Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Stemulation Micro Derm Scrub- reviewed and recommended

Our Rating: 5 stars

Pros

Reveals radiant, refined skin

Cons

Formula runs a bit runny
June 23, 2012 Reviewed by TIA Community Member 15 Comments
Results are almost equivalent to that of a chemical peel

by Nisha

Sometimes a product turns out to be awesome when you least expect it to be. I had only just heard of the Stemulation skincare line after reading Marta’s review of the Rescue Repair Hand and Body Treatment ($96 in the shop). I’ve tried a ton of scrubs over the years and while some are better than others, none have exactly rocked my world, so when my editor handed me the Stemulation Micro Derm Scrub ($34 in the TIA shop), I wasn’t exactly psyched to try out another one. In fact, I didn’t even bother to use it for a few days. However, the morning that I did use Stemulation’s scrub, I immediately emailed my editor to notify her, “I just used the Micro Derm scrub and the stuff is the bomb!”

I was genuinely surprised at how well this gentle scrub left my skin looking and feeling after just one use. I had only lightly massaged the scrub – which also formed a nice lather – onto moist skin. My pores appeared to be noticeably cleaner and my skin felt incredibly smooth; the way it looks and feels post-chemical peel. Upon closer examination of the scrub’s formulation, I found the majority of the ingredients to be natural and relatively mild.

The second ingredient is aloe, which is known for its soothing properties. There are several skin-beneficial extracts including green tea, bilberry and ginko biloba. An intriguing ingredient in the formulation is diatomaceous earth, a naturally occurring, soft siliceous sedimentary rock that is easily crumbled into a fine powder and is very light as a result of its high porosity. Vitis vinifera or grape seed extract not only serves as an anti-inflammatory and a natural preservative, but also contains malic acid, aiding in exfoliation. Sodium lactate, a natural salt derived from lactic acid, plays double duty as a preservative and an exfoliant. There is also sodium lauroyl methyl isethionate, which Marta found to be benign and gentle. Sodium lauroyl sarcosinate serves to clean skin by mixing with oil and dirt and enabling them to be rinsed away. It is Cosmetic Ingredient Review (CIR) approved when used in rinse-off products. Potassium sorbate is a mild, natural paraben alternative.

A little of this scrub goes a long way, and I’ve found myself using it every night during the current heat wave in New York City. I use the tiniest amount to lather up on moist skin, always rinsing off with cool water. My skin feels refreshed and looks radiant after each use. For a superior product, it’s a generous sized tube for the price and I imagine that the tube will easily last for several months so I think it’s definitely a good buy. A final housekeeping note –  the formula is a bit runny so I keep the tube upside down (with the cap side upright); otherwise, I find that the product can accumulate and dry out in the lid and I don’t want to waste a drop of this lovely potion!

  • October 12, 2012

    by eva

    Love it!!!! As a medical esthetician for 20 years I NEVER come across product working so well so fast.
    Using serum, boost cream -I found out they work better together. Just started Body lotion with lactic acid.Skin feels fabulous.
    I am in my 60th..My skin never felt smoother and tighter.
    I am just about to try the cleanser and scrub.

  • June 29, 2012

    by Chris

    I've tried a number of different serums, many of them due to the great reviews on TIA. I'd love to try this on my agng skin that never seems to know if it's dry or sensitive or breaking out, and share the results with the TIA community!

  • June 29, 2012

    by colinmack

    I would love to try this! I have heard amazing things about this product . My skin is sensitive so I think it would be a good fit!

  • June 29, 2012

    by TK Netherton

    This product sounds amazing! I would love to be included in the trial. Thank you Marta!

  • June 28, 2012

    by Messina DeMayo

    Hello Again.. Im aware that I commented above but after researching the Stemulation line alittle further , Id also love to test the Stemulation Serum. As a woman with a history of acne in the past (and the scars to prove it) I'm always looking for a product that helps!! From everything I've read so far I'm truly excited about this line and especially these two products!! I've done all the research, all I need now is a chance to try the products and form my own opinion.

  • June 28, 2012

    by Dawn T

    I would love to try this!!! I too have recently been using AQ and would love to compare this and see if it can top it, thanks!!

  • June 28, 2012

    by Cheryl

    Please consider me for the serum; I would very much like to try it and compare it to the other Top 5 serums that I have been using. Thank you!

  • June 27, 2012

    by roberta certner

    As a baby boomer who's fairly knowledgeable
    about anti aging products, and who has reasonably good skin I would welcome the opportunity to try this.
    Thank you

  • June 27, 2012

    by Kate Z

    I would like to be a tester of the serum. I've been using the AQ serum and would like to do a comparison. It would be interesting to compare how both of these two great products size up to each other!

    Thanks!

  • June 27, 2012

    by NJ Robinson

    Hi Nisha,

    I'd love to try the scrub. I think it could be an excellent product for me to try as I actually scrub lightly twice a day, if you can believe it. I could test again my experience for that, which I've done for the last 20 years or more.

    Also, I've always had oily, acne-prone skin, even into my 40s and have had to keep my skin scrupulously clean to avoid breakouts even now. So it would be interesting to see if this scrub could clean, clear and calm the skin, which it seems to intend to do.

    Would love to try it. Thanks!

    All the best, Nancy

  • June 27, 2012

    by DELIA SADLER

    WOULD LOVE TO TRY THIS OUT FOR YOU. SOUNDS LIKE A WONDERFUL PRODUCT. I LOVE THE FACT THAT YOU DO SUCH INTENSE RESEARCH ON THE PRODUCTS BEFORE OFFERING THEM PUBLICLY.

  • June 27, 2012

    by Tina

    Nisha,

    I would truly LOVE to try the Stemulation serum. I have read that Demi Moore is a huge fan of this product, and she always looks fabulous! I use serums every day as part of my skincare regime, and feel that a serum is a must-have beauty essential.

  • June 27, 2012

    by Gloria Gerber

    Marta I would love to try the new facial serum. Always looking for something to do a better job. AQ is about the best so far.

  • June 27, 2012

    by Messina DeMayo

    Amazing!!! This is the first time I've heard of the Stemulation line and I would "LOVE" the privilege of being a tester for a couple of reasons.. First I have sensitive skin and I have a hard time finding scrubs/exfoliants that aren't to abrasive for my skin. Second ALOE!!! I've been reading a lot about the use of aloe in skincare products and it's amazing moisturizing and healing/soothing properties and I'm quite intrigued.. Finally im ALWAYS looking for quality products to add to my regimen.. I've tried TONS of microderabrasion scrubs and honestly haven't had much luck with finding a "quality" product...Perhaps Stemulation is the one??? Please Please consider me to test this product!!!!
    Thank You
    Messina DeMayo

  • June 27, 2012

    by Lorrie

    I would like to try the Stemulation’s Facial Serum.

Have You Tried Stemulation Micro Derm Scrub?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Stemulation Micro Derm Scrub below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Stemulation Micro Derm Scrub

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...