Free shipping on all orders over $39

SenZen Double Dose Eye Cream gets more love

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
Reviewed by TIA Community Member April 4, 2011 22 Comments

by Sunday

As I was reading comments today I saw another positive review for SenZen Double Dose Eye Cream (A 2011 Five Best eye cream winner) and I thought let me chime in with a full post of my experience of this eye cream. As I rely more and appreciate all the efforts going into trial and error and feedback I'm happy to say that I too purchased this cream ($84 in the TIA shop) based on recommendations of fellow TIA members ~ especially Junko's  experience. When you take into account that here in California gas costs an arm & leg, my city's sale tax just went up, our house has (friendly?) termites and the HARDEST water I've ever bathed in...well dag nabbit sometimes a girl needs the biggest pot of eye cream she can find ~ one that works!!!

My initial reason to purchase was of course, that I too am in search of the zenith in eye creams but what ended up being the rescue reason was the culmination of dryness from the retinol product I was using. Winter weather, hot baths, and retinol...one evening as I was drying off, I looked in the mirror and my under eyes looked like lizard skin. I knew something had been 'off' lately, my face was tight and dry and no moisturizer was working the way they used too. I started reading more about my products, hit on similar comments about retinols and that was just when Junko posted My Eyes After Tretinoin and also Marta gave us all 20% off.  Whew I couldn't order fast enough!

SenZen Double Dose is a "HUGE pot of cream", it is rich and hydrating and dense. I do love a light, creamy gel type eye cream too, but for my retinol suffering eye area, this cream hit the bulls-eye! I love that a little goes along way ~ obviously will last awhile, the price point is great, especially as Junko pointed out you do get a Double Dose. My make up slides over this cream very nicely, I've been using it since 3/11 and never experienced any pilling or rolling, it soaks right in so in case I'm hurried I do not have to wait before I apply make-up and more importantly my under eye skin is better than normal!!! Of course I stopped using the retinol too, but I've inadvertently damaged my skin before AND IT TOOK WEEKS to see results of healing and/or hydrating. With SenZen Double Dose it took days, just to throw it out there, I think it took 5 - 6 days and I was seeing the results I had hoped for...the results you here at TIA had shared about.

I'm not as proficient about ingredients as a lot of you are, but I do love nuts and perhaps my skin loves nuts too because this cream has sweet almond oil and macadamia oil and as Marta has mentioned in her review; I love that macadamia oil is one of the top ingredients. Macadamians are amazingly nutritional and 22% of the oil is omega 7, a fatty acid. Well all I know is that I love this eye cream and I love the firming and hydration I have experienced since using it. And I love that it was recommended based on other experiences and results ~ Thank You all for sharing!

Ingredients

Water, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Cetyl Alcohol, Theobroma Grandiflorum (Cupuaçu) Fruit Extract, Glyceryl Stearate, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Tetrapeptide-17, Passiflora Edulis (Passion Fruit) Seed Oil, Oryza Sativa (Rice Bran) Oil, Euterpe Oleracea (Acai) Pulp Oil, Orbignya Oleifera (Babassu) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Propanediol, Dimethicone, Caffeine, Phytonadione (Vitamin K), Sodium Hyaluronate, Bisabolol, Silk Amino Acids, Hydrolyzed Rice Bran Protein, Oxido Reductases, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Protein, SENZEN Energized Liposomal Blend, Dimethiconol, PEG-75 Stearate, Ceteth-20, Steareth-20, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Butylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol

  • May 12, 2011

    by Oksana

    sorry,
    correction -
    ELS is by SkinActives
    Squalane and Olea Europea (olive) fruit extract, Rosa rubiginosa (rosehip) seed oil, Punica granatum (pomegranate) seed oil, Lecithin, Cholesterol Oleyl Carbonate and Cholesteryl Nanoate and Cholesteryl Chloride, Punica granatum (pomegranate) Seed Oil and Astaxanthin and Tocotrienols and Lycopene and alpha D-Tocopherol and Thioctic Acid and Lutein and beta Carotene, Ceramide-3, Phytosterols, Gamma Oryzanol.

  • May 12, 2011

    by Oksana

    JustD,
    use oil before DD - like a serum. I like ELS (every lipid serum w/AOX) by Skinceuticals - I had some excellent re-growth of eyebrows from it, btw. It's light and absorbs easily; no smell. Argan oil may work nicely too.
    I am using Dr.Alkaitis organic eye cream and like it very much - took care of DD-induced dryness within 24hrs; makes a great base for RMS Uncover and no oiliness/sheen.
    Next I am trying Kahina Beauty - highly resommended by my gorlfriend; she uses Kahina's serum and loves it. Can't wait - must decide, what to move on ;-)
    I do like DD as a neck/decolette cream a lot!

  • May 12, 2011

    by justd

    I have added a little hydration to the DD that sort of offsets the drying affect that tends to follow shortly after application.

    A little Vitamin E oil really seems to help and hopefully, it doesn't do anything to detract from the other ingredients in the moisturizer. I really do like what it's done for my eyes altogether. I was developing very fine lines from squinting as I tried to read without my reading glasses on, so this has awesomely eradicated most of them or minimized them altogether.

    Let me know if either you or Junko find something else you like Sunday. I'ma be in your shadows for a while :D

  • May 12, 2011

    by Sunday

    Awww Thank You Junko! just your over all concern is VERY SWEET!!! Well I am not a natural Redhead, as a child I did have natural freckles though. I only apply the Lightening Lotion, not the GlycoPeel and when you see my befores & afters...at least IMO...I have larger eye sockets that make for more undereye area for splotches to appear. As life would have it MOST of the STUBBORN leopard spots are at my middle and upper cheeks anyway sooo ~ oh and it is not full on application just the bottoms of my undereyes, but it is still my eye area.

    I've already decided to have final after pic's done this weekend so I can move on...but seriously Junko Thank YOU for your concern ~ I mean that!!!

  • May 12, 2011

    by Junko

    Sunday * is it okay to put Lumixyl under your eyes like that? Makes me squint just thinking about it! Does Lumixyl say it's okay...and even then I wonder since tretinoin messed up my eyes so badly and I didn't even put it under my eyes. Don't dry out your eye area too badly ~ besides aren't those under your eyes just freckles? I thought red-heads were supposed to have a few freckles anyway :)

  • May 12, 2011

    by Sunday

    Hey Ladies, Gents~ I did have to 'move on' from this product as an Eye Cream, it started to make my under eyes feel tight and unfortunately not in a good way. However I am willing to try it again down the road after I get my hydration/moisture levels back in check ~ I may have inadvertently crashed my DRY Retinol 'come back' by almost immediately starting to use Lumixyl. I apply Lumixyl on my under eyes because I have leopard spots there too...geez!

    OK Anyway, Oksana gave me the idea to use DD as a neck&décolleté cream and I really like it. There is a mirror above my kitchen sink and as I was doing dishes this morning I could see a very real difference at the base of my neck where I have less tone *ouch* anyway there was a noticeable firmness and I did double takes in all the different types of lighting my kitchen has just to be sure that's what I was seeing. And it was! And if it continues to work like that, the next time Marta puts it on sale I'm buying more!

    Thank YOU Oksana for the idea!

  • May 12, 2011

    by Oksana

    nice to hear, it works for you, JustD. Both Sundy and I moved on to other things d/t dryness caused by DD. Different strokes for different folks ;-) Makes nice neck/decolette creme though.

  • May 11, 2011

    by Justd

    This stuff is da'bomb!!! My eye area is rejuvenated OMG!!!! Shut the front door! This stuff works, since reading Sunday's review I purchased it and it's been almost a month and the results are amazing! Thank u Marta n Sunday for turning me on to this stuff LOL!

  • April 8, 2011

    by Sunday

    Hello Laura, glad to 'hear' you are liking the Double Dose Eye Cream :-)

    I have not tried their moisturizer, but I did just receive last night my SenZen Plump It Up & Slough It Off Bundle that I purchased through TIA; and since I haven't done a scrub in almost 2 years (when I bought my Clarisonic brush) I immediately took the time to do so and then smoooooothed on some of the Hydrating Serum...it was lovely, really very lovely!

    I will have to go back and look at some past comments about the SenZen moisturizer, it may be on my radar....but for now I am doing Lumixyl and since I already promised before & after pictures, my new products will kept in a dry cool place while I work on that.

  • April 7, 2011

    by Laura

    I also took advantage of TIAs latest offer and I really like this eye cream. It has a wonderful consistency and absorbs nicely without being greasy. As Sunday mentioned, it goes on beautifully under make-up (the YBF Correct pills so I only use at night) and will last a very long time.I don't have puffiness so I can't comment on that and I'll have to give it more time to see if it will combat the "crows", but I would also recommend this product.

    Sunday, glad to hear about the cellbone, another on my list of things to try and I'm always looking for a good mositurizer that works throughout the day. I live in a very dry climate and nothing seems to last. Have you tried the SenZen moisturizer?

  • April 6, 2011

    by Sunday

    You are very welcome Gloria! and Thank You JustD! I still use and LOVE Cellbone Super AOX Skin Firm Moisturizer and since quitting the Retinol it has been able to be what is was before things went awry ~ light AND hydrating throughout the day...and it is affordable:

    http://www.cellbone.com/AOX.htm

  • April 6, 2011

    by JustD

    GREAT REVIEW SUNDAY!!! Like Gloria, I don't have crows feet, but tiny fine lines that I hope to train and hold back for a while longer. Your review, which I read it over the weekend and got busy and forgot to comment, has given me the impetus to try yet another product from TIA. I placed an order for the DD just because of your particular take on the product. I'm really hoping that it will give me the hydration and minimal repair I'm looking for. Lately I have been was using Hydropeptide's eye cream, and ran out, your review came just in time for a new order and for the cost, there's no comparison if SenZen does the job. Now to find a facial moisturizer that is light, doesn't clog and keeps my face hydrated throughout the day as well...oh, and is affordable. Onward and upward LOL.

  • April 6, 2011

    by Gloria

    Thank you Sunday,I will take a look. I just love the TIA family.

  • April 6, 2011

    by Sunday

    Hello Gloria ~ I cannot comment on puffiness, I have under eyes that actually sink in if I'm out of sorts or didn't get enough sleep or whatever is off that day...but there are 30 comments on Junko's post: My Eyes After Tretinoin and I know puffiness was discussed. I hope that helps :-)

    Well I guess I'm getting THAT filter!!!!

  • April 6, 2011

    by Gloria

    I have been looking for an eye cream that will help with puffiness.I really don't have crows feet just lines (that are diminishing since using the ReLuma)on the upper cheek area. I try to keep the under eye area moisturized but it seems as though the puffiness gets worse. I do love the YBF Correct, but the price is a little steep for an eye cream.Would the Double Dose be good for that? Any other recommendations?

  • April 6, 2011

    by Marta

    I use the Aquasana filter as well. I wrote about it a couple of years ago: http://truthinaging.com/treatments/reviewed-and-recommended-aquasana-shower-filter

  • April 5, 2011

    by Angela T

    Asya and Sunday, the Aquasana is the filter that I use. I use the handheld wand shower head version. I didn't write a specific recommendation because it is kind of a pain to have to order it (even though shipping is free with Amazon). However, based on the reviews I read at the time of purchase, the shower filters at home supply stores aren't as good. Sunday, I don't know how many family members you have, but I think you'd probably only have to replace the filter every 4-6 months. The filter is a bit bulky. Use plumber's tape if you can't get a good seal and there is water leaking. When you first run water through, there is a flush of black water (from the carbon I believe) so it is a good idea to empty the "flush" water into a bucket. Also, there is a delay when you change the water temperature because it takes a few extra moments to work through the filter. Like I said before, though, I am very happy with the improvements in my water quality with the Aquasana filter. I have long, color-treated blonde hair and my hair doesn't get brassy anymore and I don't have to use as intensive conditioners. My arms don't get keratosis pilaris, either, and, again, I don't have to use as intensive moisturizers on my skin. With all that said, I looked through the Aquasana reviews on Amazon and the Ewater filter was mentioned in one of them, http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004HWBYDY/ref=cm_cr_asin_lnk. It looks intriguing, but even more of a pain to obtain than the Aquasana! lol Sunday, I hope the Aquasana works out well for you!

  • April 5, 2011

    by Sunday

    Hello Asya & "Thank You" Angela T ~ so I started to look into this and aside from larger systems that would be installed at the water heater, smaller units like this one:

    http://www.amazon.com/Aquasana-AQ-4100-Deluxe-Adjustable-Showerhead/dp/B0016BS9T6

    are apparently pretty useful as long as we remember to change the filters. As it is we don't drink our tap water, we have 2 Brita's one for the fridge and one on the counter and I do have to change those filters every 2 months...so I'll just add the bath filter to that same schedule ;-) Easy!

  • April 5, 2011

    by Asya

    Hi Angela,

    is it a chemical or mechanical filter you fit on your shower? Here, in Belgium I've never heard about them and the water is terribly hard.

  • April 4, 2011

    by Angela T

    Thank you for the review, Sunday! Re: the hard water, I highly recommend getting a water filter for your shower. You won't believe what a difference it makes in your skin and your hair. I rate getting a shower filter up there with my top best beauty investments of all time.

  • April 4, 2011

    by Sunday

    Oh Thank You so much Lady Junko and for all the love and support I get here at TIA! This IS really the most fun (trial and error and everything in between) that I've done for myself ~ just myself ~ in a long time. And it's great when we have a winner product to tell everyone about!!!

  • April 4, 2011

    by Junko

    Great Review Sunday!! ~ High energy and enthusiasm, bring it on!! Looking forward to reading more of your reviews!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...