Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Reviewed: Kronos Phyx Overnight Repair Masque

Is a Solution for:
Dry or Brittle Hair, Thinning Hair & Shedding
November 30, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 27 Comments
Update January 2010: I am withdrawing my recommendation of this due to the presence of ingredients such as behentrimonium chloride. My original review is below.

It is too soon to know if I will experience results similar to those of the participants in an independent trial for Kronos Phyx Overnight Repair Masque. After four weeks hair strength and elasticity was improved by a whopping 96% and volume by a more modest, but nevertheless welcome, 26%. I have only used this hair mask twice, but so far I am prepared to be convinced that Phyx is worth its steep $105 price tag.

Kronos is one of the few brands to have an anti-aging hair care line. The Phyx mask is the cream of the crop and it is packed with antioxidants, vitamins and botanicals that have a proven track record. After two uses, I can report that it certainly makes your hair look thicker and stronger. I would recommend this for anyone who has thinning, brittle hair - and is feeling flush.

One of the most convincing ingredients is hexapeptide-11. Studies have shown that this can signal genes responsible for collagen production and it can upregulate the androgen receptor in the way that testosterone can, suggesting that it can help with hair regrowth. Then there is phytosphingosine, a lipid that is the precurser to ceramide.

Pearl powder is another intriguing ingredient for a hair care product. The thing that makes pearls pearly is called conchilion. As documented in the Journal of Cell Biology in 2006, conchilion acts like the protein keratin (which is found in skin, bones and hair).

There are a couple of different types of green tea, plus rice bran to bring antioxidant power. Lycium chinensis is a good source of betaine, an amino acid. Another Chinese plant is cudrania tricuspidata, a kind of mulberry tree that is good for stimulating the circulation. Meanwhile, researchers in Japan have found prunus mume to be an effective scavenger of free radicals. Crithmum maritimum is sea fennel and French researchers have pronounced it a "valuable source of antioxidants, particularly chlorogenic acid". Over in Korea, researchers have found antioxidants in the seeds of rubus coreanus (wild strawberry).

The Kronos line also boasts something called T-Sphere Technology. Leaving aside connotations of the Batman, it is supposed to help ingredients penetrate. I hope that one day, the Kronos formulator puts as much effort into finding safe alternatives to some of the silicones and preservatives in this product. I am also not sure how I feel about fullerenes, the powerful scavenger of free radicals but also regarded as controversial because some studies suggest it is cytotoxic. The data, however, is patchy. In the end, Kronos is full of many more good things than bad.

Finally, I was a little trepidatious about the whole idea of going to bed with gunk on my hair and waking up with stained and greasy pillow slips. My fears were unfounded; the thick cream dries quickly and the worst thing to be said is that locks have that lovely limp, unwashed look (not for romantic evenings).

Ingredients in Kronos Phyx

Water (Aqua), Behentrimonium Chloride, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetrimonium Chloride, Polyquaternium-37, Phenylpropyldimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethiconol, Hydrolyzed Lupine Protein, Glycerin, Astrocaryum Murumuru Seed Butter, Orbignya Speciosa Kernel Oil, Oryzanol, Tocopherols, Tocotrienols, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane) Extract, Betaine, South Sea Pearl Powder Extract, Brazilian Coral Powder Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Hexapeptide-11, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, Acetyl Hexapeptide-3, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Cudrania Tricuspidata (Mulberry) Bark Extract, Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Lycium Chinensis (Chinese Matrimony Vine) Fruit Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract, Prunus Mume (Ume) Fruit Extract, Pyrus Communis (Pear) Fruit Extract, Rubus Coreanus (Wild Strawberry) Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Uuron Cha Ekisu) Leaf Extract, Crithmum Maritimum Extract, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Fullerenes, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Phytosphingosine, Sodium Hyaluronate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Urea, PPG-1 Trideceth-6, Propylene Glycol Dibenzoate, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Butylene Glycol, Laureth-23, Laureth-4, Citric Acid, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cetyl Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Steareth-2, Steareth-21, Stearic Acid, Carbomer, PEG-30 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Fragrance (Parfum), BHT, Disodium EDTA, Triethanolamine, Isohexadecane, Hexylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Limonene, Linalool.
  • June 25, 2011

    by Melinda

    Well I found a better price but im not sure if its a rip off? I found it for 30 bucks. And it is the actual site?

    http://www.dermstore.com/lp/586

  • July 13, 2010

    by jennifer

    I ordered the trial products. I did the overnight, hydrating shampoo and conditioner and the leave in. My hair has never been so soft and bouncy!It stayed soft and bouncy until the next wash day.I am 43 permed hair

  • January 16, 2010

    by Eileen

    Marta, i would be very interested to try the Jonathan 1B product for overnight hair treatment. I am growing out my hair and in real need of a good hair treatment. Will report my findings, thanks, Eileen

  • January 16, 2010

    by marta

    I am withdrawing my endorsement of this product. I do think it made my hair look good but I can't justify the chemicals. In fact, I tossed this product a couple of weeks ago. I'm going to update this post to reflect this.

  • January 15, 2010

    by Linda at SheSez

    Gee Marta - I'm really surprised that you are endorsing a 105$ product! That is a hefty price tag. But it does sound amazing. I'd love to try it.

  • January 15, 2010

    by suca

    I have long hair, with lots of volume, with highlights and therefore ends have some damage, but rest of hair is in good shape. I tried the whole bottle of Kronos, to give it a chance in many days of use, and it may have great ingredients but it did nothing for my hair. Maybe it would help who has very fine or few hair. I have lots of hair (I am from Brasil) and had to use about 1/4 of the bottle every night to really cover my whole hair with the product...Still Kronos Phyx did not fix or do anything for my hair...in the morning, after wash, my hair was the same ...nothing repaired in the ends...nothing more than any other more afordable conditionair would do. :( For me it did not worth the price (it was much more expensive a couple of months ago when I got it...) and I went right back to one of my favorite conditionairs - Nutra-Lift Daily and Aveda Be Curly (both in the Truth in Aging list of the top five best).

  • January 15, 2010

    by Dana Pond

    Would love to try the Johnathan 1B Revitalizer Overnight Oil Treatment Spray. I have been putting Aveda Dry Remedy and Ojon in my hair to try to bring the moisture and protein back for smoother locks. I'd love to weight Johnathan against these two products.

  • January 15, 2010

    by Junko

    After almost a year of desiring this product I finally purchased Kronos when it was half price. It made little to no difference in my almost waist length hair. I was disappointed, but now I'm relieved. Toxic ingredient & $$$$, let's find something better. I'd love to try Johnathan 1B, but I'm a carnivore....and it would be tough to beat Aerwin's need & enthusiasm for it! Am looking forward to the review though!

  • January 15, 2010

    by aerwin

    Want and NEED that Johnathan hair product overnight revitalizer oil! I really want to use the emu oil but I am a vegan so Johnathan seems a match made in heaven for me!

  • December 7, 2009

    by marta

    Debbie, you are right to be concerned about <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/behentrimonium-chloride" rel="nofollow">behentrimonium chloride</a>. We have information on it in our i<a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/behentrimonium-chloride" rel="nofollow">behentrimonium chloride">ngredients directory.</a>. I am learning all the time, and back when I wrote this review I hadn't researched this ingredient. Now, I know that it is a toxic compound, I won;y be recommending this product in future.

  • December 7, 2009

    by Debbie Boone

    I would like to try this product, but I am concerned that one of the main ingredients is "behentrimonium chloride." I thought all quaternary ammonium compounds are bad. Can you help me better understand this ingredient.

    Thank you!

  • October 23, 2009

    by patrice podvoj

    I am 68 and decided to go green with grey. My concern is the frizzy, steel-wool look that comes with grey. I am also going to let my hair go long rather than short and am hoping I can achieve a lustrous grey-hair look as opposed to the typical dull grey that many of us at our age seem to have. I would love to try it but the price is a bit steep. I was going to look into obtaining a trial sample as someone mentioned above I think glow.com?

  • October 23, 2009

    by Nikki Giannotti

    Wow, what timing. My husband finally talked me into going "dark" this week. Unfortunately it turned out to be dark burgandy. After using a color remover and trying to correct with another color, my hair is... lets say cotton wool never looked so bad. I would be thrilled to try anything that could restore my hair.

  • October 23, 2009

    by Pam Robbins

    Gosh! I would love to try the Kronos Phyx! About 8 months ago, I decided "if I had only one life to live, let me live it as a blond"!! The end result for my fine, thin hair was not the Farrah Fawcett mane I had hoped for but more like Phyllis Diller! Maybe there's help for me yet?

  • October 9, 2009

    by Tammara

    OK, I have used the overnight Phyx 5 times. I did notice a change in softness and managability the morning after using the product, but it did not last. I noticed no difference in hair loss due to breakage.

    I only shampoo my hair 2x weekly, but rinse and condition the rest of the week. I exercise most mornings and need to at least rinse the sweat out of my hair - dry shampoos don't seem to do the trick. I have been using Phyx the night before I shampoo. The effects of the Phyx did not last me to the next shampoo. In fact, my hair seemed to get drier and more unruly than usual in between applications.

    I had real high hopes for this product based on recommendations posted here. Unfortunately, my color treated, long, wavy frizz prone hair did not respond as well.

  • September 23, 2009

    by Tammara

    Boy, I was really expecting nothing short of a miracle due to Phyx's high price. After all the products I have tried I should know better than to get my hopes up. I have used it twice now and can honestly say that although my hair is a bit more managable, I have not noticed a huge difference. The product did absorb fairly quickly into the hair and left no residue on my pillow as far as I could tell. The slick feel my hair had as I was rinsing was still a bit noticable after I shampooed. Perhaps the effects will be more pronounced after subsequent uses - I should be able to get a couple more applications from the sample bottle I have. Will leave more comments after my third use. Continuing my quest for a miracle.....

  • September 15, 2009

    by Mari

    Another note. . . you use less of this product than you would with products bought in a salon or drug store so it should last longer which may make it more affordable. Also, the trial kit has the regular sizes you buy. I'm also not loosing hair as I was. I'll just shut up now - JEEZ!

  • September 15, 2009

    by Mari

    I will be 60 this year and decided to stop coloring my hair and let the grey shine through about 18 months ago. I get lots of compliments (who knew?) but, my hair was unmanageable. Straight now and I couldn't blow dry it as I had before. Kind of like straw. I saw an add for Kronos online and bought a trail kit which included Hydresse Hydrating Shampoo, Hydresse Hydrating Conditioner, Liquid Theory 7- In -1 Conditioning Spray (detangler), and Phyx Overnight Repair Masque. I chose hydrating instead of volumizing. I have been using these products for over a month now and I am extremely happy with all 4. The kit ended up costing $98.50. They are quite a bit more than the shampoo and conditioner I was using (bought in the salon I use) but, well worth the money in my opinion. The shampoo cleanses your hair throughly and the conditioner rinses clean. The detangler enables me to blow dry my hair again and I agree with your review of the Phyx (I only use it twice a week). I know I probably sound like a comercial but, I'm so happy with the results. Best of all you can buy them individually as you need to - no automatic shipping.

    Marta, thank you so much for all your work. I love this web site.

  • September 6, 2009

    by Lucy

    I'll try anything to improve my baby fine hair. I color, blow dry & use volumninzing products. Need to try something new that works. Have a drawer full of tested products that don't help...

  • September 5, 2009

    by Stephanie

    l've always had great hair, but recently the texture and appearance have change for the worse. I've been unable to find anything which helps.

    I've been coveting the Kronos product since I read Marta's review, but it's been out of my reach price wise. This product sounds like just what I need to assist my suddenly lack luster locks. I'd love to test it out and write about my experience with it.

    Thanks,
    Stephanie

  • September 5, 2009

    by Tammara

    I would love to try this!! Ever since I hit my 40's (I'm 41 now), I've noticed unwelcome changes in my long, wavy, color treated hair. Nothing seems to get rid of the brittleness and breakage. I've seriously been thinking about cutting it short, which I really don't want to do. If this helps it will be worth the price!

  • September 4, 2009

    by Maria

    I have wanted to try this for a while now but the price has kept me at bay. If the product works, I would buy it up so fast because I am all about taking care of my locks. I would love to try it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • September 4, 2009

    by Leslie Wayne

    I used to have a glorious mane of thick curly hair that has, with age, thinned and become lackluster with years of color treating. I have had no luck with Rogaine for hair re-growth and am desperate to find a product that actually will at least revitalize and thicken my hair. I could really use this product!

  • September 4, 2009

    by Cristina

    Would it help my hair? I don't have a thick head of hair...quite the opposite. And what little I do have is not silky and soft..it's dry, breaks easily (I can't run my fingers through it) lost the shine it once had. It's my worst "beauty" problem.
    The funny thing is that the products that look like they are aimed at my type of hair (smoothers, shiners etc) actually make it worse!
    If you think I would see any improvement then Iwould love to try it!

  • September 4, 2009

    by Nellika

    Absolutely I would like to try it! My hair is definitely being challenged with age. In the past few weeks, I've given cutting it VERY short some serious thought since a trim every 4 weeks doesn't seem to take care of the brittle ends. I promise to write a thorough - and I'm hoping - positive review!

  • May 4, 2009

    by marta

    I know what you mean about the price, but it's so good I ended up including it in a post on products worth the splurge: http://www.truthinaging.com/2009/02/five-best-beauty-products-that-are-worth-the-splurge.html

  • May 4, 2009

    by Amy

    I have tried this product and have to say it does what it says it will do. My hair is fine with past damage from color treating. When I use this my hair feels like my 2 year old daughter's hair feels (i.e. pure and natural). Love it! I got it as part of a sample pack from glow.com and have been using sparingly as I can't quite convince myself to pay their full retail price. Come this winter when my hair feels like straw again I may change my tune!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...