Free shipping on all orders over $39

Revita Hair Growth Stimulating Shampoo

Is a Solution for:
Oily Hair, Thinning Hair & Shedding, Dry or Brittle Hair
Reviewed by Marta November 26, 2011 9 Comments
Perhaps it’s the name – Revita. It reminds me of a brand of Scandinavian crispbread that was a mainstay od dieting misery in my teenage years. Or more likely it is the phallic shaped packaging. And something that evokes sports drinks. DS Laboratories Revita High Performance Hair Growth Stimulating Shampoo ((28.99) screams out that this is a guy’s product; tough and virile (presumably for men who are feeling a little inadequate as a result of their thinning pate). So this shampoo is probably not even meant for me. But I tried it anyway because a reader found a post on Revita from a couple of years ago when I took a look at it and asked me if I’d ever followed up.

As I hadn’t, it was high time that I did and so I revisited Revita’s ingredients and was reminded that they include some heavy hitters, such as the free radical scavenger, spin trap. I have seen no evidence that spin traps help hair grow, but the  formulation overall is pretty impressive with plenty of antioxidants and known hair growth stimulators such as copper peptides and emu oil. I might not be DS Laboratories’ target demographic, but I bought a bottle of Revita there and then.

Unfortunately my misgivings returned as soon as I opened it. The packaging might be aggressive, but the shampoo itself is an evil neon orange. This is not a shampoo that you want to stare at for too long if you have a hangover.

I am afraid that I can’t tell you if Revita helps hair grow. This shampoo claims to be anti-DHT (or dihydrotestosterone), which is a powerful form of testosterone that is found in the prostrate and hair follicles. This is a male baldness issue, but even some of the Revita ingredients such as copper peptides are known to help women’s hair loss or thinning as well. Nonetheless, I gave up using Revita anyway because it made my hair very dry.

And by dry, I mean parched. Despite liberal use of every conditioner I could lay my hands on, I started to look like Janis Joplin. Undoubtedly one of the best women vocalists ever, but her hair is not to be emulated. I concluded that Revita is not for me.

Ingredients: Water, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Coco Glucoside, Caffeine, Pyrus Malus Seed Extract (Apple), Aspalathus Linearis (Rooibos/Red Tea) Leaf Extract (Roobios), Apple Polyphenol (Procyanidin B-2), Ketoconazole, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Carnitine HCl, Ornitine HCl, Acetyl Cysteine, Dimethyl Sulfone (Methylsulfonyl Methane), Taurine, Emu Oil, Biotin (Vitamin H), Copper Peptides, Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis) Leaf Juice (Spray Dried), Glycereth 7, Glycerin, Oleanolic Acid, Polyquaternium 10, Glycol Stearate, Menthyl Lactate (Menthol Derivative), EUK-134 (SOD Mimic/Spin Trap), PEG 150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate, PEG 6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Menthol, Zinc PCA, Citric Acid, Sodium Chloride, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Tetrasodium EDTA, Red 40 Lake (CI 16035), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090)

  • April 2, 2015

    by white plains

    Hair loss runs in my family. I'm 26 years old and I started to lose my hair right after high school. My hairline started to recede and was becoming thin around the temple area. I've been using the Shielo Volume Shampoo now for 4-5 months now and I love it!
    Once I started using this shampoo with the conditioner as well, I've noticed a HUGE difference! My hair stopped falling out. My hair grows faster and its thicker....Don't expect this to grow hair where you lost it. It's not going to happen. But to stop and prevent hair from falling out, this is the stuff for you

  • April 18, 2014

    by vaibhav

    i will try above product but till now i have only used one product its HGP Hair growth product. I never use to buy any type of products for hair growth or weight loss etc but i tried this product HGP Hair Growth Pro as my own company Teleskyshopping sells this and its a good product.

  • March 14, 2013

    by Michele Watson

    I am so disappointed to read this as I have just ordered the whole range for my daughter who at 22 is losing so much hair that I am now taking her to see an endocrinologist. She is desperate to save her locks!Thanks guys anyway-I have told her we may try this once a week or just ditch it. $100 waste :-(
    My hair stopped shedding after using Osmotics FNS but is also very dry. Martas conditioner helps and I plan to reorder hers once my sample runs out.

  • March 13, 2013

    by Marcia

    I have used Revita for a full month now. My hair at first had the initial reaction of more hair loss and being extremely dry and sticky (like parched, like straw! it was pretty awful). But I stuck with it because I have used Terresentials (great product) in the past, and had the same initial reaction, as my hair detoxed from 'pharmacy brand' shampoo. DS labs says hair loss may increase during this period, so I tried to be patient. It paid off. My hair is finally bouncier and healthier than it ever has been, and less hair loss. You can use a homemade conditioner to combat the dryness, and 'stickiness' (plenty of recipes online; mine is distilled water, apple cider vinegar, rosemary oil, aloe vera, and glycerine). I just reordered it, so I'll let you know the long-term effect after I finish the next bottle.

  • December 1, 2011

    by Sean

    I too tried this Revita shampoo and it is indeed awful. I have had some degree of success with one of their hair regrowth products, though I'm not in love with it.

    Earlier this year I decided to swallow my male pride and lose my minoxidil virginity to a DS Laboratories product named Spectral DNC. I hadn't had any luck with Folligen lotion, cream, or spray, all used along with emu oil, so decided it was time for minoxidil (however I did recently order Folligen's Hair Signals product from the TIA store since it contains some different ingredients than the straight Folligen and is highly recommended by Marta, so I'll give it a try around my hairline).

    I've been using the Spectral DNC once a day, instead of the recommended twice a day, since Jan. 2011 and have had some hair regrowth in the areas where I apply it - the crown and around the hairline. Not phenomenal regrowth, but definitely enough to be encouraged to keep going with it. The new growth is a mix of thickish black hairs and barely visible thin white wisps (my hair is salt and pepper colored - mostly salt - so I guess this makes sense).

    Spectral DNC is pretty much odorless but is a brownish color so it's noticeable when it's on my scalp and hair (it's impossible to apply scalp products and not get some in your hair, too). For this reason, I only apply it once daily, at night, and wash it out in the a.m. It also feels slightly drying when it's on, but the dryness goes away after it's rinsed out. I'll be seeking out and trying a different minoxidil product - one that is both odorless AND colorless AND not drying - when this bottle of Spectral DNC runs out just for comparison. I'm not unhappy with the Spectral DNC, but I would switch to something with minoxidil that isn't so obvious after application and thus could be working its magic on the scalp during the day undetected.

    Anyway, what I set out to write in this lengthy comment post is about the Revita High Performance Hair Growth Stimulating Shampoo that Marta has reviewed, because back in Jan. I ordered it to use in conjunction with their Spectral DNC minoxidil product. The shampoo bottle I received was not phallic-shaped like Marta's, but the shampoo itself is every bit as terrible as Marta describes. I was tempted by the inclusion of some good ingredients, choosing to ignore the fact that they are far, far outweighed by horrible ingredients (they've done the equivalent of sprinkling a few flax seeds on fast food and calling it a healthy meal). I hung in there with the shampoo for about a couple of months thinking it might boost the effect of the minoxidil product as the company claims, but it clearly wasn't doing anything good at all - my hair felt stripped of any health and goodness it had and my scalp always felt dried out, even after a conditioner was added to the mix.

    I was able to restore the healthy feeling to my hair thanks to TIA recommended products from Nutra-Lift and John Masters Organics.

  • November 29, 2011

    by Jaysie

    I believe this company, DS Labs, has had some legal problems in the past. Can't remember the specifics but there were plenty of on-line complaints to read about a couple of years ago and I think some of them had to do with their formulations.

  • November 27, 2011

    by spo

    This stuff sounds very nasty. I agree with Julie Kay that it's truly 'action above and beyond the call of duty' for you to have tried it, Marta!

    I think that it having ketoconazole in it was a bit dangerous. Ketoconazole is a potent anti-fungal agent. Although at one time, it was considered, but rejected by the FDA, as a remedy for male pattern baldness, it is a destroyer of cell membranes and that could be why it causes such severe drying of the hair and scalp..

  • November 27, 2011

    by paul

    Hi Marta. I have used Revita shampoo and it is something that I fully regret. Followed labels instructions to the letter and within a few weeks found my hair loss GREATLY accelerated. I couldn't believe the condition in which this awful shampoo left my hair. You can find my review and a whole bunch just like it on amazon. Think using a shampoo with Ketoconazole in it as much as the label instructs is what is causing the hair loss in myself and others. Thanks!

  • November 26, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    Marta- What you DO put yourself through for the sake of "hands-on" reviews. Thank you for (what is for me) this warning. The last thing my aging hair needs is anything that dries it out; even for one wash. ~jk

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...