Free shipping on all orders over $39

Our Rating: 4 stars

Buy this product

Reviewed and recommended: Baby Quasar at home LED device

Reviewed by Marta September 8, 2008 25 Comments

Pros

Consistent results, doesn't over heat

Cons

Caused temporary pinkness and thirst
Recommended for in-between salon treatments

It was without much enthusiasm that I embarked on trying out the Baby Quasar LED light therapy device ($399 in the shop). It's a boring and somewhat time-consuming process and, frankly, I wasn't at all convinced that I would see any results from a salon device that has been scaled down for use at home (as I related in last week's post). Well, I've seen the light. Baby Quasar works.


Before I describe the results, it is worth a brief diversion to explain what LED is and how it works. LED stands for light emitting diode. A low-level power output uses red light (visible) and infra-red light (invisible). LED is much gentler than intense pulse light (IPL) or laser resurfacing. It works by stimulating the body's tissues to convert the light energy into cellular energy. It boosts collagen production and scavenger cells that remove excess pigmentation or scar tissue.

In Europe, LED has been used for about 50 years to treat muscular pain, scars and wounds. It came to be used in the US relatively recently in the 1980s.

Now let's be clear: the results are not on a par with my salon experiences with LED (which I think  are amazing). But there is a very distinct improvement of my skin's texture. It is firmer, plumper and has a nice healthy glow. I've been using the Baby Quasar on my hands as well as face and here the results are even more impressive. After three sessions, the clock has been turned back by at least a year.

LED is a fairly gentle treatment. The only side effects are some temporary pinkness and a terrible thirst (LED boosts lymphatic drainage, so have a glass of water to hand). The Baby Q, so far, seems to be extremely reliable and doesn't overheat. And, unlike some of the in-home devices, it has three settings and infra-red light. I won't be giving up my salon sessions, but this is a great little booster for in between times.
Buy Me
$ 399.00
  • September 20, 2014

    by Linda

    What would you recommend for marionette lines (I'm terrifed of needles, or I would have fillers)? Thx,LB

  • March 13, 2013

    by meital

    I love the Baby Quasar, but Lightstim for wrinkles is great too. Here's a head to head comparison between them, if anyone is interested: http://www.light-therapy-reviews.net/baby-quasar-vs-lightstim/

  • February 6, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Shalini, while red LED can help skin tone overall, it is the green LED light that is generally recommended for hyperpigmentation and blue light for acne. This article describes the different roles: http://www.truthinaging.com/face/green-its-the-new-red

  • February 6, 2013

    by Shalini

      Hi. I purchased the Baby Quasar md red light, about two months back. At first, the results were quite good. But now,  I am beginning to notice that my old acne scars that had faded completely are resurfacing after using it once a week according to the directions provided. I was told that the baby quasar red is supposed to improve discolouration and pigmentation. But now, I see further discoloration/pigmentation of old acne scars. 
    Is this normal ? Is it that the pigmentation gets worse before it gets better or is it a side effect of the device. I have a pale to fair skin complexion.
    Pls let me know!
    Many thanks
    Shalini

  • June 17, 2012

    by Lisa

    Hi Marta. I stumbled onto this page through your comment regarding the Facemaster and NuFace facial devices. My primary problem is forehead horizontal 'frown lines' and a deep vertical wrinkle between my eyebrows. I'm 53. Which of these devices do you think would be best for treating forehead wrinkles? Thanks so much for your reviews. They are most informative!

  • February 21, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Madeline, the red is better for aging skin. The blue is for acne.

  • February 21, 2012

    by Madeline

    So which one is better the red or the blue for aging skin. I dont have any lines or wrinkles but Im in my forties already.

  • July 16, 2011

    by Kristen O.

    I bought a used Baby Quasar Red on EBay a couple of months ago. Can it be repaired or should I buy new next time? Thanks!

  • April 28, 2011

    by Shalini

    Is there any long term damage from the Baby Quasar Red? Is it ok to use on Asian skins? Thanks:)

  • December 31, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Shirlene,
    From what I can tell, LightTherapy (which looks a bit Heath Robinson) seems to be for acne only. Lightstim looks more comparable to the Baby Q and is less expensive. I did one reviewer saying that Lightstim took longer than BQ to get results. I'll see if we can get hold of one.

  • December 27, 2009

    by Shirlene

    marta, I've researched a bit into the different brands. I've read that the Tanda unit often lose charge after a while (even connecting the unit to an outlet will not work) and customer service isn't as good as Quasar. For something so expensive, you'd think they would have good customer service. I'm actually interested in a comparison between the combination of Baby Quasar red and blue, Lightstim, and Lightwave CS. Lightstim and Lightwave CS are much more affordable if both anti-aging and acne are the concerns.

  • November 30, 2009

    by marta

    Laura, that's a good idea. I'll try to get hold of some samples to review.

  • November 29, 2009

    by Laura

    I've got the TAnda LED system, and since they all seem to be based on the same technology I was wondering if there really would be any difference between any of them, especially since the Baby Quaser seems to be higher priced? Do you have any plans to perhaps consider conducting a comparison on these? Thanks Marta, I check out your website daily and already have a list of products I plan on trying out.

  • November 14, 2009

    by Angela

    Marta, you are a goddess! Thank you so much for your quick response - and on a Saturday no less.

  • November 14, 2009

    by marta

    Angela, the links should be fixed now.

  • November 14, 2009

    by Angela

    Hi Marta,

    I just received my Baby Quasar and the instructions included are not what I would consider thorough, so of course I checked TIA for more information. I tried the links to the above-mentioned Related Articles "Why I Chose Baby Quasar and How to Use It" and "A Demonstration of How to Use the Baby Q" but I don't get redirected to those articles - the links just bring me back to the home page. Could you please provide links to those pages.

    Thanks for your help!

  • April 27, 2009

    by marta

    I haven't tried the Pretika Lightsonic, however I wasn't very impressed with their version of the Clarisonic brush.

  • April 26, 2009

    by Heidi

    I was wondering if you had a chance to review the Pretika Lightsonic compared to the Baby Qasar? As an Esthetician for over 15 years I have been impressed with the Pretika Lightsonic particularly for the price.

  • September 9, 2008

    by Nimue

    <p>Thank you for removing the e-mail address. I'll try to be more careful now. About the relative stiffness of the Pretika brush- I don't find it stiff but I've never tried the clarisonic. It should be used gently, and not pressed into the skin. But I really am interested in a comparison to the clarisonic. Maybe the pretika brush head is similar to one of the less soft clarisonic brush heads?</p>

  • September 9, 2008

    by marta

    <p>It looks as if you inadvertently put your email address in the author line. I've removed it.</p>

  • September 9, 2008

    by Mike626

    <p>It's my understanding from other forum posts that the Pretika brush does an adequate job for the price point, but the real difference is in the brush head.</p>

    <p>Clarsonic offers brushes of multiple stiffness, whereas the Pretika brush comes in one stiffness. According to one reviewer who has Rosacea, the Pretika brush stiffness is the default "OW" setting. :)</p>

  • September 9, 2008

    by marta

    <p>Dead right. I'll contact Typepad and look into it. </p>

  • September 9, 2008

    by Nimue

    <p>Why did my e-mail display earlier? I don't like that, can it be fixed? I thought it's not supposed to display the e-mail.</p>

  • September 8, 2008

    by marta

    <p>Splendid idea. I have sent off for a Pretika brush. If that doesn't sandblast my face off then I might venture to the LED. Anyway, I'll let you know how I get on the brush.</p>

  • September 8, 2008

    by nimue

    <p>I have a suggestion:</p>

    <p>I think you should also try the Pretika knockoff of this device, "Pretika Lightsonic Pulsating Light Therapy" and compare the two. The Pretika version is significantly, significantly cheaper.</p>

    <p>Pretika also has a brush which is a knockoff of the clarisonic brush- again, much cheaper. I have the Pretika brush. I think it would be a good idea to compare the pretika brush to the clarisonic also.</p>

Have You Tried Baby Quasar PLUS?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Baby Quasar PLUS below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Baby Quasar PLUS

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...