Free shipping on all orders over $39

Reviewed and Recommended: Africology Body Lotion

Is a Solution for:
Dry Skin
Reviewed by Marta December 26, 2008 16 Comments
Posted by Marta

Doing my best to out-Jimmy Jimmy, I can smugly report that I am writing this from Benguerra Lodge on an island off the coast of Mozambique. One of four islands in a protected national park, Benguerra is truly a barefoot paradise. There is a beautiful reef in clear turquoise waters and although we probably spend most of our time eating and sleeping, there has been enough snorkeling in salty waters to demand a lot from one's body lotion. Benguerra Lodge's complimentary cosmetics of choice are made by a company called Africology and the body lotion is well worth bringing back home.

Africology specializes in local botanicals and I wasn't surprised to see that one of the ingredients is apalathus linearis leaf extract. This is South African rooibus or red tea. This isn't a tea at all, but a pea. However, generations of South Africans have imbibed it as a liquid cure-all for everything from skin allergies to HIV-AIDS. It has at least two antioxidants, the flavenoid aspathalin and the polyphenolic called nothofagin. Plus there seems to be plenty of research to support claims that it is a potent antioxidant, perhaps out-doing green tea.

Hypoxis hemerocallidea is known as the African wild potatoe and is generally claimed to be an anti-inflammatory. However, there is one study that says that it not as good in this role as acetyl salicylic acid. I was also pleased to find that Africology uses sclerocarya birrea seed oil since this comes from the marula tree, of which there are many on Benguerra Island. The fruits of marula have eight times the vitamin C of oranges. They also contains nine fatty acids.

You may also be interested to know that aloe ferox is the South African member of the aloe vera family and increases collagen and cell regeneration. Throctic acid is another name for alpha lipoic acid. Meanwhile, lactoperoxidase is an antibacterial and antioxidant enzyme found in milk. The other natural and, for once, harmless preservative is glucose oxidase. Found in honey, it works by converting oxygen to hydrogen peroxide.

The lotion is thick but penetrates the skin quickly. Even my husband loves it. Best of all, despite the lack of conventional (and all too often unwanted) cosmetic weapons, it is dealing heroically with everything we have to throw at it: dry, flaky skin; insect bites; and even a touch of sunburn.

Ingredients in Africology Body Lotion

Water, stearic acid, aspalathus linearis leaf extract (rooibus or red tea), apricot kernal oil, sweet almond oil, essential oils, shea butter, cetearyl olivate, sorbitan olivate, beeswax, hypoxis hemerocallidea root extract, glucose, hydroxigenated olive oil, olive fruit oil, olive oil unsaponifiables, sodium ascorbyl phosphate, grapefruit extract, sclerocarya birrea seed oil, throctic acid, xanthan gum, aloe ferox extract, lactoperoxidase, glucose oxidase.
  • February 13, 2009

    by kelly Carnaby

    If anyone would like to purchase Africology products the UK have a distribution centre please contact Kelly@africology.co.za or telephone UK on 01277 634938 we can ship to anywhere.

  • January 30, 2009

    by marta

    Il y a ne que un seul distributeur: The Green Door en Angleterre. Email: Classylottie@aol.com

  • January 29, 2009

    by BEGUIN MARIE LINE

    Je connais le produit africology lotion body et le neroli, malheureusement je ne peux plus en trouver, je serais interressée pour en acheter plusieurs flacons et avoir le prix. Merci de me répondre.

  • January 22, 2009

    by Kathy

    Thanks Marta. I emailed Charlotte to place my order.

  • January 20, 2009

    by marta

    Since Deborah hasn't followed up, this sample now goes to the next in (my chosen) line: Dee Nelson. Dee, send your mailing address to samples@truthinaging.com with Africology in the subject line.

    For anyone who'd like to buy this product, Charlotte at The Green Door in the UK says she will ship to the US. Email: Classylottie@aol.com

  • January 13, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Deborah,
    Its all yours (for being quick off the mark and convincing me that you will send back your review). Please email samples@truthinaging.com with Africology in the tag line and your mailing address.

  • January 7, 2009

    by Felicia

    Hi Marta,

    It would be a pleasure to try "Africology Body Lotion!!" I live in New England and during the cold months, my skin is so dry despite all the time I spend putting on moisturizer. You can count on me to report back with the review as requested.

    P.S. - Many thanks for your research, I enjoy reading your posts.

  • January 7, 2009

    by Stephanie

    I too would love to try this - though I live in Canada, and it may be even harder to get ahold of here. I am having the driest skin I have ever had this winter and it is driving me nuts! Irefuse to buy any more products with toxic ingredients and this looks great- and I would most certainly write you a review given the opportunity to try it.

  • January 7, 2009

    by Dee Nelson

    Hi Marta....I'd love to do the review on your sample tube of the Africology lotion: first, because my hands have turned to parchment in the New England winter, and I can't find an effective lotion without harmful ingredients; second, I'm embarking on a weight-loss program (and maybe if I say so in a public forum like this, it'll give me that invaluable Shame Kickstart), and I'll need a good non-toxic, elasticity-preserving lotion to help my fortysomething skin snap back. (I'm especially interested in the collagen-boosting aloe ferox you mention.) Thanks, and I hope you'll take me on as a faithfully-reporting guinea pig!

  • January 7, 2009

    by Matina

    I would love to try this lotion. I am always looking for new lotions and this time of year is prime for dry skin! This one sounds intriguing with ingredients that aren't usually found in our skin care products. Is it available for purchase online anywhere?

  • January 7, 2009

    by Heidi

    Please allow me to try the Africology body lotion. I will use it regularly and will give an extensive review of its effectiveness-pros and cons. You can rely on me to do this-I am a fan of your newsletter!!


    Heidi

    Reiki Earth Angel-makes house calls!

  • January 7, 2009

    by Kathy

    I'd love to try the lotion too. Where can we all purchase it? And are the shampoo and condish available?

  • January 7, 2009

    by Deborah Greene

    Living in So Cal with pretty much constant sunny days make this line very intriguing. I can be relied on to write you a review.

  • January 2, 2009

    by marta

    I have sent Africology an email and hopefully we can track some down for you.

  • January 2, 2009

    by Courtney

    Can one purchase these products outside of a spa? They seem very hard to get (I spoke to one spa owner who loves everything Africology). I didn't see the body lotion for sale on the TIA website.

  • December 26, 2008

    by JulieK

    Any idea the cost of this lotion, Marta?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...