Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Reviewed and rejected: Athena 7 Minute Lift

March 26, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 12 Comments

A while ago I wrote a post (admittedly tad snarky) on Athena 7 Minute Lift. It elicited a couple of irate  and rather personal comments. Therefore, I resolved to take down the post and give Athena 7 Minute Lift a full user review to see what all the fuss was about.

Firstly my jar of Athena 7 Minute Lift doesn't look anything like the publicity shots, where the cream is all fluffy and pearly. Mine looks like compound (or putty to you Brits). This is a picture of it, moments after opening the package.

Before I tell you what the experience is like, let me first give you the theory. Because of the active ingredient acetyl hexapeptide-3, your expression muscles will be limited (it is supposed to work like Botox as a neurotransmitter and is in many other creams, such as StriVectin) and hence the appearance of wrinkles will be diminished. This is clearly short lived and superficial, but courtesy of the wisdom of  Greek Islanders (the company that makes Athena 7 Minute Lift is called Greek Island Labs LLC and is based in Arizona), Athena has 12 organic plant oils that will plump up the skin and have a long term effect on wrinkles.

Application is best tackled after carefully watching the DVD that arrives with the pot. A concealer brush is dipped in water and a tiny amount of Athena is carefully applied to target areas (lines around the lips or eyes for example). Wait 7 minutes, do not move. Wrinkles are greatly diminished in appearance.

It has taken me a while to work out why it looks and feels like compound. That's because - Greek oils notwithstanding - that's because a key ingredient is sodium silicate. For most of the last century this has been widely used as a general purpose cement. It used to be commonly provided in home first-aid kits and used in medicine as a glue for holding human
skin together at surface cuts. It has also been used as a general purpose paper cement. According to the material data safety sheet of one manufacturer, it is a strong alkaline irritant (although, elsewhere, I've seen it described as a topical antiseptic).

So does it work? Well, actually, it kind of does. I applied it to crows feet at my right eye and lip lines  on the right (in order to be able to compare with the untreated left side). After some initial itchiness that I found very uncomfortable (the video warns that you will feel some tingling), but stoically not moving for the required seven minutes, I must admit that the Athena side looked decidedly smoother. It also looked a bit white and powdery (even though, as instructed, I used the tiniest amount). The skin where I used Athena felt very dry and papery to the touch.

Most of all, it feels extremely strange. Not unlike the feeling after a trip to the dentist when the injection starts to wear off. The best way I can describe it is that the skin feels sort of clamped, or like its a size too small. It is an extremely unpleasant sensation, in my opinion.

This product is not for me. I prefer to take my organic oils without cement.

See our FIVE BEST recommendations including Five Best for sagging skin, Five Best with vitamin C and Five Best eye creams

  • July 18, 2017

    by Angela

    I feel compelled to write a review to counter this woman's negativity about the product. People who write about white, chalkiness, tightness, dryness have STILL not mastered the technique. Period. User error, simple as that. The amount to use is supposed to be small, yes, but ALSO the amount of water on the brush should be miniscule, barely damp. I take the brush and wipe it over a towel, on both sides before swiping it in the jar, on both sides. After applying and waiting 7 minutes, if there is any hint of white residue, I FEATHER the product with the damp brush around the edges. The application of this product is almost an art, ladies, the results are 70% about technique. Once you master this, you will never want to be without this product. I have used it for almost 10 years and, at 47, am told I look 10 years younger. I largely attribute that to this product, which I use every day, around the crows feet, eyelids, lips, jaw. I truly believe there are long term benefits, built in with the short term results. Hope this helps!

  • July 12, 2017

    by Susan

    I LOVE this cream. I have been using it for a few years and at first it did take me awhile to get it just right. I have huge bags under my eyes and with the athena 7 minute lift they are completely gone. I use a small amount and then to counter act the white powder look I use just the absolute smallest amount of foundation on the brush with the cream...voila, no white look. I also use a hand fan..( $$ store for $1) to fan it dry to speed the process along, it takes less then a minute to acquire my desired results. I am 60 years old and this product when used, has taken years off my face. Experiment with it, it took me awhile to get my desired results, but well worth it!!!

  • March 16, 2017

    by Bonnie

    Love this cream! I'm 71 and I have been using this product for several years. I have deep trenches under my eyes and they give away my age, although the rest of my face still looks youthful, with only tiny, fine lines in a few places. I use this lift under my eyes and it COMPLETELY fills in the trenches, leaving my skin smooth and youthful looking. Yes, it makes your skin feel tight, like a masque on your face, but it is easy to adjust to that sensation. The trade-off is the REMOVAL of your deep lines and crevices under your eyes, and no other product that I have tried can do this (I've tried many of them--all a waste of money). I will continue to buy this product because it works and it is a painless substitute for eye lift surgery. My eyes truly look as if I have had work done on them after I use this Athena product. I highly recommend it. Be advised that it is water soluble, so you can't cry while you're wearing it. It works best on oily skin, like mine, and I get at least 12 hours out of each application. I haven't found any other product which actually fills in my trenches and leaves the area smooth.

  • March 14, 2017

    by Carol

    I like the product very much--especially for the under-eye area. However, after re-ordering the product on 2/26/17 and not receiving it in over 2 weeks, I have repeatedly tried to contact Adonia Organics, both by e-mail and phone, and received no response. I am wondering what is happening with this company.

  • November 3, 2016

    by Vanessa

    I love this! Takes 20 years off in just a few minutes, a little tricky at 1 st but well worth it, won't leave home without it?

  • August 19, 2016

    by Linda

    I am 63 with a few wrinkles. Thought I would give this a try. It went on ok, but felt sticky. It dried like plaster and cracked if I smiled. I used it once. The following month, a new box of the product arrived in the mail. I did not request or sign up for a new order. Called the company and they were great about taking it back and taking me off their auto ship program (even though I didn't sign up for it).

  • August 2, 2016

    by Kristen

    I use this all the time and just love it! It sounds to me like maybe yours somehow got left open and dried out. Mine glides on easily with the brush and while they say you have to wait seven minutes, I can usually get away with allowing it to absorb in about three. The results are great and does exactly what it says!

  • July 31, 2016

    by Eileen

    I ordered this cream two days ago. They said I would receive a email confirming the order. Well they have out the bill of 79.00 on my credit card. I tried to call them but the phone number on the add does not work. The bank will not cancel it, they will only put in a dispute. Very upset

  • March 8, 2016

    by Sue

    I love this product. I have been using it for well over a year and will not leave the house without applying it. I have large bags under my eyes and with Athena 7 minute lift they virtually disappear within minutes. It is a little tricky at first to figure out the exact amount to apply but once its mastered, this is a miracle product. I look years younger thanks to this product!!!!

  • October 16, 2015

    by Mary

    Have been using this cream for a long time, its fabulous. You have to apply very very little or you end up with white patches but a little practise and its wonderful.

  • October 30, 2013

    by Yvonne

    I actually love this stuff. It's one product that actually does what it says and reduces the appearance of wrinkles. Am on my third tub now!

  • August 10, 2013

    by holly

    I should've done my due diligence and read your very informative article before I went for my free trial application of 7 minute lift.
    I believed them when they listed their ingredients. Thank you for clarifying the truth. I didn't like how it made my face feel either and I actually looked worse and had more wrinkles than before the treatment. My face is real dry and dull looking. No, thanks. Glad I didn't open the packages. I am bringing this back.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...