Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Reviewed and Recommended: Hair By Revitalash

May 7, 2013 Reviewed by Marta 15 Comments
Revitalash is the maker of a successful eyelash growth product that, according to most testaments, seems to give the desired results: longer, thicker and darker assets to bat. I have never used it because it contains a prostaglandin analogue, a glaucoma drug that can have some nasty side effects. So too does the company's new product Hair By Revitalash. But I reasoned that my hairline was far enough away from my eyes to take the risk. Three weeks later I can report that Hair By Revitalash worked for me without any side effects.

Hair By Revitalash is a liquid that becomes a foam that can be rubbed into the scalp. Trading on the success of its eyelash product, Hair claims to have many of the same ingredients and is supposed to result in thicker, fuller hair.

The foaming action is a bit weak, deflating rapidly like a day-old cappuccino. Still, it is easy enough to rub into the scalp and there are no messy drips (having said that, I think it would be hard to control application on eyebrows). I tried it on my slightly thinning widow's peak - left side in a face-off against Folligen. I have been using Folligen, a copper peptide formulation, on and off for about a year and it works perfectly well. After three weeks of testing it against Revitalash, I would say that Revitalash performs slightly better. Both encourage new hair growth, but Revitalash produces strands that are a little longer and thicker.

As well as my anecdotal evidence, there are clinical trials to back me up. The prostaglandin is listed in the ingredients as trifluoromethyl dechloro ethylprostenolamide and although I haven't found tests using that particular variant, there is recent research that holds out much promise for the effect of prostaglandins on hair growth in general. Laboratory experiments with latanoprost (another variant on the glaucoma drug theme and also called xalatan) have demonstrated stimulation of hair growth in mice and on the balding scalp of the stumptailed macaque.

There is an important caveat here. I have a pretty good head of hair, aside from a noticeable thinning at each widow's peak. I have been trying to understand how Revitalash works and research suggests that it prolongs the anagen phase in the hair growth cycle. Furthermore, this study concluded: "Correlation with laboratory studies suggests that initiation and completion of latanoprost hair growth effects occur very early in anagen and the likely target is the dermal papilla."

I interpret this to mean that if you may not see results from Revitalash if you start it later in the anagen phase or in another phase in the hair growth cycle (for more on what this means, read our hair growth 101 post) and you'd have to persevere through the next cycle before passing judgement. My second conclusion would be that that this product is only going to help those with thinning hair, not out and out baldies.

My Revitalash vs Folligen trial should also be judged in the context of price. Hair By Revitalash costs $160 and Folligen is less than $20. Revitalash won the face-off but its performance is not, at least for my money, a whole $100 better.

Ingredients in Hair By Revitalash

Water, Acrylates Copolymer, Ginko Biloba Leaf extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Propylene Glycol, Swertia Japonica Extract, Serenoa Serrulata Fruit Extract, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Trifluoromethyl Dechloro Ethylprostenolamide, Glycerin Disodium EDTA, Aminomethyl Propanol, Chlorphenesin, Biotin, Panthenol, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Polysorbate 20, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance
  • February 1, 2016

    by Mirjam

    Hello, I have a question. My hair is in a bad shape because of blond dying. Here and there my hair is broken and some places thin. Can I use this for new hair? Bcs I read with the mask that its not recomented to use it with colored hair.
    Thank you
    Mirjam

  • June 7, 2013

    by Cantrell

    I just had DRAMATIC results from the Revitabrow Advanced - haven't had brows in over,I don't know, 20 years (from permanent makeup & my "Trichotillomania"). . . But they have grown in amazingly staring after 6 weeks!! I am so excited to look in the mirror now every day! What I am afraid of is when I stop using it...?
    So. . . I am wondering if the Hair conditioner works because I just had a traumatic period in my life & lost a LOT of my luxurious REALLY LONG hair & it doesn't look good. I was losing brush fulls of hair each day & am distressed. I want to try the "Hair Advanced" but am not sure. I am now back to being afraid of brushing my hair each day. . . Plus it's EXPENSIVE. Should I try it do you think??

  • September 26, 2009

    by ZC

    I tried Hair by Revitalash for two months and while I was using it, it worked great, no side effects and within 3 weeks my thinning hair started looking fuller and my scalp was not as noticeable. However because it is so expensive I stopped using it and my hair fell off with a vengeance, now I'm thinner on top that I've ever been and I 'm looking for an alternative solution.

  • July 23, 2009

    by admin

    Actually, I kept on using it but found that I developed an allergy and got little blisters on my scalp. Also, over a period of about 10 weeks, Folligen outperformed it quite noticeably.

  • July 23, 2009

    by SW

    hey Marta, any news on this?

  • June 4, 2009

    by Dakota

    Marta, I'm so excited to try "Hair". I use Revitalash and love what's it done to my lashes and brows. I have to tell you, I had none of the nasty side effects you hear about with Latisse (scary!!) Where can I get "hair"?

  • May 30, 2009

    by SW

    Thanks Marta, please do post any findings and info Revitalash has to offer on this!

  • May 28, 2009

    by marta

    Hi SW,

    I've put your questions to Revitalash, but have yet to hear back. In the meantime, here's my take. I am still using it and the results are good - eg hair growth at my slightly thinning hairline - but not noticeably better than Folligen (which I am still using at the opposite temple). I don't know about MPB - the published research was conducted on mice. My guess, since the researchers, seemed to think that it stimulates the anagen growth phase, that this only works for thinning hair that hasn't stopped growing completely. Hopefully, Revitalash will shed some more light for us.

  • May 27, 2009

    by SW

    hey Marta,

    Now that you're about 6 weeks into using RevitaLash's Hair how have your results been? Would you recommend this to male's experiencing MPB for regrowth and/or thinning?

    Does this product reduce hair loss as well as promote regrowth, or just promote regrowth?

    thanks!

  • May 11, 2009

    by marta

    Rub it into damp scalp after shower and before drying hair. No it doesn't leave any blue or sticky residue.

  • May 11, 2009

    by Michelle

    Oh, I'm referring to the whole head to increase overall thickness and hair growth, not just the sides.

  • May 11, 2009

    by Michelle

    Hi Marta,

    How would we use Folligen on the scalp? Do we apply it during a shower and rinse if off, or would be apply it after and leave it in? Does it become blue and sticky on the hair if we do?

  • May 7, 2009

    by marta

    Judy,

    Discoloration of the iris isn't very common even with the eyelash products. We always mention the risks though so that consumers can make up their own mind. My personal (non medical) opinion is that scalp to eye would be a highly unlikely event. But all I can really say is that I took a chance and so far I still have my baby blues.

  • May 7, 2009

    by judy carter

    I tried Revita Lash and it was working fantastically well----then I noticed dark pigment spots appearing in my hazel eyes---something that I had never had before.

    So I immediately stopped using the product.

    My question: isn't there a risk that by using it on the scalp some will enter the blood stream and cause discoloration of the iris?
    OH! You're my new favorite blogger fyi

  • May 7, 2009

    by judy carter

    I tried Revita Lash and it was working fantastically well----then I noticed dark pigment spots appearing in my hazel eyes---something that I had never had before.

    So I immediately stopped using the product.

    My question: isn't there a risk that by using it on the scalp some will enter the blood stream and cause discoloration of the iris?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...