Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

ReLuma Original Hair – Reviewed and Recommended

Our Rating: 5 stars

Pros

Fragrance free, simple application

Cons

Debatable evidence surrounding Minoxidil
May 11, 2011 Reviewed by Junko 32 Comments
A low maintenance way to encourage hair growth and reduce shedding

I sat down to write this review and it shocked me to realize that I'd been using ReLuma's Original Hair ($65 in the shop) for 12 weeks now! What this means is that ReLuma's Original Hair is so simple and easy to use that it's become a mindless part of my morning routine. Secondly, it means a 1 oz. bottle of this hair serum used once a day along the hairline, will last about 8 weeks. My 12 weeks of use equals 8 weeks because for 10 weeks I've used ReLuma on only half of my hairline, with a VIP test hair cream on the other half.

ReLuma has three hair growth products in their range. Mark reviewed the Complex for Men, and Marta reviewed the Complex for Women, who's the third product for? Well, apparently ReLuma's non-gender specific Original Hair formula is for people who don't need or want to use Minoxidil Sulfate on their head. The ingredients in Original Hair are similar to the gender specific formula's, except that it does NOT contain Minoxidil Sulfate (3% Mens, 2% Womens). Just like the Men's Complex there's no fragrance, which whittles down the ingredient list in Original Hair to just 6 ingredients. ReLuma put fragrance into the Women's Complex to make it girly I suppose.

There's no way I could tackle writing about the science and theories behind why and how Minoxidil works, but I do want to highlight that the Women's and Men's Complex's use's Minoxidil Sulfate and not Minoxidil. Minoxidil Sulfate is the sulfated metabolite of Minoxidil, which in a study, (whether the study is viable or not is debated) by UpJohn decades ago on neonatal mice showed it 14x's more potent than Minoxidil without increased side effects. Anyone knowledgeable about the differences between Minoxidil and Minoxidil Sulfate, or having used both, please feel proud to share what you know by posting a comment.

Let's get back to what I do know, which is, ReLuma's Original Hair formula without Minoxidil Sulfate, did grow hair for me. I'd say the same as Marta in her review of the Women's Complex that it took some time, but so did Osmotics FNS Follicle Nutrient Serum when I used it. I love the serum thin texture of Original Hair, which is the reason why it's so pleasant and easy to use. I part my hair, aim, squirt, rub, and it absorbs completely without any residue. Such a breeze that I hadn't recognized the passing of 12 weeks.


Ingredients:



Human Adipose Derived Stem Cell Conditioned Media, Cellulose Gum, Lactic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Polysorbate-20, Water

Buy Me
$ 65.00
  • December 4, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Marina, my hair really started to thin four years ago, but now I would call it fairly abundant. It takes a bit of time and dedication to find the right products that work for you. I recommend choosing your shampoo carefully as well. Nutra-Lift's Nutrient shampoo (http://truthinaging.com/hair/reviewed-and-recommended-nutra-lift-shampoo) is helpful and so is emu oil.

  • December 4, 2011

    by Marina

    Sorry, that should read hair signals

  • December 4, 2011

    by Marina

    Thank you! I use skin signals in the evening. I'm hoping adding Reluma in the morning would be a good idea. I'm so glad I found this website. I don't feel so alone anymore, my friends all have abundant hair ( like I used to) and just can't relate to the obsession.

  • December 4, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Marina, I use the ReLuma original without minoxidil (as I am allergic to minoxidil). This is a lightweight gel that absorbs easily. I do find that it interferes less with one's 'do' if you rub it into a damp scalp (after shower) and then dry/style hair.

  • December 4, 2011

    by Marina

    I can't decide between the original Reluma and the one for women. Can you discuss any texture differences? What I dislike about minoxidil is the stiff hair look; plus I look as though I threw sand in my scalp. Which one won't interfere with hair styling and is geared towards androgenic alopecia ? Thank you

  • December 3, 2011

    by Marta

    Mui, that's just the way I do it and I just wait a couple of minutes. However, you should experiment with what works for you.

  • December 3, 2011

    by mui

    Oops, I applied emu oil after reluma as I was afraid that the oil would act as a barrier instead of aiding absorption.

    any idea if I have to leave the emu oil for a while before applying reluma?

  • December 3, 2011

    by Marta

    I would recommend emu oil first and then the ReLuma (damp hair and scalp seems to work better as well)

  • December 3, 2011

    by mui

    Hi Marta,
    would you recommend using emu before or after applying reluma?

    Has anyone tried it?

  • November 28, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Maybellene, Phenoxyethanol is preservative and, yes, there are some concerns that it is a neurotoxin. You can read about it here: http://truthinaging.com/ingredients/phenoxyethanol
    I don't know the precise amount in the ReLuma, but typically in cosmetics it is used at 0.5% to 1%. The thing about phenoxyethanol is that it is one of the most widely used preservatives and it is very difficult to avoid. My personal opinion is that I would rather avoid it, but that is next to impossible - I bet it is in a lot of products that you and your sister already use. So I try to weigh up the following: is it likely to be used in a very small dose and does the product have strong benefits. I think with ReLuma that the answer is yes to both and so I do continue to use it.
    Having said that, we will continue to ask our suppliers to research safer alternatives.

  • November 28, 2011

    by Maybellene

    Thanks for your Reply Junko!
    I read on other pages that phenoxyethanol is quite a toxin, but i understand Marta is still using Reluma as well. So does it mean it's safe to use??

  • November 25, 2011

    by Junko

    Hi Maybellene! I'm still using ReLuma along my front hairline and widows peaks and still really happy with the results. Been 10 months now it seems, looking at the date of my review above. I started using the Men's version with 3% Minoxidil Sulfate to see if it would work better. I'm on my second or third bottle of mens (can't remember) and not sure if it works better, but it works with no side effects so I guess I'll keep using the mens version. It''s a bit expensive if I were covering my entire head with it, but since it just the front hairline (3 squirts a day), the price is okay ~

  • November 24, 2011

    by Maybellene Sim

    Hi Marta, Junko~
    A few questions for you..
    - Any updates on your progress with this product?
    - Are you using it alone or with other products?

    THanks!

  • September 28, 2011

    by Ana

    Thank you Marta! I'll try the Reluma with Emu Oil. If you hear anything else on the comb please do let us know!

  • September 12, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Ana, yes I should think ReLuma Original should be fine. It doesn't have Minoxidyl (whereas the womens and mens versions do).

    A while ago I tried to do some research on the lase comb (or laser and hair growth) and couldn't find any that was independent. If I were you I would try ReLuma first, maybe throw in some emu oil for good measure. The cost will be about the same as two of your docs comb throughs.

  • September 12, 2011

    by Ana

    Hi Marta!

    Is this product safe for use while pregnant?
    I'm sadly back to losing a lot of my hair, even while on folligen+emu (I must admit I use it only 2-3 times a week). I was considering to go on Minoxidyl, but was told that it is not safe for use during pregnancy (trying to get pregnant soon), so I am now looking for something suitable and more powerful/easy to use than folligen.

    I've also heard a lot about laser comb - do you know if it works/have you tried it or is it pure nonsense?

    I visited a Trichologist who recommended I start using it(well he charges about 50$ for each laser comb session so that may explain the recommendation!).I've seen conflicting reviews online so am not sure if it is just a scam...

  • May 15, 2011

    by Justd

    Thanks for the correction and update Marta.

  • May 15, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi JustD, ReLuma's products have a two year shelf life. It wasn't that ReLuma Lash - the first version - didn't work. It irritated my eyes. When I mentioned this to ReLuma, they said that they had been reformulating it and that I should try the new one (the timing was a happy coincidence, but I certainly wouldn't expect a manufacturer to change something that I used and didn't like). Anyway, the new one didn't irritate and therefore I was able to use it for long enough to get results. We have this version in the TIA shop.

  • May 15, 2011

    by Justd

    I'm curious, as natural/organic products do not contain preservatives, what is considered a normal shelf life for many of these products before they are no longer effective? Is there any information/data on this somewhere, cuz I can't find anything on some of the websites, especially those touting human growth factors, etc.

    I only ask because initially Marta said the ReLuma Eyelash Serum didn't work for her until they sent her a new pkg of it. Will they do that for everyone who may have a negative reaction or see no noticeable improvements over time? Like I said, just curious, trying to understand what to reasonably expect.

  • May 13, 2011

    by Jaysie

    Do the Reluma instructions include anything about using Original on eyebrows? I was thinking of getting Hair Signals, but now I wonder if I should try this instead. Osmotics FNS produced weird results on my brows.

  • May 12, 2011

    by justd

    Dangit, hate when I do that...meant to type 'woman'. Anyway, in fairness to Rogaine, at least in part, I was already a hairy individual back then, not so much now, so Rogaine only exacerbated the problem for me. It may not do that to everyone.

  • May 12, 2011

    by justd

    Yes, Junko, up until 2 years ago, I was using Rogaine. Initially when I was hit with surgically induced menopause I lost a crop of hair, so a dermatologist advised me to use the Rogaine. It took a year, but it worked beautifully, but the side effects were so challenging daily; facial hair, lots of it, and an itchy scalp that was extremely irritating. But my vanity wouldn't let me stop the process until I was entering a 3rd year of it, and I just couldn't do it anymore, and as expected all the new growth fell out. So for the past two years I've been looking for something, but nothing's come along, so I'm really hoping that this will fill that void. My one saving grace is that my hair is still wavy enough and has sufficient body to give the appearance of abundance, I know it will never be as thick as it was pre-surgery LOL, but I'm a women, it is what we do, or some of us...I'm just maintaining until maintenance isn't all that relative anymore :D

    Thanks ladies! I look forward to starting the 'treatment' ;)

  • May 12, 2011

    by Marta

    If by facial issues you mean facial hair growth, then this is unlikely at the 2% used here. This happened to some women using men's strength 5% and that's why when you see Rogaine (based on Minoxidil), it has a women's 2% version and a men's 5% version, as does the ReLuma.

  • May 12, 2011

    by Junko

    Hi JustD,
    None of the products I've used have Minoxidil. ReLuma's Original Hair doesn't have Minoxidil either...but do tell, 'what nasty facial issues' are you talking about? Have you tried a Minoxidil product yourself? Regarding ReLuma's slow start, I'd say that after 6 weeks I could see that it was working, but it's really now after 12 that I look and would actually consider spending the money for another bottle. Nothing could be easier to use unless it were this thin and fluid, but I do wish it were cheaper!

  • May 11, 2011

    by Justd

    Thanks for a great article Junko, I'm guessing that u didn't incur any of the nasty facial issues that comes with using Minoxidil, was this the case? I have been using the VIP product on my hairline and I have seen minimal growth, but nothing to shout about.

    I've made my purchase to give this product a try, about how long did it take before you actually began to see any results within your initial 12 weeks? Guess I'm looking for a marker to measure any results I may see. Also, were the hair follicles thicker in dimension or wispy.

    Thanks for your insights and the review.

  • May 11, 2011

    by Valerie

    Thank you Junko and Martha for answering my questions.

    Very great post! just when I was deciding between Folligen and Osmotics FNS.

  • May 11, 2011

    by Junko

    Good News M ! From my scouting, TIA may be the only web retailer to offer this version.

  • May 11, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Junko, I just spoke to ReLuma and we are<a href="https://truthinaging.com/store/hair-growth-treatment/ReLuma-Original-Hair-Complex-" rel="nofollow"> now selling it in the TIA shop for $59</a> (same price as the women's). I'm not selling the men's version as Mark gave it a luke warm review. We have another tester our, so we'll see how that works out.

  • May 11, 2011

    by Junko

    Marta * I like the sounds of that * 3 x's a week and skipping a week once a month !

  • May 11, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Valerie and Junko,

    I believe that these products speed up the growth cycle and to some extent wake up dormant follicles. If you stop using them, the cycle will slow down as you continue to age. Having said that, I've been using these products at my widow's peak for a couple of years and find that I can cut back use to about 3 times a week and even skip one week per month.

  • May 11, 2011

    by Junko

    Hi Valerie,
    I've ALWAYS had whispier thinner hair in my widow's peaks than the rest of my head. Aging has made this area even thinner. So far, I've only tried Folligen, Osmotics FNS and now ReLuma. They have all grown more hair in my widow's peaks in varying amounts and quality. Folligen added hair, but it was extremely dry, too dry. I like ReLuma far more than Osmotics for ease of use. Maybe Marta could have the makers of ReLuma weigh in on your question of whether you'd loose growth if you stopped using the product. I believe you would...

  • May 11, 2011

    by Valerie

    The ReLuma serums help to grow hair faster ? or are for thinning, receding hair lines?

    If you stop using the ReLuma hair serums, will you lose all the growth you gained while using them (like using Minoxidil) ?

    Thank you
    Valerie

Have You Tried ReLuma Hair Complex Original?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment ReLuma Hair Complex Original below.

My Comment

Add a comment... ReLuma Hair Complex Original

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...