Free shipping on all orders over $39

SkinMedica TNS Illuminating Eye Cream - reviewed and rejected

Is a Solution for:
Dark Circles, Sagging Skin
Reviewed by Mark September 18, 2011 12 Comments
Ever on the lookout for an effective eye cream, my curiosity was piqued by TNS Illuminating Eye Cream’s ingredients, namely the growth factors and peptides.  Recalling several products recently reviewed on TIA containing Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media and how it appears to be the new “black” in skincare, I decided this may be an eye cream worth trying.

According to the SkinMedica website, the TNS Illuminating Eye Cream growth factors and peptides work synergistically to reduce fine lines and wrinkles, the appearance of dark circles and help to improve firmness and resiliency.  Recommended usage is twice daily to skin adjacent to and beneath the eye (avoid upper eyelid).  It is priced at $85/.5oz on their website, but after searching around, I found it on Amazon for $43 (which was my deciding factor in purchasing it).

This is a lightweight eye cream that takes very little product to apply and absorbs in a couple of minutes without any tackiness or residue.  I have to add that I was a bit dismayed this is specified as only for application under the eye area.  In my mind, a good eye cream that truly improves firmness and resiliency for the lower eye area should do the same for the upper eye area.

Luckily, I don’t have issues with dark circles, but I do want a product that address fine lines and improves firmness and resiliency.  Following directions I applied morning and evening for the past eight weeks.  I didn’t notice any change the first week, but by the second week the under eye area was actually looking more dry than hydrated.  A bit worried, I did persevere hoping that the growth factors would kick in and I would see improvement.  The weeks have rolled by and with the container now empty, I can’t say that I see any improvement in fine lines, firmness/resiliency and especially hydration.  Since this did nothing for me I will have to add it to Junko’s list of non-performing eye creams in “Martaspedia”.

Ingredients: Water, Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Polyacrylate 13, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Hydroxysuccinimide, Chrysin, Bisabolol, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin, Isoceteth-20, Steareth-20, Polyisobutene, Polysorbate 20, Aminomethyl Propanol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Ethylparaben, Disodium EDTA
  • September 25, 2011

    by kim

    I have to agree with everyone the tns illuminating eye cream is not worth the money. SkinMedica has the TNS eye repair which is a much better product for the eyes.

  • September 21, 2011

    by Debra

    I think Skin Medica is a good product the problem is who can afford it. They have made it so expensive and that gets in the way with our economy. Good skin care should not be a luxury but a necessity we should be able to afford.

  • September 20, 2011

    by Dawn Taylor

    Thank ladies for you feedback, I really appreciate it! I was considering trying the TNS Recovery Complex as my friend has really seen improvments with it, but I'm now considering Reluma instead.

  • September 20, 2011

    by Gloria

    I have to say that the TNS Recovery complex was not a total waste of money. I started using that and went on to the Essential Serum. There was a noticeable difference in the texture of my skin. After a few months I started reading a few things about the Reluma and it was less expensive than the Essential and I tried it. I am totally sold on the fact that Reluma is far better as far as a serum. Skin Medica has some great products as far as moisturizers in their TNS line. The Skin Medica Rejuvenative Moisturizer is a wonderful moisturizer and has a great price of around $60 for 2oz. I still use it sometimes. I have since tried the eye cream as well as the moisturizer from Reluma and they are better on my skin. Skin medica makes good products and some of them are not too bad in the priceline.

  • September 19, 2011

    by Junko

    I'm using the SkinMedica TNS Recovery Complex right now. I should write a review as I've almost gone thru my second bottle. I'll say right away that ReLuma's Serum is far, far superior in comparison.

  • September 19, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    Dawn- I don't know about their facial moisterizer, but I use TNS Body Lotion, which has the same base ingredients as most of the TNS line. I love this lotion. So I bet the face cream is lovely.
    I personally believe eye creams are the most difficult to nail down being geared to individual experiences in the past and needs in the present. But just because TNS Illuminating Eye Cream doesn't cut it doesn't mean the entire line is crap. On the contrary, TNS makes a wonderful product, overall. In my opinion. ~jk

  • September 19, 2011

    by Dawn Taylor

    Good to know, I haven't tried their eye cream and now I won't bother... thanks!! However, my friend loves the TNS Recovery Complex for the face, has it been reviewed here or does anyone have feedback about this product?

  • September 18, 2011

    by Pam

    I also agree with you. After using the TNS Illuminating Eye during the day and the TNS Eye Repair at night for 6 months, I saw no results at all.

    My dermatologist recommended the SkinMedica TNS products (which is one of the brands he sells in his co-located skincare shop.) I also used the TNS Essential Serum during this time - same - no results. A lot of money down the drain.

  • September 18, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    One more I don't have to bother trying. Thank you, Mark.
    For me the issue IS all about dark circles. I use YBF Correct daily, and it has taken care of crepiness, deep lines and many fine lines; even sagginess. What I need/want is an eye potion that I can apply as a night cream under my eyes that will work on my darkness there. ~jk

  • September 18, 2011

    by deb

    I used to use SkinMedica but the prices are prohibitive.

  • September 18, 2011

    by Junko

    Bravo Mark! I´ve tried Skinmedica´s eyecream also and agree whole-heartedly with your assessment of it´s non/poor performance. A disappointing addition to the list, and your time and money weren´t a total waste since your review will aid others so that they don´t waste theirs on this one. Thank you Mark! Commenters! Add to the list by commenting your non-performing eyecreams on Mark´s article!

  • September 18, 2011

    by Gloria

    Mark I have to agree with you. I was using Skin Medica TNS and this eye cream as well when I happened to see TIA website. I did not like the eye cream, but I did like the TNS Essential Serum. That was until I started using Reluma. Wow what a difference and less expensive as well. Needless to say I am a lover of the Reluma products so far. I have had the greatest results for the wrinkles under the eye and around the lips. I also believe my face is much firmer, and at 52 I am looking for whatever help I can get without surgery or fillers.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...