauty industry. Thank you, Nicole

  • July 16, 2011

    by Beth

    Do you think it would be okay to use this in conjunction with folligen cream? I'm surprized a lash growth product w/o a prostaglanding would even work in as fast as six weeks.

  • June 27, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Rebecca, you can buy ReLuma Lash in the Truth In Aging Shop https://truthinaging.com/store/Shop-by-product-category/eye-creams-eyelash-growth-/eyelash-growth-products/ReLuma-Lash

  • June 15, 2011

    by Cathy Reindler

    I would so love to try out the eye lash ReLuma please.
    I suffer from dry eyes since a cataract operation last year and am having the next one done this month. My lashes have become so fine and colourless and even salon tinting has little effect so they need to grow and thicken .. please help.

  • May 11, 2011

    by justd

    I just ordered the bundle Marta, something told me to just do it LOL. Thanks for the quick response!

  • May 11, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi JustD, I would say ReLuma works the best for me and I'll get another when this one runs out.

  • May 11, 2011

    by justd

    Quick question Marta, as you've used Hydropeptide and Code:ai as well, comparably, how does ReLuma Lash Serum compare to them? If you could only have one, and I know this is a teaser, which one would be your absolute go to at this point?

    Initially, when I started using Hydropeptide's lash serum, I saw some growth, but nothing great after 6 wks. I then went to Code:ai and saw additional growth, but nothing special for about 4-6 wks. So I combined them, Hydro on the upper lid and Code:ai on the lower and I've seen progress with the amount, but they aren't as long as they originally were, but seem thicker at this point. I know that we all respond differently, but I just want them to be darker and thicker, will ReLuma give me that?

    I'm trying to find one go-to lash serum that will not break the bank over time and works for me...your take on these will be most appreciated!

  • May 9, 2011

    by Jody

    I have used the Reluma Lash and am EXTREMELY PLEASED with the following results! I had an upper middle lash that was shorter than the others and for months it had not grown (I can tell with my eyelash curler if it is IN or OUT). After 3 weeks the lash was IN my curler FINALLY! After 4 weeks I noticed an overall length increase on all my upper lashes where I only applied RELUMA. Plus there was no redness where I applied the product, unlike Latisse where I still have red discoloration on my upper lid, it's been over 6 months and still there :(
    Thank you for the Review and YES, IT WORKS GREAT!

  • April 28, 2011

    by Dana

    I'd love to try Marta. After an over zealous eyebrow tech plucked the heck out of my blonde eyebrows I have been patiently trying to grow my brows back in for several months. I'd promise an honest review and before/after pictures to boot.

  • April 27, 2011

    by Wonda

    Oh, oh, oh, how I would love to try this product!!

  • April 27, 2011

    by deborah rodell

    Of course I would love to try this product out! As I have gotten older my lashes have gotten thinner. I have tried other products to no avail. And yes I shall be patient. I hope you pick me but if not you still get a BIG THANK YOU for sharing all these beauty secrets with us. When I go skin or cosmetic shopping you are always with me! What a great world.

  • April 27, 2011

    by imelda

    Marta:
    I have really stubby thin lashes and would lolve to try this product if it is the new formula that didn't irritate your eyes. Folligen irritated mine.
    Thanks for all your recommendations!

  • April 27, 2011

    by Sandra

    I'm looking for something to lengthen my eyelashes and would like to try this out. I lost my lashes years ago after using eyelash glues. They have grown back in and are just stubby now. No longer long. Would love to see if something could make them grow.

  • April 27, 2011

    by Marie

    Marta, I would love to test out ReLuma. I have used the sponge tip applicator lash product formerly recommended by you (forgot the name) and am using Hydropeptide lash product. Both are just OK. Neither have given me new lash growth. For some reason my lashes fall out quickly. I'm hoping using the red light (thanks for offering this new device!) with the ReLuma will move the process along.

  • April 27, 2011

    by k-leigh

    I'd love to try this stuff. When I was overseas in the Peace Corps, for some reason all my lashes and eyebrows fell out - I've been back a year and they are still VERY sparse. Thank you for the information!

  • April 27, 2011

    by debs

    would love to try

  • April 27, 2011

    by justd

    Marta, it goes without saying I should at least be a consideration LOL, after all I've been asking you about the ReLuma Lash product since you first hinted about it in your ReLuma article on stem cells...er sumthin'. Anyway, I'd really, really like to try it, I know you said it takes a while, but with the way things are going for me now, a while is what I seem to have :)

    Of course, you know I'll apply for any opportunity to test something LOL. These products have really been impacting for me in such positive ways. Thanks for all you and the others do here, it's really made a difference in my life!

  • April 27, 2011

    by Connie

    Hi Marta,
    If ReLuma can make my lashes and brows grow, it will be fabulous, and they could sell to my whole demographic (and I know there's a lot of us). I'll definitely do before and after pics :-)
    I am in my 50's. I have hypothyroid, and it's caused me to have the thinnest brows and lashes. Even after I got my thyroid levels treated (I feel much better thank you!), my brows and lashes stayed thin. I was tempted by the Brooke Shields product, but I don't want my baby blues to get brown, irreversible speckles!! I am one of your regular readers. Thanks for your good work!

  • April 20, 2011

    by C Dowling

    Hair grows very slowly. It probably takes at least 6 months to even start to assess the effect of hair growth products.

Have You Tried ReLuma Lash?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment ReLuma Lash below.

My Comment

Add a comment... ReLuma Lash

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...