Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Reviewed and rejected: Rejuvacote Nail Growth System

October 8, 2013 Reviewed by Marta 32 Comments
I treat my finger nails as if they are instruments in a Swiss Army Knife, using them to prod, prise and pull at all manner of things. I use Bareille's nail growth cream to encourage the poor, ragged and chipped things to grow back. But what if I could protect them from breaking in the first place? Duri's Rejuvacote got my attention when I saw the rave reviews of hard-working people like nurses. Rejuvecote ($9.99 for 0.5oz) is supposed to be the answer for acrylic abused nails.

Perhaps I've been reading too many of my own blogs, because ever since the bottle arrived I've been eyeing it as though it's radioactive. It has all the ingredients that, if they turn up in a nail polish, I can guarantee will fry my fingers.

First of all, it has nitrocellulose. When not a nail polish ingredient, this is most commonly used as a wood finisher (for which it is much favored by guitar makers) and for smokeless gunpowder. Then there is toulene, a toxic paint thinner. Phthalates, as well as being nearly unpronounceable if you wear retainers, do horrible things to hormones and are banned from children's toys in Europe. Finally, there is formaldehyde, which is frequently blamed for drying out nails and, more worryingly, is a known toxin and carcinogen.

Ingredients: Ethly acetate, n-butyl acetate, nitrocellulose, toulenesulfonamide, formaldehyde, resin dibutyl, phthalate, isopropyl alcohol, camphor, calcium pantothenate, gelatin, hydrolized keratin protein.
  • December 5, 2016

    by Chris

    I have been using this product for a year and have not had any problems other than my nails growing long and nice....

  • October 6, 2016

    by Elaine Brand

    This article was written in2013 and since then quite a few of the ingredients mentioned have been removed as it is the law now not to have them in nail polish .Might I just mention that nitrocellulose is found in ALL nail polishes and Formaldehyde is in the air and on most vegetables including broccoli ... please google this if you don't believe me . Rejuvacote is a brilliant product . I would not advise that you use Rejuvacote 1 if your nails are recovering from nail drills and acrylic enhancements. I would start with Rejuvacote 2 and then once they have built up a little strength move onto Rejuvacote 1 .

  • February 12, 2016

    by Nancy

    Bad stuff

  • December 29, 2015

    by chris

    I've used this for 2 weeks now, and already my nails are growing...or at least growing at the same rate, but jest more protected and stronger due to the barrier of this polish that prevents breaking and peeling. So for me all good, except for some questionable ingredients, but as others have mentioned, it's kind of difficult to remove all things bad (hormones in meat, toxic chemicals, etc.), so staying with it at least for now.

  • December 16, 2015

    by Carol

    I have been using Duri Rejuvacote faithfully. The last several months my nails are getting shorter and shorter and peeling more and more so I decided to research side effects. I have every one of the side effects of using rejuvacote. I hope I can get my nails to grow again. I do not recommend this product and feel it should be banned. It has totally destroyed my nails.

  • June 26, 2015

    by Renee

    I am In Love with this product. I have been using it for one month and my nails are absolutely long already. I believe that taking care of your hands is essential and so is this product.

  • May 8, 2015

    by Laura

    Rejuvacote has worked wonders on my thin, wispy nails. They were dry and cracking which is why I wore acrylics and wraps for years.. That left my nails thinner and drier out after I stopped the acrylics. After Rejuvacote, within two months, my nails look as if I have acrylics, but they're mine, all mine!

    As to the chemicals in Rejuvacote, I'm concerned. I apply the product either outside or at an open window so I don't inhale the fumes from the formaldehyde.

  • May 2, 2015

    by Judy

    This product worked well for me. I accidentally shut my hand in a 4x4 truck door. Slammed it really hard & broke 3 fingers. Crushed the bone & still have fragments floating around in the tips. My nails on these fingers seemed permanently comprised but after using rejuvacote for about 60 days.... those nails are normal looking & growing. All of my nails are now healthy & strong.

  • March 24, 2015

    by Joey

    I'm really sorry to read any bad comments about Duri. As I got older, my once nice nails started looking damaged and broke easily. Okay...so I should NOT use them as some kind of tool! But I tried a hard as nails product. I didn't see any change. I bought Duri last July from Amazon and I couldn't believe what a fast improvement. I use just one coat for the average week. To be honest, I've actually had to cut my nails because they were growing so well. My nails look like I've had a professional manicure and I did this myself. That first bottle has lasted 9 months and I'm just now looking for a second one. If everyone stopped using all the products that contain something "bad" in them, we wouldn't be using much of anything. What bothers some people works just great for others. :)

  • March 18, 2015

    by Sherri

    Well, I don't know what is in the stuff. It works! I have NEVER had nails in my life except acrylic ones, and they made my thin-as-paper nails even worse. Rejuvacoat has give me awesome nails, strong and pretty. AND my cuticles are in better shape than ever! It is a wonderful product!

  • January 12, 2015

    by nique

    I really just LOOVVEE this product!..I have been using rejuvacote for almost 3 months and my nails are gorgeous!.people ask me all the time are they fake.lol.

  • December 2, 2014

    by Mattie

    I have been using Rejuvacote for 2 months and have found it has really helped my nails. I have been unable to polish my nails for years, because when I did they would start peeling and get weaker. A friend gave me a bottle to try and I have been very pleased.

  • October 12, 2014

    by Mavel

    I too saw and read raving reviews about this product. I went out and purchased mine over a month ago and I have given it the third and last try. My nails are worse than before I started to use this product. Almost all my tips split. They are more fragile and break easily. Whatever it is, this product was not effective for my nails at all.

  • May 24, 2014

    by linda

    I love it - I find it really works for my nails - and for at least 6 of my close friends. For years I suffered with a split nail - right down the middle to the cuticle, very painful. I put Acrylic on it to protect it. Now the nail has grown, with Rejuvacote as long as the nail is kept at medium length I do not have any problems.
    Not for everyone maybe but for us lucky ones - fabulous.

  • May 3, 2013

    by Barbra

    I orded a bottle last month and its almost all gone. I have been using as instructed but my nails have not gotten any better. As a matter of fact aftera few coats it will just peel off. I heard so many great thing about it but it dose not do anything for me.I will be doing a youtube review on it.

  • March 20, 2013

    by joanne

    I loved the results of rejuvacote, truly. I spent years struggling with weak, brittle nails. However, I had to give up rejuvacote; too toxic. I broke out in hives on my hands and face (hands toucing face). Initially I thought it was my makeup or my moisturizer but sadly it was rejuvacote. The stuff is deadly.

  • October 10, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Ana
    Please note that I have taken the liberty of editing your comment to change the capital letters to lower case. You are most welcome to contribute your comments on Truth In Aging, criticize and take issue. However, using all caps in sentences is the cyber equivalent to yelling. We ask that everyone ensure that their contributions are courteous. Thank you for your understanding.

  • October 10, 2012

    by Darrell

    Ana,
    I looked at internet archives of Duri's web site from four years ago, around the time Marta published the above in 2008. It seems Duri was not publishing their own FDA-required ingredient list back then, so perhaps the ingredient list used in the article was from an unreliable source.

    Here is the current ingredient list from Duri and it seems they may have reformulated between now and the four years since the date of Marta's post. It also seems they have a typo in their own ingredient list (trymethyl penthanyl is spelled trimethyl pentanyl):

    Ethyl Acetate, butyl acetate, nitrocellulose, toluenesulfonamide/formaldehyde resin, isopropyl alcohol, n-butyl alcohol, trymethyl penthanyl, dissobutyrate, camphor, hydrolized wheat protein, hydrolyzed keratin, hydrolized soy protein, calcium pantothenate.

    I am a formulator of skin care products -- have been for nearly ten years and while I have no interest, experience or expertise in nail formulas, I do keep a watch out for ingredients that are potentially irritants. In Rejuvacote, I see a number of questionable ingredients (be they norm in the nail industry or not) that if I included in any skin care formula, I would -- and should -- rightfully be lambasted.

    Some ingredients in Rejuvacote that while considered by the CIR to be safe as indicated here: http://www.cosmeticsinfo.org/ingredient_details.php?ingredient_id=1205

    ...Also have scientific reports as being irritants and known to cause contact dermatitis as indicated here: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/3416590

    The ingredients in question may be such which are the norm in the nail industry, but they are also ingredients I would never put on my body or want to come into contact with.

    As you shared in directing people to your own web site, I am sure you are more of an expert than I am when it comes to the ingredients in nail products.

    I am just sharing my own perspective that, effective or not, perhaps some of these nail product ingredients are doing more harm than good and perhaps if Duri was not sharing their own ingredient list in 2008, they created part of the problem with erroneous and misleading lists of ingredients.

    -Darrell

  • October 9, 2012

    by Ana at SimpleNailArtTips.com

    Marta is wrong for so many reasons

    If you're worried about Nitrocellulose, Solvents and Resins, you might as well completely give up on nail polish because they're all required.

    As Kim mentioned very well, Marta has not done her homework and is assuming that one ingredient is the same as another with a similar name. Toluenesulfonamide-formaldehyde-resin is simply not the same as the Formaldehyde used to preserve frogs for dissection.

    I just did an extensive investigative report on a similar nail strengthening product with almost identical ingredients.

    http://www.simplenailarttips.com/nail-polish-review/ask-ana-does-qtica-nail-growth-stimulator-work

    The people who are feeling burning, peeling, splitting and flaking nails are allergic to one or more of the ingredients.

    The only product you need to strengthen your nails is a Jojoba based Nail and Cuticle Oil.

    Hope that helps,
    ~Ana

  • October 5, 2012

    by Claire

    Best product ever for thin, weak and peeling nails. I have a serious thyroid issue which has caused me to have horrid hair and nails for years. At least my nails are now fantastic! Thanks Kim for the great explanation regarding supposed yucky ingredients. I will continue to use Duri Rejuvacote, tried everything else and stuck with OPI Nail Envy for years, rubbish!

  • August 24, 2012

    by Simone

    This product has transformed my nails from flaking, splitting and embarassing to hard-as-nails, strong, enviable beautiful nails. I have recommended it to my sister and several friends and they have all had excellent results with no side-effects whatsoever. I advocate this excellent product without hesitation because it really works!

  • May 15, 2012

    by Pat

    My daughter and I are both using rejuvocote and have been for about three months. We now have strong nails that have grown beautifully. We have always had nails that crack or peel. I think this is wonderful! and I've never had any side effects to date.

  • March 14, 2012

    by Rose

    I used rejuvocote and had terrible reaction, my nails were burning very badly. I stopped using it and now my nails are burned and they are peeling in large areas and splitting; they are in much worse condition than they were before. There was no warning on the package or bottle in reference to the burning that I believe is irresponsible. I will never use this product again and I have told all my friends about it.

  • March 1, 2012

    by Kim

    All, unfortunately Marta here is midleading you. While not having ingredients listed is frustrating as a consumer, one must understand the need for a company to protect intellectual property of their products. Also, the average person does not fully understand the chemical properties of these chemicals and this causes incorrect correlations and conclusions to be drawn. This is what has happened here,and happens all over the place. For example: what is listed as 3 individual ingredients is really one: toluenesulfonamide-formaldehyde-resin. What's the difference you may ask? In short, a LOT. Pure toluene and pure formaldehyde (gas) have some nasty properties. But where Marta has steered you wrong is this is NOT what is in this product. The resin is a product formed from a reaction that involves toluene, formaldehyde, and other ingredients. But the resin is not toxic and carcinogenic, like some of the pure reactants are. Why? If you remember back to high school chemistry, different reactants are combined to form a product. Due to the chemical changes caused by the reaction, the properties of the product are different than those of the individual reactants. Yet Marta here is implying that the resin ingredient makes the product toxic and carcinogenic, which it does not. Pure formaldehyde gas is toxic and carcinogenic. Pure toluene is toxic. Formaldehyde based resins are not (in fact you have them in your home, car, and in many many many of the plastic things you own). A fun fact to add on that note: formaldehyde gas is present in our atmosphere and in many fruits (even organically grown ones). You are exposed to more formaldehyde from these sources than any formaldehyde resin consumer product on the market. A second example from this article's many false conclusions involves nitrocellulose. While nitrocellulose can be combined with other reactants to make a wood finisher or gunpowder, those are not what is in this product. Therefore properties of a wood finisher or gunpowder have nothing to do with this product. Nitrocellulose is simply an ingredient in this product, as it is for the others. As a scientist I get disheartened when our fear mongering society assumes that the properties of one form of a chemical mean any form or product from that chemical have the same properties, because this is often not the case. I challenge you as a consumer and reader of this article to educate yourself on the chemistry and not simply believe everything you read. Marta, I recommend you brush up on your chemistry.

  • February 27, 2011

    by Valerie

    Marta, thanks so much for posting this information about Rejuvacote. I had a manicure done last week and Rejuvacote was used. I have had something really bothering my face since the manicure. I went on the Duri website to check the ingredients for Rejuvacote and they were not listed on their own website! How are companies allowed to sell these products with these dangerous ingredients in them. And, for the people who have commented to use it carefully, I don't think they understand that once that product is on your nails, you are touching your face, your children, food.....!

  • December 1, 2009

    by marta

    Deb, The best thing I have found for nail growth is Bareille. Check out our <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/body/five-best-for-hands-and-nails" rel="nofollow">Five Best for hands and nails</a>. (http://www.truthinaging.com/body/five-best-for-hands-and-nails).

  • November 27, 2009

    by Deb

    Ok, so you have me concerned about Rejuvocote's ingredients. It does work and it does burn my skin if I touch it while applying (cuticle for examle). So.... what is the best alternative?

  • June 21, 2009

    by marta

    Jill since your email address is Vilard Corp, a distributor of beauty products including Rejuvacote, the only one with a conflict of interest around here is you.

  • June 19, 2009

    by Jill

    Martha, i can clearly understand that you're either work for bariell or is getting paid to write your story. If you like barriel so much, you would write a positive story about it, but instead you trash a product that I and everyone I know used it for years and it worked a miracle for all.

  • June 4, 2009

    by Melissa

    I have tried tons of products for nail growth and this is the only one that has actually helped my nails, yes the ingredients seem harmful but like any other product use carefully and for what its made to be used for. But I do recommend this product and I do think it helps!

  • April 19, 2009

    by Donna

    I compared the ingredients in Nail Life, a nail revitalizer to Rejuvacoat ingredients - it also has nitrocellulose and formaldehyde in it - and yes, works as long as you wear it - I feel a burning sensation when I apply it. These products concern me and certainly are not scrutinized by the FDA or any watchdog. No long-term studies behind it, nor do most cosmetic products. BEWARE!

  • December 13, 2008

    by Aesthetician

    You do need to be careful with the rejuvacote products, but it isn't as toxic as you make it seem. Just be careful when applying and you will be just fine. You will, though, be able to look forward to healthier nails!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...