Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Stem Cell Therapy Antiaging Cream

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
February 2, 2011 Reviewed by Marta 26 Comments
If you haven’t seen the infomercial on Stem Cell Therapy Antiaging Cream by Biologic, you probably don’t watch enough television. It seemed exactly the type of thing that Truth In Aging should lift the lid on. The burning question, of course, is whether there is any tangible relationship between Stem Cell Therapy’s contents and stem cells. Unfortunately, but not all surprisingly, the ingredients were nowhere to be found on the Stem Cell Therapy website and so I resorted to buying a pot for $49.95 even though my credit card has been signed in to a monthly renewal program that I shall have to get myself out of. What I do in the name of research……

To be fair, Biologic doesn’t claim that there are stem cells in its cream. But its explanation of how Stem Cell Therapy works remains puzzling. This is what it says: “the cells of the body begin to decay and regenerate at a much slower pace than it used to when we were babies” and Stem Cell Therapy “actually works to awaken those dormant skin cells so that they once again regenerate new skin cells the way they did when you were younger”.

I haven’t heard of an anti-aging cosmetic ingredient that awakens dormant cells. And, as far as I know, none of the ones in Stem Cell Therapy work that way.

Perhaps the most impressive ingredient, ergothioneine, is near the end of an otherwise not especially impressive list. Ergothioneine is an antioxidant amino acid that occurs naturally in the body and is found in high concentrations around cells that are subjected to free radical damage. However, scientists seem to have mixed feelings about how effective it is as an antioxidant.

The most dominant active in Stem Cell Therapy (although omega-7 rich macadamia is also worthy of a shout out) is Hydrogenated lecithin and this is one of those frenemy ingredients. Lecithin is a natural emulsifying agent and one of the most important components of cells. However, you can have too much of a good thing in this case. There are some concerns over its carcinogenic properties and its ability to penetrate the skin and it is, consequently, recommended to keep it below a 15% concentration.

Stem Cell Therapy also contains glucosamine. Typically this is made from shellfish or fermented corn. It is necessary in the body for the structure and function of the articular cartilage, as well as assisting in maintaining the elasticity and integrity of the connective tissue.

As well as vitamin C, there are a couple of seaweeds. Laminaria digitata, or Atlantic kelp, is rich in compounds that are of specific use in the cosmetic industry, such as polygalactosides, fucose polymers and ursolic acid. These are mostly moisturizing/hydrating agents. Algin is also a seaweed and protects living tissue from absorbing radiation.

All in all, its not a bad line up. It’ just that there is nothing that is really a standout. There are some less desirable ingredients such as propylene glycol and parabens. But on balance, I am tempted to give Stem Cell Therapy a try.

Ingredients

Water, cyclopentasiloxane, butylene glycol, dimethicone, macadamia seed oil, triethylhexanoin, cetyl ethylhexanoate, hydrogenated lecithin, sodium methyl stearyl taurate, glycerin, squalane, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose stearoxy ether, glucosamine HCI, pea extract, bambusa vulgaris leaf/stem extract, laminaria digita extract, hydrolyzed algin, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, sorbitan stearate, benhenyl alcohol, olive glycerides, PPG-12/SDM copolymer, ergothioneine, xanthan gum, propylene glycol, DMDM hydantoin, methylparaben, propylparaben.
  • October 11, 2016

    by Team TIA

    Hi James - While we appreciate your frustration, we do not make, sell or promote this cream. This is an objective review of a product that we have no affiliation with.

  • October 11, 2016

    by James Smith

    More total BS from scam artists. You should be in prison for violating Truth In Advertising laws. Your products are useless trash.

  • March 28, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Kaylene, this website is called Truth In Aging and this article is a review of the product. We do not make or sell this product. You will need to get in touch with Biologic, the company that makes Stem Cell Therapy or call your credit card company and have the payments stopped.

  • March 27, 2013

    by Kaylene livingston

    I sent for the free sample just to try it...had to pay shipping and handling, so gave you my credit card number.....what a mistake that was...I have been billed 89.95 for the last two months, plus 3.95 for something....I have not received any more product, which I don't want..how do I get a refund and not another charge on. My credit card? Please take care of this problem before it becomes a real one...

  • September 28, 2012

    by miki barker

    I ordered the two for one, the eyelash grower and the eye creme. Loved the product. Funds became tight so i switched to Garnier (cheaper). After a week of eye burning for eyelash grower and eyes looked like before using the stem cell. I was on the auto bill and when i called to xl i had no problems. I am going to restart with stem cell but will use the all n one cream and the eyelash grower..It worked. I took pics..Now i have to start all over..

  • July 11, 2012

    by Kiran

    I have recently just bought 2 jar of stem cell therapy cream. I am wandering if I can apply a moisturizer, eye cream and foundation , once I have applied the cream. Please let me know if I have to use the stem cell therapy cream first or moisturizer . Thanks

  • July 9, 2012

    by Deb

    Would love to know the name of the catalog Kathy found this cream in. I have gotten into one of those "auto" deals before.....no thanks!

  • April 15, 2012

    by Patricia

    I tried it and it didn't work at all. Money wasted.

  • February 18, 2012

    by laurie

    iI HAVE BEEN USING THIS PRODUCT FOR 10 Days. i am amazed how all the wrinkles around my mouth filled in immediatly within days. it does burn around eye area but i bought mainly for mouth area. i use twice a day. i recommend highly.but buy it on ebay for half the price.

  • February 5, 2012

    by Josie

    I have been using stem cell for approx. 6 months. I have senstive skin and this product works well for me. It will burn around my eyes but then the skin is extremely thin around the eyes. I use a eye cream for the eye area. This product does work and I only use it once a day...

  • October 16, 2011

    by Kathy

    I like many others have tried many things that simply Do Not Work. I have found this product listed in a mail order catalog I received for $29.99. Don't have to sign up for anything or cancel anything so I'm about to order and give this one a try. This will be my last time to try. If it doesn't at least help I won't be buying anything else. Surgery isn't an option for me due the cost, so I'll probably be just one of many stuck with looking older than they feel!

  • June 30, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Richard, here's a review of Stem Cell Therapy: http://truthinaging.com/face/biologic-stem-cell-therapy-anti-aging-cream-reader-reviewed-and-rejected

  • June 30, 2011

    by Richard

    Can anyone who have used this even for a month say if they see any improvement in their skin?

  • May 2, 2011

    by Ellen

    I am starting on my 3rd jar. I got one and the 2nd jar was free. I was shipped another one the next month. I did call and asked them put a hold on sending anymore for the next couple of months until I use what I have. I have had no problems with this cream. I have very sensitive skin. It goes on smoothly, not too thick and it covers beautifully. 1 jar lasts me the entire month but that is because I only use it in the mornings. I have had no breakouts. If you need anything else, don't hesitate to ask.

  • April 4, 2011

    by djara

    does anybody have same expirience as i do:i used this product 3 times and ever time,several houers after i apply cream get burning sensations in my eyes and they get red,wondering how safe is this cream,anybody?

  • February 24, 2011

    by marta

    In order to get a jar of Stem Cell Therapy, I had to allow my credit card to be submitted into their monthly renewal program. The website says you can cancel at any time. We tried to cancel by calling - over several days, multiple times a day - and were usually put through to a voice messaging service with a full inbox so I was unable to leave a message. Once we were left waiting for over 20 minutes. An email sent a week ago remains unanswered In the end, we called Amex and had any future payments to the company behind Stem Cell Therapy - Biologic Solutions - barred from taking any future payments. BUYER BEWARE.

  • February 17, 2011

    by Regina MG

    Good Day Martha,
    I'm also like Leni, I have tried so many different products without any results. Now at this point not to try anymore I lost faith in anti-aging creams, as I can see that the only way to get rid of the wrinkles above my lips is to have surgery. I'm 50 yrs. old and single, I would like to start dating but I'm to embarrass of the wrinkles above my lips to put my self out there. So If this stuff really works for you, please by all means, email and let me know. I would kindly appreciate it!!!:)

  • February 17, 2011

    by Leni Nimsgern

    I would love to try this cream, I'am very skepitical!! I have spent hundreds of dollars on creams that just do not work. I definately need to see more info and hopefully feedback on customers that are using it before I decide to purchase it.

  • February 3, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Joyce, it has completely different ingredients. TNS has a human growth media (which likely originated from a stem cell). There is an article on TNS here: http://truthinaging.com/face/reader-review-skinmedicas-tns-essential-serum

  • February 3, 2011

    by debbie rawls

    would love to try this out

  • February 3, 2011

    by Joyce Polster

    I would like to know how this is different from the Skin Medica TNS recovery?

  • February 3, 2011

    by Kim

    Marta, I need to get more collagen stimulation, hoping this stem cell will click & make more! That's the idea, I think. I'm in my 50's so I've got fairly deep lines & should be able to see before & after really well.

    I've also heard the apple stem cells are good?? Is there a diff?

  • February 2, 2011

    by deborah rodell

    I would love to review this item. I would give my full attention to its affects on my skin and would not use anything but this to garner a full objective point of view. It is always great the way you share the products and information with us. Kudos and thank you.

  • February 2, 2011

    by D Jehnson

    Hi,

    I've recently started developing some minor wrinkles and some changes in my skin indicative of aging. I'd love to try this and see if works. I'm very good about using a product for an appropriate amount of time to see if it works (or doesn't) and can write some interesting reviews for you, if you'd like. I'm also good at keeping tract of what I'm doing, and objective in my decisions. I've found some really great products that work that are inexpensive, and some that are most costly, so I don't prejudge in advance.

    Thanks for considering me.

  • February 2, 2011

    by Teresa Gillenwater

    I came so close to buying this only recently. When I couldn't find ingredient info on their website, I changed my mind. Since it has made it past your inspection, Marta, Please let me try. I am saving to buy my first Clarisonic and I'd love a miracle cream to try!

  • February 2, 2011

    by Sharon

    I am a total skeptic on this one, but I am willing to try it on my worst trouble areas under my eyes and upper lip

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...