Free shipping on all orders over $39

Reviewed and recommended: Derma Radiant Ageless Eyes

Reviewed by Marta November 10, 2008 9 Comments

Pros

Antioxidant peptide formula with matrixyl 3000 and retinol

Cons

Uses parabens as preservatives
Recommended for instant relief of under eye bags

There is nothing like a presidential election for testing out an eye cream. We may have sent Palin with her bags packing back to Alaska, but my bags were threatening to be a permanent under-eye fixture when I stumbled into the new dawn of November 5 after only a few hours of sleep. Derma Radiant's Ageless Eyes ($39) proved to be a winner.

The secret sauce in Ageless Eyes that sent my bags packing is something called Eyeliss. This is made up of hesperidin methyl chalcone, a flavonoid extracted from citrus fruits that helps reduce capillary permeability (so the little blood vessels around your eyes don't leak) and a couple of peptides. Incidentally, you can, should you feel a DIY urge, buy Eyeliss neat and add it to a cream or serum of your choice.

Ageless Eyes does more than provide quick relief. There is the antioxidant peptide formulation, Matrixyl 3000, which along with retinol, encourages collagen synthesis. I now know thanks to Gessato (see my earlier post) that aloe is also helpful in the collagen department. Derma Radiant, for what it's worth, claims to use mid-leaf aloe, which it says is where the most potent properties reside.

Amongst the botanicals is euphrasia officinalis. As this also goes by the name of eyebright it should need no further explanation. Humulus lupulus (hops) has been clinically established to be an anti-depressant. Since this is what goes into making beer, it puts a whole new meaning to happy hour. Fascinating though that is, it doesn't explain why it is in an eye cream. It turns out that hops come with prenylated flavonoids that are antioxidant.

Perhaps one of these days, Derma Radiant will find some alternative preservatives to the two parabens. Then they really will have a winner.

Ingredients in Derma Radiant Ageless Eyes

Deionized water, ceteraryl alcohol, ceterearyl glucoside, glycerin, hesperidin methyl chalcone, montmorillonite, steareth 20, dipeptide-2, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3, caprilyc/capric triglyceride, hydroxyethyl acrylate/sodium acryloydimethyl taurate copolymer, squalane, polysorbate 60, butylene glycol, palmitoyl oligopeptide, polysorbate 20, carbomer, sodium hyaluronate, retinol, lavender extract, licorice extract, chamomilla recutita (matricaria) flower extract, centella asiatica, euphrasia officinalis, biotin, hops extract, L-tyrosine, rosacanina fruit extract, citric acid, propylene glycol, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben.

  • November 26, 2010

    by Jeanie

    I've using Derma Radiant Ageless eyes for about a year now. I am not very good at noticing improvements because after all, those changes happen gradually.

    It is very good for keeping those bags away. I didn't even realize how good it is until I stopped using it to try another eye cream I just bought. Overnight, my eyes looked puffy and tired, so I switched back to Ageless Eyes immediately!

    I cannot attest to wrinkles, though, nor dryness like the others.

    All in all, I think it's a great eye cream and unless I find something better for the same price, I won't stop using it.

  • June 1, 2010

    by lizzy

    Hey i just bought derma radiant ageless eyes.as i can no longer take my puffy eyes.ive had them all my life and tried everythiing to no avail.ive heard great things bout ageless eyes and was just looking for some feed back from people that have used it?i have been using it for 5 days now but havent seen any improvment how long does it take for the reults to be seen?would really apreiciate some feedback as i am desperate??

  • November 27, 2009

    by Kathy

    Hi Joanna, I too can relate to Joanna who had the experience of her under eye area becomming more wrinkled. I used the ageless eye cream for only two days (twice a day) and my under eyes became very dry and wrinkled. I advised Derma Radiant and they stated that it is not a moisturizer, and that I would have to put a moisturizing eye cream on top of the ageless eye cream. Is this what you recommend or do yourself?

  • November 18, 2009

    by marta

    Oh dear Joanna. It didn't happen to me, but a friend of mine reported dryer skin with Ageless Eyes. I suspect it is the retin A. I wouldn't recommend <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/face/reviewed-and-rejected-sk11-facial-treatment-essence" rel="nofollow">SKll</a>, we wrote about it here: http://www.truthinaging.com/face/reviewed-and-rejected-sk11-facial-treatment-essence. You should take a look at our <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/eyes/five-best-eye-creams-updated-2009-2" rel="nofollow">Five Best eye cream picks (http://www.truthinaging.com/eyes/five-best-eye-creams-updated-2009-2).</a>.

  • November 18, 2009

    by Joanna

    HELP! I have been using the ageless eyes for about a week and it has dried out my under eye area and made them more wrinkled. Have you heard of this happening to anyone else? I am feeling very desperate and depressed. Is there another product I can try? What do you think of SK II?

  • May 21, 2009

    by marta

    Michelle, you could try this DIY recipe: http://www.truthinaging.com/2009/04/diy-eye-cream-photo-gallery.html

  • May 21, 2009

    by Michelle

    You mentioned that it's possible to make an under eye bag remedy with a DIY formula. So can we buy the eyeliss along with the Matrixyl 3000 and the other ingredients in DermaRadiant and mix it together and leave out the parabens? It might not last long, but what if we make it fresh for everytime we use it? Or does it not work this way?

  • December 16, 2008

    by Junko

    I've been using the Radiant Ageless Eyes + YBF Correct for 3 weeks now. I started with the Ageless Eyes once Marta posted it on the best 5 due to it's affordability. Ageless alone makes my skin look dry, but for reducing bags and tightening, it's really amazing! I've had bags for a while now and droopy eyelids no escaping (dad just had a lid lift, he's white, were obstructing his vision...sooooo he says & mother is Japanese....just to give you an idea of how droopy my 47 yr. old lids are!). Wasn't happy with the dry look, so I ordered the YBF Correct. YBF Correct seemed too moist, so I've been using YBF first and then dabbing the Ageless on top. Seems like the perfect combo, but I just hope that Ageless is not canceling out any of the YBF ingredients. YBF is pretty expensive and I'm a little concerned that I might be diminishing some benefits with the mix. Perhaps Marta or Sheila can comment to my concern if they read this post.

    Need to add that the Derma Radiant customer service is incredible. Personalized emails from John & Eileen, they really care about their customers. They sent me 2 trial tubes when I mentioned in an email, that I wanted my mother and sister to try the Ageless Eyes.

  • December 11, 2008

    by eliza

    Recently, I've been researching Matrixyl 3000 products in the quest for emergency help for my eye crinkles. I'd be willing to review this product for you, since I don't think my tired old smile lines could possibly look any worse. After a year of religiously following a tretinoin (prescription strength retinal A) regimen, it seems the collagen in the skin around my eyes has given up the ghost. I recently tried SP Lift, which reportedly has Matrixl 3000, but it seems to be as drying as the retina A, and what I see in the mirror isn't making me smile at all. Perhaps the combo would prove a better solution? (In truth, Id rather try the YNS Radiance product because of the moisturizing hyaluronic acid, but this is closer to my budget, and the Eyeless ingredient is of interest.)

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...