Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Reviewed and Recommended: A&G Skin Solutions Active Serum

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
June 17, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 12 Comments
I hate the packaging, $199 for 0.6oz is too expensive, some people find the smell off-putting, the ingredients list is uninformative and the marketing department has got right up my nose (posing as consumers to post comments on websites is pathetic). Despite all of that, I have to say that A&G Skin Solutions Active Serum is extraordinarily effective.

When I say effective, I mean that it diminishes wrinkles. It really does. I've been using it for three weeks and was actually pitting it against Oraia by using one on each side of my face. For about 10 days, there wasn't much to choose between them. The Oraia was having a good effect on fine lines and was marginally ahead of the game. But then two weeks or so in, A&G started to really kick in and there was a noticeable reduction in the crow's feet.

The problem for me is that the packaging that A&G Active comes in doesn't help you understand what's in or why it would work. The key ingredient is something called Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media. Personally, I don't think these made up, faux science appellations are helpful. What on earth does it mean? And 'conditioned media' is plain silly. This is a shame because the underlying ingredients, according to the A&G Skin Solutions website, and the technology behind them are impressive and exciting.

There are four ingredients for promoting cell growth. The first of these cell growth ingredients in A&G Skin Solutions Active Serum is TGF-beta (1-3). This is a 'super' protein that controls cell functions such as growth and proliferation. It also regulates cell death. Studies at Cornell, Vanderbilt and Jefferson show that TGF-beta stimulates collagen and elastin production.

Next there is PDGF (platelet derived growth factor). This is also a protein that regulates cell growth and division. The third protein in AG Skin Solutions Active Serum is granulocyte-macrophage colony-stimulating factor (GM-CSF). This one stimulates stem cells. Finally, there are more cytokines (molecules that send out controlling signals) called interleukins.

In addition, the two doctors behind A&G have included an anti-oxidant concoction of vitamins C and E, evening primrose and Pycnogenol, an anti-oxidant from a maritime pine tree that grows in France. The manufacturer of Pycnogenol claims that 170 studies and trials have been published over that last 35 years backing it up as an anti-oxidant.

The acid test, of course, is whether I would buy A&G Active again when this bottle runs out (fairly soon by the looks of things). The answer is probably. I do think it may reduce wrinkles and promote cell growth. However, it would be a definite yes if there was a proper ingredients list on the packaging and you got a tad more for your money.

By the way, I liked Oraia too. It is still high end but slightly better value at $225 for 1.7oz. It is very different in that it uses a lot of botanicals and antioxidants with good pedigrees. I got very good results with fine lines. Oddly, or perhaps interestingly, A&G Active seems to work better on deeper wrinkles with not much result on fine lines.
  • March 29, 2011

    by Carlos

    Hi Everyone,
    I'm the regional sales manager for AG Skin Solutions. We have recently changed are name and rebranded our product!!

    We have heard your calls about the packaging and the quantity. The New AQ has new packaging that looks better but still keeps that clinical feel we are aiming for. We've also doubled the quantities for the Active and Eye Serums and lowered the price of the Active Serum to $150. On top of that Dr. Ahmed has reformulated each of the products to make the 25% stronger and more effective!

    We will continue to bring you the best quality products our FDA certified facility can produce. Thank you to all who have supported us.

    We hope you all enjoy the changes we've made!

    Sincerely,
    Carlos Aragon
    Regional Sales Manager - AQ Skin Solutions

  • March 22, 2009

    by Yogi

    where can I place my order..im not from the US, im from an asian country and would like to order A&G Active Serum....please send me order info to my e-mail: gaa927@yahoo.com

    thanks and more power to A&G

  • March 12, 2009

    by david

    i tried this product for 2 and a half months but haven't noticed any difference yet, david

  • July 13, 2008

    by mike626

    <p>I think that Marta's point re: the packaging was not the design of the container per se, but rather the vague statements made on the package. </p>

    <p>It seems that if A&G had placed more of the information from their website on the product rather than a blurb about "Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media" it would be a great improvement. </p>

  • July 4, 2008

    by Vee

    <p>I have been reading your blog with great interest over the last few days. Thank you for all the information and turning me onto products I had previously not heard of. I just have to add in my two cents about packaging. When I am paying top dollar for a beauty product, what I should be paying for is the ingredients in that product, not the packaging. It's ultimately the ingredients that will help my skin, not the box or bottle that product comes in. I used to waste so much money on department store brands because of the way they looked on the outside. Now that I am older and wiser, the first thing I look at before I buy a product is the ingredient list! </p>

  • July 4, 2008

    by Jan Raza

    <p>Thank you Mel, big kiss X. <br />
    Marta, I agree mine still going and seems to last more than a month only the first week you need to use a lot to get your skin going. I am loving it. I checked their web site for the new products and I don't see them. I want to try the new eye serum. I will post here once I hear something new. </p>

  • July 3, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Melanie<br />
    Thank you for taking all this time for us. And thanks to Jan for putting you up to it. </p>

    <p>By the way, my concern over the cost was in response to hearing that the bottle lasts a month. Mine is still going strong, so it seems to be better value than I thought. </p>

  • July 3, 2008

    by Jan's esthetician and friend

    <p>Hi everyone,<br />
    My name is Melanie and I am Jan's friend and esthetician. Last weekend I attended the IECSC show in Las Vegas. The show was great and the classes were very informative, so for all the estheticians who missed this year's show make sure to attend the next one. Anyway, Jan asked me to stop by the A&G booth and ask them about the products and what's new. I met with Dr. Ahmed one of the co-founders and asked him lots of questions about the science and technology and also brought a copy of this review with me. First, let me say that Dr. Ahmed was younger than what I expected and he was really polite and very gentleman like. He spoke with soft voice and took the time to explain everything to me. I was amazed by how much knowledge he has and how much work have been put in this product. I started by asking him about the story behind the product and he said that before they formed this company, they were involved in generating artificial skin that they used to heal burn victims. He showed me pictures of their artificial skin and I learned that Dr. Ahmed would go to Mexico to operate on burned children for free. He showed me a before and after pictures of the kids and I was moved. Anyway, I showed him the review and he said that the packaging was picked because of its practicality not so much for looks. He said that the market is saturated with beautifully packaged product that does nothing but look good on your mirror. He also added these companies use packaging to make up for their poor quality products. He said " we are not here to impress people with our packaging but with our product". He then said, that he will keep this in mind for their next products. I asked him about the price and he said A&G Active serum is the cheapest among its competitors. He said all the other products will promise you results after purchasing a minimum of 3 bottles and a minimum of 3-4 months. He said their product will give you results within few weeks and in 60% of their test subjects saw results within days. He also added that A&G active serum is not only for wrinkles, but it treats age spot, enhance skin condition and texture. He also mentioned that A&G promote healthy skin before wrinkle free skin, because healthy skin far more important than wrinkle free skin. He showed me price analysis graph comparing other products and showed that A&G is by far the cheapest in the market and I believe him, the products he mentioned I used myself and the prices on the graph were exactly what I use to pay for them. I asked him what's next and he said, they launched the A&G eye serum yesterday and the A&G recover (for doctor use post treatments) and he said there will be new break through product that will shake the industry. The products were sold on there with discounts and many were buying. While I was talking to Dr. Ahmed a lady came by and thanked him and showed him her face. That lady was in her 60's but her faced look so smooth. He told her " you just made my day" she shook his hands and said bye to me. So what do I think of this A&G company, well, I think these doctors are for real and they know what they are talking about. They were very genuine and sincere and I felt how much passion they have for their products. They are real people and they're more scientist than business men. Dr. Ahmed was not trying to sell me anything but more so educate me about science and skin. I told Jan that I love these people and she said you must post all of this in trueinaging.com. Here I am and I hope I did not bore you with this long post. <br />
    thanks<br />
    Mel<br />
    p.s. Marta, I asked him about the marketing people who posted here and he smile and said "Mel we don't have marketing people in the company" and I believed him. </p>

  • July 2, 2008

    by marta

    <p>Hello Chris,<br />
    This is Marta and I publish this website. You are most welcome to use the review and attribute it to Truth In Aging. If you do something about the god-awful packaging, you might even get a better review. Anyway, as Jan says, do keep updating us on the site and/or email me directly at marta@truthinaging.com</p>

  • July 2, 2008

    by jan Raza

    <p>Hi Chris,<br />
    I am not the one who reviewed the product, I am just a big fan of this site and I like to read the latest in the anti-aging product. The one you may want to contact is Marta (I think). <br />
    I agree with you that A&G Active Serum is a great product and I am going to use it forever. I never had a good skin since I've been a teenager and now many years later, my skin is never been better. My doctor recommended TNS Recovery for me before A&G was in the market and I did not like it at all. The smell was terrible and I did not see results. Thank you for telling us about your link, $155 is a great price. FYI, I don't think $199 is expensive especially for a product like this, trust me I know, I tried everything under the SUN. Please post updates on this site about A&G, I will love to hear about them.</p>

  • June 30, 2008

    by Chris Santos

    <p>Ms. Jan Raza,</p>

    <p>I was trying to find an email link to you, but could not find it - so I will post here.</p>

    <p>My name is Chris Santos and I am with AllureMD.com. We are an online skin care store.</p>

    <p>We are able to sell the A&G Serum for $155 exclusivley.</p>

    <p>You are probably wondering how we are an exclusive vendor as of now. Here's our story:</p>

    <p>Our company knows Dr. Ahmed Al-Qahtani (co-Founder of A&G Skin Solutions) personally. Our company (Allure Image Enhancement) was the first Medical Spa to test the serum. Our results from the test came out that A&G's serum is the most effective product consumer's can use compared to other similar products.</p>

    <p>We bumped into this blog about your un-biased review of the serum and would like to ask permission to use your findings on our website to promote this product.</p>

    <p>Please come into contact with me asap.</p>

    <p>My e-mail is chris@alluremd.com and I would love to talk to you on the phone about using this article.</p>

    <p>Thanks again,</p>

    <p>Chris Santos</p>

    <p>Allure Image Enhancement, Inc.<br />
    Network Administrator / Head Ad Design<br />
    <a href="http://www.allureimage.com" rel="nofollow">http://www.allureimage.com</a></p>

    <p>AllureMD.com<br />
    Online Store Manager / Designer<br />
    <a href="http://www.allureMD.com" rel="nofollow">http://www.allureMD.com</a></p>

  • June 18, 2008

    by Jan Raza

    <p>I love reading your reviews and I've been following this product from the beginning. I just emailed the review to the people at A&G. If they write to you would you please share with us their reply.</p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...