Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Révive Moisturizing Renewal Cream

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
March 25, 2011 Reviewed by Marta 8 Comments
Sometimes I seem to be stalked by a product and currently it is Révive Moisturizing Renewal Cream ($160), which is potentially an anti-aging moisturizer. I was struck by a couple of things: the Frenchification of the name Révive (this word, with its accent over the first ‘e’ does not exist in French by the way) and the fact that the active is epidermal growth factor – which has to be the ingredient du jour that tout l’America is talking about.

Révive anti aging moisturizers should not be confused with Revive DNA by Dr. Sears. Behind it, however, is another doctor. Dr. Gregory Bays Brown is a plastic surgeon and looks like Dr. Brandt’s younger brother (although, mercifully, less creepy). The Révive website positions Dr. Brown as if he had made the breakthrough discovery that epidermal growth factors used for wound healing could be used to repair age-damaged skin. Many other companies make the same claim and I doubt that he was first. Still, EGFs do seem to be a very effective ingredient.

They are essentially the proteins that are used in various combinations in other high end serums such as E’shee’s or ReLuma’s (both of which are very good). Révive’s formula has EGF. However, whereas human growth conditioned media (the ReLuma formula of 9 different growth factors) is the dominant ingredient, in Révive the EGF is half way down the list.

What comes before it are ingredients that are fairly mediocre. For instance, the second most dominant ingredient (after water) in Révive is diisopropyl dimer dilinoleate. This is derived from vegetable oil and gives the skin a feeling of softness, but it barely penetrates at all (one of the reasons why it is used a lot to make lipsticks). The third ingredient is an exfoliant, glycolic acid, and is probably responsible for promised Révive Glow.”

There are moisturizing glycerin, sodium hyaluronate and squalane. Avocado oil and shea butter are also helpful. But I am left concluding that the EGF had better be really good to make Révive worthwhile. Well, there’s only one way to find out. I’ve bought some and will test and report back in a few weeks.

Ingredients

Water (Aqua), Diisopropyl Dimer Dilinoleate, Dicaprylyl Maleate, Glycolic Acid, Cyclomethicone, Glycerin, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Glyceryl Stearate, DEA-Cetyl Phosphate, Cetyl Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, Isostearic Acid, Stearic Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Squalane, Sclerotium Gum, Recombinant EGF, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil Unsaponifiables, Glycolipids, Sodium Hyaluronate, Bisabolol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Sodium PCA, Allantoin, Dimethicone, Disodium EDTA, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Limonene, Linalool, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Oil.
  • March 27, 2011

    by Valerie

    Thanks a bunch Junko. I too have bought several items from ebay. But, i never thought to give the samples a try. Thanks!!! I'm trying the new Osmosis Stem Factor, which I bought in the 12.5 ml size for about $40(on ebay actually). I'll let you know if I see any results. It seems we're on the same page. You're sweet. Thanks again!

  • March 26, 2011

    by Junko

    Valerie * I think that we all, no matter what our incomes allow, would like to try these outrageously expensive products...just to see. I know I do. Let me share with you (as I wink at Julie) that the only reason I am trying Revive is that I've found samples on ebay. If you buy the sample packet .07 oz. (7 of these make up .5 oz.) at $2 a packet, then you'd be able to try this product for 2 weeks (1 pk. lasts me 3 days) for $14.00. I'm thrilled that I can satisfy my Leo's urge for a product like this for $14. I like the moisturizing Renewal Cream. I haven't gone thru the ingredients to see if they are harmful or not. My desire to try this product had nothing to do with TIA, health or economics. I just wanted to try out something so extraordinarily expensive that had growth factors (my new big obsession since E'shee). I would like to try La Mer's Concentrate as well, just to see. Sharing this ebay info might give me bidding competition on these samples now ~ but I love this community so much that I need to share this with you as well :) Big hug to you Valerie!

  • March 26, 2011

    by Valerie

    Thanks for the input Sunday. I do greatly appreciate knowing that when I do spend the money for a high end product, that I can rely on results because of everyone's feedback from TIA. Also, I never realized how much chemical I was slathering all over myself until TIA provided the education to know better. I'm reading my labels now like I do for food. Sometimes, I am shocked by what they are selling us. If we continue to educate each other, we'll all be better off. Until TIA, I was a blind and desperate woman in search of the fountain of youth. Now, at least, I am educated and can see if I am paying for irritants, fillers, and preservatives. The power of information is invaluable. I just wish we had the power to change the cosmetic industry. Anyway, I apologize for my rant. My BF recently said I needed an intervention w/all of my lotions, potions, and gadgets. Well, then of course, he said "you should have them if it makes you happy." And no, it doesn't make me happy, it just makes me feel like I am trying. But why do we need to try so much? Men don't. Why can't we just age? It's not fair and I suppose that's just the way it is. BooHoo!

  • March 25, 2011

    by Sunday

    Hello Ladies! 2 mid-range products I am loving right now are Senzen Double Dose Eye Cream and YBF Concentrate Antioxidants which I am adding to *gasp* Hope in a jar (1/2 a tub left, what can I say...) and it is working FABULOUSLY! I'm going to write a review on both ~ but as far as mid-range goes these 2 are GREAT! Oh and I can't forget Cellbone's Super AOX Skin Firm Moisturizer, another fantastic mid-range product. But you are right Valerie, if the people who I take heed from ALL were raving about a $200. cream, I would want to try it too, hoping that it may hold back the years for a bit longer. Well and truth be told that is one of the reason a year ago I went on my search for something better ~ I knew it was out there, I just didn't know where to put my mid-range money...and well Philosophy products were good enough...until the day they weren't...and then I found TIA. I so appreciate that I can trust what gets posted here, like when Junko replied to me about Senzen Eye Cream...well worth my money!!! I want to say more here but then I spoil a future review (obviously a positive review). I'm just REALLY grateful for all your judicious reviews and comments and I fully agree with Valerie, for awhile there I was a easy target, so were my friends...some still are and marketing knows it. One of my girlfriends really does not believe that her Olay products are causing her skin congestion and break outs because the commercials and adds are sooo beautiful...and they send her coupons too ~ geez! Anyway maybe one day I'll be able to afford higher end products...currently I am saving my pennies to buy YBF Correct and THE ONLY REASON I'm doing that is because I've seen enough positive feedback HERE to warrant my spending!

  • March 25, 2011

    by Valerie

    Julie Kay, I agree with you. It is starting to seem like you guys are reviewing more and more expensive products. You'll be our savior when you find one that is affordable and gives really amazing results. I know the profit margin on these products is insane. We give these companies the power to do so by being so desperate (I am) to find the fountain of youth. I suspect aging women are an easy target. It doesn't help that we also look skeptically at products that don't break the bank because we think "they couldn't possibly work if they were affordable." (For example your product twins Marta for CE Ferulic) This is clearly proof that they don't need to charge so much. Now don't get me wrong, I finally broke down and bought YBF Correct and SenZen (which isn't actually expensive for the size of the jar). I felt desperate. I read an article that said Creme de la Mer sells for 530 pounds and the ingredients cost 25 pounds. I'm sorry it is just frustrating and seems to be getting worse. Ugh! Thanks for letting me get that off my chest. I do appreciate your lists for mid range products. Maybe you should create your own line.

  • March 25, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    I second that, Junko! This cream will never touch my skin- well, never say never, I suppose- but the price point is silly as well as out of my reach. But I'm eager to see how these particular ingredients play out. ~jk

  • March 25, 2011

    by marta

    Junko, please, please write a review when you've had a few more week's experience of it.

  • March 25, 2011

    by Junko

    I've been using this for a couple of weeks at night (supposed to be a night-time cream I believe). It's the glycolic that I like, and I think it's the glycolic that's making my skin look a bit brighter and fresher. I'm counting on ReLuma during the day for smoothing out wrinkles ;)

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...