Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Reviewed and recommended: REN Moringa Seed Micro-Protein Universal Shampoo

Is a Solution for:
Oily Hair, Thinning Hair & Shedding, Dry or Brittle Hair
July 22, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 13 Comments

Truth In Aging Anti-Aging Olympics Nomination: Swimming Against The Tide


Recently, I discovered moringa and posted on it here. If it's all it is cracked up to be, then this is a truly important beauty and anti-aging ingredient. As well as having 1700% more antioxidant power than vitamin C, it is both a purifier and an anti-pollutant. Moringa seeds have been used for centuries in India to purify water. So when I saw it as the key active in a shampoo by REN, I thought, "Now this is a perfectly sensible idea."

REN Moringa Seed Micro-Protein Universal Shampoo ($26 for 8.5oz) could be the perfect shampoo for Dara Torres. Her blond locks must be taking a chloride beating as she trains for her next Olympic medal. Moringa seeds gently and efficiently strip away chloride and pollution.

I used REN this morning and found it to be one of the nicest (perhaps the nicest) shampoo I have come across. My hair doesn't just look and feel clean, it is positively bright (as though I have just been to the colorist). Plus it is frizz free and soft to the touch.

REN is a British company that focuses on natural ingredients. Most are derived from coconut. In addition, there is tomato bioferment. The hair care cycle can be a frustrating one. Shampoo removes sebum and
dirt, but makes hair hard to manage. Conditioner takes care of that
problem, but creates build-up and attracts dirt. Moringa helps remove the dirt and the tomato bioferment adds manageability and strength. Tomato has serine and lycopene. Serine helps replenish cysteine levels in the hair to keep it strong and smooth. Lycopene is an antioxidant, similar to beta-carotene, but it is very soluble and easily penetrates the hair shaft to keep it moist and manageable.
  • August 28, 2009

    by marta

    Jaysie, I'm afraid not. But anyway REN has discontinued this shampoo. You can get moringa in <a href="//www.truthinaging.com/hair/reviewed-and-recommended-burts-bees-pomegranate-and-soy-conditioner/" rel="nofollow">Burt's Bees</a> pomegranate shampoo and conditioner.

  • August 28, 2009

    by Jaysie

    Marta - Do you by chance still have the ingredient list for the Moringa shampoo?

  • July 5, 2009

    by mike30

    I found a farmer owned company, Moringa for Life (http://www.moringaforlife.com), that sells moringa oil, tea, seeds, etc. Please check out the website and learn about this company trying to do great things with moringa education. Included with my order was a handwritten note -"thanks for your order! Happy moringa to you"! I pass along those sentiments to you all.

  • June 1, 2009

    by M.P. Mattheisen

    I went to the Ren website today to purchase the Moringa seed shampoo and they have posted a notice that they no longer make this product, something about company growth, etc.

  • April 15, 2009

    by Junko

    I emailed REN, inquiring about the Moringa Shampoo. This was their reply:

    Our Hair Care range is under review, apologies we cannot confirm yet when our Moringa Seed Universal Shampoo will become available. The conditioners are available to purchase only directly from us in the UK, you can place your order online, by phone, fax or post to the address below.

    We will announce on our website and email those registered with us online when it will be available again.

    Hope this is not too inconvenient,
    Kind Regards,
    Mertxe Cano
    Customer Services
    REN, 43 Crawford Street
    London W1H 1JR
    Tel: 00 44 20 7724 2900
    Fax: 00 44 20 7724 2678
    Mertxe@renskincare.com
    www.renskincare.com

  • April 8, 2009

    by marta

    Junko, hi there,

    I didn't buy the BB - I'll try to do more research first.

  • April 7, 2009

    by Junko

    Did you purchase the Burt's Bees Marta?

    If so, can you post & let us know what you thought of it? Need to update my hair care regime. I'm leaning towards Dr. Alkaitis Organic but it sounds like you liked the REN better. Based on your posts, I'm ordering the Clay Esthe & Max Green Alchemy Organic Scalp Rescue Conditioner for the conditioning products. For poo I'm still undecided.

  • April 7, 2009

    by marta

    Mine ran out this morning, so I've been out foraging for an alternative. I found one by Burt's Bees with pomegranate and moringa.

    aqua (water, eau), decyl glucoside, betaine, glycerin, lauryl glucoside, coco-betaine, sucrose laurate, coco-glucoside, glyceryl oleate, parfum (fragrance), punica granatum seed oil, soy amino acids, sodium cocoyl hydrolyzed soy protein, moringa pterygosperma seed extract, hydroxypropyltrimonium honey, xanthan gum, citric acid, glucose, sodium chloride, phenoxyethanol, glucose oxidase, lactoperoxidase, benzyl benzoate.

    A mere $7.99 at Walgreens: http://www.walgreens.com/store/product.jsp?id=prod3946635&CATID=304577&skuid=sku3945484&V=G&ec=frgl_537815&ci_src=14110944&ci_sku=sku3945484

  • April 6, 2009

    by Junko

    Hi all,

    Just went to the renskincare.com site 4/6/09 and it says they're Out of Stock. Hope they continue & not discontinue this one. I'd really like to try it.

  • March 26, 2009

    by marta

    I have color treated hair and it has been fine for me

  • March 25, 2009

    by Jan

    Is this shampoo safe for color-treated hair?

  • August 14, 2008

    by marta

    <p>Good question. The REN US website seems to be so buried that even though I bought some myself, it took me ages to find it again. Here's the link: <a href="http://www.renskincare.com/currency/USD/product-REN-Moringa-Seed-Micro-Protein-Universal-Shampoo-31241.htm" rel="nofollow">http://www.renskincare.com/currency/USD/product-REN-Moringa-Seed-Micro-Protein-Universal-Shampoo-31241.htm</a></p>

  • August 14, 2008

    by Tom

    <p>Can you tell me where this can be purchased in the US?</p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...