Free shipping on all orders over $39

RMS Beauty Lip Shine- reviewed and recommended

Reviewed by Marta January 6, 2012 16 Comments

Pros

Pretty shades, antioxidant protection

Cons

Needs topping up every few hours
RMS makes a pretty, subtle lip shine that does you good

It’s probably just an indication of my innate eccentricity that a couple of years ago I became obsessed with the moringa tree. It has extraordinary nutritional powers and cleansing powers, but very few cosmetic companies seemed to have cottoned on to it. And then I discovered it in, of all things, a lip gloss and I was bowled over when the maker of it, RMS Beauty, described moringa as the “miracle tree” and predicted that this would become my “new healthy addiction”. Hey, I’m already there!

I will come back to moringa, but the less nerdy amongst you probably just want to know if RMS Beauty Lip Shine ($25) is any good. Well, I love it. And, as a rule, I can’t abide lip gloss. Actually, “Lip Shine” is a good name for it. It doesn’t have that gloopy texture of gloss; rather it is lip color with a nice shine to it. I love the color – I have “Bloom” - and once on it is a light pink with a touch of brown that is very flattering for me. It is comfortable, protects my lips from the harsh cold winds of late, is pretty and I feel that is doing my pout some actual good.

Which it is – thanks to moringa. This tree is so amazing that some people believe that if you planted enough of them, moringas could be the solution for world hunger. Its leaves (which, unusually for a tree, are pure protein), pods and flowers have seven times the vitamin C found in oranges, four times the vitamin A of carrots and three times the potassium of bananas.  In India, the seeds are used to clean wells. My lips are also pleased to be in contact with an anti-ager. Moringa has loads of zeatin, a powerful cytokinin that protects the integrity of skin cells.

Another potentially potent and useful ingredient is gotu kola. Some studies indicate that triterpenoids found in Gotu Kola strengthen the skin, boost antioxidants in wounds, and increase blood supply to the area. It's also thought to boost the production of type I collagen and myofibroblasts.

As with all RMS Beauty products, there’s nothing not to like (except titanium dioxide). The performance quibble I have is that Lip Shine does need topping up every few hours. But, for me, this is a small price to pay for a product that has elevated the humble lip gloss to a something that looks pretty and is pretty good for me.

Ingredients: castor seed oil, coconut oil, moringa oil, carnauba wax, cocoa seed butter, beeswax, centella asiatica extract (gotu kola), rosemary extract, tocopherol (vitamin E). Non GMO. May contain red iron oxide, yellow iron oxide, black iron oxide, titanium dioxide

  • June 25, 2012

    by Sam

    I am in love with Ilia, a new organic makeup line. My skin is dry and sensitive, and the Rms lipsticks dried out my lips. I had to switch to the Ilia ones, as they offer greater hydratation with an incredible long lasting color. And the color edition is amazing.

  • January 12, 2012

    by Phyllis

    Second try; hope it works! I am in love with RMS products, especially the lip ones. The lip shine are sheer and add just a touch of moisturizing texture. My fave, though, are the lip2cheek. Colors can be layered, while allowing some of the natural color to show through. I have been searching for the perfect lip color for years and, between the shine and lip2cheek, I finally have found options that I love!

  • January 12, 2012

    by mary clay

    i would love to try anything! my husband has had me on a "no buy" for about a year now and i just want to put new cosmetics on! also i'm 41 and have the oiliest skin ever!

  • January 12, 2012

    by Asya

    I would love to test that as well! During the winter I always chappy lips and I am trying different combos to ensure continuous hydration (Sevani oil followed by a cocoa balm and Hydropeptide for exfoliation). I love RMS foundation and I am sure that their lip shine is as well a quality product, that can be safely applied to the lip area, which is very important.

  • January 12, 2012

    by Ashlee

    Wow! this looks really promising..I would love to try it and see if it improves mine.

  • January 11, 2012

    by Gail wilson

    This product sounds very interesting to try. My bad/nervous habit is biting my lips which in the winter creates some very chapped lips. I do use lip gloss but find it rather sticky feeling. I would love to review this and learn more about the benefits of the mooring tree!

  • January 11, 2012

    by mellia

    I'm kinda crazed about finding the perfect lip balm, so I'm interested in testing it as well. So far my #1 fav is Coola liplux with SPF 15, and I'm curious to see how this one compares since they both have very natural ingredients.

  • January 11, 2012

    by Patri

    Having tried them all and still counting, I'm in!

  • January 11, 2012

    by Lauren

    I am having more trouble this winter with my lips than ever and I would love to try this!

  • January 11, 2012

    by Ann

    Yes please! My lips are soooo dry this time of year I seem to spend all day putting lip balm on. I'd love to try this one.

  • January 11, 2012

    by Bobbie

    I have fibro and because of this condition my lips are always very dry due to all the meds . I would love to try this this product as nothing I have tried has helped so far.

  • January 11, 2012

    by Michelle

    I just ordered several bags of moringa powder last week. I had no idea that they were using this in cosmetic products as well. I will be ordering this when I make another order. I loved this review Marta. You were right on about its amazing properties. If anyone would like to know more about the moringa tree you can pull up the information on Longevity Warehouse.

  • January 11, 2012

    by Sharon

    Another one who loves lip color and this one looks perfect for the natural look I want to go for now being newly turned 50

  • January 11, 2012

    by Deborah Harvey

    As per your newsletter, I would love to try this.
    Thank you so much,
    DH

  • January 11, 2012

    by Amy

    I am a true lip junkie....I would love to try this, as I have tried some of their other products and like them!

  • January 11, 2012

    by Amy

    I have tried some of their other products and really like them! I would love to try the lip shine!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...