Free shipping on all orders over $39

ReLuma Shampoo- reviewed and recommended

Pros

Growth factors to stimulate hair follicles

Cons

Not moisturizing enough to get away without conditioner
June 22, 2012 Reviewed by Marta 12 Comments
Recommending for promoting new growth and preventing shedding

Why spend nearly 60 dollars on a shampoo? Because it passes the drain test. The drain test is my way of judging whether my hair is shedding less – by the amount of hair that collects at the shower drain. Since I have been using ReLuma Shampoo ($65), there has been very little. ReLuma’s shampoo, based on stem cells, certainly seems to reduce hair shedding and may be promoting hair growth as well.

ReLuma Shampoo has the same active as its hair growth products and the eyelash growth product, both of which I have had positive results with – although they are both slow to kick in. The active (Human Adipose Derived Stem Cell Conditioned Media) is a complex of growth factors that signal to cells and follicles. They are backed up by three B vitamins. Initially, I was a little skeptical that much would be achieved with a rinse off product. However, I do believe that this shampoo is helping me retain hair and stop it thinning.

The formula looks a lot like ReLuma’s face serum, pinkish, red and slightly translucent. However, it behaves a lot more like a conventional shampoo than many others that help hair growth. For example, unlike Nutra-Lift’s shampoo, ReLuma produces a decent foam and rinses out easily with no build up. Nor does ReLuma have (at least to me) an unpleasant smell.

Although the formula has a little avocado oil, I personally need to use a conditioner afterwards (my new favorite is by the Aussie brand Mukti). I also continue to use Hair Vitality Complex at my temples. Overall, though I can recommend ReLuma Shampoo to anyone concerned about thinning hair and reducing shedding.

Ingredients: Human Adipose Derived Stem Cell Conditioned Media, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Decyl Glucoside, Polysorbate-20, Avocado Oil, Cellulose Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Citric Acid, V-B3, V-B5, V-B6, Fragrance

 

  • May 16, 2013

    by Jandi

    Mathew - this product is not a scam- I used it for 6 months and my hair is fully, healthier and longer than it has ever been. I believe that everyones chemical makeup is not the same and some nutrients work better on some than others, just like how we metablise food- we are all different. Go easy when you say scam, I know alot about this company and they are definately not a scam.

  • February 5, 2013

    by Metteliva from spoilmommy.blogspot.dk

    This product contains Phenoxyethanol which is something everybody should avoid like flouride in toothepaste.
    Other than that I look forward to try out the other recommended shampoo's :)

  • October 21, 2012

    by Matthew

    This stuff is junk! Used Reluma for about a year with no results. Scam product. Please don't waste your hard earned money on this scam product.

  • August 21, 2012

    by Alison

    Hi Marta, Thank you so much for your awesome and honest reviews of everything. I currently use the Nutri-Lift shampoo and conditioner from your store and saw a difference in my hair thickness, less loss etc. I am 34 years old and have thinning hair so was really happy to find it. Do you recommend Reluma over Nutri-Lift or is the suds factor your only extra pro. I don't mind not having suds, but want the best product for hair growth and thickness. Also, I have a hard time getting the Emu onto my scalp (have long hair) - any advice? Thanks again!

  • July 23, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Murat- it is used exactly like a shampoo and is rinsed off.

  • July 23, 2012

    by murat

    Hi,
    Any body else using this product? Is it safe, like no side effects? Marta did u also use it after rinsing like just putting it on and leaving it on the scalp?

    thanks

  • June 27, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Amy I saw a reduction in shedding within 2 weeks. I also use Hair Vitality on my hairline

  • June 27, 2012

    by amy

    I may just be ordering this tonight. How long does it take to see a reduction in shedding? and would you recommend this with Hair Vitality Complex?

  • June 23, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Valerie, I'll have to check in with ReLuma regarding that. They can take a while to answer so I'll get back to you when I can.

  • June 23, 2012

    by Valerie

    is the fragrance Phtalate-free ?

  • June 23, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Dennis - good catch. Its 8oz, and I have added that information. Thanks!

  • June 22, 2012

    by Dennis

    how many ounces?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...