Free shipping on all orders over $39

Reviewed and recommended: ReLuma Skin Illuminating Anti-Aging Serum

Our Rating: 5 stars

Pros

Growth factors have a positive impact on lines and skin tone

Cons

The airless pump can be eratic
September 15, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 42 Comments
One of the best anti-aging serums we've come across

I'll get straight to the point: ReLuma Skin Illuminating Anti-aging Serum ($145/0.5oz in the shop) works. In fact, I would go so far as to say this is one of the best anti-aging potions that I have come across. It is about a month since I bought and started to try out ReLuma and it has had a significant impact on overall skin tone, plumpness and diminished wrinkles. And - an important plus for me - no allergic reactions or even the slightest sensitivity.

As we age, the critical proteins for healthy skin start to decline. These proteins and growth factors can be isolated as PDGF, VEGF, FGF, IGF3 and TGF-B. Of these, TGF-B is thought to be the most important because its signals are recognized by the majority of cells. TGF-B expression is also induced during wound healing and studies show that it can increase collagen and fibronectin. Meanwhile, PDGF "increases the rate of cellularity and granulation in tissue formation through increased fibroblast function".

Although PDGF, VEGF, FGF, IGF3 and TGF-B all do their own thing, it is the combination of them that is supposed to get results. For example, in order for TGF-b to stimulate fibroblast cell growth, the presence of PDGF is required. In all, ReLuma has nine different human cytokines in the human fibroblast conditioned media.

So where do they come from? The progenitor cells of the human fibroblast are taken from newborn baby foreskins. These are doubtless from babies whose parents volunteered to have them circumcised and no harm was done (I can't help thinking that there is a nice little sideline for rabbis here). Conditioned media is, in fact, the solution (sugars, amino acids and such) that is put in the petri dish in which the cells are grown. The cells secrete stuff or release it when they die and these proteins are then gathered up and put to use ReLuma.

Back to ReLuma. A couple of tiny caveats: the airless pump is a bit erratic (but then that is all too common) and the serum feels a bit tacky for about 10-15 minutes after application (this seems to wear off and this is not in the slightest one of those shiny/greasy numbers). The two preservatives are potential allergans (the iodopropynyl butylcarbamate was accused of such in a Danish study) and DMDM hydantoin can irritate those of sensitive skin. That would be me, but I am happy to report that I have had absolutely no adverse reactions to ReLuma.

I was so pleased with ReLuma's results for me that I contacted Invitra over the weekend to see if I could spread the love. They responded promptly and generously and I'll shortly be receiving a handful of samples for readers to (honestly) review. Please leave a comment to persuade us that you are deserving and honest.

ReLuma was reviewed again in 2011.

Ingredients in ReLuma Skin Illuminating Anti-Aging Serum

Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media, deionized water, gycerin, sodium PCA, allantoin, panthenol, cellulose gum, DMDM hydantoin, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate.

Buy Me
$ 0.00
  • February 8, 2012

    by dawn

    Used this for years husband a doc. Amazing results. Especially in conjunction with my regular skin care regime. I take skin care VERY seriously. like my hubby says"Nothing is as good as natural." Therefore he strongly stresses to his patients, and myself that maintenance is everything. No exaggeration my skin looks as good as it did if not better than when I was a teen. Only downside..EXPENSIVE. (Even though we hardly mark it up). Therefore we only sell it to skin care fanatics like myself who take allot of pride in their appearance. FYI, although expensive it is not nearly as expensive as a face-lift, or worse, a botched face-lift. I just noticed that free samples are available online at various sites. Try it. You won't be disappointed, or respond to my post and I will happily send u pics of me at 17 and me now. Without revealing my age i will tell u i have a son who is currently matriculating an Ivy League University. Oh one more thing. I am in no way affiliated with the company that manufactures it. I wish I was so I could get a major discount. LOL. Take good care of yourself, and treat yourself gently. Dawn

  • June 27, 2011

    by NoeyD77

    Although I am really against skin care products that cost that much since I truly believe there is no justifiable reason for such exorbitant cost, I am DYING to try any of Reluma's products. I RARELY, if ever listen to the recs of aestheticians since my experience with them has been that they are motivated by sales of lines they carry, HOWEVER Marta ALWAYS backs her claims up with such serious SERIOUS science, I'm actually beginning to think she may be a lab-coat wearing biochemist who has discovered the fountain of you and refuses to share LOL LOL that I am now really wanting to give either Reluma or YBF a shot, but sadly its just simply out of my budget :)

  • June 27, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Stephi, GFs are not peptides. They are not the same thing at all. You can read more about peptides and growth factors in these posts:
    http://truthinaging.com/ingredient-spotlight/fgf1-and-human-growth-factors-what-is-it
    http://truthinaging.com/ingredient-spotlight/stem-cells-and-human-conditioned-media
    http://truthinaging.com/ingredient-spotlight/peptides-what-are-they
    Despite your protestations of not being motivated by hate, I couldn't help but notice that you are writing from the same IP address that has been actively posting online against ReLuma. What is your agenda exactly?

  • June 27, 2011

    by Stephi

    Everyone know GFs (peptides) are sensitive to light, that is why TNS, neocutis, revive and AQ skin solutions (all GF products) don't have clear bottles because of this fact. On the other hand Reluma uses the same clear containers for all of its products. Doesn't that strikes you as weird. I know you are promoting this product because you are making money, but there are better products out there made by honest people with legitimate science. this post won't last here.. stay away from Reluma and invitrx..I say this with sincerity and not hate.

  • February 24, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    No, no, no. I wasn't chosen! HAHA! Not for Reluma (here). But revisiting this thread brought back memories. And what I use all has its basis in my knowledge base learned here at TIA. I think my 7th decade is going to be brilliant. ~jk

  • February 24, 2011

    by JustD

    Hmmm, are you still using ReLuma Julie Kay? Is it better than some of the other products mentioned on here, which I cannot think of now for the life of me!!!!!!! Anyway, you are looking mah-velous! Keep up the great work. What a beautiful testimony!

  • February 23, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    Wow! Look at this. I was the first to respond back in Sept'08 w my "ever defining marionette areas either side of my chin." Today (60 yrs old) I not only don't have defined marionette lines, I don't have a couple deep lines on my left lower jaw that drove me mad! Devotion to TIA's education and constant SERIOUS application to the task of what works has wrought a better looking me. Thank you, Master! grasshopper

  • February 23, 2011

    by Ana

    Hi Marta,
    First of all, I wanted to tell you how much I LOVE your website! I bought several products based on your and your readers' reviews, including Beautisol 99% Pure Peptide Serum (it's the best peptide serum I've ever used). Based on your product review above, I've ordered and received Reluma Skin Illuminating Serum from DermStore.I can't wait to try it out!
    I noticed that ingredients are different than those you listed in your 2008 review. The list goes like this: Human Adipose Derived Stem Cell Conditioned Media, Water, Glycerin, Sodium PCA, DL-Panthenol, Hydroxy Ethyl Cellulose, Allantoin, Phenoxyethanol. Iodopropynyl butylcarbamate and DMDM hydantoin are no longer there!!! All the good stuff is still there, and the only bad guy in the new formula is Phenoxyethanol which is rated 4 on the EWG hazard scale (0-10). Yay!

  • January 11, 2011

    by Kim C.

    I would also lke to try RELUMA, especially the lash treatment. I have very light brown lashes, small blue eyes you can not even tell I have lashes they are so short & light.

    I am 55. Can you believe it? I, like all of us have tried so many anti wrinkle products & am consistenly disappointed & ripped off.

  • October 27, 2010

    by Anne Starnes

    I would like to try a sample of the Reluma. I'm 69 years young and would love to find a product that makes an apparent difference. For my age my skin isn't wrinkled real bad but i am starting to feel self-conscious and do need some help. Can't afford to do laser or anything drastic since i am on a fixed income and try to use my funds to help my quadraphlegic grandson. I would feel honored if you would share with me a sample. Thanks for your consideration. Anne

  • July 26, 2010

    by Len

    I would love to sample Reluma. If anyone should, it should be me. I'm 42, but folks think I'm 27, but that because while I have no wrinkles I'm super sensitive and prone to acne and break outs to a LOT of products. If Reluma works, I'll be the ONE to see results with just a few uses. PLEASE, PLEASE and pretty please.

  • July 24, 2010

    by Charlotte

    I'm 55,I'm in love with a man in his 20's so I may have the glow of love (or lust?) but every bit of living etched in my face is SCREAMINGLY apparent. I'm also a physician who has worked in burn units. The science behind RE LUMA intrigues me amazingly!
    I'd be honored to try RE LUMA as the scientist in me is fascinated,and the woman in me is hopeful ( and in love/lust)!

  • January 28, 2010

    by Lisa

    Have you ever tried Vivant Products? I love, love, love the Exfol A Forte put its expensive. Any good alternatives out there?

  • December 24, 2009

    by The Derma Divas

    P.S. ReLuma Lash was discovered in testing for dry eye, not glaucoma (like Latisse), therefore you're not putting unnecessary glaucoma medicine in your eye. I know a few people using Latisse and although it does work, some say it irritates their eyes after a while. I actually believe you're not supposed to use it indefinitely...I would assume for this reason?
    Anyhow- Apparently over 50% of the people with dry eye (in studies) have been menopausal women, which I find interesting. I feel like ReLuma Lash is almost a preventive treatment for the eyes as well.

  • December 24, 2009

    by The Derma Divas

    Invitra has also come out recently with ReLuma Lash (also using the growth factors), and I have to say it did make my eyelashes grow! I have always been blessed with good lashes, but within two weeks, they're just longer and a little fuller. I even put it in my eyebrows and in the corners (where it was becoming a little more sparse) they've filled in nicely and they grow like crazy! I used to have to trim them every couple of weeks, but now I have to trim them every three days or so. I really like it. I'm also using Invitra Hair, but have only been using it a couple of weeks. Can't report much yet other than it makes my hair grow super fast.
    So far, so good :)

  • March 6, 2009

    by marta

    Thanks Christine, the founder has now written in to confirm that.

  • March 6, 2009

    by Christine

    Marta, I need to correct myself... They did use that in the past, but they told me that they stopped last year in August and are using adult stem cells.

  • March 4, 2009

    by marta

    Well that's what they told me when I interviewed them and they have participated in reader offers without ever correcting it. The projenitors commonly used for HFCM are foreskins from new born babies.

  • March 4, 2009

    by Christine

    Hi Marta,

    I read your review about ReLuma and found it quite absurd that they would use baby foreskin. So I contacted the company to get the jist of what they are doing and they told me that they don't work with baby foreskin. ReLuma comes from their adult stem cell technology. Also, no where on their website did they indicate they were using baby foreskin. After they made it clear to me that there was no babies involved in this product, I bought the serum. I've been using it for a couple weeks and I love it. I'm a 45 year old woman that has been using god knows how many anti-aging products since my early thirties and this one is amazing. Simply the best I've tried so far...

  • February 6, 2009

    by Renata

    just an FYI for anyone else who might want to try Reluma. I have spent the $130 for the full bottle. But I gues there is no quick maggic for my sensitive acneic and rosacia affected skin. At first I did not want to splater the sticky nonabsorbable mess all over my face because the forskin idea was just freaking me out, LOL, so I started with the deapest lines on my face. But then I figured I should get over it and smeared boldly all over for three days, day and night. Nevertheless my skin reacted with a cystic acne. I am still healing the scars. Luckily I found Image Skincare Antioxidant serum and life is good. Love the smell and feel. Absorbs right into my skin and I can't get tired of the silky feel of my face.

    Renata

  • January 24, 2009

    by Anne

    Marta you should tell us if it's good! A&G doesn't have a cream... and by the way what's the verdict on A&G VS RELUMA?

  • January 24, 2009

    by Anne

    Did any one try their cream Pserene? very curious!!!

  • January 7, 2009

    by marta

    Matina,
    Our BAD for forgetting to add the links. Two reader reviews are now linked under 'related posts' at the end of this article.

  • January 7, 2009

    by Matina

    Any updates/reviews on this product? I'm not sure where to find the reviews of the people who received the samples.

  • October 5, 2008

    by maryann

    <p>I tried Reluma a year ago and I know this product very well, it is produced near where I live in Lake forrest, CA. I have to say that I am very disappointed with you Marta. ReLuma is probably the worst product I've ever tried and I won't put it on my face if they pay me. I bought it for $35 and did nothing but cause my skin to go red. My doctor told me that it contains pigments/dyes to make it red/pink and in the long run this effects the skin. He called the manufacture and they confirmed this. Its been taking out of the market here and it has been stopped. I am not sure how you got it. FYI, I am not the only one with this complain, many have experienced similar and worst results here. Marta Who are the doctors behind this product? and how long has it been out in the market? </p>

  • October 2, 2008

    by marta

    <p>email us at marta@truthinaging.com with your shipping address.</p>

  • October 2, 2008

    by Anna

    <p>Wow! I'm thrilled to have been chosen to try this product. How do we receive this gift? I can't wait to start! Thank you so much!</p>

  • September 22, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>This one was seriously over-subscribed. However, with difficulty, the winners have been chosen: Anna Bateman, Unreliable Narrator, Marla, Barbara, Holly and Chris.</p>

    <p>Sorry to those that didn't get chosen. We have a nice Your Best Face offer right now. And check back regularly as we regularly have great products to review.</p>

  • September 20, 2008

    by Laurie

    <p>I would love to try this. i'm turning 45 in a few months...and let's say I don't get carded any more. I have fine lines that are turning into not-so fine lines almost daily. HELP!</p>

  • September 19, 2008

    by Anna

    <p>My daughter told me about this site. I recently lost 35 pounds and, although thrilled with the results, I'm feeling my wrinkles and sags are showing more than ever. I'd love to get a face lift but maybe I can find the answer with Reluma(?!). I would love a free sample! Thank you.</p>

  • September 18, 2008

    by Marla

    <p>I love your web site, I found it today. Finally, an open, honest reviewer to help me through all the "face lift in a jar" sales pitches!!<br />
    I'm 48 and just had a double mastectomy due to the BRCA II genetic mutation. My skin could use a whole lot of help right now (surgery, hospital, medications do not make for good skin). A free sample of ReLuma would simply make my day. Thank you!!</p>

  • September 18, 2008

    by Barbara Teer

    <p> I have tried everything on the market. I thought Strivectin was the best, but after reading your web page I have changed my mind. I am a single 53 year old women that needs help. I can not afford plastic surgery and the single market out there is so unkind. I look nice from afar but once men come closer they turn and walk away !! I asked a guy friend of mine why they do that, he said it was my wrinkles!!!Please I need help, and a date!!!</p>

  • September 17, 2008

    by Ellie Corey

    <p>Finally, A true and honest recommendation from someone who has tried it and truly believes in the product! It is so difficult to follow which product is best and works. Let me give it a try. I am a deserving 47 year old with growing concerns of crows feet, sagging facial skin, and overall, development of fine lines and wrinkles. I am a "true" representative of a 47 year old aging woman..as are so many of your readers. Please send me a sample so that I may represent this popular age group. </p>

  • September 17, 2008

    by rebecca

    <p>I would love to try this. I'm not sure how deserving I am, but I would be an honest reviewer. I have some lines around my eyes (e.g. crows feet), and deeper ones between my eyebrows. Thanks for the chance to try this stuff.</p>

  • September 16, 2008

    by the unreliable narrator

    <p>Deserving?<br />
    1) I'm a graduate student in English;<br />
    2) I'm 39, turning 40 next March; and<br />
    3) I'm about to run out of my MyChelle moisturizer [and they raised their prices AND changed the bottle quantitites, boo]!</p>

    <p>Honest?<br />
    1) BABY FORESKINS?!???!!! Ewwwwwwww.<br />
    2) On the other hand--why not put 'em to good use? ;o)</p>

    <p>Grateful?<br />
    1) Your site is professional and thorough--I just sent it to my two best friends, because we've been wondering about Revitalash and its evil ingredient;<br />
    2) Have you reviewed Queen Arsoa Soap? I dream about trying it despite the price tag; and<br />
    3) Thank you SO much for offering to share with us--the mark of a truly reader-centered blogger. I'll be visiting regularly now!</p>

  • September 16, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>They are similar. I have a marginal preference for ReLuma. A&G's eye cream stings when I first put it on. ReLuma has better texture and simpler ingredients mix. The company behind ReLuma's seems to be a bit more established (which given the nature of HFCM, is important). </p>

  • September 16, 2008

    by Holly

    <p>Hi! Just found your site and I'm thrilled to find some unbiased opinions on all the anti-aging products out there. Like your reviewers, I too have spent $$$ on products hoping they are as good as they claim only to end up throwing them in the trash. A free sample would be great and help my wallet at the same time!</p>

    <p>Keep up the good work :-)</p>

  • September 16, 2008

    by D.

    <p>Free... did someone say free! I've been reading your site for over a year and have bought 2 products so far because of your reviews and have gotten others on the band wagon because of yours and my reviews. I would love to try this one too and spread the love. </p>

  • September 16, 2008

    by jo

    <p>Marta, How does it compare to the A&G product which also contains the HFCM? Do you prefer one over the other? Thanx!</p>

  • September 15, 2008

    by Cathi

    <p>I would LOVE to try this stuff. I am turning 47 in 4 days, I smoked for 28 years (quit 5 years ago), I WORSHIP the sun, I have cystic acne (the really deep scar leaving type), I have some sagging around the mouth, and finally, the typical eye and neck wrinkles. Anything that works on me would have to be truly miraculous.</p>

  • September 15, 2008

    by Chris

    <p>Does the fact that I turned 42 years old yesterday make me deserving?!?!? I am a huge skincare fan - I'm always trying new products and make a lot of my own serums, etc. that have kept my skin looking pretty good for my age. But there's always room for improvement...and my DH would disown me if I spent that much on a product. Come to think of it, he'd disown me if he knew how much I spend on skincare in general...oh well...<br />
    BTW, I just stumbled across your website today, can't believe I didn't find it sooner, love it!!!!</p>

  • September 15, 2008

    by JulieK

    <p>Deserving- this is for you to decide, Marta. But in my defense, I can offer a fine set of ever defining marionette areas either side of my chin. They've only appeared the past couple months, and I'm dedicated to utterly throwing them off course. I do have sucessess, but can't nail it. This product offers an exciting approach! You can depend, as well, on my follow thru review. Pretty please?</p>

Have You Tried ReLuma Skin Illuminating Serum?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment ReLuma Skin Illuminating Serum below.

My Comment

Add a comment... ReLuma Skin Illuminating Serum

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...