Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Reviewed and rejected: Boots No 7 Restore & Renew

March 16, 2008 Reviewed by Marta 10 Comments

Do bear in mind that this is one woman's experience. I am allergic to Boots No 7 Restore & Renew. Actually, there are two of us because someone wrote in complaining of symptoms similar to those I was experiencing. Namely, sore and burning skin (in her case the cheekbones and, in mine, the forehead). This didn't happen immediately. In fact, it didn't start until a couple of weeks after I started using it. I've stopped using it and the problem has gone away.

It's a shame because this is a good product for the price (just over $20) and its efficacy has been verified in an independent study in the UK (where it is called Protect & Perfect).

Of course retinol (the key ingredient) can be drying, causing redness and peeling. Of all the other ingredients in Restore & Renew, the most likely cuplrit is phenoxyethanol. This can be extremely hazardous in case of eye contact (an irritant) and very hazardous in case of skin contact (irritant). Inflammation of the eye is characterized by redness, watering, and itching. Skin inflammation is characterized by itching, scaling, reddening, or, occasionally, blistering. It is also a component of caprylyl glycol.

  • March 3, 2018

    by Connie

    I've been using the Protect and Perfect line for a couple of years now. Saw it on Dr. Phil and thought I'd give it a try.
    No reactions ever. Thought the day cream a bit greasy though. I started with the Restore and Renew line several weeks ago. I have
    a forehead filled with little pimples and a few here and there on the cheeks, chin and neck. I am not happy, as I feel self conscious like I did when I was 18. I am now 52 and have had nice skin for a long time. I will go back to Aveeno.

  • March 3, 2018

    by Jaime

    I have used literally every eye cream under the sun and was reading reviews on number 7 products . So I thought I would give it a try . I tried the cream that night and then in the morning which is what it listed on the instructions by that evening I had extreme sores and blisters under both eyes. I have never had a reaction to any type of cleanser makeup nothing this is definitely a first in my 40 years of life . Just wanted to contribute my review due to the horrible experience I have encountered .

  • December 22, 2017

    by Mark

    Fascinating. My wife has just worked out (by elimination) that the face creams give her an immediate allergic reaction. Not the sore face/redness syndrome; rather sneezing fits, streaming red eyes, coughing, running nose. Like a chronic hayfever attack. Lasts about 30mins.
    She has told me she has to use Creme de la Mer from now on.

  • December 12, 2017

    by Val

    Definitely irritates my skin

  • October 26, 2017

    by Boots 7

    I love boots 7 foundation so I figured I would try the skincare & Walgreens had a nice little starter kit for $25 that came with 5-6 products which the renew & restore & the facial oil were in so I picked it up about 2 weeks ago & now my face is burning & red under & around my nose as well as under my bottom lip... I've not used anything else except for the boots 7 for the past few weeks & I stopped using it tonight & plan on taking it back tomorrow.. my skin looks & feels horrible... I will continue to use the foundation...

  • August 6, 2017

    by Diane Cancilla

    I used the Restore & Renew cream and serum several years ago and really liked it. But now I am allergic to it. This morning I woke up with one eye tactically shut with swelling. My face is red and itchy. I put the cream on jus before going into work 24 hours ago. Now I need to take a day off. I look dreadful!!!!

  • May 6, 2017

    by Kate

    On the second day in using the Boots No7 daycream and night cream my eyelids are red and dry and burn, anyone else, and I would like to get my money back this stuff was pricey..

  • November 8, 2016

    by Stella

    I too have burning itchy skin, red blotches and puffy eyes. I have used No. 7 products for years and have never experienced anything like it. As I write this review I am itchy, with burning blotchy face and neck. I bought this particular product for the first time 4 days ago. They have discontinued the repair cream I used previously . I used it for three days as I didn't realise the build up in symptoms. I woke this morning and my eyes were almost closed. Going to contact Boots about it.

  • February 6, 2014

    by Kitty

    I found this article while searching the internet to find which ingredient Restore and Renew has, that none of the other Boots products have. I have used many other lines of the Boots No7 products, and have been impressed by them. The Restore and Renew is the first that I cannot use. I am 55, and just started the Restore and Renew four or five months ago. I have changed nothing else in my facial products, but have been continually getting more and more acne (not really pimples, more whitehead and blackheads). I have stopped the Restore and Renew at this time, but would appreciate it if anyone could tell me if they have had the same problems and if they have determined what ingredient caused it.

  • March 18, 2008

    by susan allport

    <p>Thought you'd be interested in this short omega-3 video: <a href="" rel="nofollow"></a></p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More