Free shipping on all orders over $39

Reader reviewed and recommended: ASSO Gold Soap for adult acne

Is a Solution for:
Rosacea, Dull Skin, Oily Skin
July 24, 2008 Reviewed by TIA Community Member 11 Comments
I suffer from aduct acne, or I did I should say.  The solution?  ASSO Gold soap.  I read about it whilst browsing articles at TIA and I found "The top rated Acne Products". I looked through the options, since I not only was having blemishes on my face, but on by chest and back as well.  I figured a soap bar would last longer.

The product was shipped quickly.  I was enduring breakouts as usual, so I jumped in the shower and lathered up a nice foam and put it on my skin.  I waited a few minutes then rinsed off.  That evening, just a few hours later, the blemishes on my face were almost gone.  The instructions say to use it twice daily.  I used it religiously but cut back to just once a day and I still have had no breakouts.  If I miss a day or two and don't use ASSO, the blemishes return within a day.

I have been using ASSO for about 1 month and I swear by it.  It literally changed my life.  I have spent years looking for an acne cure and to my delight, I finally have found it.  It is a breath of fresh air compared to adding another product to my face AFTER my shower.  I come out squeaky clean and already have handled the acne treatment for the day.

The soap contains real powdered flakes of gold.  The gold kills the acne on contact.  It is also a strong anti-inflammatory agent and hosts many free radicals.  The ancient civilizations have used gold for it's healing power for hundreds of years.  In China there is a 6 month waiting list for ASSO.  There is no waiting list here.  If you suffer from acne, I highly suggest you try it.  I think you will be very happy with the results.

I found a link that sells ASSO for only $24 for a bar that lasts about one month. There is a full money back guarantee, although ASSO claims less than 2% returns.
  • May 2, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Sarah, one of the reasons why acne treatments are so confusing is that everyone responds differently. One thing that has impressed us for mild and moderate acne as far as research and anecdotal evidence goes is blue LED http://truthinaging.com/face/blue-light-may-defeat-your-acne. There's also good research behind oregon grape http://truthinaging.com/face/acne-treatments-from-plants. If you are looking for a cleanser that seems to help then I can recommend Epicuren Discovery Milk http://truthinaging.com/face/reviewed-and-recommended-epicuren-discovery-milk-cleanser. Hope that helps.

  • May 1, 2011

    by Sarah

    I read Marta's comment and hope she will reply. I am really confused what acne treatment to use for mild to moderate acne. I have been getting some cyst like spots recently on my jawline and next but there are so many conflicting reports about acne treatments from nanocleanse to clean pores? What should I use?

  • February 20, 2011

    by samantha

    can someone please help i dont have bad acne but i was wondering how long until i see results on my face? can i use this as a body wash??

  • December 6, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Emily, there won't be any free radicals in the soap. They are not something that exists in a product that you might then transfer to your body. Free radicals are organic molecules in our bodies responsible for aging, tissue damage. They are unstable and can cause damage - like skin aging - unless prevented by antioxidants. That's why its a good idea to eat antioxidant foods and use antioxidant ingredients in skincare products. Now there are some things that can cause cellular damage and free radicals - such as, according to some researchers, <a href="http://truthinaging.com/sun-protection/what-is-it-titanium-dioxide" rel="nofollow">sunscreen</a> ingredients that break down under UV light and can induce free radicals.

    Now the thing is that I don't know what exactly is in Asso. The website says the ingredients are Pure Gold, Coconut oil, Palm oil, Aqualene, Herb oil, Vitamin C, Glycogen. I doubt that this is everything. If you still have packaging, please write back with the ingredients list. In the meantime, the ingredient that concerns me is Aqualene. The only references I can find to this tell me that it is a kind of resin used by the paper industry to resist grease and water. It is probably being used to provide a protective film over the skin. At the risk of blinding us all with science, Aqualene is made of 2(2-butoxyethoxy) ethanol, ethylene Glycol and dibutyl phthalate. The first two glycol ethers (types of solvents). The third, dibutyl phthalate is worrying. It is banned in Europe and is considered by the Cosmetic Database to be a high hazard ingredient. Studies have shown it to be toxic, particularly for the very young.

    If Asso is using Aqualene formulated with phthalates, then you might want to reconsider using it.

  • December 6, 2010

    by Emily

    I just started using ASSO about four days ago for the first time and all my acne are already gone, I still have some blemishes, BUT NO NEW ACNE. And my skin is glowing. But now I am concerned, because someone posted that free radicals that are in the soap age the face faster. Does anyone know if that's true? I need to know please, because the official web doesn't mention anything like that.

  • August 30, 2010

    by Gold Soap Lover

    I have been suffering from adult acne and have spent thousands of dollars finding something that would work. My mom gave me a bar of gold soap (not Asso, but pretty much the same thing) from Korea and within using it one time at night, I noticed a huge difference in the morning. I also use emu oil as a moisturizer and it helps a great deal as well.

  • March 4, 2009

    by Sarah

    I read this review as well as others about the Asso gold bar and it sounded great so I bought it. It does lather up really well but it left my face (and any hair around my bangs) feeling really weird. I can't even describe it. The second time I washed my face with the soap a bunch of my skin peeled off around my chin/ nose area. I was concerned, but I thought, hey it must be working by getting rid of dead skin. Well, by the fourth day of using the soap (morning and night) my face was so raw and swollen I had to stop using it for fear that all my skin would fall off!! I don't understand it because I don't normally have particularly sensitive skin! I'm in the process of returning the soap now. Oh and after my skin peeled off, I broke out worse than ever!!! I'm still trying to recover from the whole thing. I'm really glad it worked for you...but it definitely didn't work for me.

  • February 15, 2009

    by Jack

    yeah it sounds dodgy to me to, washing your face with metal flakes in a soap dont seem right. Is this just another acne treatment con like many others

  • January 16, 2009

    by TheMan370

    Does anyone see anything wrong with that, or is it just me?

  • January 12, 2009

    by Adult Acne Cure

    Your blog regarding seems interesting but I am still a bit confused regarding that topic because my informations are not quite complete yet, mind you its a vast subject with mny ramifications. I find it always informative to read great blogs with good content about Adult Acne Cure because I still have to learn so much about that subject on the net. Of course I do not always agree with every opinions there is but it is nice see what people think. Thx

  • August 18, 2008

    by Beth

    <p>I have a quick question: if gold hosts many free radicals, wouldn't it make your skin age faster? </p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...