Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Shaving- the ultimate anti-aging tool?

Is a Solution for:
Face Care for Men
January 21, 2011 Reviewed by admin 9 Comments
Hi all, I hope you are all well. I just wanted to put this down for you all to read as it has come as quite a surprise to me and wanted to know what you think. I went to have a skin scan on Friday last week. It took 7 photographs to show up various things in my skin. Lines, Collagen, Skin barrier, Pigmentation, Deep damage (not shown up yet) and UV damage.

I know my skin is pretty good these days but I just wanted to see what this machine said. So I put my chin on it, and start worrying that it would find a wrinkle that I have not noticed, wishing I had taken a Diazepam to prepare me for what I was about to learn.

Then the pictures came up. Thank god, very little showed up. A few areas with minute sun damage and a line or two I knew were there and a few areas where my skin needed more moisture etc. But, and this is what amazed me, my whole beard area totally and utterly perfect. Not even a slight blip on the picture. Nothing whatsoever.

I have really thick stubble and shave every day with a razor. I use a good shave cream and am so careful when I shave. So has shaving stopped my beard area from aging? I think it must have as even my mustache area was totally clear of any signs. The regular exfoliation of using the blade must be keeping the area renewed and with it being an every day thing it has just stopped it from happening. Maybe causing the skins dermal matrix to renew itself over and over again is the way forward. Now I think about it when you see an older gentleman you notice that his lower face is normally wrinkle free (although of course it will go slacker due to loss of muscle tone).

So now I’m thinking, should I use a razor on my forehead? Carefully of course as I am quite attached to my eyebrows and eye lashes lol (and my cheeks and temples). Should I shave them every day and see what happens? I’m not sure… it seems kind of weird. I wonder if a lady shaved her face every day even though there was no hair present if it would help also.

Something to think about.
  • January 24, 2011

    by Dannyengland

    I shall find out for you. It was done by the Environ skin care representative woman . Must tell you that so far the Retinol serum 1 is rather mind blowingly good and I must inform you that my eye brows are still in the correct place :)

  • January 23, 2011

    by Christine

    Danny, would you share with us the type of machine that was used, or if you don't know, then perhaps the name of the skincare therapist / facility?

  • January 23, 2011

    by JustD

    It's not something I readily admit, but I do this quite regularly and I like the smoothness and the the way my skin looks afterward. I also like how it looks in the morning having been drenched in moisturizers, it looks and feels dewy.

    I haven't been a member here long, so I am not up to scale on a lot of the products here except for code:ai and hydropeptide for the lashes. I'm still not sure about HP and I just began code:ai, but that's another story. And I'm realizing that lack of knowledge may be my greatest hindrance. I was blessed with some decent genes, but it's keeping those genes intact that becomes the challenge, when money vs. cost are not partnershipping. Anti-aging is an expensive venture, and this site, although hugely educational, proves my point when it comes to how much more things cost that are considered better for you.

    Anyway, the shaving was induced because of the menopausal effects that came about 8 yrs. ago after my surgery, and between the other products and my premarin, shaving is the cheapest route to go and I am not sorry I did it, it's become a part of my daily regimen, like brushing my teeth. Being a woman of color, this was an easier option to deal with and control. I'm naturally hairy, there's Indian and European in my bloodline, but with the products that I'm having to use to offset hair loss and anti-aging, shaving was a no-brainer. I get exfoliated daily and for my money, it's the best. Btw, you become quite adept at NOT cutting your face LOL.

  • January 22, 2011

    by Mike

    I read an article about shaving and exfoliation a few months ago. I've started shaving my neck (which wasn't properly protected from the sun over the years), and it's seemed to help.

  • January 21, 2011

    by Dennis

    I've also read somewhere that stubble/ beards protects the skin, to a degree, from sun damage and the elements

  • January 21, 2011

    by Jan

    Years ago (15+) when I was getting glycolic peels every few weeks, my face would be dermaplaned before each peel - it was standard operating procedure at that time. Kinda scary when I think about it now, but it could be why my skin is now close to flawless and I'm 49. Thanks for the review Danny - let us know how the forehead shaving goes. Watch out for those eyebrows!

  • January 21, 2011

    by shancy

    I remember hearing from a skin doc, that the reason your legs are so soft after shaving is because the razor is also exfoliating the skin as it shaves off the hair. I never thought about taking it to any other parts of my body besides the requisite underarms. I would worry about using it on my face though because shaving also causes the hair to grow back thicker and that's not something I would want to sport around town.

  • January 21, 2011

    by Dannyengland

    I've just read up on that very interesting . It seems to be a facial treatment that removes dead skin cells. But with shaving if the blade is sharp and the skin is cleansed properly men can avoid in grown hairs . The mostly occur when a man shaves in the opposite direction to the hair growth and the hair re grows into the skin. I'm starting a new test on Monday . I managed to pursuade the woman that did my skin photograph thing to do it again in 3 months . In that time I'm going to be very careful and use my razor on my cheeks and forehead and nose :) don't ask how lol. After that I will have my skin re tested . Think I must be mad

  • January 21, 2011

    by Stephanie

    This is actually a thing - facial skin care places call it "dermaplaning". I've had it done- entire face, and it's great although it can lead to ingrown hair- which I guess men deal with but I was not expecting.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...