Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Reviewed and recommended: Dermalash works

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
April 22, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 10 Comments
A few weeks ago I wrote a review - based on researching the ingredients - of Dermaquest's Dermalash eyelash growth product. I said that having looked at what was in it, I couldn't imagine that it would work. Within what seemed like minutes, Dermaquest's public relations person reached out to me and asked me if I would be willing to give Dermalash a try. So I did. And I'll be damned.

My lower lashes, which were a tad sparse and stubby, have filled out nicely. Overall, my lashes are longer. Dermalash doesn't seem to activate the virulent growth that Jan Marini's eyelash product does. But then Dermalash doesn't contain a glaucoma drug and that maybe a good thing.

On the other hand, I have no idea how Dermalash works. Perhaps it is the extract of imperata cylindrica, which considered one of the world's most invasive plants. I shall try to find someone at Dermalash who can give me the lowdown.
  • October 15, 2009

    by Helen

    Marta - Is it OK to use BOTH Dermalash AND Folligen? Also, what (if anything) is the difference between Dermaquest - Dermalash and Dermaquest - anti-aging - Dermalash??

  • June 4, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Tracy

    Thanks for pointing out the phenoxyethanol. And you are quite right about safety and the concentration etc. These preservatives are pretty hard to avoid, so I say if you like something use it. Hopefully, manufacturers will start to find safe alternatives though. As much as anything else, we don't know what the cumulative effects are. Dermalash probably uses a safe concentration, but when you add in your shampoo, eyeshadow, cleanser.....

  • June 4, 2009

    by Tracy

    Hey Marta,
    First of all, thanks for sharing such useful information with us. After reading your posts for a while I've decided to buy Dermalash, so I did a bit of research. On this website http://www.realself.com/beauty-product/dermalash I found that the ingredients of Dermalash contains Phenoxyethanol, a cosmetic preservative that MIGHT have negative effects on the brain and nerves. Copley has also mentioned about this chemical in http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/11/revitalash-what-price-will-you-pay-for-long-lashes.html.
    I just thought that I'd point it out; I'm still determined to get Dermalash though. There's barely any cosmetic products out there that doesn't contain traces of negative chemicals, it could be either dangerous or perfectly safe depending on the dose and mixture, and how much (and the way) you apply it, isn't it?

  • January 12, 2009

    by Amber

    Thanks Marta! :)

    Dermalash sounds very promising.. with either of these, what were your results like, especially with the upper lashes?

  • January 11, 2009

    by marta

    Dermalash or Folligen - although some readers have said Folligen has stung their eyes. This has never happened to me. You need to apply both carefully.

  • January 10, 2009

    by Amber

    Hey Marta- thanks for posting your reviews!! In your opinion, which one product would you say is the best, but does not contain any drug whatsoever? Also, with that product, what were your results like (how much longer)? I really want something that will provide me with the MOST dramatic results, but won't harm my eyes as I wear contacts. Thanks!!!

  • July 6, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Now you come to mention it, I haven't come across anything (favorable or unfavorable). Hopefully, someone will write in to us. </p>

  • July 6, 2008

    by GRACE

    <p>your review in Arpil 22, 2008 for Dermaquest's Dermalash eyelash growth product, have you found any more positive results from women using this product. I would love to try something to help my lashes grow without the worry of potentially changing my eye color or effecting my vision as well as using dangerous ingredients.</p>

    <p>Thank you!<br />
    Grace</p>

  • July 3, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Dermalash has given me a few new lashes</p>

  • July 3, 2008

    by sari

    <p>I really need something that works to grow new lashes! Any suggestions?</p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...