Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Marini Lash- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
July 2, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 11 Comments

For just over three weeks I have been trying out the new Marini Lash Eyelash Growth Enhancer that Jan Marini launched on June 5. It works. Not spectacularly, but it has given me slightly longer (perhaps even thicker) lashes that are now dark to the tip.I need to add a caveat to my caveat that it doesn't work spectacularly. My eyelashes were already in good shape when I started to use Marini Lash ($150). The impact may be much more noticeable for someone else. A word of warning to the impatient of nature: absolutely nothing seems to happen for the first two weeks; you really do have to persevere for at least three weeks to get results.



As I mentioned in a post when the product launched, there are no potentially harmful prostaglandins (the glaucoma drug in the original Jan Marini Age Intervention eyelash enhancer). In Marini Lash, the main ingredients are moisturizers, sodium hyaluronate and hydrolized glycosaminoglycans.
Next up are three preservatives (two parabens and diazolidynyl urea, which can be an irritant depending on the concentration and the newest formulations are said to be more benign). There are a couple of synthetic peptides, pentapeptide-17, some fatty acids, and vitamin E. Biotin could be promising with its combination of vits H and B7 that are associated with hair growth, although I've seen counterclaims that biotin is not easily absorbed topically. There is also vitamin B12.


Plant extracts include white tea (an anti-oxidant) and horse chestnut (there are claims that this helps stimulate hair growth) and cinnamon (honey and cinnamon is a common hair loss remedy). There is also saccharomyces/copper ferment (this is a posh name for the yeast used in fermentation); I couldn't find anything much about its role in skin or hair care. Neither can I work out what the role of sodium phosphate dibasic is.

I should also add that I had no adverse reactions to using Marini Lash and so pronounce it safe and effective.


Full list of ingredients in Marini Lash:


Water, sodium hyaluronate, hydrolized glycosaminogylcans, diazolidinyl urea, methyparaben, propylparaben, C12-C15 alkyl benzoate, panthenol, acrylates/ C10-C30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, myristoyl pentapeptide-17, myristoyl tetrapeptide-12, linoleic acid, linolenic acid, tocopherol, biotin, camellia sinensis (white tea) leaf extract, aesculus hippocastanum (horse chestnut) seed extract, cinnamomum zeylanicum (cinnamon bark extract), butylene glycol, saccharomyces/copper ferment, sodium phosphate dibasic, sodium chloride, triethanolamine, vitamin B-12, folic acid.



  • May 10, 2009

    by rose

    my lashes fell out during my chemo treatment. they grew back very short and thin. which product would help best for growth as well as length?

  • May 8, 2009

    by marta

    Katy,
    They are fairly similar but I would say that Dermalash worked slightly better for me.

  • May 7, 2009

    by Katy

    Marta, if you had to choose between the new Marini Lash or Dermalash, which product would you recommend? I used the LiLash and that worked really really really well but irritated my eyelids so I'd always have red lines around them. Plus I don't like that it has the glaucoma drug. So which should I get for my next adventure?
    Thanks!

  • February 24, 2009

    by Jen

    Must say that the old age intervention eyelash conditioner by Jan Marini was much better then this one. I ended up switching to revitalash since the gals at theskinspecialist website said if I would probably prefer revitalash since I was happier with the results from the older formula. I guess if new to marini lash you may not notice since cannot compare but by far the results were better from the old discontinued one. I love revitalash, and also got a coupon, worth asking. I just emailed and best service.

  • September 19, 2008

    by Anna

    <p>Jackie, that's what happens. Thats why it isn't good to use any of these products. Same thing happened with me. Better to just discontinue and not use anymore. This wilL ALWAYS happen. I even have gaps in my lashes.<br />
    </p>

  • August 24, 2008

    by Jackie

    <p>I used the Jan Marini Lash original for over a year and got fabullous results that everyone noticed. After about 1 1/2 years of faithfully using it my eyelashes started to FALL OUT. I don't mean a few either. I was losing 6-10 daily. After i stopped using it for a month the fallout stopped but my lashes are shorter an sparser than before I began it originally. Has this happened to anyone else??? I'm afraid to try any of these now.</p>

  • July 10, 2008

    by Kate

    <p>I read the posts above and must disagree that the Jan Marini mascara did nothing for growth and was dried out, so I returned mine. It is discontinued now I understand. However, the lash conditioner is amazing. I am going to try the new Marini Lash now and hope it is even better then the age intervention! Thanks for the tip about www.theskinspecialist.com website, I contacted them today and the pricing and service was excellent! I emailed asking a question about the new Lash product and they responded right away. So I responded to inquire about coupons and was immediately emailed a code to save $5.(Shop7, not sure when it expires but worth a try!) Thanks for the tip, great recommendation! I had a bad experience once, so I am careful now where to purchase. </p>

  • July 10, 2008

    by Liz

    <p>I just wanted to take a minute and say I've been really impressed with the performance of Marini Lash. I just started using it about 3 wks ago , and I've already gotten compliments!</p>

    <p>I would totally agree though, you've got to put in the time to let it work, but in 3 weeks or so, you'll see the difference for sure!</p>

    <p>I was really skeptical - there are so many claims of successful products out there (as you know!!) - but I had heard other good reviews so went for it. I'm so glad I did.</p>

    <p>I ended up purchasing mine at www.theskinspecialist.com because they took the time to actually talk with me and help me with this purchase, but some other questions I had too, which I can't tell you how much I appreciated!</p>

    <p>And, the bonus, when I asked about whether or not they had any coupon offers running, they emailed me one they were running to celebrate the 4th of July right away!</p>

    <p>I'd totally recommend the folks at www.theskinspecialist.com they really knew their stuff and were just so helpful - I can't thank them enough!!</p>

  • July 4, 2008

    by Pat

    <p>The Cinnamon that we buy in the US is actually Cassia.</p>

    <p>Cassia has a chemical called coumarin which could be toxic.</p>

    <p>Please click the below link to read more</p>

    <p><a href="http://www.bfr.bund.de/cd/8487" rel="nofollow">http://www.bfr.bund.de/cd/8487</a></p>

  • July 4, 2008

    by Jo

    <p>Are you sure you mean "Marini Lash" cause I ONLY see Jan Marini Age Intervention Masses of Lashes on the website you mentioned as getting both from.</p>

  • July 3, 2008

    by Heather

    <p>I find that it works best when used in combination with Jan Marini's Masses of Lashes mascara. I get both products online for cheap at www.AgelessApple.com. They're the least expensive place I could find Jan Marini products and my order always ships by at least the next day. I also LOVE the fact that they donate 10% of their profits to animals in need.</p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...