Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Silk'N FaceFX Anti-Aging Heat and Light Therapy Tool Review

is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin, Wrinkles
Silk'N FaceFX
January 28, 2012 Reviewed by Marta 34 Comments
TRU Rating
Mixed reviews and unconvincing technology

Pros

Dermal heating can be effective

Cons

Does not heat up enough to "denaturate"

Getting sucked into to a ShopNBC item can happen to the best of us, so I didn’t judge when a reader confessed to a trance-like state in front of Silk'N FaceFX Anti-Aging Heat & Light Therapy Tool (around $280). This is one of those at-home LED devices, although it claims to be different from the rest (e.g., Baby Quasar or Sirius Aurora) because it has something called “fractional light”. I wondered what this meant – if anything.

I’ve heard of fractional laser, but not fractional light. In fact, after reading around, I think that fractional light is a term that Silk'N FaceFX has made up. Fractional laser resurfacing, also known as fractional photothermolysis, targets areas of the skin that are precisely spaced out at a microscopic level and heats some skin zones while others are left undisturbed. Instead of emitting a solid beam, the laser puts out clusters of minuscule beams that punch invisible holes in the skin. An at home version of this would be the PaloVia. Meanwhile, Silk'N FaceFX  doesn’t function in this way at all. What this device does seem to use is LED (light emitting diodes that we are familiar with) and what it also alternately calls “dermal” or “thermal” heating.

Deep dermal heating has long been a salon treatment. Thermage is the one that most people are familiar with. But since it is painful and not especially effective, it has given way recently to newer treatments such as Pellevé. Thermage and Pellevé work in the same way by delivering gradual energy to the skin, causing heat to build up where the skin and fat layer come together. The increasing heat modifies the collagen bundles deep inside the skin. This part of the process is called denaturation. The denaturation of collagen fibers causes them to contract and, because they believe they are undergoing a trauma, they start stimulating the growth of new collagen. The advance that Pellevé has made over Thermage is that the denaturation takes place at 41°C (rather than 65 degrees with Thermage).

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest product reviews and save 10% on all orders over $50

And this is where the debate over Silk'N FaceFX really heats up. As I mentioned, Thermage’s 65 degrees has a reputation for being painful. I’ve had Pellevé in the hands of a trained professional and 41°C, I can tell you, is hot and it is essential that the practitioner keeps the device moving around the skin at all times to prevent burning. I personally wouldn’t dream of trying this out at home. So my guess was that Silk'N FaceFX, given that it has FDA approval, probably doesn’t get up to 41°C.

My hunch was right. The specifications of the Silk'N FaceFX state that the operating temperature is 15°C to 35°C. I also found a safety study during which the device cut off when the skin surface temperature reached 41°C. It is unlikely then that denaturation is taking place with the Silk'N FaceFX. In other words, it probably doesn’t work.

The reviews are a mixed bag, but there are an awful lot of them that are disappointed and saw no results after a month of using Silk'N FaceFX three times a week. I’ll think I’ll stick with my Ultra Renew LED/ultrasonic device.

Read more:

Find the Best at Home Device for You

Ask Marta: Skin Care Gadgets

TIA Olympics Day 6 - Beauty Tools

sign up for our newsletter

  • June 21, 2016

    by Dmitri

    Trying that without any noticeable results. But only 5 sessions, will see...

  • May 25, 2016

    by Dee

    Specifications: The Face FX wave length is 635 nm and the temperature shuts off exceeding 41 degrees, not at 41 degrees. A sensor is embedded in the treatment tip of the Silk’n Face FX. This sensor ensures the skin’s surface will not exceed 41°C / 106°F. The Operating Temperature Condition: 10°C to 35°C / 50°F to 95°F (it cannot tolerate extreme change of temperature. When moved from a cold environment under 10°C / 50°F to a warm environment, avoid use for approximately 3 hours). Storage condition: -40°C to 70°C /-40°F to 158°F. Wavelengths peak emission wavelength: 635nm. I own one and still out on a verdict. :)

  • April 22, 2016

    by Taylor

    Well I have read quite a few personal reviews that were praising this beauty product. Sounds fishy to me...almost like you're simply promoting the "ultra renew" system.

  • April 18, 2016

    by Mia

    This gives me a minor headache after using it on my face. Protect yourself and DO NOT look into the flash. It can't be good for your eyes.

  • April 16, 2016

    by judith marlett

    My question is, should you be wearing goggles while using this. It does make my eyes hurt even with them closed and using it in the eye area. Even if you shield your eyes. I also sometimes get a slight headache. Anyone else have this problem???

  • April 9, 2016

    by Jan Sunci

    I really wanted to buy this product, but quite worried because I have malasma. Is it safe for me to use this product? Will the LED light darken my melasma and brown spots? Is there anyone among the users experience darkening of their skin? Your help is very much appreciated. Thank you.

  • January 9, 2016

    by Cindy

    I have used this every day for 3 weeks and I have not noticed any difference so depressing I can't get rid of my wrinkles And its always money money money to try different things to look young.

  • December 16, 2015

    by judy

    Appreciate your opinions.

  • December 9, 2015

    by Anita

    Wow! Thank goodness I am not that scientific. I have only had my silkN FaceFX for a couple of weeks and could not be happier! If I had read all this first I might not have ordered and missed out! I am 69, my husband is 70 ... we decided to try doing only my husbands left side and I was doing my whole face ... for a test....we intended to try it for a month, but we could see such a difference in only two weeks that we know for sure IT WORKS. So, I don't know why it works when their science says it shouldn't ... I just know, it does WORK and my husband and I are happy and will tell our friends it is a wonderful product.

  • November 13, 2015

    by rfowler@wyoming.com

    I'm not sure this is really that safe. The LED light around my eyes is really bright and can be seen even when covering my eyes with a thick towel. And I got a severe headache after using this. Not sure how good this really is in the safety department. I don't want to lose my vision just for the sake of possibly having wrinkle-free skin. Has anyone else experienced this or is it just me. I also don't see any recent comments; most are in 2012 and 2013. Joan

  • January 4, 2015

    by Monica

    I *LOVE* this thing! I'm 43 and live in an extremely dry area. I have some sun damage and used to smoke so I am noticing a few fine lines coming in. I have been using this nearly every night. I tell my husband I'm going to iron my face, ha! I've notices SUCH an improvement. I use it on my lips as well and they appear plumper and fuller. The forehead wrinkle and fine lines on my eye area have greatly dissipated. The effects are temporary, and if you stop using it, it goes away. But that's with ANY topical wrinkle remedy. I am a certified esthetician and I would recommend this to anyone who asked!

  • July 19, 2014

    by Paulee

    after seeing infomercial, I purchased
    the gadget,after 2 mts using everyday,
    saw absolutely "NO RESULTS"
    Now the challenge of getting my full refund....
    should have read reviews b4 purchasing!!!!!
    GRRRRRRRR!!!!
    very dissatisfied consumer!!!!!!!!!!!!l

  • July 3, 2014

    by Yvette

    If the silk'n face only gets that hot......then I don't see much difference than heating a wet cloth in the microwave for 40 seconds and applying that to your face morning and night. I do this to myself and I'm 43 but everyone thinks I'm late 20's early 30's! I would suggest ppl try the wet cloth in heated in microwave 30-45 seconds first a few weeks and see how that works for you. Plus it feels great !

  • April 18, 2014

    by Ronando

    How much is the cost of Silk'N FaceFX Anti Aging Heat and Light

  • January 21, 2014

    by Juliana

    Silk facefx actually works great !
    I use it every day before going to bed full treatment and also in the morning a few movements fast over the face and neck before I apply makeup. I am very satisfied with the results. One morning I had a big line going down the face from the way I slept and with a few movements of facefx over it, the line disappeared like nothing. It works like a hot iron over a wrinkled Tshirt . I would recommend it anytime .

  • August 21, 2013

    by TRISHA

    I bought the SILK'N FACEFX ANTI-AGING HEAT & LIGHT THERAPY TOOL less than a year ago and it stopped heating/charging after only using it twice a week for 6 months .. there, of course, is no warranty ...Bought it from ShopNBC. I am a professional woman who lives alone and take very good care of my things so no damage was done. I also take very good care of my skin so I cannot tell you if this thing worked or not .. I learned my lesson the hard way and threw away some serious hard earned money.

  • March 28, 2013

    by ava

    Can i buy the silkn products in a store? what is the silkn bellaface?

  • March 1, 2013

    by liza

    I am 50 years old and I just got carded buying a bottle of wine - I have been using face fx for four months. The cashier asked me what my secret was for having great skin - I told her Face FX!!!!

  • December 5, 2012

    by Nikki

    What is different between Silk'n Bellaface Anti Aging Skin Device and Silk'N FaceFX Anti-Aging Heat & Light Therapy Tool? which one is better?

  • November 3, 2012

    by Elaine Anderson

    This company has a new product called Silk'n Bellaface. I would like to learn more about other member's experience with this as well as the differences between it and the Silk'n FX. Is it an upgrade, have different effect on the face or a rebranding? I would appreciate any feedback. Thanks

  • October 19, 2012

    by Brenda

    I bought it and I LOVE IT. No more wrinkles for me and this device really does leave my skin feeling nice and smooth. It's easy to use and painless too. Finally something that works for me. Creams and oils just never cut it.

  • August 15, 2012

    by Sylvia

    Thanks for your comments. I was on the fence on the Silkn FaceFX but after seeing the reviews, I decided to buy one as it's on sale. For those of you interested, it's on groupon at - http://www.groupon.com/deals/gg-silkn-facefx-antiaging-led-handheld-facial-device-and-hydrating-serum

  • June 14, 2012

    by RyAnn

    I just bought one of these for my mom! Its been a good 3 months and so far she loves it, I thought it was a very good investment, My boyfriend's mom is so jealous and now she wants me to buy her one hahaha

  • June 7, 2012

    by Julie

    I've had nothing other than a positive experience with FaceFX! Like Veronica said, the heat is nice warming sensation, which I find relaxing. Most importantly, the results have been great so far. I plan on stocking up on the other Silkn products as well!

  • June 7, 2012

    by Carrie

    my mom uses this product, and she loves it. was wondering if anyone knows if silkn makes an acne device? after seeing my mom's results i want to stay with this brand.

  • June 1, 2012

    by Kimberly

    I am very happy with my purchase of the FaceFX. As I try to fight the oncoming 60s I have seen results that make a difference to me. I also love the fact this device does not cause pain and I never have to go out to a clinic. I think it's worth looking into if you are someone battling age, like myself.

  • May 26, 2012

    by LuAnn

    I also have the FaceFX laser and have not experienced burning or any issues at all. In fact, I love the fact that I can use this in the comfort of my home, while watching television. The product is reasonably priced, as compared to what one would need to pay to get Botox or another type of filler at the doctor's office. This device is worth the investment.

  • May 24, 2012

    by Janet H

    After 2 months with the FaceFX, I personally notice quite a difference under my eyes and on the sides of my eyes (crow's feet). I think the reviews are mixed because no woman seems to use the device the same, or for the same number of treatments. If you are going to cheat medical procedures you have to be patient.. I hope these results keep up in 4 months and I will happy :)

  • May 22, 2012

    by Veronica

    I purchased the SilkN FaceFX months ago and am still loving it. Never burned my skin, in fact I really enjoy the warming sensation. I still use it every night while I'm watching TV or a movie and have seen dramatic results. The lines around my eyes have virtually vanished. My mom even bought one after I boasted about it and she's been using it for two months and loving it.I'd highly recommend as an alternative to invasive procedures and expensive spa treatments.

  • May 12, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Deonna
    I do think LED can help with sagging, and ultrasonic is even more helpful. See more here: http://www.truthinaging.com/treatments/ultra-renew-combines-ultrasonic-with-led-for-skin-lifting-and-firming

  • May 12, 2012

    by deonna

    Silk'n face fx or tanda? Confused, seems they seem similar. Read led red light not as good as laser red light. Something called fractional light. Led light pricey for at home,however laser red light at home more exspensive yet works better. Would like to hear your opinion or facts. Also if you only knew the products I use. OMG.. Dealing with mostly saggy and a few deep lines and neck issues. Never poured my prob lems like this.. Need guidance

  • February 11, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Judy, the Silk'N FacialFX isn't strictly speaking an LED device like Baby Quasar or the Sirius. Silk'N FacialFX uses "dermal heating" (it has LED as well, but this is a separate functionality). The device is designed to get hot, even uncomfortably so and for this reason I would personally not use it. Baby Q and Sirius are LED only and can feel a little warm but should never be uncomfortable or burn. I hope that helps.

  • February 11, 2012

    by Novicegirl

    I just recently purchased this at home LED unit and I am going to send it back because it burns my skin. I have low tolerance to heat maybe? Even when I use it on the top of my hands, it burns! Maybe it's because the trim of the unit that glides on the surface of the skin is metal and conducts heat more. I have ordered the Aurora Sirius because it is plastic and with good ratings. I would be fearful of the Baby Quasar at this time because it too is metal and just maybe too hot on my skin. I will see how sirius works as my interest is anti-aging! I really appreciate your input Marta on these at LED units. Thank you

  • January 29, 2012

    by Valerie

    Thanks for that Marta! I've been seeing this from time to time and wondering if I could justify ANOTHER device. I couldn't figure out the difference from my BabyQ. As usual, thanks for your research & education! It is greatly appreciated.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...