Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

SenZen Double Dose Eye Cream- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Dark Circles, Sagging Skin, Puffy Eyes
September 1, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 38 Comments

For three weeks I have been testing an eye cream from a new line called SenZen. Normally, I prefer to try something for at least month before writing a review. But I have two reasons for jumping the gun. First the very practical reason that SenZen sent me a small sample of Double Dose Eye Cream ($84) and it has just run out. Secondly, I have to confess that I was loving it after only 10 days.

Double Dose Eye Cream is a rich eye cream that belies its spa origins (behind SenZen is the San Francisco-based Sen Spa) by its dense texture: this eye cream was meant to be massaged by the knowing finger tips of an esthetician. I feared that it would be too much for my delicate eye area and donate some milia. But no, Double Dose has proven to be as gentle as it is effective. My eye area looks incredibly hydrated with no crepiness and a definite smoothing of lines. My eye area looks younger. After my beloved Your Best Correct, this could easily become a favorite anti-wrinkle eye cream.

I love that macadamia oil is one of the top ingredients. Macadamians are amazingly nutritional and 22% of the oil is omega 7, a fatty acid. Next up is theobroma grandiflorum, commonly called copuacu (a useful word to remember next time you are playing scrabble and don’t have a letter q), is a South American tree that contains nine flavenoid antioxidants including quercetin.

As I mentioned in my review of the brand’s exfoliator, SenZen’s uses liposomes to deliver the products’ vitamins and other nutrients. I hope that one beneficiary of this is tetrapeptide-17, which is supposed to activate collagen production and stimulate the repair and renewal mechanisms of the skin.

The firming results that I have noticed from Double Dose may be due to dipalmitoyl hydroxyproline, a plant-derived amino acid that provides firming action to the skin.  It is joined by silk amino acids. Meanwhile, vitamin K is a favorite for eye cream formulators as it may help to treat dark under circles.

Apart from a touch of silicone and phenoxyethanol, there is nothing to dislike and much more to love than the few active ingredients that I have singled out.

Ingredients:

Water, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Cetyl Alcohol, Theobroma Grandiflorum (Cupuaçu) Fruit Extract, Glyceryl Stearate, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Tetrapeptide-17, Passiflora Edulis (Passion Fruit) Seed Oil, Oryza Sativa (Rice Bran) Oil, Euterpe Oleracea (Acai) Pulp Oil, Orbignya Oleifera (Babassu) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Propanediol, Dimethicone, Caffeine, Phytonadione (Vitamin K), Sodium Hyaluronate, Bisabolol, Silk Amino Acids, Hydrolyzed Rice Bran Protein, Oxido Reductases, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Protein, SENZEN Energized Liposomal Blend, Dimethiconol, PEG-75 Stearate, Ceteth-20, Steareth-20, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Butylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol

  • May 8, 2011

    by Sunday

    I think I'm going to be "moving on" from DD Eye Cream too. I also have dry skin that can become drier after the honeymoon phase is over, so something that worked at first may not always stay a favorite after awhile.

    I think after I kicked the Retinol to the curb, pretty much everything was a great option after that ordeal. Now that my skin has 'normalized' finally (and perhaps SenZen DD helped that along) I do want more hydration over-all.

    Oksana thanks for the neck cream idea, I just dry brushed my décolleté and applied, this is how I use the rest of DD!

  • May 7, 2011

    by Oksana

    I have been using sen zen for just under 2 weeks. It's probably my very dry under-eye skin, but I ended up using a serum prior to application of sen zen, otherwise it would not provide enough hydration.
    the texture is very pleasant; the cream has a slightly mattifying effect, which creates a nice base for concealer.
    the smell is somewhat sweet and perfumy, but does not linger too long.
    will be using it on my neck as well in order to "move on".

  • January 23, 2011

    by Sunday

    Ah Junko! That clinches it, those words are music to my ears, my pocketbook and my under-eyes! Thank you so much! I'm going to the city on 2/5 and now I'm REALLY looking forward to my stop at SenSpa. Even though it is only a pit stop, I'll definitely post my experience at their shop...and later a small review of my new eye cream in this string. :-)

  • January 22, 2011

    by Junko

    Sunday, This is the best 'hydrating' cream I've used so far that ABSORBS into the skin and doesn't roll after mineral powder is dusted on (meaning it's good for night & day use). Ingredient wise I admire the liposomal delivery method and tetrapeptide-17!

  • January 21, 2011

    by Sunday

    Lady Junko ~ please tell us what you like about Double Dose Eye Cream, I know you love YBF Correct, but at this time I cannot afford, so I am looking at this cream instead ~ I like that for the $$ "it is a HUGE pot of cream!" Thanks.

  • January 21, 2011

    by Junko

    Bite my tongue * my sincerest apologies Marta! I just re-read the top paragraph of your article and see that you only received a small sample that you used up. For anyone else who's thinking of buying it...it's a HUGE pot of cream!

  • January 20, 2011

    by Junko

    Marta ~ you must be putting Double Dose Eye Cream all over only God Knows Where in order to have used up a whole pot! Thank you for sending me one and I know I owe you a review...BUT in the mean time I want to bring this to everyone's attention!! SenZen's Double Dose contains ONE FULL OUNCE of product compared to most other eye creams at .5 ounce HALF THE AMOUNT. You are getting double the cream (this is why i think they call it double dose) for the money. Please think of SenZen Double Dose as a low to mid priced eye cream and since it's rich you don't need much which makes it last even longer unless you're like Marta and start slathering it all over :) Oh my gosh ~ I've been using this every night for weeks now and thinking all along that I'll have to throw it out from rot before I end up using it up!

  • January 20, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Sunday, I have promised myself to buy at the beginning of February as I am testing something right now. I'll let you know in a few weeks.

  • January 20, 2011

    by Sunday

    Hello Marta, in regards to you saying you were going to buy more of the SenZen Eye Cream...did you? And are you still loving it? Thank You

  • December 28, 2010

    by marta

    Hi, Stephanie, I'm not - only because I ran out. But I'm going to buy one.

  • December 28, 2010

    by Stephanie

    Marta,
    Are you still using Double Dose?

    Thanks,
    Stephanie

  • September 6, 2010

    by Jan

    Dear Marta,

    I appreciate your wish to offer the truth about products and give others the chance to try new things. I did try YBF eye cream and liked itvery much. I am going to be 61 (yikes) on the 11th so would love to try something you feel is special.
    Blessings,

    Jan

  • September 4, 2010

    by Susan L

    I am so happy to see that there are others who've also not had a favorable experience with Correct. It's not that it did anything bad, it just didn't do anything. I thought I must be the only one!

  • September 3, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Jane, currently they are on sale at Sen Spa's site. I'm going to try to get them in the TIA shop and then we can have them shipped to the TIA office and then on to you.

  • September 3, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Sara, That's why we do our Five Best round ups. Here's our Five Best for under $50 in case you missed it. http://truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-antiaging-serums-for-under-50

  • September 3, 2010

    by Sara Green

    I've been following your advice for a little while. Have tried some products (cellbone) and your sample of YBF eye cream. My beef is that with new products being assessed daily, I've lost all hope in finding the "right" product without losing a whole lot of hard-earned money. So my suggestion is, if at all possible, can you find us face products that are really good and worth the price. Anywhere along the price range of $30-$50 sounds fair. Comments?

  • September 3, 2010

    by jane

    Hi Martha how can i buy these products as i live in the uk .

  • September 3, 2010

    by Laura

    I am truly a sceptic when it comes to responding to a chance to try a product if you write something "enticing" in the hopes of being able to try it before acutally buying it. Since I am at the point in my life where I am buying and trying so many different products to recieve "TRUE" benifits of reducing fine lines and skin issues that accompany the aging process I am definitely intrigued by Marta's experience with SENZEN's performance and great results. Like I mentioned, I am trying multiple eye cremes and serums all the time and haven't really felt that any of them are helping?? Is it me or is this all a waste of our time? I truly hope not and being able to sample this eye cream would hopefully turn my beliefs around and actually be able to see the fine lines around my eyes being reduced. So, in saying that, before spending more time and money would be really a nice thing. Hopefully, I will be able to do just that, sample it and let you know that indeed, I am seeing the fine lines decrease. Love the reviews and maybe I will finally find the "IT" product with SENZEN's new eye cream and stop having to shop and pay for all of these different items I am trying to help with the unfortunate issue of aging skin. Thanks again! Laura

  • September 3, 2010

    by VickyL

    Junko - I have to echo your sentiments. I didn't know how much Correct was doing for me until I went without it for about 3 weeks. Wow, all I can say is that I am never without it now. The effects are gradual but continuous. I've used Correct for a year+ and continue to see benefits. Usually I'm on to the next product by now :) But, when used gently and consistently, I just don't think you can beat the results.
    Also love the Define, Boost, Prep and Concentrate. I supplement with a bit of rich organic creams as I'm (yikes!)60 now and need the extra help.

    Darrell - Thanks for your wonderful formulations and excited to hear about new products.

  • September 2, 2010

    by Laura

    I am unfortunately one of those few who found the Correct to adversely affect my eye area (red and dry irritation) although I do see how the ingredients would benefit those who can use it. I am using the Optyma and it does help with dryness and as Junko mentioned, very rich but I think I need that. For the price of the SenZen I'll be anxious to see what those of you who try it think of it, as I'm impressed with what Marta has to say about it.

    Junko I love your analogy to exercise. I don't generally see huge results while I'm exercising but when I stop...what a difference! As humans though, I think it's our nature to want to see immediate results and forget about the long term benefits.

  • September 2, 2010

    by Junko

    Darrell,
    Happy to see that you wrote 'additional' product options, as many of us are very happy with Correct as it is now. My start with Correct aligns with a lot of the posts I've read. Started with a sample, bought a full size with expectations that Correct would remove all my wrinkles :) After I replaced Correct with other eye creams for 6-9 months, I came to appreciate what Correct had been doing. Wrinkles & Correct are similar to Dieting and Exercise to me. If I exercise while dieting the scale often won't show that I've lost weight because I'm building muscle which offsets my loss. If I stop one or the other I appreciate the value of what both is doing. My skin is aging every minute that the clock ticks and I believe that Correct is helping to impede this process, which is why the area around my eyes deteriorated when I stopped using it. When I look at the ingredients for other eye creams, they just don't compare to the ingredients in Correct. Ingredient wise, I'd be hard pressed to find better. This is not to say that as science discovers better ingredients that Correct shouldn't be reformulated to keep pace, but know that if you alter the formulation, I for one, will I'll definitely have a keen eye on what it is that you've added or removed. Thank you Darrell for Correct, I know you've put a lot of work into this one and I've benefited from your efforts!

  • September 2, 2010

    by Mark

    Marta - great to see that we have another good eyecream to add to our list with the SenZen. Summer noted that she had been trying the Teamine Cream - I tried it about three years ago but just didn't see any results after using a full jar.

  • September 2, 2010

    by Linda Grasso

    I'd love to test the product. I've tried everything and nothing seems to make a difference on my eyes. If you look at SheSez, my website, you won't find one "endorsed" tried and true eye cream. I've gone from over the counter department store items like Cleau de Peau (supposed to work "miracles") to internet fav's like SkinSeuticalseye cream to some little packets my dermatologist recommended (supposed with all sorts of peptides and other sensational wrinkle smoothing ingredients) and zip has happened. The crow's feet reign and the skin around my eyes always feels dry. So as far as SenZen's eye cream goes - bring it 'on baby!

  • September 2, 2010

    by Chris

    Wow, it's been a while since I've done any testing for TIA! I've been so happy with the Cellbone products that I've been using (thanks to TIA), I haven't had the heart to add any new products.
    BUT, with cold weather fast approaching, I know my skin is going to be looking for something a little more moisturizing. And with my 44th birthday (gasp!) approaching even faster, I'm once again searching for that fountain of youth in a jar - or a bottle - or even a plastic container - I'm not picky!
    All that being said, I'd love to give SenZen's Infinity Never Ending Moisture a try. The ingredients sound wonderful, and I'd love to see if the cream really lives up to its name!

  • September 2, 2010

    by Steffie

    Dear Marta,
    here is my persuasive bid to review Infinity. I am living in Israel where it is very dry. What better test for a moisture - izer? And Iran wants to knock us out, people are shooting us, no one likes us ( well not no one but lots of people) AND I am suffering from post middle age. Clearly I have all the qualifications and needs to be a reviewer of SOME product.
    Consider it an act of charity.
    Steffie

  • September 1, 2010

    by Mary

    I just turned 40 this year and I am new to anti aging skincare beyond what you may find at Target. I have six children and I am an only parent this year. You think if a product were that good, I would really be able to tell about it!

  • September 1, 2010

    by Susan S.

    Yes Jessica,
    Please tell us the name of the serum you found. It sounds great. Btw, I'm another person who was unable to use Correct. I bought a bottle of the original formula and it caused red itchy little blisters on my eyelid. Then I got a generous sample of the new formula from Marta, and though I won't put it on my lids, so far it hasn't seemed to do anything for my under eye wrinkles. I hope I see Sen Zen in the TIA store, I would love to try this, but with my discount!

  • September 1, 2010

    by Darrell Owens

    Hi Karla and Jessica,
    I appreciate hearing about your disappointments.

    Our intent when upgrading Correct’s formula was to increase the quantity of active ingredients, add new ingredients that provide greater benefits and improve the the product’s texture. Or better summed up, to make a better product for you that outperforms other eye creams selling for $150 or more.

    Many of the formula changes we make come from feedback we receive through TIA readers like yourselves. Overall, feedback after the upgrade has been positive. Hearing about your experiences are just as important so we can keep our products competitive in the price points in which they sell.

    Hopefully Karla, we’ll soon have additional product options available that you’ll enjoy. :-)

    Please keep in touch and always feel free to contact me directly with any feedback or ideas about how we can improve our brand and the experience you’re having with our products.

    -Darrell

    Darrell Owens, founding partner & principal formulator
    Darrell.Owens@ybf-Skincare.com
    Your Best Face Skincare LLC
    407.394.7989

  • September 1, 2010

    by VickyL

    Hi Marta,
    I love your description of this eye cream - rich, moisturizing, and nourishing ingredients that don't cause millia. It's as rare as a pair of pants that fits perfectly. A real find heading into the dry days of fall/winter.

    I wonder if you would give us your perspective on when or what amount of a questionable ingredient puts you off a product. You note the Phenoxyethanol (listed as a "4" or moderate hazard on the Cosmetics Database) as a concern but I assume that since it's the last ingredient and used on a small area of the body it's a reasonable trade-off. But the Magnesium Aluminum Silicate (also a "4" hazard) and the PEG-75 Stearate (a 4 to 7 - moderate to high hazard) are even further up the list of ingredients. So do you find some ingredients unacceptable because of the type of damage that they do, because of bad experiences with them personally, or some combination of the two? Thanks for any insight as I believe TIA has such intelligent honest discussions.

  • September 1, 2010

    by Karla

    Jessica, I used to love YBF Correct, but the new formulation just does not perform nearly as well for me, not to mention the price. I was wondering what is the name of the serum you found on eBay? - it sounds quite promising, as does the SenZen eye cream.

  • September 1, 2010

    by deb

    I live in a climate that varies from disgustingly humid in the summer to disgustingly dry in the winter. Just about the time my skin clears up, the season changes. I'd love, love, love to be a candidate for some new products and promise that I will be a terrific reviewer.

  • September 1, 2010

    by Junko

    Marta,
    This eye cream somehow reminds me of Dermophisiologique Optyma. How would you compare the two? I found Optyma to be what I'd call a rich eye cream.

  • September 1, 2010

    by jessica

    Alison, you're not alone. Correct actually irritated my eyelids a little bit and I saw no difference either after using the bottle. I found a serum on ebay with snap8, spin trap, matrixyl 3000, hyaluronic acid, renovage, etc and have been using that. It seems to be working - not miracles, but it's at least better than YBF (for me anyway), and it's much cheaper! (around $30)

  • September 1, 2010

    by Alison

    I must be the only person on Earth who isn't wowed by YBF Correct :-(. I used a whole bottle of it and didn't see any difference in my under-eye circles at all. Sob!

    I'd love to try this to see if it has a better result. I *need* to have a great eye cream!

  • September 1, 2010

    by Eileen

    I used to be afraid of using any product containing oils until I started using the argan product you introduced. So the macadamia oil is intriguing. Any line that can rival rival YBF's eye cream (which I love) is definitely something I'd like to try.

  • September 1, 2010

    by summer

    I have to admit that this liposome delivery system sounds intriguing. After your review on the eyecream---I think it will be next up to try after I am done with my Teamine Eye Cream. As far as the Infinity moisurizer---I would love to review this product! Especially now that we are heading into cooler weather here in Illinois and the dry air saps all moisure from the skin. I am in my early 30's in need of a good moisturizer for Fall/Winter that helps my skin look plumper and moisturized. That murumuru oil sounds interesting! :)

  • September 1, 2010

    by Gloria

    I am always looking for new moisturizers to try. I love the fact they use macadamia oil and Theobroma Grandiflorum. Both are excellent for the body in general. I am not familiar with the brand but after doing some research on the web it sounds like they have great ingredients in their products.

  • September 1, 2010

    by ha

    After reading about them on TIA, I looked up their spa treatments since I live in the Bay Area. The facials and what not are out of my current price range. :( I would love to try their moisturizer though. I'm currently using Restore and Arconna, and I know TIA loves those two, but I just don't see any dramatic differences. I would love to review Infinity moisturizer to see how they compare to the two I'm currently using.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...