Free shipping on all orders over $39

Revive DNA now at the TIA store

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
Reviewed by Marta January 5, 2010 36 Comments
Revive DNA Rejuvenation Cream ($99.97) by PureRadiance is now at the TIA store.  I have been using it recently as a neck cream and I am very pleased with the results. The skin on my neck had been getting rough and a little scaly and it is now beginning to look much smoother.

The refreshingly short ingredients list includes teprenone. This has been uses for a while as a non-toxic treatment for ulcers (usually called geranylgeranylacetone). It has recently been found to be a heat shock protein inducer. Heat shock proteins (HSPs) are well known as cytoprotective proteins and recently have been linked to the regulation of telomeres activity.

Revive also includes xylitylglucoside anhydroxylitol xylitol, a sugar found in wheat and olives that helps skin retain moisture and boosts the skin’s natural hyaluronic acid. It improves the barrier function of the skin, increasing ceramide synthesis. There is also a Middle Eastern plant called astragalus. Topically, it can also be used to treat wounds and burns. According to the University of Maryland, it is an antioxidant and anti-inflammatory.

Behind PureRadiance is Dr Al Sears, a health and aging guru. Initially, I was put off by his tacky websites selling supplements called Primal Force that look as if they should be selling Viagra. And when Dr Sears promises to "switch on your immortality" gene, there is more than a whiff quackery about him. One of the things he is known for is insisting that aerobic exercise and long-distance running are bad for you. So I decided to buy his exercise book PACE and see whether Sears was indeed nuts.

PACE is not a revolutionary theory. Dr Sears is basically advocating interval training. However, his arguments are well made and backed by plenty of references to independent studies. I felt inspired to modify my own exercise program (using a rowing machine) to follow his suggested sets of short bursts that push the heart rate followed by rapid recovery periods. I definitely felt that I had had a better workout that I've had for a while. One thing is for sure, Dr Sears could do with an image consultant.

Ingredients in Revive

Purified Water, Squalane, Hyaluronic Acid, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (natural thickening agent derived from coconut), Teprenone, Polyacrylate 13, Polyisobutene, Polysorbate 20, Xylitylglucoside, Anhydroxylitol, Xylitol, Astragalus, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin.
  • January 13, 2010

    by Norma

    I turn 51 next month and would love to try this. At age 50, I really started noticing big changes in my face. It seemed to be the big turning point in wrinkles for me.

  • January 12, 2010

    by Michelle

    Hi, Marta! I turned 40 last August and have found that I am getting more and more wrinkles around my eyes, mouth and forehead. With that, and living in Ohio, my skin tends to get really dry especially around my nose area as well as it gets beat red when it's cold!

    I also ride a motorcycle in the warmer months and although I wear a helmet and protective clothing, my skin is exposed to the wind which causes it to be dry and I'm sure quickens the wrinkles "process."

    I would really like the opportunity to try this product and give you my results.

    Happy Birthday, Marta!
    Michelle

  • January 11, 2010

    by Kimberley

    I would love, love, love to try this out! I am almost 41 and have been hunting for something to help with the fine lines/wrinkles that I am seeing crop up overnight. I am very sensitive to products and tend to break out at the drop of a hat. On the flip side of that I am noticing that my cheeks and mouth/jawline area are being very dry. It's almost impossible to find something that will work on my skin. And honestly, what is up with still having acne/breakout prone skin after 40 AND having to deal with wrinkles and loss of elasticity?!?! :-).

  • January 11, 2010

    by Laura

    I would be a great candidate to try this cream. I suffer from sensitive/adult acne-prone/dry/oily/crow-footed skin and I need help!!! It seems as if a product does not inflame my skin, it dries it out, causes acne breakouts, or does something else new & terrible. I love the simple list of ingredients and feel that the anti-inflammatory action would help my terrible allergy-prone and sensitive skin. Thanks!

  • January 11, 2010

    by Linda Stoner

    I ordered this cream yesterday, and will keep you posted on the results. I love the short list of ingredients with this cream, as I am trying to reduce the amount of chemicals which penetrate my skin.

  • January 10, 2010

    by Colleen

    Would love to try this cream. Presently trying to recover from the chemo "uglies". At 53, it's hard. Love your site.

  • January 8, 2010

    by JulieK

    Marje- don't anguish too awfully much. Keep reading TIA and experimenting with potions you read about and think to try based on ingredients you learn about here. Over this last decade I've "youthened" my look with moderate attention/care and a tight budget AND, most important, the goodness surrounding and within TIA. ~jk

  • January 8, 2010

    by Marje

    I only began to see real changes in my skin over the last three years. Now at 53, I figure it's only because of my 50th birthday. Some kind of mental thing there. Don't really understand why I figured this would never happen to me. I've always advocated skin care. Started using Noxema/Oil of Olay when I was 14 and progressed from there. Actually the first visible sign of aging was in my neck. Now, a pain in the neck. I keep standing in front of the mirror (gently, gently) pulling my loose skin to see what I would look like without it! Maybe 10 years younger? Maybe not. I've also noticed a decrease in firmness around the jawline. This all has me confused, yet willing to try any product that promises an improvement.

    Happy New Year to All of You~
    Marje

  • January 7, 2010

    by Yvonne Blackwood

    Hi Marta,

    I am a Personal Trainer and Nutritional Consultant. I would love to try Revive, the funny thing is that I use xylitol as an alternative to sugar in my food, maybe I should try som on my face!

    Sincerely,
    Yvonne Blackwood
    Blackwood Health Consultants

  • January 7, 2010

    by L

    Happy Birthday, Marta!
    You are a wonderful person!
    We visibly see your attributes!
    Thank you for helping us!!!

  • January 7, 2010

    by Mark

    Happy birthday Marta! Unfortunately I, too, am seeing the effects of time on my neck and would love to try a product that might keep the "rings of time" off my neck. It seems to be one of the most difficult areas to treat. Thanks for the great opportunity.

  • January 6, 2010

    by Suca

    Hello Martha:
    I turned 45 on Dec 24th...and 've been researching everything possible to use in my skin that would revert, correct, change, fix, etc etc etc to help myn skin. I am mom to a toddler 2 1/2, and often in playdates and socializing with moms that are in their majority under 30...no need to say that I feel so old! Pls help me not be mistaken by grandma yet...let me try this one. PS: Thank you for all the teaching on ingredients.I've learned a lot with your reviews... Also tried and loved your store! Thanks again,
    Sue

  • January 6, 2010

    by sue becca

    Hello Martha:
    I turned 45 on Dec 24th...and 've been researching everything possible to use in my skin that would revert, correct, change, fix, etc etc etc to help me look younger... :)...I am a new mom too, and having a todler 2 1/2 years old put you in a situation of playdates and socializing with moms that are in their majority under 30...no need to say that I feel so old! Pls help me not be mistaken by grandma yet...let me try this one. PS: Thank you for all the teaching on ingredients...I've learned a lot since I started reading your reviews. Also tried and loved your store! Thanks again,
    Sue

  • January 6, 2010

    by Primrose Krasicki

    I would love to try Revive sounds very interesting .Id be interested in more results info when its ready . Re the medico's exercise credo's .I think he is spot on.Apart from genes I do think movmement is so important to older people. Iknow a 95 year old gentleman in Ireland who goes disco dancing every weekend at his own pace !! Sound crazy but not only is he sharp ad a tack but he certainly has great balance and is very very supple for his age ! Best wishes fro 2010 I really look foward to my weekly indulgence of TiA its information is simply the best !! Primrose Krasicki,7.1.10

  • January 6, 2010

    by maria

    Happy Birthday, Marta!

  • January 6, 2010

    by rileygirl

    I'd like to try the Revive DNA out. I am most interested in the claim that it boosts the skins natural hyaluronic acid and helps the skin retain moisture.

  • January 6, 2010

    by Pamela Keenan

    Just had a facial today and the esthetician told me I had to change my regimen as my skin was not in good shape. I'm 57 and no one has ever told me that before. I had been using some of the other products recommended by this site (don't want to mention them) for the past month. I'm a good candidate try Revive and show improvement as my baseline is not so good!
    Pamela Keenan

  • January 6, 2010

    by michlny

    Always love to try and find new products that may actually work!!

  • January 6, 2010

    by betty

    would love to try this product. This format of writing a review in liou of possibly receiving a frre sample is a wonderful way to get a response and give people a chance at decreasing the amount we spend on our products. I do know atralagus is also an herb used in eatern medicine is in a lots of immune supppot supplements and is said to increase vitalitiy and overall well being. love products that also incorporate natural medicinal botanicals. Im a sucker for long list of wonderful sounding oils, naturally derived botanicals

  • January 6, 2010

    by jada

    I would love to try Revive - I need all of the help I can get! No gray hairs, but lots of wrinkles.

  • January 6, 2010

    by Chris

    I've been using the CellBone products and love them...for my face. They don't seem to be making much of a dent in the deep crease in my neck. I'm at my wit's end...how many more products can I buy??? I'd love to try it on my neck and chest and see how it works compared to the CellBone products. Thanks Marta!

  • January 6, 2010

    by Sharon

    Thanks Marta it is on my list for my 5oth! Happy Birthday to you also. It is rare for me to find someone who shares the same birthday as I. Glad I found your site also it is very informative. Sharon

  • January 6, 2010

    by Angela

    Happy Birthday, Marta!

  • January 6, 2010

    by marta

    I do have Baby Q and I love it. I used it last night!

  • January 6, 2010

    by Sharon

    Wow Marta you look great. Thanks for the birthday wishes! I was thinking about getting the Baby Q for my 50th do you have this Marta? What are your thoughts on it if you do. Sharon

  • January 6, 2010

    by Dolores Vonrad

    I would love to test. I am 63 live in a desert climate.......I think that pretty much says it all, except I could use a bit of help

  • January 6, 2010

    by Matina

    I too would love to try this new cream. I change my skincare regime often as I've yet to find something I truly love and get intrigued by all the different options available. I'm currently using Bellaplex and Your Best Face and am pretty pleased with the results although, some things are just inevitable. The fight continues however and I'm hoping to never have to resort to surgery. I'm really glad I've found your site, have enjoyed it for over a year now and I love to read about all the latest products.
    Happy Birthday!
    Matina

  • January 6, 2010

    by lisa

    First things first: the shorter the list of ingredients, the better it sounds to me - in everything from food to beauty products.

    Second, as an ex-runner, I 100% believe in the PACE theory. Also, running isn't so hot for the skin, either - all that jarring up and down gives evil gravity a helping hand in the sag department.

  • January 6, 2010

    by marta

    Happy birthday Sharon,

    I turned 50 today!

  • January 6, 2010

    by Emily

    I am currently using Clinique's anti-aging regime. So far, it hasn't helped my facial or neck wrinkles. Their products also make my skin feel drier. I would love to try the Revive DNA if there is any chance that it will help my wrinkles.

  • January 6, 2010

    by Carrie

    Love all the ingredients you listed. Sounds very interesting and worth a try. As for Dr Sears exercise theory. I've been doing interval training workouts for years and works well for me. Small burst of cardio mixed in with strength traing! Its the best way to go!

  • January 6, 2010

    by Morgan

    Seems like a lot of science behind this product. Sounds like it's certainly worth a try!

  • January 6, 2010

    by Angela

    My neck is still the bane of my existence. It is losing elasticity and looks older than what a soon to be 44 year old neck should look like. I would love to give Revive a try and see if it makes a difference.

    Sharon - happy birthday!

  • January 6, 2010

    by Lisa White

    It would be a priveledge to try this out! It should work really well with the beauty water my water machines makes! Thanks so much for your consideration! Lisa White

  • January 6, 2010

    by dana

    Marta's review was helpful with respect to the product but I wasn't particularly interested in her theories about the good doctor's exercise program Interval training is pretty basic...

  • January 6, 2010

    by Sharon

    Today I turned 48 I would love to try this cream. I am currently using DIY C serum and Retin A and I have truly transformed my once aging sun damaged skin. thanks for the review

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...