Free shipping on all orders over $39

Royal Nectar- We Find the Source of Bee Venom Plus Video Comparison

Reviewed by Marta November 5, 2011 28 Comments
Even better than Heaven's bee venom mask

At first I thought that I had found a product twin. Not quite identical, but a product twin nevertheless. The Heaven Bee Venom Mask, supposedly the secret of Camilla Duchess of Cornwall’s youthful new looks (and a favorite of Kate Middleton, the Duchess of Cambridge), has a look alike called Royal Nectar. Like Heaven, Royal Nectar Bee Venom Mask ($68), has bee venom and manuka honey as its main ingredients. But it turned out to be even better than that. The New Zealand company behind Royal Nectar actually makes the combo of manuka honey and bee venom that it then exports to Europe, where it is used by Heaven in its mask. I’ve been trying out Royal Nectar and, although there are slight differences in the overall formula, it is every bit as good - actually, even better.

It is thanks to TIA community member, Faye, that I found Royal Nectar.  Nelson Honey actually makes the bee venom active used by Heaven and supposedly beloved by the British Royal Family. Faye hadn’t just found a lookalike, she’d gotten straight to the source.

I was curious to try Royal Nectar and see how it would stack up to Heaven’s Bee Venom Mask. As you can see from the ingredients for both listed below, the overall formulas are very similar. Royal Nectar is a thicker, richer consistency and has a stronger honey smell. It behaves much more like a mask than Heaven (in fact, Heaven is confusingly ambivalent as to whether its product is a leave on moisturizer or a mask) and it definitely needs to be rinsed and wiped off after 15 minutes or so.

Royal Nectar is super hydrating and leaves skin feeling lovely and soft. A quick reminder on bee venom: it contains at least 18 active substances and seems to be a powerful anti-inflammatory. There are other good things here too. Royal Nectar foregoes the shea butter that is in Heaven, but has added in avocado and apricot kernel oils. It also has something new to me called Easyliance. This is made from acacia (a tree indigenous to Africa) and rhizobian gum and it is supposed to make the skin feel smoother and tighter.

In case you scan Royal Nectar’s ingredients list and wonder what “optiphen plus” is, it is basically the preservative phenoxyethanol, and ticaxan is a stabilizer and thickener.

Ingredients in Royal Nectar Face Mask: Distilled Water, Nector Ease (manuka Honey, Bee Venom) Lanette Wax, Avocado Oil, Tocopherol Oil, Apricot Kernel Oil, Easyliance, Rose Hip Oil, Rose Water, Evening Primrose Oil, Optiphen Plus, Natural Fragrance, Cocoa Butter, Ticaxan, Marshmallow Extract, Manuka Oil, Lavender Essential Oil

Ingredients in Heaven Bee Venom Mask: Aqua, Decyl Oleate, Manuka Honey, Bee Venom, Glyceryl Monosterate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerine, Althea Officinalis (marshmallow Extract), Ceteareth 20, Butyrospermum Parkii (shea Butter), Silica, Rosa Centifolia (rose Extract Oil), Lavandula Angustifolia (lavender Essential Oil), Betacarotene, Cl75100, Methylchlooroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Tea Tree Essential Oil

  • November 8, 2014

    by ash

    I personally tried both the products , heaven bee venom works better on me. I could see the effect immediately.

  • August 29, 2013

    by Nora

    I would love to try these products, in particular the royal nectar as it is cheaper to purchase. Thank you

  • August 20, 2013

    by JEAN

    i just would like to know if bees are harmed. how is venom in the formula in the first place, can you please explain how it is extracted from the bee itself.
    hope you dont think this is a daft question!
    jean xx

  • July 26, 2013

    by Holli

    Marta, I tried the moisturizer as it was in a recent Discover box and loved how it soaked right into the skin and really made me feel like I din't need makeup. However, the mask reviews are even better and I've been vacillating about which to buy. Would love to try the mask as well. Thanks!

  • July 25, 2013

    by Pam

    I' d like to try the Royal Nectar Original Face Mask. I have rosacea and would like to see how it would help the redness on my face.

    Thank you!

  • July 25, 2013

    by Rachelle

    I would be delighted to try the Bee Venom mask. I am a big fan of bees and honey. I take Royal Jelly for my health and love honey. I would love to try the mask on my skin. Thank you.

  • July 25, 2013

    by Kathryn

    I am 61 years old and just love to try new facial products. After reading that Duchess Kate was using the Heaven Bee Venom mask I did some research into the product and came across the Royal Nectar comparative product. I do my facial routine religiously every day and would love to try either the Royal Nectar product or the Heaven Bee Venom, or both! I would like to be kept updated on these products and any new products in the future! Thanks

  • July 24, 2013

    by Eugenie

    This bee venom sounds intriguing. I would like to try these products to see how well they work.

  • July 24, 2013

    by Elisse

    Yes, I'd seriously love to try it! Only thing stopping me is $$$! :-) Bee venom intrigues me. It is used to treat a variety of serious illnesses- Google apitherapy for more info- and I'd not be surprised it this actually works... Manuka honey is used for wounds as it is a natural antibiotic- I use it.

  • July 24, 2013

    by Terri

    Marta, I'm eager to try either the mask or moisturizer. My current favorite moisturizer is La Vie Celeste Extra Rich Day/Night. I use various masks - Prep once a week and another like Osmosis Polish, La Vie Celests 5% Exfoliator, or Michael Todd Charcoal. I'll test either. Your pick!

  • July 24, 2013

    by Sophie

    These bee venom items have been on my "To Try" list ever since I read about them on TIA!

  • July 24, 2013

    by Naheed

    I am a mask lover and usually use just honey as a mask after peel. I would love to try this Heaven Bee Venom mask. Thank you.

  • July 24, 2013

    by Sandy

    Both the Royal Nectar Face Mask and the Moisturizing Face Lift sound like something that I would like to try. I've been wanting to try facial masks; and my complexion sure could use a moisturizing face lift.

  • July 24, 2013

    by Esther

    I would love to try this product.

    Thank you

  • July 24, 2013

    by Kelly Hall

    Marta, funny I was watching some back episodes of your Discover with Marta recently and you said this was one of your favorite products! I would love to try the Royal Nectar mask. Thanks! Kelly

  • June 17, 2012

    by deborah mitchell

    I make heaven bee venom mask and it is true that members of the Royal family love heaven products including heaven Bee venom mask, All other products who claim to do the same may work in another way but they don't work like mine, there is a secret ingredient in heaven which works and makes a very big difference to the action of this product. I think a blog is a good idea i've posted this blog on my site because impartial advice is very good , but please don't buy other products thinking that i have had anything to do with thier making as other companies have suggested. Heaven is different and it will now be available in America the real thing !!

  • December 16, 2011

    by JustD

    Bee'ing one of those who had also attempted to order the Heaven Bee Venom Mask product and was thwarted, I'm jumping on that hope that you will be successful in getting this one in. Dry patches are invading my face as I type this and are slowly trying to take it over. I need a venom to help me to squash their insurgencies! Bee Power to MARTA to make this happen!

  • December 15, 2011

    by Susan

    This sounds amazing - I'd love to give it a try (especially with my dry winter skin!)

  • December 15, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Michelle, the one that you ordered from us was Heaven's mask from the UK and they were unable to get it through customs. Royal Nectar is from New Zealand and is also the company that makes the bee venom active that Heaven uses. I am working with Royal Nectar to bring their products to the US. Keep your fingers crossed for us!

  • December 15, 2011

    by Michelle

    Hi Marta,
    I had ordered this from your site several months ago, but there was a problem with getting the product to the United States. I was so looking forward to using this product. I would love to try and then review it. Thanks Marta.

  • December 15, 2011

    by Marta

    Valerie - congratulations on turning 40 and for your engagement. I wish you every happiness.

  • December 14, 2011

    by Patricia

    Hi Marta,
    I would be thrilled to try the Royal Nectar. I'm in need of some help for my dull, dry, menopausal skin - especially now that it's winter. I think that this is just the "lift" I need! Thanks.

  • December 14, 2011

    by Valerie

    This looks really interesting. I have gotten so many of the masks that TIA has recommend over the years. I would really love to try this out. 2 weeks ago I turned 40 and I got engaged on my bday. So, I need to look amazing in 6 months. Secret weapon anyone?

  • December 14, 2011

    by Catherine

    Hi Marta,
    Your email said to leave a note if I'd be willing to try the new New Zealand product & I would. I have tried the Heaven Bee venom product so I could give you my comparason if you're still interested? :-)

  • November 11, 2011

    by Stephanie

    Thanks SPO.

    That was my feeling. I wish that wasn't the case, especially since there are so many interesting (small scale) studies regarding animal and insect venom being benificial in small doses.

    But, I have no desire to break out an EpiPen as part of my skin care routine...

  • November 10, 2011

    by spo

    Hi Stephanie - I'm a nurse and I think I can answer this for you:

    It would be a risk to try it, if you are allergic to bee stings.. So, in short, yes - it would be contraindicated for use if you are allergic to bee stings.

    I am allergic to bee stings myself and I am sorry that I won't be able to use this!

  • November 9, 2011

    by Stephanie

    So, considered this is applied topically, would there be contraindications for those of us who happen to be allergic when bee venom is taken internally (stung)?

  • November 5, 2011

    by Liz

    Hey

    I use Comvita skincare, its based on Manuka Honey and really tightens the skin.

    works brilliantly

    Liz

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...