Free shipping on all orders over $39

Rodan & Fields Amp MD dermaroller and serum- reviewed and rejected

Reviewed by Marta March 6, 2013 56 Comments

White coated dermatologists Katie Rodan and Kathy Fields are best known for creating Proactiv Solutions acne treatment products., which by and large Truth In Aging finds to be based on harsh ingredients and overpriced. The inseparable doctors also have an anti-aging line called Rodan + Fields Multi-Med. It is telling in my view that the information they chose to give us on the website’s “about page” is that they have won an award for direct marketing and have a patent pending for  tool that is basically a dermaroller.

Rodan & Fields Amp MD is a dermaroller (or micro-needle) tool that comes in a 60-day kit costing an astonishing $200. The idea behind dermarolling is that small needs puncture the skin thereby enabling better penetration of a serum. The trauma of pricking the skin with needles is also supposed to prompt a repair response leading to improved looking skin. Personally, I regard dermarolling as masochistic, potentially unhygienic, and unnecessary (as a good serum should be able to penetrate the skin without it being cut up first).

Now, if I was to submit to dermarolling, I’d want to follow up with a really good serum and I certainly wouldn’t want anything nasty in it that that my punctured skin would be receptive to. The serum that Rodan + Fields sells with Anti-Age Amp MD kit has as its very first ingredient one that may cause mild skin irritation, cyclopentasiloxane, a silicone. Generally, silicone molecules are too large to enter the surface of the skin and, as is the case with cyclopentasiloxane (in vitro tests show that less than 2% penetrates the skin). But what of skin that has been subjected to Amp MD? Unfortunately, silicone, when it enters the body, can be toxic, according to the Journal of Toxicology and other sources.

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest product reviews and save 10% on all orders over $50

The second ingredient is another silicone. Cosmetic Ingredient review (CIR) Expert Panel reviewed the data surrounding dimethicone, and assessed it as safe to use in personal care products. They determined that because of the large molecular weight of silicone based polymers such as dimethicone, it would be very unlikely for it to penetrate past the surface of the skin. Unfortunately, we don’t know if that assessment would apply to dermarolled skin.

There are a couple of more welcome ingredients. Literally two. Myristoyl pentapeptide-8 is a collagen boosting peptide (incidentally, it is one of the signature ingredients of the Jan Marini range).  I imagine that myristoyl tetrapeptide-8 is similar, although I could find next to no information about it.

The only other active in Amp MD is a strange choice for inclusion in a serum used with a dermaroller: retinol. About the best thing that you can say about it is that it exfoliates the skin. Although exfoliation of punctured skin seems to be amping things up a little too much. There are also concerns that retinol is a toxin.

All in all, in Rodan + Fields Amp MD is something I’d rather dial down.

Find out about other anti-aging treatments in our handy glossary

Ingredients in Rodan + Fields Serum: Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Myristoyl Tetrapeptide-8, Retinol, Myristoyl Pentapeptide-8, Methyl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Dimethiconol, BHT

sign up for our newsletter

  • July 18, 2016

    by KG

    @Michelle, I doubt the product or the roller is what dried your skin considerably. DThe real culprit is your lipid barrier. If you and I were to use the same product with the same active ingredient but your skin became irritated, that's a clear sign of a weakened or breached lipid barriers. It doesn't mean that product is 'bad' or 'useless', it means your skin is communicating clearly to you and you're not listening. Sensitivity (dryness, redness) and bumps (acne), trump everything. Your sensitivity spoke up when you applied retinol. Build your lipid barrier first and you'll have much better results with anti-aging products such as rolling and retinol.

  • May 24, 2016

    by Michelle

    The redefine regimen by Rodan and fields along with the Amp MD roller and serum has significantly de hydrated my skin and caused damage to my face. It has also cause premature wrinkling in my cheeks. I would highly suggest checking with your dermatologist or other professional before trying new products rather than trusting an untrained consultant. It is too late for me. I hope it is not for you!! Use extreme caution! I am praying for a miracle to reverse my skin damage.

  • April 18, 2016

    by Jordan

    Just to clarify some of the comments...

    1. Rodan+Fields was sold exclusively in departments stores like Nordstrom, Bloomingdales, etc. and was the #1 seller, but a very few amount of people by from department stores anymore, so direct selling makes more sense from a business stand point.

    2. Drs. Rodan and Fields, they don't take a profit...their would be earnings are donated directly back into the Prescription For Change Foundation that empowers young women and helps them earn an education.

    3. A pyramid scheme? Goodness, google the word. Rodan+Fields sells a consumable REAL product, thus cannot be considered a pyramid scheme. If you are referring to the "pyramid" of how people make money, the ones at the top make all the money and just try to get people to sell under them...you must be confused with the pay structure of CORPORATE AMERICA! The reps have no boss, they can make more money that the person 10 levels up from them... In reality its a much better structure than any other job on the market.

    4. Many dermatologist sell Rodan+Fields out of their practices, and the Soothe and Unblemish lines can be covered by insurance...

    5. They do not test on animals, and never have.

    6. Yes, the Amp MD Roller allows the products to penetrate you skin deeper, true. But the idea of micro-needling and signaling the brain to correct the "injuries" is to produce collagen, which no cream can do. Creams only stimulate existing collagen, micro-needling creates NEW collagen.

    PLEASE do your due diligence and research things before you post comments. I could go on for days to correct all of the naive and ignorant comments, because I, in fact, did research this company. Are the products organic or all natural? No, and I've never found Rodan+Fields to be claiming that. But remember organic and natural are not synonymous with safe. There are plenty of natural and organic ingredients that are toxic and more harmful than chemicals.

    If you are going to get on a soapbox, please evaluate your life prior. Do you eat processed food, drink soda, do you buy any products from walmart, what do you wash you clothes with, or clean your house with? Do you breath the air? If you want to be informed, then be informed, don't bash what you don't know, or chastise people who make a different choice than you!

  • April 14, 2016

    by leslie

    Jill Ann, just because these docs are Stanford grads doesn't mean the ingredients they choose are really good for our skin, or that they have made a superior product! They use the Stanford garbage to brainwash people into thinking they're getting some wonderful superior product. And the brainwashing is working, apparently, because they are growing so fast.. They have no ingredients in their products that you cannot find in other quality products, for a fraction of the cost. Plus there are so many cancer causing ingredients and chemicals that are just plain bad. Enjoy looking good and paying more money than you need to. And hope your health doesn't suffer because of your smooth skin. Ill have smooth skin too, but staying healthy, using a wonderful, organic, not tested on animals product.!

  • March 13, 2016

    by stefanie

    Just for good measure...my doctor DOES sell it in her office. Just saying

  • March 8, 2016

    by Pam

    All companies are in business to make money. So why doesn't RODAN Fields sell their products at dept stores like other beauty companies do ? Why do the salespeople have to pay up from to sell product if it's such a GREAT product ? Why do reps have to enlist more reps rather than sell their products? Why do Reps lie and beg and beg to get you to buy if such great product? Why are there more negative comments about RODAN Fields on the web then positive comments ( the positive ones most are reps ). Just like this article some rep already invaded it trying to sell it? Why don't any dermatologist sell these products. They sell proven, products at their offices ? If you take time and read the ingrients in their products they are low end ingredients like kind Walmart sells for 1/10 price. So after all of my why questions it does not take rocket scientist to figure out whole Rep selling IS A PYRAMID SCHEME !! Most of the rep selling don't have a clue about skincare. Just have to RECRUIT MORE REP TO SELL BECAUSE THAT WHERE YOU MAKE MOST MONEY. GOOD LUCK wasting your own money to make couple thousand a year from RODAN Fields. So good luck !! But someone gotta be working for a scam company it's the way of the world

  • February 13, 2016

    by lorentzenf@aol.com

    I hated the roller. I stopped using it. I still use the regiment at least till I can't afford it. Companies also say that regiment products must be used together. Is that true?

  • February 11, 2016

    by Jill Ann

    Do you negative people know that the RodanAndFields docs are grads of Stanford and other university programs? And that the AMP MD is for building collagen in your skin? It is the FOURTH LARGEST make- up company behind Clinique, Lancome, and EsteeLauder!!!!! YES l use R and F and l AM 46 going on younger every day. So if you are a nay Sayer...l will see you with my smooth skin in 40 years!!!!

  • February 7, 2016

    by Coco

    R&D products are fine for those who want to use them, but if you don't, there are a lot of pushy salespeople. Every time I go to to my hair stylist, she pushes this on me. A few of my friends sell it and will not leave people alone. I'm happy with my skin care regimen and I get compliments that I don't look my age. My main issue with R&D is that people want to PUSH it down others' throats. No thanks. If the product is so good, why do you have to push it on everyone, and why do you have to insist on that autoship option? If it's so good, I'll buy it again. I'm not so stupid that I can't remember to repurchase my skin care products.

  • January 17, 2016

    by Stephanie

    Yikes. The brainwashed R&F consultants spamming every online article about their products do NOT make me want to buy their stuff. Neither do the rabidly pushy sales efforts by the reps in my area. Calling people incessantly, jumping all over everyone's Facebook page. Gross. There are plenty of skin care products out there with the same or better ingredients and formulations.

  • December 23, 2015

    by Julie

    I have 2 questions maybe 3...., 1 are you a Dr, 2 are you a scientist ?? chemist maybe??

  • December 11, 2015

    by Marcie

    I LOVE this AMP tool. And the RF serum is amazing. The wrinkles on my forehead have disappeared because of this regimen. My skin has never looks to full and bright. I have always been a skincare junkie. Used them all from LaMer and La Prairie to Neutrogena. Rodan & Fields and their multi-med therapy has given me the best skin of my life.

  • October 29, 2015

    by Jennifer

    It's easy for you to say we are brainwashed or we are toxic. I say until you try it....you can't say anything about R & F products. It works wonderful for me and I have seen transformations in other women who use it.

    I never have received compliments on my skin....used R & F and I get them all the time. To all the haters out there I say....Don't throw stones at Glass Houses!

  • October 28, 2015

    by Catherine

    I would never ever use Rodan Fields. There are only 11 prohibited ingredients restricted by the FDA, the last time the US passed a cosmetic law was 1938!!! The number of ingredients banned by Europe is 1,300!!!!!! Guess what I use a product that abides by the European Standards!!! I don't know how a Rodan Fields consultant can sell these toxic products!!! shame on them and they probably have never done the research and they have no clue what they are selling.

  • October 25, 2015

    by Christina

    I found a counter article, I couldn't help myself: https://www.futurederm.com/product-review-rodan-fields-anti-age-amp-md-system/

  • September 13, 2015

    by Ashley

    I understand how easy it is to be drawn into the sales pitch if a product and for a consultant to believe everything their company tells them. I'm not saying R&F is bad, though there are several ingredients that should be researched more, and just bc the FDA approves something does not mean it is actually safe in the long run; (they continually approve ingredients that are banned in other countries). I have friends with R&F and I have politely declined bc of the ingredients. I prefer products that are as clean and natural as possible. I now make my own super easy serum with organic cold pressed oils and essential oils. My skin has never been better!!! I use coconut oil in just about everything. I use a super gentle and simple cleaner and that's pretty much it. I've never had so many compliments. I even have friends ask me to make them the serum, which I did☺️. The truth is that you simply don't need expensive products to improve your skin. Some other important tips in better skin is what we eat. Stop drinking soda, lots of caffeine, and drink lots of water!! Eat clean foods, cut out the processed stuff. Consider going grain free as that can help many people. Eat lots of vegetables and fruits; seeds and nuts can also be helpful. Basically, I'm saying stop buying such expensive skin care hoping for a miracle and take that money to spend on other things that will help your overall health, that will include your skin. The healthiest skin is the prettiest skin, even if there are a few wrinkles, that's ok

  • August 26, 2015

    by Trina

    Some of these comments are hilarious! I'm thinking about trying Rodan & Fields because of the results I've seen. It works. I've witnessed it. I can't wait to see my results. This company is top notch!

  • May 14, 2015

    by Cheryl

    Hilarious that whenever there is a negative review of R + F, the reps come out of the woodwork to proclaim it's miraculous results. They remind me of brainwashed Tom Cruise jumping on Oprah's couch. Do your research people...there are similar products out there for way cheaper. Don't believe the hype.

  • May 7, 2015

    by DJ

    I was shocked by all this. I have been in the prestige division of the cosmetic industry as a trainer/educator for over 28 years. The ingredients are common, proven, FDA approved OTC cosmetic ingredients. After seeing so many dramatic results from women saying their smooth, flawless skin was due to R&F I switched and began using/selling Rodan and Fields myself. I couldn't ask for better results. Love the glow so much that I no longer wear foundation. If you'd like to have the same results or have any questions you can contact me at djn.RodanandFields@yahoo.com

  • May 2, 2015

    by Chris

    The products, including the roller, were VERY well. I am 48 and have used their products for over 1.5 years. And yes, I get comments all the time around "how great" my skin looks. Their products are amazing!

  • March 20, 2015

    by Michelle

    I love this roller, it has changed my skin

    If u have puncture wounds u definitely were not
    Using it right. Microneedling works and it is
    Proven!!

  • March 14, 2015

    by Vilma Salazar

    Rodan and Fields products work. They are safe, luxurious and really deliver what they promise. I have no idea what's behind the negative comments! For the quality ingredients, you pay much more when you buy other brands out there that promise and DON'T DELIVER positive results. Give it a try. There is a 60 day money back guarantee! You have nothing to loose!

  • February 25, 2015

    by Vilma

    I am stunned by all the negative comments about the Rodan and Fields products, mainly the AMP MD roller. I have used it for about 8 months now and I could not be happier with the results. I am 60 and my skin is firm and glowing. My family and friends compliment my skin all the time! I also use the Redefine regimen and the Macro-Exfoliator once a week. Honestly, some comments are so bitter! I am glad I can happily say it works for me!!!!

  • January 10, 2015

    by Alicia

    I would love to help you learn how to use the roller. It's an amazing product that can AMP up the results of your regimen. Contact me for a discount on a roller and other products. Amorin31@yahoo.com
    http://youtu.be/0zsHl0-Ohbg

  • June 17, 2014

    by Cara

    If you would have looked closer. The AMP MD Micro-Exfoliating Roller is $200 but it lasts for a year which if you add that up it about $17 a month. Also, it will hurt your face if you push down too hard. If you read the instructions it says not to push down hard. It also says not to use on sensitive skin.

  • June 17, 2014

    by Claudia Hartley

    Your roller caused permanent damage to my face. I purchased your product which was OFF THE WALL EXPENSIVE for 6 months. I had to discontinue because of the expense. Now I have 'puncture' marks on my face from the roller and whatever chemicals that were injected into my skin. Would NEVER buy your product again.

  • April 17, 2014

    by Ania

    The rollers are the best,but ingredients in these products are just toxic chemicals .

  • April 17, 2014

    by Jenny

    It is a toxic product that is very overpriced. I get very tired of the obvious consultants that constantly come on skin review sites to say this is the best product. Biased reviews over and over. Also I don't like all the phony touched up pictures for the before and after they use. They use different lighting, some have make up on they are also intentionally smiling much harder and squinting their face so the before shots look like they have more wrinkles. Very dirty way to do business. I'm not foolish enough to fall for it.

  • December 28, 2013

    by Shea

    I received the roller for xmas with other products and actually like how the roller works. I have noticed a good bit of difference in the skin texture in just a week.

  • October 31, 2013

    by Wendy

    This is NOT a legitimate review! A review is based on ACTUALLY reviewing a product or service by PERSONALLY using it and reporting back your findings. Your review: EPIC FAIL. (I actually took the time to review your so called "review" and these are my findings)

  • September 23, 2013

    by Heather

    I've seen great results with the roller and I am very happy with the RF products I use! I just ordered the RF roller and I can wait to use it!! Those of you who compared ingredients of products from Walmart to tf products and saw the same ingredients... That might be true, but it is the amount of those ingredients that make the difference in results and the price!!

  • August 2, 2013

    by Jennifer Martin

    I've been using micro needle derma rollers for some time and I think they're great. BUT, I do agree with many things you've discussed above, especially about the harshness of certain ingredients. But yeah, that doesn't apply to all.

  • July 8, 2013

    by Ania

    I am a big fan of micro needle rollers . I've been using them for over a year now with an amazing skin improvement . I found a great supplier from China and they very inexpensive .I use my with 100% chemical free skin care and food grade vitamins.I never have any problems with needle rollers from my Chinese supplier . After all the beauty tool are made in China or Korea .

  • February 17, 2013

    by Patty

    I have used the AMP MD and initially loved it, however after a couple of months I noticed that my skin felt numb and and and although the small lines appeared to be gone when I looked at my skin under 15X magnification I could actually tell that there was 'filler".
    Once I discontinued use, the numbness went away and the filler began flaking off. I wanted something that actually changed my skin, not a product that masked it.

  • January 25, 2013

    by Glen

    Well after Posted on April 12, 2011 at 1:15 pm I decided to give this demra rollar a try. After all for the price and it's length of usage compared to say my razors. It was quite inexpensive. Keep it clean and make sure it's dry and it works much longer. I do this with my razors and get much longer usage out of them. Anyway. I used the same roller from June 2011 to about June 2012, And I wish I could post photos to this site. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!. I was about to by my second roller when I found out the FDA in FDA fashion pulled it from the market. Probably for working too well like they do most other things. I eneded up calling the FDA and asked if there was any complaints etc. And they said no, it was standard procedure... In any case, I wasn't about go go without my roller. I bought thee from 3 other places, one directly from China. And a couple from the US. I could tell right away there were inferios steel used in the needles. It reminded me of some razor blades i bought for cheap that were gilette knock offs from China. A HUGE dissapointment. It's been 7 months and I've not used any roller. But continue to use the Rodan and Fields night serum. My skin is maintaining well. At 65 time had taken it's toll. And over the last year. I've had well over a dozen comments on my age. After seeing photos from early 2011 until now. I can't believe a device and serums can do so much for wrinkles that I once thought were set in my face like stone. I'm really dissapointed with a lot of the negative comments that seem to come from peoples preconceived notions. I'm generally pretty skeptical about anything that benefits aspects that are basically going to happen and part of aging and life. But this device and the serum has bought myself about 25 years of time to my face. I can't wait until the roller is put back on the market.

  • November 18, 2012

    by Lawrence Pacheco

    Based on results and real scientific evidence (meaning their science is actually presented at scientific symposiums-scientist conferences- around the world,) the only products I am using on my face are Nu Skin and more specifically anything in the Ageloc brand. We age from the inside out and that's what they target - the source; our genes. Again all you have to do is try it once and you are hooked. AMAZING! Nothing like it on the market!

  • June 18, 2012

    by Maria

    I totally agree with you Jodie, R&F products are the same products as many other creams you find in a drugs store for 5 times the price.
    I will be more specific: I compared the SPF 55 from R&F ingredients vs. a Wall mart generic 50spf. (exactly the same ingredients). Then I read what was the main ingredient in the reverse clarifying cream: Hydroquinone 2% and they sell the same thing in the drugstore for $10, VS $50 from R&F.
    Please ladies don't be naive, each consultant gets 30% of the sale so do you imagine how much money is the Company getting it also means that is cheap products they are just selling them to you more expensive and in prettier bottles.

  • May 17, 2012

    by Jodie

    Safe and natural is NOT in the same universe as Rodan + Field products. checkout the ingredients in the reverse regimen!! hype,$$$ make people believe and do crazy things. Without the mlm side, these products would have remained on the hampster wheel of NO Repeat sales. Needing new customers all the time because people do not continue to reorder... Price hype and with a little education, NO one would continue to use these products on a long term basis.
    We have plenty of safe products out there that WORK, without the harmful chemicals.

  • May 2, 2012

    by Nichole

    I really REALLY wanted to like this product... I must have extremely sensitive skin. After using it for a few days my underlying eczema always seems to return and I'm swollen and red. If I stop using R&F the eczema subsides. I've tested this a few times to be sure it wasn't anything I was eating! Unfortunately...my skin seems to be a good judge of character. I'll stick to products with more natural ingredients that I can recognize. :(

  • April 27, 2012

    by Rose

    I have seen really great results using the AMP MD, serum and Anti-Age regimen that goes along with it. Dermatologists have also seen great results in their patients that are using these products.

    Micro needling is a new technology and trend and it was recently showcased at the Spa convention in Vegas by several companies. These needles are neither traumatic or masochistic.

    The AMP MD roller has 200 tiny, stainless steel acupuncture needles that don't hurt at all. Additionally, the needles are very hygienic because the system comes with a cleansing vial and purification tablets, so that the user is ensured that their needles are always clean.

    (The author should do more research before alleging this type of scare tactic.)

    As with any new innovation and new technology, it takes time for the masses to jump on board and there will be plenty of nay sayers that will try to poke holes in these innovations, but this is state-of-the-art skincare that delivers clinically proven results.

  • April 11, 2012

    by nadiahoney

    Ok -- I found this page because I had noticed WORSE skin after using, quite carefully, the Rodan and Fields AMP MD. I bought it back when it first was available and was quite excited, since the theory seems to make sense. However, what i notice over time is that the skin I used it on (I did a compare by just doing the left side of my face, leaving the right alone) has developed huger, saggy pores and even horrible red marks and some messed-up patches of skin. I have since quit using it and the patch (an area I used the AMP MD device on) remains, so now I need to figure out if it was this device for sure that did it. I am pretty sure it did....I did all that was instructed, yet look what happened! Any suggestions for once pretty skin that now has gotten snagged and patched-up and a bit ruined by this stupid device? I should have known better -- I never had acne but a few friends did and they said the Proactive line was all b.s. I read the ingredients and I agree -- totally ridiculous. And then I went and bought this from the same people! Man am I dumb, and now I have one messed-up cheek to pay for it. Help!

  • January 17, 2012

    by Jean

    I joined the company after using the AMP MD tool, night serum, and additional anti age products developed by renowned dermatologists Doctors Rodan and Fields. AFTER using the products and being 110% satisfied with the results. I have extremely sensitive skin and the roller, serums, and other anti-aging FDA approved products have given me healthier skin -with results in less than two weeks. I would love to share the products with anyone interested in what The Today Show, Allure Magazine, and Dr. Oz have deemed the #1 anti-aging tool in the industry:-) I appreciate and respect differing opinions.

  • December 25, 2011

    by Brenda

    I, too, use the Rodan & Fields Amp Roller. Sorry, but it is my opinion that this is a fabulous tool & product. I have seen amazing results & have had the same asked of me about my beautiful skin & face. Just being honest with my results.

  • October 29, 2011

    by Joyce Gray

    I think this is so sad. Think people. Your skin doesn't absorb these chemicals for a reason. To protect you. Poking holes to force chemicals inside is so stupid. The improvement is fake and temporary. Let's see what you look like after 20yrs of these micro silicone injections when the natural collagen structures collapse from toxicity, or worse, cancer. Wrinkled and saggin skin is not due to a silicone deficiency. So sad to see how desparate people are to believe.

  • October 28, 2011

    by Amy Dvaraka

    The Rodan + Fields AMP MD roller is simply AMAZING!! I have to admit I was a bit tentative, but it honestly feels like a kitten's tongue...and the serum leaves your skin feeling sooooo silky smooth.

    My skin has never looked better--more radiant, firmer and (best of all) softened lines. What can I say...I'm hooked!! :)

  • August 24, 2011

    by Cassie Fishbein

    The AMP MD created by Drs. Rodan and Fields is the best on the market. I am 60 and I, too, am frequently asked if I have had a face lift. I awaken in the morning with a firm feeling on my face. It may take a month or more to experience results.

  • August 12, 2011

    by erin clark

    I use the Rodan and Fields roller and LOVE it. I have noticed more firmness in my skin and it doesn't hurt or irritate my skin. I am a HUGE fan!

  • July 10, 2011

    by Jill Smith

    Love the AMP MD roller .... do not find it painful, but one should use reason with the amount of pressure you are using. I am seeing results after just two weeks.

  • April 12, 2011

    by Glen

    The first thing that comes to mind as a male with this article is that I am thankful that Road & Track actually drives the cars that they review. I could imagine how well their magazine would do if none of the editors drove the vehicles they were reviewing, but only based their review on the specs on the manufacturers web site. I agree the dermaroller is semi-invasive but it has to be to be effective. Similiarly heart surgery has to be invasive, and fortunately over the last 20 years most surgery has become much less invasive than 30 years ago. The AMPMD is just invasive enough to be effective in getting ingredient under the impermeable layer where many products fail to go. As for the silicone (cyclopentasiloxane or dimethicone), not all silicone is the same, and both are the most biocompatible than all the silicones. Just because it could cause skin irritation doesn't translate into it being nasty. A brisk wind can cause skin irritation. I think there is more to the motivation of writing this article than a legitimate review. Firstly, the author obviously never 'test drove' the product and the references given as to why it is rejected, were severaly lacking any weight.

  • April 9, 2011

    by Kim

    I have not found it painful. But, there are different lengths of needles, so that will make a difference. You are also not supposed to roll and roll and roll ad infinitum, but to use a recommended pattern that is an easy regimen to find many places online. Also, more is NOT better. Should definitely NOT be overused as skin does need to heal, recover. Also, if you buy some of the cheaper rollers, the needles may not be manufactured very well, resulting in less sharp or even flawed needle points, which could tear skin on an almost microscopic level, but not only would that be more painful, but it could possibly cause slight scarring. I did not buy the most expensive, but I did buy diamond-shaped needles, so being sharper, are less painful, and also, will not snag on skin. I did a LOT of research and finally bought the DTS Diskneedle Therapy System ones. There is a super nice man, Simon, and his wife in Los Angeles that sell them, and they were so nice, they spent a lot of time on the phone with me explaining everything and they even gave me a last minute discount, though, I don't think that was official. It was just very nice of them.

  • March 18, 2011

    by shancy

    My question to all the women who use this or something similar is: Is it painful? Do you actually feel it puncture your skin?

  • March 10, 2011

    by Steffie

    I have a needler on the way - so I haven't tried it yet but I can tell you this. I read an article on facial accuncture - 12 sessions - a natural facelift. The idea here is that these very small "wounds" prompt the skin to activate a "healing response" that builds collagen.
    In my experience my skin has never looked better. The sag is gone - it was just starting and the color is better and the lines less pronounced. I go now once a month for "upkeep".
    So having had this experience with lots of needles - the roller made sense to me. Same idea.

  • March 9, 2011

    by Jennifer

    It will take more than two weeks to see results...it took more than two weeks to obtain the wrinkles...I started using the AMP MD Roller on October 2, 2010 and by my 60th birthday in December, 2010, people were asking if I had a face lift. Comments included, "You look 20 years younger than your age!" The Night Renewing Serum can penetrate the skin due to the channels created by the AMP MD Roller. Please feel free to publish my email and/or website for those who are interested in the AMP MD.

  • March 7, 2011

    by Jeni

    I recently bought a microneedle roller because it seemed liked something that might actually work, and the research was compelling enough that I wanted to try it. It doesn't hurt that much, but I am starting to wonder if it could really work to build collagen like it claims. I've only been using it for two weeks and haven't seen any results, but I would expect it would take a few months if I'm going to see anything.

  • March 6, 2011

    by Junko

    Oksana, I'm so glad you posted! Danny's article started a stamping stampede and I was hoping that some of the stamper's would post comments. Please keep us updated on your results! I continue to be intrigued and curious about stamping...

  • March 6, 2011

    by Oksana

    I have used Environ Stamp "Needler" for 2 weeks every other day - the skin under my eyes has visually firmed up. Something, I was unable to achieve with products, YBF Correct included. If used by one person on clean skin, it should be safe. The company recommends cleaning the tool w/antimicrobial soap.
    Needlers are different; the length of the needles and their width makes a big difference. The goal is to "get" dermis without injury. So far, I have been successful.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...