Free shipping on all orders over $39

Reviewed and Recommended: Nurture My Body Eye Cream

Is a Solution for:
Puffy Eyes
April 28, 2009 Reviewed by Copley 17 Comments
As I've been going about my business over the past few weeks, I've been on a mission to track down the best organic skincare brand that you've never heard of. More often that not, the obscure so-called "organic" brands that I come across turn out to be cases of chemical-laden pretense or underwhelming mediocrity. But once in a green moon, I am lucky enough to stumble upon a hands-down, fruits-of-the-earth winner. Nurture My Body Organic Eye Cream has thus far proven to be a champion.

While finishing up my master's degree, I have gotten to experience the portentous rite of passage known as the thesis (the word alone sends a ripple of goosebumps down my arms). My weeks have been filled with heaps of caffeine punctuated with bouts of sleep deprivation. Through all this, my skin has, of course, taken a thrashing, with unsightly blemishes and bumps cropping up in the most innocent areas of my face. But nowhere has evidence of my ordeal been more noticeable than my eyes, which have become not only bloodshot, but puffy and shadowy underneath. Nurture My Body made such a difference that I was able to resume human contact in surprisingly good shape (as far as my eyes were concerned).

After patting Nurture My Body's cream under my weary eyes, I felt a cool tingle followed by an immediate lift in my spirits. A swirl of soothing essential oils, dominated by lavender, enveloped my face. The cream goes on white and blends in easily without any shine, greasiness, or residue. While I normally have to choose my daytime eye cream wisely to avoid a face-off with my under-eye concealer, Nurture My Body creates the perfect base for makeup both under the eyes and over the eyelids. The ultimate victory was when, after two entirely sleepless nights, I half-staggered into work and Marta commented that my eyes looked amazingly awake.

Besides its eye-awakening power, what is especially impressive about this cream is its nearly flawless all-organic formula. The Environmental Working Group gives this product a rating of 0, which, to the uninitiated, is a perfect score (and very difficult to achieve). After specially filtered water (which has been freed of salt and trace chemicals), the formula begins with vegetable emulsifying wax, which is composed of fatty polyglycosides prepared by reacting glucose (or olive wax) and collagen with natural fatty acids. The next two ingredients are skin-friendly emollients in the form of shea butter (high in vitamins A and E) and vegetable glycerin, a sweet oily fluid.

For the most part, the rest of the formula is populated with lovely botanical infusions, extracts, and oils. Like it sounds, eyebright calms irritated eyes and reduces puffiness due to its natural astringent properties. Lavender and red clover have anti-inflammatory actions, while comfrey root has the ability to stimulate cell proliferation by virtue of muco-polysaccharides. Much more than a means of sunburn relief, aloe vera gel is an increasingly common anti-aging agent for its power to regenerate damaged tissue by speeding up skin cell reproduction. Then there's seaweed extract, which interacts with human carotene to help improve the skin's elasticity and hydration.

In spite of the cream's high oil content, its consistency isn't oily at all. My favorite inclusion is olive squalane, a highly nutritious emollient that replaces the loss of skin's natural moisture over time. Avocado oil (high in vitamins A, B1, B2, D, and E) is known to reduce age spots and scars, as well as soften skin. Because of jojoba oil's affinity with human skin (it produces liquid wax esters akin to the natural esters produced by human sebaceous glands), it can restore pH balance and help maintain suppleness. Borage seed oil is another excellent emollient that helps regulate skin hydration and nourishment.  Lastly, essential oils from lavender, carrot seed, rosemary, sage, and other plantlife contribute antioxidants.

After a couple of weeks on Nurture My Body's eye cream, the slight creases under my eyes appear to have diminished. The delicate under-eye skin looks fully hydrated and firm, and I feel confident that the cream is keeping premature signs of aging at bay. Considering my satisfaction with this cream, I'm curious to try more of this brand's body-nurturing products plucked from nature.

 

Ingredients:

Purified Water, Vegetable Emulsifying Wax, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)***, Vegetable Glycerin, Euphrasia Officinalis (Eyebright) Infusion**, Lavandula Officinalis (Lavender Flowers) Infusion**, Symphytum Officinale (Comfrey Root) Infusion**, Trifolium Pratense (Red Clover) Infusion**/****, Avena Sativa (Oatstraw) Infusion**, Carthamnus Tinctorius (High Oleic Safflower) Oil**, Olive Squalane Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba Seed) Oil**, Chondrus Crispus (Seaweed) Extract**, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Gel**, Rosa Damascena (Bulgarian Rose) Hydrosol**, Calophyllum Inophyllum (Alexandrian Laurel) Oil**, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil**, Borago Officinalis (Borage Seed) Oil**, Macadamia Ternifolia (Macadamia Nut) Oil**, Glycine Soja (Soy Lecithin), Matricaria Recutita (German Chamomile) CO2**, Tanacetum Annuum (Blue Tansy) Essential Oil***, Lavandula Officinalis (Lavender) Essential Oil**, Carota Sativa (Carrot Seed) Essential Oil***, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) CO2**, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) CO2**, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Extract

  • May 28, 2010

    by Amy

    Natural skincare is important to me and I'd love to try these out!

  • May 25, 2010

    by mich

    I am eternally trying to find natural skincare products that work! The fact that this is organic - is icing on the cake!!

  • May 23, 2010

    by Ethel

    I started noticing wrinkles and dark spot on my face 2 years ago. I tried all kinds of skin care products that hopefully will help me stop or slow down the aging process (I am still on denial)...Some helped but some didn't do anything at all...the products that you've featured on your article and of course getting it for free(big smile) made me write this comment. I hope you consider sending me these fine products of yours.

  • May 19, 2010

    by adrian

    Sounds like a great product! Enjoyed reading your review. Thanks for the chance to review it!! I really enjoy doing and writing reviews!

  • May 19, 2010

    by BethY

    I'd love to try these products and write a review. I've been considering purchasing the exfoliating cleanser after reading Marta's comments about it closing her pores. Since becoming a TIA fan, I'm a convert to skin care lines that use only beneficial ingredients - kind of scratching my head why I didn't think of that before TIA.

  • May 19, 2010

    by Julie Kay

    Jan- When our eye look tired and aged, it does bring you down. My journey with mine has been arduous, but (while I'll always have circles, it's my genetic structure) I've escaped an eyelift and brought out the best my eyes have to offer. My constant is YBF's Correct; I use it daily. At night I go for something heavier to soak in during the night. I'm searching for the best currently... Good luck with your search, but don't give up. With perserverance you can achieve results! ~jk

  • May 19, 2010

    by Isanna

    I would love to try it. I am in my late 30 and just started to notices fine lines around my eyes and mouth. I have combination skin, very sensitive with mild rosacea. My biggest problem is my eyes. No matter how much sleep I get, my eyes always look tired and puffy. That’s in addition to dark circles, uneven, dull skin tone with post-inflammatory pigmentation from occasional acne. I am trying to switch to natural products since most of the commercial brands I tried tend to trigger my rosacea. I’ve had very good experience with natural hair products but feel absolutely lost when it comes to skin care. I’ve been obsessively reading your website for the past few months and I think I am ready for the big change. It would be a great introduction (for me) to the natural skin care. Thank you.

  • May 19, 2010

    by Dorielle VanDien

    Wow. Great review! Finally, a vegan, organic, eye cream that works- I can't believe it. I would absolutely love to try this cream on my poor skin, which has been devastated by a horrible mixture of desert climate, Accutane, and, unfortunately, heredity. Sigh.

    Thanks!

  • May 19, 2010

    by Bonnie

    I am so interested in trying the Nurture My Body trio. I am 62 years of age and have been very proactive with keeping my skin in good health. This year I have noticed some lines under my eyes, which have not responded to some very pricy brands. Also, I have for years utilized "natural" products in my regime. To date, thanks to Marta, I have tried both the NutraLift and Osmosis brands, and have enjoyed them very much. Anyway, I would love to try the Nuture My Body products.

  • May 19, 2010

    by Michele

    I feel that I would be a good selection for your free give away of the Nuture My Body skincare products as I am recovering from Mohs micrographic surgery for a basal cell carcinoma I had on my lip area for 5 years. It is healing well, but will take at least another two months to heal completely. I would love to give my face some TLC during the healing process. It would give me a boost during a much needed time. Thank you.

  • May 19, 2010

    by Kira

    I would love to try the line:-)) I used a lot of big name brands, and while some of them did work, they always failed to sustain the results...I am trying to switch to more natural and organic products which may not make loud promises of changing my skin but can hopefully keep it healthy and help it function properly in the long run. That is my hope.
    Thnx guys:-))

  • May 19, 2010

    by Suz

    Well, I would also love to try these products! I am in between regimens at the momment- still deciding what to try next in the world of "Beauty" and "Anti-Aging". I have tried so many from CellBone to LaMer, etc., etc. More natural is preferrable to me, so this would be great for my ALMOST 45 yr old skin from AZ

  • May 19, 2010

    by Teresa Gillenwater

    I am currently considering buying a clairisonic skin care system in another desperate attempt to revive my skin. I have tried so many skin care products but, I still don't have one that I love. I am 52 and recently started using Retin A and some SheaTerra products. I need a regimen that will actually make a difference. I am sagging and crepping and freaking out enough to consider cosmetic surgery. Not until I have tried everything, else. I prefer organic and would love to try these products in combination with my clairsonic.

  • May 19, 2010

    by Jan Poston

    I've spent a fortune on "miracle creams" with ingredients that you can't even spell let alone pronounce. NONE of them have had the degree of benefits that they tout. Only now am I realizing that nature is every bit as good and probably much better at delivering results. Since I hit 50, everything about my body is changing - and the worst change is in eyes. I'm not talking about needing reading glasses suddenly (which I expected) but the tiny lines and wrinkles and a worsening of dark circles that I've battled with for years. If the eyes are windows to the soul, my soul needs something to nurture it, because I have friends and family telling me I look so "tired" or the "light in my eyes has dimmed". It's depressing. I'm so glad I found this website because I feel lost in the world of skincare/anti-aging products and promises. Thanks for the unbiased reviews, recommendations, and empathy you offer readers. I would love to win the "nurture my body" giveaway - and nurture my soul in the process.

  • May 19, 2010

    by Kate Fenerty

    It sounds like the perfect eye cream. I like the organic ingrediants and will give it a try. Out of all the products I have tried, and believe me I have a drawer full of them, I have never tried an actural "organic" product. I look forward to this new line for me.

  • May 19, 2010

    by kim

    Wow what an amazing give-away!!! I love this line, it has by far my favorite eye cream. So soothing and gentle. I would be so honored to review more of the products. Thanks!

    kim

  • July 20, 2009

    by VickyL

    Thanks a million Copley. I've been looking for an organic eye cream to add to my eye care regimen and this sounds like just the ticket! I love the ybf Correct but I think products are most effective when you alternate every few days.

    I see organic baby products on their website too so my "new" nephew will be getting to review and recommend his first body care products.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...