Free shipping on all orders over $39

Our Rating: 4 stars

Buy this product

Suntegrity All Natural Moisturizing Face Protection SPF30- reviewed and recommended

Reviewed by Marta February 14, 2011 30 Comments

Pros

Doubles as a moisturizer

Cons

Thick consistency, especially for oily skin
Protects skin from the sun with an antioxidant kick

When Emily wrote about her experience with COOLA sunscreen, I was contacted by several sunscreen makers who wanted to tout their supposedly all-natural-do-no-evil-wares. I’m particularly persnickety about sunscreens, but one of the companies caught my attention, Suntegrity, and I agreed to try a sample of its Suntegrity All Natural Moisturizing Face Protection SPF30 ($45 in the shop). Not only is this a rare sun protector that is based only on zinc oxide (no titanium dioxide and certainly no chemical sunscreens here), but – and I know that all you other antioxidant-files out there are going to be as excited as I was – it comes with astaxanthin.

Since I have been testing this in wintry New York, I can’t vouch for Suntegrity’s ability to get between me and tropical rays. Still, there is such a thing as snow glare and I would say that, for starters, Suntegrity does its job. However, I was more worried about the texture and how comedogenic it might prove to be. This is a rather thick cream and if I am completely honest I’d prefer the consistency to be a little lighter. In the ruthless pursuit of science, I slathered it on to my nose for several days and was pleasantly surprised to find that it did not block or further enlarge the pores there.

The slight chalkiness that is typical of mineral sunscreens is evident for only a few moments and then seems to fade. Although now I am inspired by Arandjel’s idea of mixing a little ColoreScience powder with it. Wear this over your serum and you won't need an additional moisturizer thanks to the aloe and hyaluronic acid.

The nicest thing about applying Suntegrity All Natural Moisturizing Face Protection SPF30 is that you get to think about some of the good things it is adding to your skin. Top of that list is, of course, astaxanthin, a dark red cartenoid pigment that is present, amongst other things, in salmon. A radical scavenger, analyses have shown that astaxanthin is also an efficient absorber of specific ultraviolet sunlight rays that may contribute to skin aging and cancer. It gets an antioxidant boost from red algae and pomegranate.

Suntegrity was founded by Tricia Trimble, who lost her mom to skin cancer. Not surprisingly then, she has striven to create a product that is effective and safe – even down to her choice of preservatives. Polyaminopropyl biguanide, a disinfectant that is used in contact lens solutions, is one of the most benign and is enhanced by ethylhexylglycerin, which can be an irritant but is otherwise considered safe.

Suntegrity also makes a body sunscreen and a vitamin D-based supplement. And while you are on the website, check out Tricia’s mom’s hairdo.

ACTIVE INGREDIENT: Zinc oxide 20%

INGREDIENTS: Water (Purified), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Capric Caprylic Triglycerides, Sorbitan Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, Jojoba Oil, Cetyl Dimethicone, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate (Epsom Salt), Sunflower Oil, Cucumber Extract, Hyaluronic Acid, Tea-Oil Camellia, Pomegranate Oil, Red Algae Extract, Astaxanthin, Citrus Sinensis (Sweet Orange) Essential Oil, Citrus Reticulata Blanco (Tangerine) Essential Oil, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Essential Oil, Polyaminopropyl Biguanide*, Ethylhexylglycerin* *Paraben-free anti-microbial agent.

Buy Me
$ 45.00
  • January 11, 2013

    by Michael Mann

    Oh, and this sunblock also did not irritate my sensitive Rosacea skin!

  • January 11, 2013

    by Michael Mann

    I am very happy with this sunblock- it's surprisingly light, goes on smooth, smells good, and the primer gives my skin a nice radiance.

  • May 31, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Elena, Suntegrity uses 20% non-nano zinc oxide and it is uncoated. This is what Suntegrity says about being uncoated: "Suntegrity uses uncoated zinc oxide because it is very therapeutic to the skin. Uncoated zinc oxide is the main ingredient used in Calamine lotion and baby diaper rash creams, and it also an ingredient often found in rosacea, melasma and acne treatments."

    Companies like Suntegrity and Badger believe that their particles are larger and therefore less reactive, and are counter-balanced by antioxidants.

    As for the essential oils, there is so much conflicting information on this that I'll have to do some deeper research.

  • May 30, 2012

    by elena

    Hi Marta,
    is Suntegrity's zinc oxide coated? Many sources recommend coating as it prevents breakdown and thus, formation of free radicals. Also, I'm concerned about the sweet orange, grapefruit and tangerine essential oils. Aren't they supposed to be phototoxic?

  • May 17, 2012

    by Kim

    Suntegrity looks like it is on the right track ~ I hope these "toxic" items Erik Kreider mentions are removed or replaced - he is right about being vigilant about other ingredients we don't research. Relying on the maker to assure us their products are "Good" for us is not smart or healthy in many cases !

  • April 11, 2012

    by Theresa Griffin

    I have been using Obagi 35 for years and I look like a ghost after I apply it. Also, it doesn't play well with some of my new favorite serums and moisturizers so I've been trying a few from Marta's store. The best I've found is the Suntegrity face and what I love most about it is that I can mix a dab of my usual tinted moisturizer (Laura Mercier or Mac) and I put it on thickly with a brush and my skin has never looked better. I got a sample from Marta and after using it for three days, I'm trashing the other full bottles of sunscreen once I get the order I'm placing today. My 56-year-old skin glowed like that of a 30-year-old. Even my husband noticed how nice my skin looked- all from the sunscreen. We live in California and have houses at the desert and the beach so I wear sunscreen daily and faithfully and I've tried many over the years, including Anthelios when you could only get it from France. I'm sold on Suntegrity. My only regret was I missed the sale, LOL!

  • June 7, 2011

    by Marta

    Jeff - good for you. We'd be glad to give it a try.

  • June 6, 2011

    by Jeff

    Hi Marta,
    I too make sunscreen, KINeSYS, and am willing to take the challenge you offered Erik.
    Let me know, sincerely,
    Jeff

  • May 19, 2011

    by Marta

    Thanks Stephanie. Looking forward to the results of your test. In the meantime, here's a link to the interview we did with the lovely Tricia http://truthinaging.com/sun-protection/suntegrity-skincare-interview-with-tricia-trimble

  • May 18, 2011

    by Stephanie

    I did want to let everyone know about how great the founder Tricia is:

    I purchased the entire line a few weeks ago via a promotion from a daily deal site, and then anxiously awaited my product's arrival through the mail. The package didn't arrive. About week after it was due, I investigated and found out the delivery service had left the package in my lobby. I never received the package, nor any notice that it had arrived.

    While playing detective, I contacted Suntegrity and Tricia the company's founder got back to me. We discussed the situation and she decided to send me another package via a different delivery service at no additional charge to me. I was so impressed with this display of customer service that I wanted to tell the TIA community as attentive customer service is a rare thing these days. So, heads up TIA community!


    I've just started using Suntegrity on half my face, and will report back in a few weeks.

  • April 16, 2011

    by vicki

    i've tried suntegrity for few days, and unfortunately, it has made me break out a little. little too thick also for everyday.those concerned with white, it really blends nicely, no chalky white residue. i'm one of readers who loved 100 tinted moisterizer. didn't make me break out at all, but we've had few warmer days, got pretty red only 20 spf, so good for chicago winters.

  • April 6, 2011

    by Stephanie

    Hey Kristin,
    Marta liked Abella Colorshade in 09 and last year- that's a tinted sunscreen (spf 30). You can read about it here: http://truthinaging.com/makeup/100-pure-tinted-moisturizer-reviewed-and-recommended

    A site community member reviewed 100% Pure Tinted Moisturizer, and loved that. When someone asked Marta how she felt about 100% Pure vs Abella, Marta said that the 100% Pure is great and would prefer it unless she wanted something with a higher spf. That article is here: http://truthinaging.com/makeup/100-pure-tinted-moisturizer-reviewed-and-recommended

    Why am I answering your question? Procrastination of some work of course, *and* I love this site.

    Cheers,
    Stephanie

  • March 30, 2011

    by Kristen

    Hi, Marta. Any recommendations on tinted moisturizers with SPF 20 or 30? I've been a Laura Mercier Tinted Moistureizer 20 devotee for years but can no longer turn a blind eye to the parabens and chemical sunscreen in the product. I've ordered the ColoreScience powder from your site but would also like a lotion option.
    Thanks.

  • March 15, 2011

    by marta

    Thank you Jina. It is really helpful to share all that information. And congratulations on looking your best in 20 years!

  • March 15, 2011

    by Jina

    Just got back from 2 weeks in Sydney Australia. Used Badger water resistant SPF 30. Ingre. Zinc oxide 20.5%, extra virgin olive oil, beeswax, jojoba oil, cocoa & shea butter, co2 extracts of rosemary & seabucktorn berry. All certified organic. Particle size of zinc oxide 140 nm coated with safe silicone derivative. Does go on a bit pasty white fine as moisturizer in Toronto below 0 degrees but I use foundation bought in sephora Make up forever High definition invisible cover foundation. Made in France. Glides over zinc and seems to act as a good base. Seems thick at first but after a while blends in it does not look like I have any make up on just flawless skin. I sent my daughter ahead so she can enroll in uni and she was using Jurlique sunscreen. Brokeout badly, after using my Badger sunblock for 2 weeks her face cleared. Meant to pick up a tube of Invincible zinc promoted now by super model Elle macpherson but forgot, everyone is raving about it there. After all that I did not get burnt was wearing floppy hat on beach and managed to get a honey hue I would call it over my body as opposed to pasty Canadian white. I just finished a course of 5 ipl treatments so was very careful. I must say my skin is looking the best in 2 decades. Still some redness but when I flush it dissipates quicker very soft to the touch and is flawless when I apply make up even with out a base. I did have 2 jetpeels in the last few months and isomers 3000 use has helped. Regards

  • February 24, 2011

    by Kim

    My 55 yr old skin is very light. My biggest problem is I don't remember to put it on! It needs to be in my moisturizer or makeup. I was told I must use sunscreen all year. So it's tough. Many feel like plastic when I put them on.

    Can I try something nice & soothing?? Is there anything like that available?

  • February 24, 2011

    by Ann

    I would love to try some! I have to wear sunscreen all the time because I'm prone to melasma, but so many of them are harsh and clogging. I have been using the Colorescience powder for every day during the winter, but would love to try something with more blocking power as we approach warm weather.

  • February 23, 2011

    by Dolores Conrad

    65, live in high and very dry New Mexico......need I say more? LOL
    My skin and I would be very appreciate if we could try this sunscreen.

  • February 23, 2011

    by Jennifer

    I have pretty sensitive skin & usually get a rash after 2-3 days of use, especially on my chest. I would be honored to try the Suntegrity product & to describe the experience afterwards. I will be traveling to sunny Florida soon, so the timing is perfect! If Eric opts to send samples, count me in on those as well!

  • February 23, 2011

    by DRTVRMoi

    I am restoring a 90 yo home on the Delaware Bay. I have a shoe box filled with sunscreens in hopes of finding one that will work on my mature, sensitive combo skin. I spend many hours outdoors and would give this product a thorough testing. Thanks

  • February 23, 2011

    by pamela

    I work in the fields in Thailand 3 to 4 times a year for weeks at a time, as well as china and other tropical places.
    I am always looking for a good sunscreen that actually works for several hours without having to be replenished.
    To give adequate protection under such circumstances, it has to be good!

  • February 23, 2011

    by Kyong

    Thanks for the review. I am always on the lookout for a facial sunscreen that is effective AND wears well under makeup.

  • February 23, 2011

    by summer

    Having just reviewed nutra-lift's new sunscreen which is a physical sunblock with loads of antioxidants and no bad preservatives----I would welcome the chance to review this as well. I am always picky about sunscreen esp. on my sensitive face and body. I'd be happy to help.

  • February 23, 2011

    by Erica

    I am always on the lookout for a good sunscreen! Especially so now, since in about 4 weeks I will be going to the Carribean on a cruise. I cant stand to have my face burned and always cringe at the thought of how many wrinkles it just created. I only use sunscreens with physical suncreens as chemical suncreens irritate my already sensitive skin. I would LOVE to try this!! Thanks for the opportunity!

  • February 21, 2011

    by shancy

    Yes Erik - I would love to try out your product. My son has very white skin and is redhead with freckles who would be a great barometer. Especially with spring around the corner and living near many beaches.

  • February 20, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Erik, I notice that you have your own skincare company with sunscreen products. Perhaps you'd make your point more effectively by asking us to try it out. Who knows, we might love it and you'd be getting market visibility without bashing a competitor.

  • February 20, 2011

    by Erik Kreider

    Looks to be another company that 'markets' natural but 'sells' otherwise: 7 of the first eleven ingredients don't classify as natural - Sorbitan Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, Cetyl Dimethicone, Dimethicone.
    Antimicrobials are preservatives precisely because they are toxic and kill organisms. Parabens got a lot of bad press because they were used ubiquitously - it's wrong to assume that ethylhexylglycerin will be any different - it's just new and there is basically NO safety data on it. The difference between it and parabens (see structure of ethylhexylparaben) is a scaffold of glycerin instead of benzene. But it's still a toxic preservative! TIA?

  • February 14, 2011

    by Tricia

    The beauty editor from Campus Circle Magazine reviewed the product and said it rubbed into her dark skin without a problem. See her review at: http://www.campuscircle.com/review.cfm?r=12543

  • February 14, 2011

    by Marta

    The chalkiness really seems very temporary especially if rubbed in fully. But its true, I have a light complexion.

  • February 14, 2011

    by Valerie

    my comlexion is dark, won't the chalkiness be a problem?

Have You Tried Suntegrity Natural Moisturizing Face Sunscreen and Primer Broad Spectrum SPF 30 ?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Suntegrity Natural Moisturizing Face Sunscreen and Primer Broad Spectrum SPF 30 below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Suntegrity Natural Moisturizing Face Sunscreen and Primer Broad Spectrum SPF 30

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...