Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Revive DNA Rejuvenation Cream- tested and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
December 24, 2009 Reviewed by Marta 12 Comments
Update June 2010: we are no longer recommending this or selling it as we found it is the exact same formula as a cheaper version by CSI (click for more on this and other product twins).

I have been testing and very much like Revive DNA Rejuvenation Cream. It is an anti-ager that packs a high moisturizing punch and I have used it to good effect on crow's feet and as a quencher for the thirsty skin on my neck. The star of Revive's show is teprenone, arguably the new 'it' ingredient especially since it became associated to Nobel Prize winning research on telomeres.

First, a quick telomeres 101. If DNA is broken there are two options after the cell cycle is stopped: repair or death. If cells divided without telomeres, they would lose the end of their chromosomes, and the necessary information it contains. They are often described as being like the tips on the ends of shoelaces that stop them unraveling. Telomeres shorten every time a cell divides. When they become very short, they trigger cell crisis and cell death. As we know, cells can only replicate a limited number of times – a phenomena called the Hayflick Limit. There’s more on telomeres in an article posted last August.

Teprenone, also marketed as Renovage, promises to stabilize telomeres so that they won’t shorten any further than they already have. In addition to Revive, you'll find teprenone/Renovage in Your Best Face's Boost and Osmotics Renovage eye cream.

The refreshingly short ingredients list in Revive includes xylitylglucoside anhydroxylitol xylitol, which might sound like a song from Mary Poppins but is in fact a sugar found in wheat and olives that helps skin retain moisture and boosts the skin’s natural hyaluronic acid. It improves the barrier function of the skin, increasing ceramide synthesis. This ingredient isn't all that common, but you will find it in Hydrapeptide's Lash growth product. Revive also has a Middle Eastern plant called astragalus. Topically, it can also be used to treat wounds and burns. According to the University of Maryland, it is an antioxidant and anti-inflammatory.

It must be noted that there are a few fillers; polyacrylate is a film former, polyisobutene is a thermoplastic, and polysorbate 20 is an emulsifier that can cause skin irritation. Whilst eshewing parabens, Revive uses the preservative phenoxyethanol, a known allergan.

Revive is made by PureRadiance, a newish company that also makes Infuse, a hair thickener. Behind PureRadiance is Dr Al Sears, an odd character to say the least and I must admit that I can't work him out. He appears all over the internet with hair that varies from buzz cut to lion's mane apparently decrying sensible things such as exercise and sunscreen. Underneath the image of a tacky pedlar of supplements such as CQ10 (the PureRadiance website thankfully seems to be in the hands of entirely different marketing team), Dr Sears is rather intriguing. He actually does promote exercise, its just that it looks a lot like interval training and I don't disagree with him that chemical sunscreens are potentially harmful. On the other hand, he is selling a pill that is supposed to give you sun protection. Anyway, I shall look into Dr Sears...More to come.

Ingredients in Revive

Purified Water, Squalane, Hyaluronic Acid, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (natural thickening agent derived from coconut), Teprenone, Polyacrylate 13, Polyisobutene, Polysorbate 20, Xylitylglucoside, Anhydroxylitol, Xylitol, Astragalus, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin.
  • March 20, 2016

    by LeighAnn's_Opinion

    I love.... ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!! IT IS TRULY GODSENT!!!

  • June 11, 2010

    by marta

    Rileygirl, we discovered that Revive DNA is the exact same formula as a much cheaper cream by CSI and wrote about it <a href="http://truthinaging.com/face/face-moisturizers/csi-telomere-fine-line-repair-cream-reviewed-and-recommended" rel="nofollow">here</a>: http://truthinaging.com/face/face-moisturizers/csi-telomere-fine-line-repair-cream-reviewed-and-recommended. We found an identical twin for the same company's <a href="http://truthinaging.com/face/body/are-you-paying-double-for-the-exact-same-cosmetic" rel="nofollow">hair product</a> too. http://truthinaging.com/face/body/are-you-paying-double-for-the-exact-same-cosmetic
    Obviously, we are no longer recommending Revive DNA or any other Pure Radiance products and we stopped selling them.

  • June 10, 2010

    by Junko

    Rileygirl...was wondering where you'd been. You've been MIA. Nice to you see commenting again.

  • June 10, 2010

    by L

    Yes, I can see a difference. A good one!

  • June 10, 2010

    by rileygirl

    Anyone using this? I just got an email about Revive and am curious is people are still using and liking this and if they truly see a remarkable difference in their skin?

  • February 18, 2010

    by L

    Still loving it. When I run out, I will be purchasing it again.
    It is incredibly smooth and creamy and makes
    my face feel wonderful. I do the PACE also and love it.
    I can see a difference with Dr. Sears products.
    I think when you see his hair looking short, it is probably
    pulled back...don't know for sure. I do know for sure I like his products.
    Thank you, Marta, for telling us about Revive. I am so glad I use it.
    L

  • February 1, 2010

    by L

    I have been using Revive for half a week.
    It is great. My skin looks incredibly healthy.
    Pores getting smaller. My face feels incredibly smooth.
    I will keep you posted if there are any changes.
    I am so glad I ordered it from TIA.
    I was using Osmotics. That is also a great line of skincare.

  • January 6, 2010

    by Yvonne Blackwood

    Hi Marta,

    I had already read about this product and was ready to try it. I am a Personal Trainer and my clients are always asking me about the products I find beneficial. I enjoy any project that can be measured(like before and after pictures for weight loss), why not try it with my skin?

    Sincerely,
    Yvonne Blackwood
    Blackwood Health Consultants

  • January 4, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Kim,
    The main thing in the sunscreen supplements is Glisodin. This is cantaloupe (a source of superoxide dismutase) and wheat protein. There are some clinical trials but either sponsored by the manufacturer or fairly small - from what I could find.

  • December 28, 2009

    by marta

    Geranylgeranylacetone is indeed a non-toxic treatment for ulcers. It has recently been found to be a heat shock protein inducer. Heat shock proteins (HSPs) are well known as cytoprotective proteins and recently have been <a href="http://www.enotalone.com/article/10851.html" rel="nofollow">linked</a> to the regulation of telomeres activity. However, I agree that there isn't any independent evidence of the topical effectiveness of teprenone.

  • December 27, 2009

    by Arandjel

    Teprenone, or geranylgeranylacetone, is a pharmaceutical drug, used to treat gastric ulcers. From what I've managed to research, there is no substantial evidence to support topical application for the purpose of skin rejuvenation. Of course, Sederma, the manufacturer of Renovage, claims to have conducted lab trials with successful results, but then again they attribute almost magical powers to all of their products. So, even though teprenone theoretically could be beneficial, I am still leery of these cosmetic companies, using their customers as lab rats. One would expect the FDA to regulate this more strictly, just as they did with that Jan Marini eyelash product.

    (Additionally, for the same reasons as above, I also question the use of aminoguanidine in Osmotics' Renovage Cellular Eye Repair.)

  • December 26, 2009

    by Kim

    Marta,

    In theory, the idea of building your tolerance to the sun internally doesn't seem that odd to me. What's your take on what is actually in his pills. Just curious...

    thx
    kim

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...