Free shipping on all orders over $39

The Beauty of Chocolate

Is a Solution for:
Cellulite, Stretch Marks, Sagging Skin
February 3, 2010 Reviewed by Shyema 13 Comments

Another reason why chocolate is awesome: it not only makes you feel better, but it can also make you look better.

Dark chocolate is a potent antioxidant that fights free radicals (slowing down the aging process). It also contains a high level of flavonoids, which keep the heart healthy. Most recently, German researchers have found dark chocolate to even decrease the damaging effects of UV rays, making it a covetable sunscreen.

While it's argued whether topical cocoa-infused products (like Ikove's Acai Chocolate Shampoo) carry these same benefits, the comforting smell of chocolate itself is worth the treat -- just try Nutra-Lift's White Chocolate Body Butter and prepare to hold yourself back from licking it. To revitalize and soften your skin, be sure to also try Amala's Cocoa Bean Rejuvenating Face Polish.

Ingredients in Amala Cocoa Bean Rejuvenating Face Polish:

Water (aqua), simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil*, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba ) seed wax, alcohol*, theobroma cacao (cocoa) extract*, glycerin, decyl glucoside, polyglyceryl-3 stearate, sodium stearoyl lactylate, stearic acid, xanthan gum, thobroma cacao (cocoa) husk, amaranthus caudatus seed oil*, malpighia punicifolia (acerola) fruit extract*, carapa guaianensis seed oil*, hippophae rhamnoides oil*, bertholletia excelsa seed oil*, glycyrrhiza glabra (licorice) root extract*, fragrance (parfum), vanilla planifolia fruit extract*, citrus medica limonum (lemon) peel oil*, rosa damascena flower oil, cananga odorata flower oil*, citrus auratum bergamia (bergamot) peel oil*, plantago lanceolata leaf extract*, certraria islandica extract*, salix alba (willow) bark extract*, tocopherol, silver sulfate, lactic acid

*ingredient produced by organic farming


Ingredients in Nutra-Lift White Chocolate Body Butter:

Organic aloe vera gel, seaweed, vitamin C ester, plant derived isotearyl palmitate, cetyl esters, plant derived gms 450, stearic acid, marine collagen, almond oil, sesame oil, organic white chocolate, vitamin B5 di-panthenol, DMAE, organic royal jelly, cocoa butter, hydrolyzed wheat protein, xanthum gum, natural mixed tocopherols & tocotrienols (vit.E) alpha lipoic acid, guarana, green tea, carrot extract, olive extract, shea butter, CO Q 10, grape seed extract, flax seed oil, hyaluronic acid, astaxanthin, vitamin B1, vitamin B5, vitamin B6, vitamin B12, vitamin D, vitamin F, vitamin K, fruit flower complex, anti-aging complex, herbal complex, blue green algae, orange/cucumber extract, colloidal minerals

Ingredients in Ikove Acai Chocolate Shampoo:

aqua, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, malphigia glabra (acerola) fruit extract, decyl glucoside, cocamidopropyl betaine, *euterpa oleracea (açaí) fruit extract, theobroma cacao L. (cocoa) extract, hydrolyzed wheat protein, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf extract, lavandula angustifólia (lavender) extract, viola odorata extract, citrus aurantium dulcis (sweet orange) oil, xanthan gum, citrus reticulata (manderin) oil, potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate

  • June 28, 2014

    by Eden Posner

    im looking for the best chocolate shampoo and conditioner for my hair

  • February 9, 2010

    by Leslie

    I would be honored to review the NuNAAT hair care products! I have fine, wavy, hair that goes to mid-back. I consider my hair my best feature! Because it's fine, it really tends to frizz. I just became familar with this site...I can't believe what I was missing! I JUST ordered the Nutra-Lift line, because of all the wonderful things said about it. I also ordered Max Green Scalp Rescue conditioner. It came yesterday, so I couldn't wait to try it out. I LOVE it! It sure is great at detangling for all you girls with tangly hair! I am the mother of three and I'm always looking for GREAT hair care products...anything to make my life easier! Your website has helped me pick great products, and I would love to review this product for you! I am somewhat of a hair product "junkie" and I KNOW what I like and dislike. Expect nothing but honesty.

  • February 9, 2010

    by betty

    It all sounds amazing. I know from personal experience that chocolate makes everything better. Its a great carrier, good combined with medicinal herbs. I think it works synergystically with alot of ingredients and would love to see its wonderful effects on my hair and olfactory senses. Anticipated euphoria... thank you

  • February 8, 2010

    by Jaysie

    I started the Atkins diet 2 days ago. TIA would help me stay with it if I could put chocolate on my head instead of in my mouth! Besides, I just purged my obscene collection of shampoos & conditioners so there is now space on the shampoo bar in my shower for some new products. I'm still testing the Enjoy Hydrating shampoo I read about here (it may be the only non-SLS shampoo to make the grade for me!), but I would willingly interrupt this program to try a new line that sounds likes it's made for my blonde, tinted, blow-dried, hot-ironed, fine, wavy hair that easily frizzes. Maybe NuNAAT will return both my hair and my waistline to earlier splendor.

  • February 8, 2010

    by Claudia

    I have long wavy hair and would love to try the Chocolat Special line. I had a baby 7 weeks ago and my hair needs some serious TLC. My highlights and lowlights are growing out and the current cold weather is not helping matters either. Thank you.

  • February 6, 2010

    by gerri

    I am the go to gal for honest product info and the latest greatest ingredient trends in my neck of the woods. Always ready to share the good, the great, the innovative and the must haves. I would love to have the opportunity to review these products. I rely on T I A as a resource and have never been disappointed.

  • February 5, 2010

    by deborah rodell

    I am middle aged & healthy, into yoga and pure products for skin and hair. My one fault is I do have chemically processed hair. Vanity will reign as the years mount up. Do to Marta's recommendations I have purchased a Baby Q and have been very happy with the results. I am now looking for that special hair product for my processed, very wavy, fine but full head of hair. I tend to spend as much time as I can outdoors, all 4 seasons. And in the Northern Midwest that really takes its toll on the health of hair and skin. So please consider me for this trail. I will give detailed accounts of all usage. Thank you.

  • February 5, 2010

    by Cynthia

    I adore cooking and adore chocolate in cooking, but I am particular. I'm also particular about ingredients and efficacy of my hair and body care products. Been experiencing hair loss and texture changes, and am especially interested in reviewing naturally oriented hair care products that might help!

  • February 5, 2010

    by lisa

    I must admit...I'm skeptical. Any time I read that something returns hair "to its natural splendor" my brows automatically lift.

    However, I am STILL searching for something that will keep my chemically treated hair in smooth shape. And any reason to indulge in chocolate is a good one.

    So I would love to put this product to work...and prove that it truly does!

  • February 5, 2010

    by Jco

    This sounds perfect for my long wavy hair. I like to wear it wild and loose, but that tends to leave the ends dry and frizzy. I love the Brazil nut and used a product, that I cant find anymore, before that worked great. I am new to your site, but already have tried products based on reviews and loving them.....I would love to share the good news with the rest of your community, as well as my Diva friends!

  • February 5, 2010

    by praias do Brasil

    Hello great team at TIA. i love your reviews and have tried as much as possible your recomendations…having got some f them as my must have products…so far Nutralift daily conditionai and rosa mosqueta are my favorite ones.
    I have long wave hair and with highlights done often, ends are damaged always in need of a special treatment. This Chocolat line sounds YUMMY…and having brazil nut in it which I love for not only hair but skin also( I am from Brasil and there we value a lot prods containing our “castanha do Para” oil)…I would love to try this yummy NUNAAT product in my long hair and comment/review it…Thanks!

  • February 5, 2010

    by Aubrey

    Mmm the idea of chocolate in beauty products is delightful. I dye my hair and I try to only use shampoos that advertise themselves as formulated for color-treated hair, to reduce stripping. Unfortunately that disqualifies many of the hair products described on this site, even though they sound wonderful in other ways. So, I'd especially love to try & review the NuNAAT Cholate creamy shampoo for chemically treated hair!

  • February 5, 2010

    by 4AZ

    I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to review this Line! I count on reviews that I read and sometimes if other sites are honest with their reviews. I always share results, likes and dislikes with friends- why not on the web? I have never had the opportunity to review here, but would love the chance to : )

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...