Free shipping on all orders over $39

Sportnette Boar Bristle Brush- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Dry or Brittle Hair, Limp Hair, Dull Hair
December 2, 2009 Reviewed by Marta 8 Comments
When we asked stylist to the stars Melissa Peverini for advice for dry hair she said: "Brush, brush, and more brushing with boar hairs is the best way to increase shine by bringing natural oils down, as well as waiting as long as possible to shampoo. Water is the enemy." She got me thinking. I have tirelessly researched the best hairdryer (the Sedu), heating irons, shampoos and conditioners and never given a thought to my hairbrush. Ms Peverini will be pleased to know that I am reformed and now the proud owner of a Sportnette Deville Boar Bristle Brush ($17.99).

My Deville just might become the most important thing in my hair care arsenal. Boar bristles are hard, but pliable and densely packed. The hard bristles stimulate the scalp, increasing the blood flow whilst giving me a pleasant little massage. The stimulation of the scalp also spreads the natural oils of the scalp through the hair and down the hair shaft. The result is smoother, healthier hair that is soft and manageable.

Because they are flexible, the boar bristles do less damage to hair, resulting in fewer breakages and split ends. The densely packed bristles work better with fine hair than very thick or course hair. This feature makes the brush really effective at removing dirt and, hence, reduces the number of shampoos needed.

Unlike plastic brushes, boar bristle does create static. However, for all those vegans who gave me a hard time over emu oil (great for stimulating hair growth), Sportnette makes a paddle brush out of sustainable bamboo.
  • December 5, 2009

    by Beata

    I would love to try it. My hair is fine and over dried because of all the years of coloring and possibly not using the best hair products. I have used to wash and shampoo my hair every day and that did not held ether. Ever since I started reading your blog I cut down to washing every other day but if there is something our there that can help me go every third day without wash that would be fantastic. From what I have read in your post Marta, it seems that Sportnette Boar Bristle Brush might be IT.
    Thanks you your consideration.
    Beata

  • December 4, 2009

    by Angela

    I'd love to test and review this brush. I have short hair and would love a brush that takes scalp oil and redistributes it through my hair -- especially important now that we're coming up on winter.

  • December 4, 2009

    by Kim

    Being a curly girl all my life, I've never really brushed my hair. But since reading TIA I'm on a full-on healthy hair quest. I've switched out all my shampoos and conditioners. I'd definitely love to test out this brush and see if I can add it to my curlycue routine.

    thx!
    kim

  • December 4, 2009

    by jessica

    Oh, yes please. Definitely want to try and review this. I'm always looking for vegan alternatives (and healthy hair practices).

  • December 4, 2009

    by Chris

    Wow, I'd love to try this. My hair is fairly straight and about midway down my back. I've been going "au naturel" with my hair lately - using Surya henna cream, Ctonics shampoo and conditioner (twice a week) along with Nutra-Lift Gel. I'd love to see how this might help my hair!

  • December 4, 2009

    by Cristina

    I babied my Mason Pearson big brush for 20 years. I loved how it made my hair look and how it made my scalp feel.
    A few weeks ago we went out of town and our pet sitter decided it would be nice to brush the cats for us. They looked great.. but she used my beloved MP brush and ruined it. There is no getting all the cat hair out even with a tweezer. I want to replace it but geez..$150.00? In this economy it's not going to happen!
    I've been using just a plastic comb while in mourning...>sniff<

  • December 3, 2009

    by aersim

    This only works for straight/wavy hair. Brushing, even w/boar bristles doesn't work for curly hair, and can even damage it.

  • December 2, 2009

    by JulieK

    I've used boar bristle brushes all my adult life- a lesson passed to me by my grandmother. My first brush lasted 25 years (approx) and the replacement of it was quite the "mission." It was in the 80s and there seemed to be a *brush boom* of every kind of brush but boar. Lately, I've let my lovely wood-handle boar brush languish in favor of other trickster brushes, you've reminded me why I need it now more than ever. Thanks for getting the word out, Marta! ~jk

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...